Military Review

Reconnaissance vehicle Howie Machine Gun Carrier. A victim of simplifications

20

Howie MGC reconnaissance vehicle and its creators


Simplicity of design usually provides certain advantages, but oversimplification can lead to problems. A striking example of this was the American-designed Howie Machine Gun Carrier reconnaissance vehicle. Despite its extremely simple and cheap design, it was unsuitable for practical use.

Instead of an armored car


In early 1937, Brigadier General Walter K. Short took the initiative to create a promising ultralight multipurpose combat vehicle. At that time, the tasks of reconnaissance and escort of infantry or cavalry units were mainly solved with the help of armored vehicles. However, this technique was quite complicated and expensive, and therefore possible alternatives had to be considered.

General Short's idea was to create the most compact vehicle with a minimum crew and machine gun armament. Due to a specially designed chassis, it had to show high mobility. Speed, maneuverability and minimal projection had to protect her as well as conventional armor.

Reconnaissance vehicle Howie Machine Gun Carrier. A victim of simplifications
Ready to maneuver and fight

The development and construction of an experimental vehicle was entrusted to specialists of the Fort Benning Infantry School - Captain Robert J. Howie and Master Sergeant M. Wiley. In just a few months, they prepared a project and assembled a prototype themselves. In recognition of their work, the project featured in documents called the Howie Machine Gun Carrier. However, in the future, a rather offensive unofficial nickname appeared.

There is simply no place


The authors of the project did an excellent job of simplifying and reducing the machine. The finished sample was actually a self-propelled chassis without a body / body with the minimum required set of units, the simplest design of the power plant - and with the required machine gun armament. During the assembly, units of a serial American Austin car and other available components were used.


The design was based on a simple rectangular frame with flat decking. In its front part, a front axle with steerable wheels was attached. An engine and a simple transmission based on serial units were placed at the stern. The simplest bumper was envisaged, and on the sides there were wheel arches.

The power plant and transmission were borrowed from the American Austin car. The low-power engine was in the stern and was turned by the output shaft forward. In front of the engine there was a three-speed manual transmission, which provided the drive of the finished axle with a differential. The rear wheels were under the engine, which required an additional chain drive connecting their axle shafts to the axle. The wheels, gears and chains were covered with curved fenders. The suspension on both axles was rigid.

The crew consisted of only two people, and their workplaces were distinguished by specific ergonomics. The driver and machine gunner had to lie on their stomachs along the car. The driver's seat was to the left of the longitudinal axis, the machine gunner was located to the right.


The driver's seat had original controls. Instead of a steering wheel, a boat-style tiller was used, it was controlled by the left hand. To the right of the driver was a block with a gearshift lever. With the help of a rigid rod, he connected with his own gear lever. The pedals were placed in the rear of the car, under the driver's feet.

Directly in front of the shooter's place, at the right wheel, there was a kingpin for installing a machine gun. The prototype used a water-cooled M1917 product. Between the front wheels, a frame was provided in which five boxes with cartridge belts and one canister of water for a machine gun were fixed. Remaining in place, the shooter could fire at targets in a limited horizontal and vertical sector.


The length of the Howie MGC was only 3,15 m with a wheelbase of 1,9 m, width - less than 1,6 m. The height of the structure was determined by the dimensions of the power plant, namely the radiator. This parameter did not exceed 850 mm. Curb weight excluding weapons and crew - 460 kg. Perhaps, in the course of further development, it was possible to reduce the size and weight. The car engine provided highway speeds of up to 45 km / h.

Test media


The assembly of the Howie MGC product "from scrap materials" continued until August 1937, after which it was taken out for sea trials. All tests were carried out at the Fort Benning test site. They checked both running and firing characteristics. At the same time, lengthy tests were not needed, since the prototype very quickly showed all its advantages and, more importantly, disadvantages.

