Military Review

Soviet artillery in the Battle of Kursk and in the last stages of the Second World War

11
Soviet artillery in the Battle of Kursk and in the last stages of the Second World War

The defeat of Hitler's divisions in Stalingrad became a real bucket of icy water poured by the Soviet Union on the collective German head. Until that moment in the Reich, only rare individuals allowed themselves to say something about pacifism, and only those who were perceived as local crazy spoke about the possibility of defeat in the war. But when the whole field marshal surrendered, the first truly serious panic mood crept across Germany. And more and more people began to appear who understood that the war could be lost.


Hitler tried to take revenge. After several unsuccessful operations by Soviet troops near Kharkov and in the Donbass, the Wehrmacht took a little spirits. The "general" battle, which, according to Hitler, was supposed to regain Germany's advantage in the war and "finish off" the USSR - a battle within the framework of Operation Citadel. The Nazis planned to strike from two directions on the Kursk salient, where Soviet troops wedged more than 100 km into the enemy's defenses, and to develop the offensive.

German troops saturated the approaches to the area of ​​the future operation with heavy armored vehicles. The Red Army was faced with a difficult task - to restrain the offensive impulse of the enemy. And for containment, effective, including anti-tank, means were needed. One of the main places in such a situation was played by artillery.

Additional Difficulty - New German Tanksthat appeared on the Kursk Bulge - tanks with reinforced frontal armor, against which not all the usual and proven means were effective. I had to make new decisions.

The story "God of War" on the TK "Zvezda" tells about the role of Soviet artillery and artillery crews in the Battle of Kursk and in the subsequent stages of the Great Patriotic War:

11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Flooding
    Flooding 13 March 2021 06: 47
    +3
    "After the hospital where I got there, I got there"
    The situation described in many works about the Great Patriotic War. How many have been re-read. Favorite books of any Soviet boy.
    But there were few artillerymen among them. Immediately came to mind only the work about the battalion commander of 122mm howitzers, I don't remember the name.
    1. Insurgent
      Insurgent 13 March 2021 07: 30
      +2
      Hitler tried to take revenge. After several unsuccessful operations by Soviet troops near Kharkov and on the Donbass in the Wehrmacht perked up a little.


      Here I would like to insert my own remark. If the operation near Kharkov is widely known, then little is said about attempts to break through the German defense system on Mius at that time.

      The subsequent events that led to the breaking of this line of defense are described more broadly and in detail than the previous events in March 1942, when the first attempts by Soviet troops were made to test the strength of the German defense in this sector. According to the plan of the command, the southern front of R. Malinovsky was to cut off the ledge between Matveyev Kurgan and Sambek with a sudden blow and liberate the city of Taganrog. The depth of the operation was shallow, only about 40 km, and it was supposed to be carried out within two or three days.

      The forces allocated for the operation consisted of four divisions and six brigades of the 56th Army, 260 guns and 60 tanks. From the reserves of the Headquarters, the newly formed tank brigade and the 3rd Guards. a rifle corps, the core of which was one of the first Soviet guards formations - the 2nd Guards Rifle Division. In addition to the 2nd Guards. rifle division in the operation was attended by naval rifle brigades.
      The offensive began on March 8, 1942, but it was not possible to break into the defenses that had been preparing for several months.
      The second phase of the operation, which began on March 14, also did not bring decisive results.
      The last attempt to break into the Mius Front with reinforced units of the Guards Corps took place on March 23-26, 1942.
      1. Eug
        Eug 15 March 2021 16: 15
        +1
        Most of the attempts to carry out the operation were made in the Vyazma-Rzhev sectors, near Kharkov and on the Mius front. If successful, the outcome of any of them would be strategic. But most of them were unsuccessful ..
        1. Insurgent
          Insurgent 15 March 2021 17: 22
          0
          Quote: Eug
          Most of the attempts to carry out the operation were made in the Vyazma-Rzhev sectors, near Kharkov and on the Mius front. If successful, the outcome of any of them would be strategic. But most of them were unsuccessful ..


          But in the end, due to the prevailing situation on the fronts, it was possible to break into the defense on Mius.
    2. Petr Vladimirovich
      Petr Vladimirovich 13 March 2021 18: 59
      +3
      D 30. Excellent howitzer! In the Democratic Republic of Korea in 1975, at the final combat firing, he helped cadets shoot, since even at a target, T 34 was hit straight ... wink winked smile
    3. sharp-lad
      sharp-lad 13 March 2021 19: 51
      +3
      "Hot Snow", by Yuri Vasilievich Bondarev? hi
      1. Flooding
        Flooding 13 March 2021 20: 22
        0
        Quote: sharp-lad
        "Hot Snow", by Yuri Vasilievich Bondarev?

