Military Review

"Found the scourge of the American Revolution": the ship HMS Rose allegedly found in the USA

6

The United States military may have found the remains of a British warship, which, according to a statement Fleet Her Majesty, was the "scourge of the American Revolution" thanks to its raids, which became a real disaster for the fighters for independence.


Almost 250 years after HMS Rose was sunk at the height of the war, in the Savannah River, located in the southeastern part of the United States, cannons, an anchor and other materiel, presumably belonging to a British ship, were discovered and raised from the bottom.

The artifacts have not yet been officially identified, but given their location [...] Royal Navy historians believe they probably date from the siege of Savannah in 1779

- approved in the HMS application.

The ship was sunk in the river to deny the French Navy access to the capital of Georgia, held by British forces, to support the American forces besieging it.

The HMS Rose was ranked six and armed with 20 cannons, showing increased activity in the Americas throughout the 1770s. Her success in intercepting smugglers in Rhode Island prompted the Americans to commission their first warship, the sloop Providence, and to form the Continental Fleet, which is the forerunner of the current US fleet.

The British ship also made frequent raids on the Hudson River, which helped expel George Washington's troops from New York when war broke out, and continued to patrol the east coast until the decision was made to use it as a water barrier in Savannah.



Photos used:
Royal Navy website
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Kote Pan Kokhanka
    Kote Pan Kokhanka 14 March 2021 06: 30
    +9
    Thanks for the news! The ship's combat path is truly heroic.
    Regards, Kote!
    1. Catfish
      Catfish 14 March 2021 08: 03
      +3
      Hello, hello! hi

      ... which is the predecessor of the current US fleet.


      Thanks to the author, I was pleased: the American fleet is flowing !!! wassat So there is hope that it will sink soon! laughing
  2. Vladimir_2U
    Vladimir_2U 14 March 2021 06: 34
    +7
    The ship was sunk in the river to deny the French Navy access to the capital of Georgia, held by British forces, to support the American forces besieging it.
    Isn't this a lie about intentional flooding? Weren't the guns removed in such cases? For example, during the defense of Sevastopol in 1854, the guns were removed from the flooded Russian ships.
    1. Kote Pan Kokhanka
      Kote Pan Kokhanka 14 March 2021 06: 57
      +9
      Quote: Vladimir_2U
      flooding? Weren't the guns removed in such cases? For example, during the defense of Sevastopol in 1854, the guns were removed from the flooded Russian ships.

      Considering that the coast was under the control of the colonists' detachments, they only said thank you for such a gift from the mother country. laughing
  3. WHAT IS
    WHAT IS 14 March 2021 09: 28
    +16
    The history of the ship did not end there - in 1970 in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, a replica of HMS Rose was built. In 1985 (already far from perfect condition) the ship was bought by Kay Williams, as a result of which for another 16 years Rose Settled in Bridgeport, Kentucky, and was used as a training vessel. In 1991 the vessel was certified by the USCG as a sailing training vessel. She has taken part in many maritime events, including the large sailing ship "Columbus 500" in 1992. In 2001, Rose was bought by 20th Century Fox, came to Southern California and was slightly rebuilt to play the role. frigate HMS Surprise for Peter Weir's film “Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World”, based on the books of Patrick O'Brien. This ship also starred in the movie “Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides”

    Today, HMS Rose is part of the San Diego Maritime Museum.
  4. iouris
    iouris 14 March 2021 11: 50
    +5
    Britain's victory was helped by financial aid to France in an amount comparable to that country's two annual budgets. And the victorious revolutionaries refused to pay, and therefore staged the Great French Revolution. 7 people were released from the Bastille: four counterfeiters, two madmen and a molester of his own daughter. Hurrah!

Военное обозрение

«Найден бич Американской революции»: в США предположительно обнаружен корабль HMS Rose

6

Военные Соединённых Штатов, возможно, нашли останки британского боевого корабля, который, согласно заявлению Флота её величества, являлся «бичом Американской революции» благодаря своим рейдам, ставшим настоящим бедствием для борцов за независимость.