The reconnaissance vehicle, without unnecessary units, developed high speed on the highway and showed good maneuverability. The pivot machine-gun mount provided good firepower. The car easily took cover in the folds of the terrain, and its detection was quite difficult. However, this was where all the advantages ended.


It quickly became clear that the chassis leaves much to be desired and does not even meet the basic requirements of convenience. The lack of soft suspension and low ground clearance limited mobility and cross-country ability even on the highway. The crew was "open to all winds" and the controls were not comfortable. Due to the shaking and bumps, the car received the offensive nickname Belly Flapper - probably, the ride on it reminded someone of a painful fall into the water on the ground.

As expected, the Howie MGC project received bad reviews and was left without a recommendation for further development. The army should have continued the development and operation of reconnaissance armored cars of the usual appearance, and not an overly lightweight chassis with a machine gun. By the beginning of 1938, work on General Short's concept had stopped.


Drawing from a 1939 patent showing a three-axle chassis

Second attempt


However, the authors of the project did not give up. Captain R. Howie believed that his "machine gun carrier" has real prospects and is able to find his place in the army. He started correspondence with various structures and organizations, began to walk from office to office and defend his point of view. In addition, he patented the original machine. It is curious that the 1939 patent was accompanied by drawings of a two- and three-axle chassis.

The efforts of the enthusiastic officer were not in vain. In 1940, against the backdrop of the outbreak of war in Europe and the known risks for the United States, the Howie Machine Gun Carrier project again attracted attention. The Defense Department invited representatives of several car companies to familiarize themselves with the experimental design. Perhaps they could become interested in an unusual concept and implement it at a new technical level, already without the inherent problems of the existing prototype.


Howie MGC at the Museum

The reconnaissance vehicle again did not interest anyone, and finally was left without a future. The only prototype built was sent to storage before possible disposal. However, the "machine gun carrier" was lucky. He survived our time and after restoration took his place in the museum at Fort Benning.

Thus, the project of R. Howie and M. Wiley based on the concept of General W. Short did not give any real results, except for the understanding of the futility of such developments. It should be noted that the Howie Machine Gun Carrier was not the only attempt at a compact machine with machine gun armament. Similar products were created in other countries, and all similar projects ended in the same way - failure. Reconnaissance vehicles and tankettes of this kind had no real prospects.
Author:
Photos used:
Warwheels.net, Warweapons.ru
20 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. RealPilot
    RealPilot 21 March 2021 04: 41
    +5
    Simplifications rarely bear fruit outside of war. And here in 1937, everyone is preparing, but no one is at war.
    Such a "tachanka" could be put into service in combat conditions, when the economy is straining from the war, and every cent on the scale of hundreds and thousands of cars matters. Well, for the Americans, supplies to the allies were important, and they would take almost anything in a difficult situation. Until the subsequent installation of the body would be considered - the engine and frame were there! And engines in World War II were in short supply. Plus wheels with rubber.

    And if such a "miracle" had been invented twenty or thirty years earlier, when cars were a wonder ... Maybe someone would be interested in it.

    But thanks to the author of the article! Sometimes the story about the failed development of topics is interesting that no one knows about them. Volumes have already been written about legendary weapons, but failures show the spirit of the era, there are interesting examples of engineering thought worthy of understanding.
    1. Profiler
      Profiler 21 March 2021 04: 48
      +7
      Quote: RealPilot
      And if such a "miracle" had been invented twenty or thirty years earlier, when cars were a wonder ... Maybe someone would be interested in it.

      No. Reading the material, and looking at the photos, I also assumed that the platform could be used as a Front End Conveyor (TPK), but after reading up to this point:
      The suspension on both axles was rigid.