        Thank you. She is the most. That library has long been gone. It's even a shame that such things are forgotten.
  2. Thunderbolt
    Thunderbolt 13 March 2021 17: 34
    0
    Until that moment in the Reich, only rare individuals allowed themselves to say something about pacifism, and only those who were perceived as local crazy spoke about the possibility of defeat in the war. But when the whole field marshal surrendered, the first truly serious panic mood crept across Germany. AND more and more people began to appear who understood that the war could be lost.
    Actually, the Prussian cadre corps understood this even before June 22, because. war on 2 fronts is kaput, all those smart colonels ...
    P.S. After the battles near the city of Moscow, enlightenment came and before the tactical, let's say, flight, the generals of divisions and corps understood what awaited them. And a simple soldatn realized this from the first shot over the Bug.
    1. Your stranger
      Your stranger 15 March 2021 00: 54
      -3
      East, Africa and naval and air warfare in the west,
      In the east, I made my first mistake when I went to Leningrad at 41, and not to the south it would have been much sadder
  3. Eug
    Eug 15 March 2021 19: 16
    0
    There is an amazing book on the Internet "The Gunners, Stalin Gave the Order" by Mikhin. Alas, I don’t remember the initials ...
    1. Konnick
      Konnick 15 March 2021 19: 32
      0
      There is an amazing book on the Internet "The Gunners, Stalin Gave the Order" by Mikhin. I don't remember the initials, alas

      There are also front-line myths.

Военное обозрение

Советская артиллерия в Курской битве и на последних этапах ВОВ

11
Советская артиллерия в Курской битве и на последних этапах ВОВ

Разгром гитлеровский дивизий в Сталинграде стал настоящим ведром ледяной воды, вылитой Советским Союзом на коллективную немецкую голову. До того момента в рейхе лишь редкие индивидуумы позволяли себя что-то говорить о пацифизме, а уж о возможности поражения в войне говорили только те, кого воспринимали местными сумасшедшими. Но когда в плен сдался целый фельдмаршал – по Германии поползли первый по-настоящему серьёзные панические настроение. И всё больше стало появляться тех, кто понимал, что войну можно и проиграть.


Гитлер попытался взять реванш. После нескольких неудачных операций советских войск под Харьковом и на Донбассе в Вермахте немного воспрянули духом. «Генеральное» сражение, которое, по мнению Гитлера, должно было вновь вернуть преимущество Германии в войне и «добить» СССР – сражение в рамках операции «Цитадель». Гитлеровцы планировали нанести удары с двух направлений на Курском выступе, где советские войска вклинились в оборону противника на 100 с лишним км, и развить наступление.

Немецкие войска насыщали тяжёлой бронетехникой подступы к району будущей операции. Перед Красной армией стояла непростая задача – сдерживать наступательный порыв врага. И для сдерживания были необходимы эффективные, в том числе противотанковые, средства. Одно из основных мест в такой ситуации играла артиллерия.

Дополнительная сложность – новые немецкие танки, которые появились на Курской дуге – танки с усиленной лобовой бронёй, против которой далеко не все привычные и зарекомендовавшие себя средства оказались действенны. Приходилось принимать новые решения.

В сюжете «Бог войны» на ТК «Звезда» рассказывается о роли советской артиллерии и артиллерийских расчётов в Курской битве и на последующих этапах Великой Отечественной войны:

11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Наводлом
    Наводлом 13 марта 2021 06:47
    +3
    "У нас после госпиталя куда попал - туда и попал"
    Ситуация, описанная во многих произведениях о Великой Отечественной. Сколько из было перечитано. Любимые книги любого советского пацана.
    А вот про артиллеристов среди них было немного. Пришло сразу на память только произведение о комбате 122мм гаубиц, не помню название.
    1. Инсургент
      Инсургент 13 марта 2021 07:30
      +2
      Гитлер попытался взять реванш. После нескольких неудачных операций советских войск под Харьковом и на Донбассе в Вермахте немного воспрянули духом.


