Military Review

Import is our everything: the history of Chinese tank building

6
Until the outbreak of the Sino-Japanese War of 1937, China had armored vehicles of exclusively foreign production. About fifty Renault FT-17s with machine gun and cannon armament were purchased from France, about 20 more tanks Vickers Mk. E were shipped from the UK. At the same time, the first factories for the repair and maintenance of military equipment appeared in China. At that time they did not think about their own production, there was not even a full-fledged provision of spare parts. That is why in the late 1920s and early 1930s, China could have French tanks with American engines or British combat vehicles with German guns.


By the beginning of the Sino-Japanese war, the country's leadership increased the volume of purchases. The USSR and Germany appeared in the list of equipment suppliers. The lion's share of the sold Soviet vehicles were light T-26 tanks. Germany helped with a one-time supply of Pz.Kpfw. I.

After the end of World War II, Chinese leaders decided to renew their tank fleet and turned to the USSR for help. The country immediately began to receive medium tanks T-34-85, self-propelled guns SU-100, as well as heavy IS and IS-2. In addition, captured Chi-Ha medium tanks from Mitsubishi began to appear in the army. In fact, these were light 16-ton vehicles armed with 57mm cannons.

For several years, the country's industry has developed enough to start designing its own combat vehicles. In the early 1950s, several interesting projects appeared at once, among which was the T-34-2. It had nothing to do with the Soviet thirty-four and was more like the T-44. The tank was already supposed to go into production, but in 1956, China bought technical documentation and a license for the production of the Soviet T-54. For the sake of this, they even re-equipped the enterprise, which was originally supposed to produce T-34-2 tanks.

Subsequently, on the basis of the T-54, the WZ-120 tank was developed, which became one of the main combat vehicles of the People's Liberation Army of China. Of the interesting experiments of the designers, the WZ-111 model 1-4 tank can also be noted. It was developed as a replacement for the Soviet IS-2, which were in service with the Chinese army, but were already outdated. They planned to equip the tank with a 122-mm cannon, but things did not go beyond the prototype.

Although China launched the tank building industry quite late, the state has always bought some of the best vehicles of its time. Later, when creating their own equipment, the Chinese were engaged not only in copying other people's projects, but also maximizing the potential of their tanks. As a result, modifications were often superior to prototypes.

More details about stories tank building in China, see the video from the creators of the famous game World of Tanks.
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Mitroha
    Mitroha 15 March 2021 08: 39
    0
    the state has always bought some of the best cars of its time. Later, when creating their own technology, the Chinese were engaged not only in copying other people's projects,

    They are still doing this, nothing has changed.
  2. The leader of the Redskins
    The leader of the Redskins 15 March 2021 09: 06
    0
    Link to the game portal ... Not a camilfo, like that.
    In general, the history of China's tank building is interesting, but it still has "dark spots".
    1. Mooh
      Mooh 15 March 2021 16: 45
      +5
      Yes, the topic is not disclosed from the word at all. I expected interesting material, and at the exit there was no signature. Apparently the author was ashamed to introduce himself.
    2. carstorm 11
      carstorm 11 16 March 2021 06: 54
      -4
      Their historical departments for armored vehicles have long won their authority. Archives have been dug all over the world for ten years. You shouldn't be like that
  3. Pavel57
    Pavel57 15 March 2021 09: 49
    -2
    The country immediately began to receive medium tanks T-34-85, self-propelled guns SU-100, as well as heavy IS and IS-2.

    I did not understand about the IS and IS-2. Probably it meant self-propelled guns based on IS.
  4. Gado
    Gado 15 March 2021 22: 51
    +3
    For more details on the history of Chinese tank building, see the video from the creators of the famous game World of Tanks.

    That says it all.