      , realized that negative , sucks yes ...
    2. Simargl
      Simargl 21 March 2021 07: 30
      +1
      Quote: RealPilot
      Until the subsequent installation of the body would be considered - the engine and frame were there!
      There is no suspension, and therefore all superstructures will fall apart after 10 km over rough terrain. However, even in the case of "normal" use - you can become disabled.
  2. tasha
    tasha 21 March 2021 05: 40
    +5
    Interesting story ...
    General Short's idea was to create the most compact vehicle with a minimum crew and machine-gun armament ... Reconnaissance vehicles and tankettes of this kind had no real prospects.
    Not sure if the conclusion is correct. It's just that in this particular case, the designers got carried away. And after a few years:
  3. Revolver
    Revolver 21 March 2021 05: 57
    +6
    Even this thing looks much more advanced in comparison.
    1. Profiler
      Profiler 21 March 2021 06: 31
      +8
      Quote: Nagan
      Even this thing looks much more advanced in comparison.




      So this is a specialized TPK (leading edge conveyor), an all-wheel drive amphibious conveyor of especially low carrying capacity.
      It was originally designed by order of the Airborne Forces for the evacuation of the wounded, the supply of ammunition and military-technical property, towing, and in secondary use, and for the installation of certain types of weapons.
      And it was made not by a bone shaker, as the American ersatz seems to be, but was a completely balanced and integral solution for the tasks assigned to him.
      1. Darkness
        Darkness 21 March 2021 07: 45
        0
        A weapon to install on our "Volynyanka" if?
  4. saygon66
    saygon66 21 March 2021 07: 42
    +6
    - So we will write down: Per-spec-tiv not and-me-whether ... wink



    1. Reviews
      Reviews 21 March 2021 12: 58
      0
      Quote: saygon66
      - So we will write down: Per-spec-tiv not and-me-whether ... wink

      And also an armed "Mule".

  5. Vadim Ananyin
    Vadim Ananyin 21 March 2021 08: 35
    +1
    Interesting, informative.
  6. andrewkor
    andrewkor 21 March 2021 08: 54
    +2
    Dear colleague, 20 years of head start (37-57) from the beginning of development, another 20 years of fine-tuning to serial production, with the involvement of all the resources of the Automotive industry and science, you must agree, it mattered!
  7. dauria
    dauria 21 March 2021 10: 15
    +3
    There is only one drawback - recumbency. If you use this little creature at the airport - the price would not be even in such a primitive form.

    And an interesting thing. The recumbent position did not take root even in aviation - fatigue is too great even without any shaking. Henschel 132, too, tried to simplify no further. wink
    1. Proctologist
      Proctologist 21 March 2021 12: 43
      +2
      Well, the advantages of a recumbent position for military equipment are too tempting - a small frontal projection. You can understand engineers. Basically, F1 supercars prove that it can be upgraded to a driver-friendly option.
  8. bk0010
    bk0010 21 March 2021 10: 31
    +3
    Serve lying! Attack while prone !!!
  9. Proctologist
    Proctologist 21 March 2021 12: 40
    0
    Many thanks! Very informative! It is especially interesting to see how the project, which was 30-50 years ahead of its time, was completely useless until someone came up with a couple of "little things" that turn the chassis into a buggy, and this option turned out to be successful! Just add a suspension and arcs!
  10. Free wind
    Free wind 21 March 2021 12: 58
    +1
    Unusual our LuAZ. And if you stick an engine from a Chinese walk-behind tractor. That will be quite a successful car .. Experiments on sticking Chinese engines into Burany are interesting.
  11. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 21 March 2021 22: 08
    +2
    The British had a similar machine in WW2. And she showed herself well.
    An anti-tank rifle and a machine gun.
    Universal Weapons Carrier (Bren Carrier)
    1. Alex013
      Alex013 22 March 2021 18: 53
      +1
      Yes, and about 2 thousand units were delivered to the Soviet Union under Lend-Lease. There are many photos with scouts.
      1. voyaka uh
        voyaka uh 22 March 2021 19: 09
        +1
        I even climbed into it. It is exhibited as an exhibit in one of the parks.
        Cool. The engine is open, like on an old boat. The trough is ... laughing
  12. Mooh
    Mooh 7 May 2021 15: 10
    0
    There is also our infernal construction - ACS-57. Anti-tank landing self-propelled gun in the dimensions of a car. I suspect that it did not have very good anti-tank capabilities, even at the time of creation, but the thing is very cool. The motor is from Pobeda, the control is easy, the cross-country ability with wheeled vehicles is not comparable. And most importantly, no roof, which is rare for an armored vehicle.