      Здесь хотел бы вставить собственную ремарку. Если о операции под Харьковом широко известно, то о попытках прорыва немецкой системы обороны на Миусе ,в тот период , говорят мало.

      Более широко и развёрнуто описываются последующие события, приведшие к взлому этой линии обороны , нежели предшествующие события марта 1942 г. когда были предприняты первые попытки советских войск проверить прочность немецкой обороны на этом участке . По замыслу командования, Южный фронт Р. Малиновского должен был внезапным ударом отсечь выступ между Матвеевым Курганом и Самбеком и освободить город Таганрог. Глубина операции была небольшой, всего около 40 км, и провести ее предполагалось в течение двух-трех дней.

      Силы выделенные для операции насчитывали четыре дивизии и шесть бригад 56-й армии, 260 орудий и 60 танков. Из резервов Ставки были выделены только что сформированная танковая бригада и 3-й гв. стрелковый корпус, ядром которого было одно из первых советских гвардейских соединений – 2-я гвардейская стрелковая дивизия. Помимо 2-й гв. стрелковой дивизии в операции принимали участие морские стрелковые бригады.
      Наступление началось 8 марта 1942 г., но взломать готовившуюся несколько месяцев оборону не удалось.
      Второй этап операции, начавшийся 14 марта, также не принес решительного результата.
      Последняя попытка взломать «Миус-фронт» пополненными частями гвардейского корпуса состоялась 23–26 марта 1942 г.
      1. Eug
        Eug 15 марта 2021 16:15
        +1
        Больше всего попыток провести операцию было предпринято на участках Вязьма-Ржев, под Харьковом и на Миус - фронте. В случае успеха результат любой из них был бы стратегическим. Но большинство из них были неудачными..
        1. Инсургент
          Инсургент 15 марта 2021 17:22
          0
          Цитата: Eug
          Больше всего попыток провести операцию было предпринято на участках Вязьма-Ржев, под Харьковом и на Миус - фронте. В случае успеха результат любой из них был бы стратегическим. Но большинство из них были неудачными..


          Но в конце-концов, ввиду общесложившейся обстановки на фронтах, на Миусе удалось взломать оборону.
    2. Петр Владимирович
      Петр Владимирович 13 марта 2021 18:59
      +3
      Д 30. Отличная гаубица! В АНДР в 1975 на выпускных боевых стрельбах курсантам стрелять помогал, раз даже в мишень, Т 34 прямым попали... wink winked smile
    3. sharp-lad
      sharp-lad 13 марта 2021 19:51
      +3
      "Горячий снег", автор Юрий Васильевич Бондарев? hi
      1. Наводлом
        Наводлом 13 марта 2021 20:22
        0
        Цитата: sharp-lad
        "Горячий снег", автор Юрий Васильевич Бондарев?

        Благодарю. Она самая. Давно уже нет той библиотеки. Даже стыдно, что забываются такие вещи.
  2. Громобой
    Громобой 13 марта 2021 17:34
    0
    До того момента в рейхе лишь редкие индивидуумы позволяли себя что-то говорить о пацифизме, а уж о возможности поражения в войне говорили только те, кого воспринимали местными сумасшедшими. Но когда в плен сдался целый фельдмаршал – по Германии поползли первый по-настоящему серьёзные панические настроение. И всё больше стало появляться тех, кто понимал, что войну можно и проиграть.
    Собственно,это понимал прусский кадровый корпус ещё до 22 июня,т.к. война на 2 фронта это капут.Все эти умные полковники....
    П.С. После боёв под городом Москва прозрение пришло и до тактического ,скажем так ,звена,генералы дивизий и корпусов поняли что их ждёт. А уж простой зольдатн это понял с первого выстрела над Бугом.
    1. Свойчужой
      Свойчужой 15 марта 2021 00:54
      -3
      Восток, Африка и морская и авиационная война на западе,
      На востоке первую ошибку сделал когда пошёл на ленинград в 41, а не на юг было бы намного печальнее
  3. Eug
    Eug 15 марта 2021 19:16
    0
    Есть в интернете потрясающая книга "Артиллеристы, Сталин дал приказ", автор Михин. Инициалов, увы, не помню...
    1. Konnick
      Konnick 15 марта 2021 19:32
      0
      Есть в интернете потрясающая книга "Артиллеристы, Сталин дал приказ", автор Михин. Инициалов, увы, не помню

      Там тоже наличие фронтовых мифов.