Military Review

Thailand modernizes its fighters despite cutting defense spending

6

The spending of the Thai Armed Forces on the purchase and modernization of weapons has been significantly reduced due to the economic crisis caused by the introduction of quarantine measures against the spread of the pandemic. But not all programs have been phased out, so Thailand is modernizing its Gripen fighters, despite a general cut in defense spending.


This is reported by the Thai ArmedForce portal.

Although defense spending was one of the first to be cut, the upgrade program for 11 JAS-39 Gripen fighters, manufactured by the Swedish company Saab, was not scaled down to the MS20 standard. A similar package of updates was previously received by aircraft of this model, which are in service with the Air Forces of Sweden and the Czech Republic. Thailand's budget has allocated about $ 21 million for the modernization of fighters.

After the work carried out, the aircraft will be able to use the Meteor medium-range missiles and GBU-39 bombs. The radar station will be modernized, as well as the nuclear, chemical and biological protection system.


As part of the update project, the software of the combat vehicle will be improved. An important point is that, among other things, the upgraded aircraft will receive an automatic ground collision avoidance system.

The Thai Air Force attaches great importance to this option, as in 2017, during the Children's Day air show, one of the fighters crashed and the pilot was killed. The plane crashed onto the runway while demonstrating a surprise attack maneuver. This is the only one in stories the plane crash of the JAS-39 Gripen fighter, which ended in the death of the pilot.


The Saab JAS 39 Gripen is a lightweight single-engine multi-role fighter manufactured by the Swedish aerospace company Saab AB.
Photos used:
https://www.saab.com
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 14 February 2021 11: 42
    0
    Well, well ... whatever you say, but "Gripen" (a light single-engine aircraft, but with advanced avionics and weapons ...) can be considered almost an ideal combat "aeroplane" for countries like Thailand and others like it. .. (Cambodia, Myanmar, Malaysia ...)!
    1. OgnennyiKotik
      OgnennyiKotik 14 February 2021 11: 46
      0
      It is a pity that Mig did not make such a car. With her, we would have fought for the most massive fighter of the 4th generation, on an equal footing with the F-16.
      1. bayard
        bayard 14 February 2021 15: 03
        -1
        There were no orders for such an aircraft (we had), but there were plenty of Soviet-built fighters.
        But the Sukhoi Design Bureau offered a similar single-engine LFMI ... but the times were not right.
        Now they seem to be working on a similar fighter.
    2. ironic
      ironic 14 February 2021 13: 52
      +2
      For any country where the aircraft is designed for a limited theater of operations and numerous clashes along the line of contact. The more I read about him, the more I like him. Good car.
  2. Ros 56
    Ros 56 14 February 2021 12: 52
    0
    Their technique, they do what they want, who cares. negative
  3. yehat2
    yehat2 15 February 2021 16: 06
    +1
    biological defense system upgraded?
    What is it like? Those. At first, only the Chinese could not board the plane, but now they are protected from the North Koreans, Vietnamese and Kongongs?

Военное обозрение

Таиланд модернизирует свои истребители, несмотря на сокращение оборонных расходов

6

Расходы таиландских Вооруженных сил на закупку и модернизацию вооружений были значительно сокращены из-за кризиса в экономике, вызванного введением карантинных мер против распространения пандемии. Но далеко не все программы были свернуты, поэтому Таиланд модернизирует свои истребители «Грипен», несмотря на общее сокращение оборонных расходов.


Об этом сообщает таиландский портал ThaiArmedForce.

Хотя расходы на оборону были урезаны одними из первых, программу модернизации 11 истребителей JAS-39 Gripen, выпускаемых шведской компанией Saab, до стандарта MS20 не свернули. Подобный пакет обновлений ранее получили самолеты этой модели, стоящие на вооружении ВВС Швеции и Чехии. На модернизацию истребителей в бюджете Таиланда заложено около 21 миллиона долларов.

После проведенных работ самолеты смогут применять ракеты средней дальности «Метеор» и бомбы GBU-39. Будет модернизирована радиолокационная станция, а также улучшена система ядерной, химической и биологической защиты.


В рамках проекта обновления усовершенствовуют программное обеспечение боевой машины. Важным моментом является то, что, помимо прочего, модернизированные самолеты получат автоматическую систему предотвращения столкновения с землей.

ВВС Таиланда уделяют этой опции большое значение, так как в 2017 году во время авиашоу в честь Дня детей один из истребителей разбился, а пилот погиб. Самолет упал на взлетно-посадочную полосу во время демонстрации маневра внезапной атаки. Это единственная в истории авиакатастрофа истребителя JAS-39 Gripen, закончившаяся гибелью пилота.


Saab JAS 39 Gripen – это легкий одномоторный многоцелевой истребитель производства шведской аэрокосмической компании Saab AB.
Использованы фотографии:
https://www.saab.com
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 14 февраля 2021 11:42
    0
    Ну,что ж...что ни говори,но "Грипен" (лёгкий однодвигательный самолёт, но с продвинутой авионикой и вооружением...) можно считать чуть ли не идеальным боевым "еропланом" для таких стран, как Таиланд и подобных ему ...(Камбоджа,Мьянма , Малайзия...) !
    1. OgnennyiKotik
      OgnennyiKotik 14 февраля 2021 11:46
      0
      Жаль что Миг не сделал подобную машину. С ней бы мы бились за самый массовый истребитель 4 поколения, на равне с F-16.
      1. bayard
        bayard 14 февраля 2021 15:03
        -1
        Заказов на такой самолёт не было(у нас) , но было полно истребителей советской постройки .
        Зато КБ Сухого подобный однодвигательный ЛФМИ предлагал ... но времена были не подходящие .
        Сейчас вроде работают над подобным истребителем .
    2. ironic
      ironic 14 февраля 2021 13:52
      +2
      Для любой страны где самолет рассчитан на ограниченный по протяженности театр военный действий и многочисленными столкновениями по линии боевого соприкосновения. Чем больше про него читаю, тем больше он мне нравится. Годная машина.
  2. Ros 56
    Ros 56 14 февраля 2021 12:52
    0
    Их техника, что хотят, то и делают, кому какое дело. negative
  3. yehat2
    yehat2 15 февраля 2021 16:06
    +1
    модернизирована система биологической защиты?
    Это как? Т.е. сначала самолет не могли взять на абордаж только китайцы, а теперь защитили от северо-корейцев, вьетнамцев и конгонгцев?