Военное обозрение

Разведывательная машина Howie Machine Gun Carrier. Жертва упрощений

20

Разведывательная машина Howie MGC и ее создатели


Простота конструкции обычно дает определенные преимущества, но чрезмерное упрощение может приводить к проблемам. Ярким примером этого стала разведывательная машина Howie Machine Gun Carrier американской разработки. Несмотря на крайне простую и дешевую конструкцию, она была непригодна для практической эксплуатации.

Вместо броневика


В начале 1937 г. бригадный генерал Уолтер К. Шорт выступил с инициативой о создании перспективной сверхлегкой многоцелевой боевой машины. На тот момент задачи разведки и сопровождения пехотных или кавалерийских подразделений решались в основном при помощи бронеавтомобилей. Однако такая техника была достаточно сложной и дорогой – и потому следовало рассмотреть возможные альтернативы.

Идея генерала Шорта заключалась в создании максимально компактной машины с минимальным экипажем и пулеметным вооружением. За счет специально разработанного шасси она должна была показывать высокую подвижность. Скорость, маневренность и минимальные проекции должны были защищать ее не хуже обычной брони.

Разведывательная машина Howie Machine Gun Carrier. Жертва упрощений
Готовы к маневру и бою

Разработку и строительство экспериментальной машины поручили специалистам пехотной школы базы Форт-Беннинг – капитану Роберту Дж. Хауи и мастер-сержанту М. Уайли. Всего за несколько месяцев они подготовили проект и сами собрали опытный образец. В знак признания их труда проект фигурировал в документах под названием Howie Machine Gun Carrier («Носитель пулемета конструкции Хауи»). Впрочем, в дальнейшем появилось достаточно обидное неофициальное прозвище.

Проще некуда


Авторы проекта прекрасно справились с задачей упрощения и уменьшения машины. Готовый образец фактически представлял собой самоходное шасси без кузова/корпуса с минимально необходимым набором агрегатов, простейшей конструкцией силовой установки – и с требуемым пулеметным вооружением. При сборке использовались агрегаты серийного автомобиля марки American Austin и другие доступные комплектующие.


Основой конструкции стала простая прямоугольная рама с плоским настилом. В ее передней части крепился передний мост с управляемыми колесами. На корме поместили двигатель и несложную трансмиссию на основе серийных агрегатов. Предусматривался простейший бампер, а по бортам находились колесные арки.

Силовую установку и трансмиссию позаимствовали у автомобиля марки American Austin. Маломощный двигатель находился в корме и был развернут выходным валом вперед. Перед мотором стояла трехскоростная механическая коробка передач, обеспечивавшая привод готового моста с дифференциалом. Задние колеса находились под двигателем, из-за чего понадобился дополнительный цепной привод, соединявший их полуоси с мостом. Колеса, шестерни и цепи прикрывались изогнутыми крыльями. Подвеска обеих осей была жесткой.

Экипаж состоял всего из двух человек, и их рабочие места отличались специфической эргономикой. Водитель и пулеметчик должны были лежать на животе вдоль машины. Место водителя находилось слева от продольной оси, пулеметчик располагался справа.


На месте водителя имелись оригинальные органы управления. Вместо рулевого колеса использовался румпель по типу лодочного, он контролировался левой рукой. Справа от водителя находился блок с рычагом переключения скоростей. При помощи жесткой тяги он связывался с собственным рычагом коробки передач. Педали разместили в корме машины, под ногами водителя.

