Military Review

Soviet sappers and their four-legged assistants: Afghan everyday life

8

A sapper's best friend is not always a mine detector. Often, when performing operations, a dog's scent can provide more information than soulless expensive equipment. And the technique can be applied not always and not everywhere, but a four-legged comrade, well-trained, is able to perform the tasks assigned to him with high efficiency even where, it would seem, it is impossible by definition.


Dog handlers have used dogs to clear mines in various conflicts. The war in Afghanistan was no exception in this regard.

Vladimir Gorely tells about his everyday life in Afghanistan in the TacticMedia channel. Vladimir Alexandrovich at one time received the profession of a zoo engineer, which in many respects determined his future fate. Having acquired the skills of training dogs to search and detect mines and other explosive objects, in 1982 he was sent to Afghanistan, where he served in the 70th Ombr, informally called Kandahar.

A veteran of the war in Afghanistan tells how he and a group of colleagues set up life near Kandahar. In the 50-degree heat right in the rocks, kennels for dogs were created, a room for military sappers with an area of ​​about 30 square meters, which was filled with ammunition boxes.

For 200-300 m, my Agat (dog's nickname) sat down seven times. We raised seven mines in Italy.

A narrative about the everyday life of Soviet sappers and their four-legged assistants in Afghanistan:

8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Smoked
    Smoked 14 March 2021 19: 41
    +7
    Time passes, when the "Afghans" were something special, but now we have a lot of war veterans, and the war itself can be watched almost live. Damn, and after all, once they were poured with mud and called "kishlak killers" and so on, but time has shown something completely different.
    1. WHAT IS
      WHAT IS 14 March 2021 20: 03
      +14
      In our town, no one called them that, everyone always treated the guys with respect.
      1. Alexander Kopychev
        Alexander Kopychev 14 March 2021 20: 25
        +9
        It's the same in our town. Last year, the BMP-1 was placed on a pedestal as a sign of Memory! Apparently the towns are not lousy with the liberals and People's Memory is alive!
        1. Alexander Kopychev
          Alexander Kopychev 14 March 2021 21: 27
          +6
          the city of Omutninsk, Kirov region.

          Debt. Honour. Memory.
  2. Xnumx vis
    Xnumx vis 14 March 2021 22: 03
    +4
    He worked next to the last war in Afghanistan. the guy was awarded the Order of the Red Star. We all treated him with respect. Our one year old, a simple young guy, and already an order bearer. And my friend was decent and honest. Coached boys. Judo, karate. I fiddled with them with pleasure .. Then the most powerful Sabbath of the mid-nineties began and I lost touch with him. The further fate is not known ... Then many disappeared without a trace ..
  3. three
    three 15 March 2021 01: 25
    +3
    A sapper with a dog was attached to the point for a month and a half, so shabby, nondescript like a shepherd dog, BUT - I found explosives "at once" - from mines to signaling ... eats (he was not averse to "puffing") ... They say that a year later they blew up in the roof ...
  4. Lynx2000
    Lynx2000 April 4 2021 11: 45
    0
    Our sappers from ISR, in addition to the East European Shepherd Dogs, had Russian spaniels. They were carried on their hands. During the engineering reconnaissance of the roads between the VOPs and the ROPs, the sappers were accompanied by a reconnaissance group, when setting the BZ, the commander said if something happened to the dog, a dog would fly to you from the tundra ...
    1. mat-vey
      mat-vey April 7 2021 06: 36
      0
      Quote: Lynx2000
      Our sappers from ISR, in addition to the East European Shepherd Dogs, had Russian spaniels. They were carried on their hands. During the engineering reconnaissance of the roads between the VOPs and the ROPs, the sappers were accompanied by a reconnaissance group, when setting the BZ, the commander said if something happened to the dog, a dog would fly to you from the tundra ...

      I have a childhood friend (though I haven't seen each other for a long time), so you can't offend dogs at all, and if a drunk man can (could) cripple ... mine) constantly went to the hospital ...

Военное обозрение

Советские сапёры и их четвероногие помощники: афганские будни

8

Лучший друг сапёра – это не всегда миноискатель. Зачастую при выполнении операций собачий нюх может дать информации больше, чем бездушная дорогостоящая техника. Да и технику можно применить не всегда и не везде, а вот четвероногий товарищ, хорошо натренированный, способен выполнять поставленные перед ним задачи с высокой эффективностью даже там, где, казалось бы, это невозможно по определению.