Военное обозрение

Импорт — наше все: история китайского танкостроения

6
До начала японо-китайской войны 1937 года на вооружении Китая находилась бронетехника исключительно зарубежного производства. Около полусотни Renault FT-17 с пулеметным и пушечным вооружением были закуплены во Франции, еще порядка 20 танков Vickers Mk. E были доставлены из Великобритании. В то же время в Китае появились первые заводы, занимавшиеся ремонтом и техобслуживанием военной техники. О собственном производстве тогда не думали, не было даже полноценного обеспечения запасными частями. Именно поэтому в конце 1920-х – начале 1930-х в Китае могли быть французские танки с американскими двигателями или британские боевые машины с немецкими пушками.


К началу японо-китайской войны руководство страны увеличило объем закупок. В списке поставщиков техники появились СССР и Германия. Львиную долю проданных советских машин составляли легкие танки Т-26. Германия помогла разовой поставкой танков Pz.Kpfw. I.

После окончания Второй мировой войны китайские лидеры решили обновить танковый парк и обратились за помощью к СССР. В страну тут же начали поступать средние танки Т-34-85, самоходки СУ-100, а также тяжелые ИС и ИС-2. Кроме того в войсках начали появляться трофейные средние танки Chi-Ha фирмы Mitsubishi. Фактически это были легкие 16-тонные машины, вооруженные пушками калибра 57мм.

За несколько лет промышленность страны достаточно развилась, чтобы начать проектировать собственные боевые машины. В начале 1950-х годов появилось сразу несколько интересных проектов, среди которых был Т-34-2. С советской «тридцатьчетверкой» он не имел ничего общего и больше напоминал Т-44. Танк уже должен был пойти в серию, но в 1956 году Китай купил техническую документацию и лицензию на производство советского Т-54. Ради этого даже переоборудовали предприятие, которое изначально должно было выпускать танки Т-34-2.

Впоследствии на основе Т-54 был разработан танк WZ-120, ставший одной из основных боевых машин народно-освободительной армии Китая. Из интересных экспериментов конструкторов также можно отметить танк WZ-111 model 1-4. Его разрабатывали в качестве замены советским ИС-2, которые стояли на вооружении китайской армии, но были уже устаревшими. Танк планировали вооружить 122-мм пушкой, но дальше опытного образца дело не пошло.

Хотя Китай достаточно поздно запустил танкостроительную отрасль, государство всегда закупало одни из лучших машин своего времени. Позже, при создании собственной техники, китайцы занимались не тольrо копированием чужих проектов, но и максимизировали потенциал своих танков. В результате модификации нередко превосходили прототипы.

Больше подробностей об истории танкостроения Китая смотрите в видео от создателей знаменитой игры World of Tanks.
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Mitroha
    Mitroha 15 марта 2021 08:39
    0
    государство всегда закупало одни из лучших машин своего времени. Позже, при создании собственной техники, китайцы занимались не тольrо копированием чужих проектов,

    Они и сейчас этим занимаются, ничего не изменилось.
  2. Вождь краснокожих
    Вождь краснокожих 15 марта 2021 09:06
    0
    Ссылаться на игровой портал... Не камильфо, как то.
    А, вообще, история танкостроения Китая интересна, но до сих пор имеет "темные пятна".
    1. MooH
      MooH 15 марта 2021 16:45
      +5
      Да уж, тема не раскрыта от слова совсем. Ожидал интересный материал, а на выходе пшик без подписи. Видимо постеснялся автор представиться.
    2. carstorm 11
      carstorm 11 16 марта 2021 06:54
      -4
      Их исторические отделы по бронетехнике давно очень свой авторитет завоевали. Архивы роют по всему миру уже десять лет. Зря вы так
  3. Pavel57
    Pavel57 15 марта 2021 09:49
    -2
    В страну тут же начали поступать средние танки Т-34-85, самоходки СУ-100, а также тяжелые ИС и ИС-2.

    Про ИС и ИС-2 я не понял. Наверное имелось в виду самоходки на базе ИС.
  4. Gado
    Gado 15 марта 2021 22:51
    +3
    Больше подробностей об истории танкостроения Китая смотрите в видео от создателей знаменитой игры World of Tanks.

    Этим все сказано.