Непосредственно перед местом стрелка, у правого колеса, находился шкворень под установку пулемета. На опытном образце использовалось изделие M1917 с водяным охлаждением. Между передними колесами предусматривалась рамка, в которой закреплялись пять коробок с патронными лентами и одна канистра с водой для пулемета. Оставаясь на своем месте, стрелок мог обстреливать цели в ограниченном горизонтальном и вертикальном секторе.


Длина машины Howie MGC составляла всего 3,15 м при колесной базе 1,9 м, ширина – менее 1,6 м. Высота конструкции определялась габаритами силовой установки, а именно радиатором. Этот параметр не превышал 850 мм. Снаряженный вес без учета вооружения и экипажа – 460 кг. Возможно, в ходе дальнейшего развития можно было уменьшить габариты и массу. Автомобильный двигатель обеспечивал скорость на шоссе до 45 км/ч.

Носитель на испытаниях


Сборка изделия Howie MGC «из подручных материалов» продолжалась до августа 1937 г., после чего его вывели на ходовые испытания. Все тесты осуществлялись на полигоне базы Форт-Беннинг. Там проверили как ходовые, так и огневые характеристики. При этом длительные испытания не понадобились, поскольку прототип очень быстро показал все свои преимущества и, что важнее, недостатки.

Разведывательная машина без лишних агрегатов развивала на шоссе высокую скорость и показывала неплохую маневренность. Шкворневая пулеметная установка обеспечивала неплохую огневую мощь. Машина без труда укрывалась в складках местности, и ее обнаружение было достаточно сложным. Впрочем, на этом все достоинства заканчивались.


Достаточно быстро выяснилось, что шасси оставляет желать много лучшего и не соответствует даже элементарным требованиям удобства. Отсутствие мягкой подвески и небольшой клиренс ограничивали подвижность и проходимость даже на шоссе. Экипаж был «открыт всем ветрам», а органы управления не отличались удобством. Из-за тряски и ударов машина получила обидное прозвище Belly Flapper – вероятно, поездка на ней напомнила кому-то болезненное падение в воду плашмя.

Вполне ожидаемо проект Howie MGC получил плохие отзывы и остался без рекомендации к дальнейшему развитию. Армии следовало продолжать разработку и эксплуатацию разведывательных броневиков привычного облика, а не чрезмерно облегченных шасси с пулеметом. К началу 1938 г. работы по концепции генерала Шорта остановились.


Чертеж из патента 1939 г., представляющий трехосный вариант шасси

Вторая попытка


Впрочем, авторы проекта не сдались. Капитан Р. Хауи полагал, что его «носитель пулемета» имеет реальные перспективы и способен найти свое место в армии. Он завел переписку с различными структурами и организациями, начал ходить по кабинетам и отстаивать свою точку зрения. Кроме того, он запатентовал оригинальную машину. Любопытно, что к патенту 1939 г. прилагались чертежи двух- и трехосного шасси.

Усилия офицера-энтузиаста не пропали даром. В 1940 г. на фоне начавшейся войны в Европе и известных рисков для США проект Howie Machine Gun Carrier снова привлек внимание. Военное ведомство пригласило представителей нескольких автомобильных компаний для ознакомления с экспериментальной конструкцией. Возможно, они могли бы заинтересоваться необычной концепцией и реализовать ее на новом техническом уровне, уже без врожденных проблем имеющегося прототипа.


Howie MGC в музее

Разведывательная машина опять никого не заинтересовала, и окончательно осталась без будущего. Единственный построенный прототип отправили на хранение перед возможной утилизацией. Впрочем, «носителю пулемета» повезло. Он дожил да нашего времени и после реставрации занял свое место в музее базы Форт-Беннинг.