Отряды кинологов использовали собак для разминирования в разных конфликтах. Война в Афганистане не оказалась в этом плане исключением.

О своих буднях в Афганистане в сюжете канала TacticMedia рассказывает Владимир Горелый. Владимир Александрович в своё время получил профессию зооинженера, что во многом и определило его дальнейшую судьбу. Обретя навыки обучения собак для поиска и обнаружения мин и прочих взрывоопасных предметов, он в 1982 году был направлен в Афганистан, где проходил службу в 70-й огмбр, неофициально называемой Кандагарской.

Ветеран войны в Афганистане рассказывает, как он сам с группой сослуживцев обустраивали быт под Кандагаром. Прямо в скалах на 50-градусной жаре были созданы вольеры для собак, комната для военнослужащих-сапёров площадью около 30 кв.м, которую обили ящиками из-под патронов.

На протяжении 200-300 м семь раз сел мой Агат (кличка собаки). Семь мин мы подняли итальянских.

Повествование о буднях советских сапёров и их четвероногих помощников в Афганистане:

8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Копчёный
    Копчёный 14 марта 2021 19:41
    +7
    Время идёт, когда то "афганцы" были чем то особенным, а теперь ветеранов войн у нас множество, да и саму войну можно почти в прямом эфире смотреть. Блин, а ведь когда то их поливали грязью и называли "убийцами кишлаков" и тп, но время показало совсем другое.
    1. КАКОЙ ЕСТЬ
      КАКОЙ ЕСТЬ 14 марта 2021 20:03
      +14
      В нашем городке никто их так не называл,всегда уважительно к парням все относились.
      1. Александр Копычев
        Александр Копычев 14 марта 2021 20:25
        +9
        В нашем городке аналогично. В прошлом году БМП-1 поставили на постамент в знак Памяти! Видимо городки не завшивели либерастами и Память народная жива!
        1. Александр Копычев
          Александр Копычев 14 марта 2021 21:27
          +6
          город Омутнинск Кировской обл.

          Долг. Честь. Память.
  2. 30 вис
    30 вис 14 марта 2021 22:03
    +4
    Работал рядом с прошедшим войну в Афганистане . парень был награждён орденом Орденом Красной Звезды . Мы все относились к нему с уважением . Наш годок , простой молодой парень , а уже орденоносец . Да и мой знакомый был порядочен и честен . Тренировал мальчишек .Дзюдо , карате . Возился с ними с удовольствием .. Затем начался самый сильный шабаш середины девяностых и я потерял с ним связь . О дальнейшей судьбе не известно ... Тогда многие исчезали бесследно ..
  3. tros
    tros 15 марта 2021 01:25
    +3
    На точке месяца полтора был прикреплен сапер с собакой , такая потрепаная , невзрачная под овчарку мастью , НО - взрывчатку находила "на раз" - от мин до сигналок ...Просто умница, и такая тихая , скромная , что даст он ей , то и ест ( он не проч был "пыхнуть")...Говорят , через год в баграме взорвали...
  4. Lynx2000
    Lynx2000 4 апреля 2021 11:45
    0
    У наших саперов из ИСР кроме восточноевропейских овчарок были русские спаниели. Их на руках носили. При инженерной разведке дорог между ВОПами и РОПами, саперов сопровождала разведгруппа, при постановке БЗ командир говорил, если что с собакой случится пЕсец к вам из тундры прилетит...
    1. mat-vey
      mat-vey 7 апреля 2021 06:36
      0
      Цитата: Lynx2000
      У наших саперов из ИСР кроме восточноевропейских овчарок были русские спаниели. Их на руках носили. При инженерной разведке дорог между ВОПами и РОПами, саперов сопровождала разведгруппа, при постановке БЗ командир говорил, если что с собакой случится пЕсец к вам из тундры прилетит...

      У меня друг детства есть(правда давно не виделись),так при нём собак вообще обижать нельзя,а если пьяный то и покалечить может(мог)...рассказывал что с себя броники снимали собак прикрывали,а к одному после ранения(подрыв на мине) в госпиталь постоянно ходили ...