Почти спустя 250 лет после того, как HMS Rose была затоплена в разгар войны, в реке Саванна, расположенной в юго-восточной части США, были обнаружены и подняты со дна подняты пушки, якорь и другая матчасть, предположительно принадлежавшие британскому кораблю.

Артефакты ещё не были официально идентифицированы, но, учитывая их местоположение […] историки Королевского флота полагают, что они, вероятно, датируются осадой Саванны в 1779 году

- утверждается в заявлении HMS.

Корабль был затоплен в реке, чтобы лишить ВМС Франции доступа к столице Джорджии, удерживаемой британскими войсками, для поддержки осаждающих её американских войск.

HMS Rose относилась к шестому рангу и была вооружена 20-ю пушками, проявляя повышенную активность в Северной и Южной Америке на протяжении 1770-х годов. Её успехи в перехвате контрабандистов на Род-Айленде побудили американцев ввести в строй свой первый боевой корабль – шлюп Providence – и сформировать Континентальный флот, который является предшественником текущего флота США.

Британский корабль также совершал частые набеги на реку Гудзон, что помогло изгнать войска Джорджа Вашингтона из Нью-Йорка, когда разразилась война, и продолжал патрулировать восточное побережье до тех пор, пока не было принято решение использовать его в качестве водной преграды в Саванне.



Использованы фотографии:
Сайт Королевского ВМФ Великобритании
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Коте пане Коханка
    Коте пане Коханка 14 марта 2021 06:30
    +9
    Спасибо за новость! Боевой путь кораблика и правда героический.
    С уважением, Коте!
    1. Морской Кот
      Морской Кот 14 марта 2021 08:03
      +3
      Влад, привет! hi

      ... который является предшественником текущего флота США.


      Спасибо автору, порадовал: американский флот течёт!!! wassat Значит есть надежда, что скоро затонет! laughing
  2. Владимир_2У
    Владимир_2У 14 марта 2021 06:34
    +7
    Корабль был затоплен в реке, чтобы лишить ВМС Франции доступа к столице Джорджии, удерживаемой британскими войсками, для поддержки осаждающих её американских войск.
    А не враньё ли это о намеренном затоплении? Разве пушки не снимали в таких случаях? Например при обороне Севастополя в 1854 г. орудия с затопляемых русских кораблей сняли.
    1. Коте пане Коханка
      Коте пане Коханка 14 марта 2021 06:57
      +9
      Цитата: Владимир_2У
      затоплении? Разве пушки не снимали в таких случаях? Например при обороне Севастополя в 1854 г. орудия с затопляемых русских кораблей сняли.

      Учитывая, что берег находился под контролем отрядов колонистов, то они только спасибо сказали за подобный подарок от метрополии. laughing
  3. КАКОЙ ЕСТЬ
    КАКОЙ ЕСТЬ 14 марта 2021 09:28
    +16
    На этом история корабля не закончилась - в 1970 году в г. Луненберг, Новая Шотландия, была построена реплика HMS Rose.В 1985 году (уже далеко не в идеальном состоянии) корабль был куплен Кеем Вильямсом, в результате чего еще на 16 лет «Роза» обосновалась в г. Бриджпорт, штат Кентукки, и использовалась в качестве учебного судна.В 1991 году судно получило сертификат USCG как парусное учебное судно. Она принимала участие во многих морских мероприятиях, в том числе в большой регате больших парусных кораблей "Columbus 500" в 1992 году.В 2001 г. «Роза» была куплена кинокомпанией 20th Century Fox, пришла в Южную Калифорнию и немного перестроена, чтобы сыграть роль фрегата HMS Surprise для фильма Питера Вейра “Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World”, основанного на книгах Патрика О'Брайана.Также этот корабль снимался в фильме "Пираты Карибского моря: На странных берегах"

    Сегодня HMS Rose является частью морского музея Сан-Диего.
  4. iouris
    iouris 14 марта 2021 11:50
    +5
    Победить Британию помогла финансовая помощь Франции в размере, сопоставимом с двумя годовыми бюджетами этой страны. А победившие революционэры платить отказались, а потому устроили Великую французскую рэволюцию. Из Бастилии освободили 7 человек: четырёх фальшивомонетчиков, двух сумасшедших и растлителя собственной дочери. Ура!