Таким образом, проект Р. Хауи и М. Уайли на базе концепции генерала У. Шорта не дал никаких реальных результатов, за исключением понимания бесполезности подобных разработок. Следует отметить, что Howie Machine Gun Carrier не был единственной попыткой создания компактной машины с пулеметным вооружением. Схожие изделия создавались и в других странах, и все подобные проекты завершились одинаково – провалом. Разведывательные машины и танкетки такого рода не имели реальных перспектив.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Warwheels.net, Warweapons.ru
20 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. RealPilot
    RealPilot 21 марта 2021 04:41
    +5
    Упрощения редко дают плоды вне военного времени. А тут 1937 год, все готовятся, но никто не воюет.
    Такая "тачанка" могла быть принята на вооружение в условиях боевых действий, когда экономика надрывается от войны, и каждый цент в масштабе сотен и тысяч машин имеет значение. Ну и для американцев были важны поставки союзникам, а те бы взяли почти все что угодно в тяжелой ситуации. Вплоть до последующей установки кузова бы рассматривалось - двигатель и рама ведь были! А движки во Второй мировой являлись дефицитом. Плюс колеса с резиной.

    И если бы на двадцать-тридцать лет раньше такое "чудо" изобрели, когда автомобили были вдиковинку... Может и заинтересовало бы оно кого.

    Но спасибо автору статьи! Иногда рассказ о провальных разработках тем и интересен, что о них никто не знает. О легендарном оружии уже тома написаны, а вот неудачи показывают дух эпохи, бывают интересные образцы инженерной мысли, достоиные осмысления.
    1. Профайлер
      Профайлер 21 марта 2021 04:48
      +7
      Цитата: RealPilot
      И если бы на двадцать-тридцать лет раньше такое "чудо" изобрели, когда автомобили были вдиковинку... Может и заинтересовало бы оно кого.

      no Читая материал , и просматривая фото , тоже предполагал, что платформа могла быть использована в качестве Транспортёра Переднего Края (ТПК) , но дочитав до этого момента :
      Подвеска обеих осей была жесткой.

      , понял что negative , отстой yes ...
    2. Симаргл
      Симаргл 21 марта 2021 07:30
      +1
      Цитата: RealPilot
      Вплоть до последующей установки кузова бы рассматривалось - двигатель и рама ведь были!
      Подвески нет, а потому все надстройки развалятся через 10 км по пересечённой местности. Впрочем, даже в случае "нормального" использования - можно инвалидом стать.
  2. тасха
    тасха 21 марта 2021 05:40
    +5
    Занятная история...
    Идея генерала Шорта заключалась в создании максимально компактной машины с минимальным экипажем и пулеметным вооружением... Разведывательные машины и танкетки такого рода не имели реальных перспектив.
    Не уверен, что вывод верный. Просто в этом конкретном случае конструкторы увлеклись. И через несколько лет:
  3. Наган
    Наган 21 марта 2021 05:57
    +6
    Даже эта штука выглядит в сравнении куда более продвинутой.
    1. Профайлер
      Профайлер 21 марта 2021 06:31
      +8
      Цитата: Наган
      Даже эта штука выглядит в сравнении куда более продвинутой.




      Так это и есть специализированный ТПК (транспортёр переднего края ) , полноприводная амфибия-транспортёр особо малой грузоподъемности.
      Он изначально проектировался по заказу ВДВ для эвакуации раненых, подвоза боеприпасов и военно-технического имущества, буксировки, а в вторичном предназначении , и для установки отдельных видов вооружения.
      И сделан был не костотрясом , каким представляется американский эрзац , а представлял собой вполне взвешенное и цельное решение для возлагаемых на него задач.
      1. Dunkelheit
        Dunkelheit 21 марта 2021 07:45
        0
        А оружие установить на "Волынянку" нашу если?
  4. saygon66
    saygon66 21 марта 2021 07:42
    +6
    - Так и запишем: Пер-спек-тив не и-ме-ли... wink



    1. Avis
      Avis 21 марта 2021 12:58
      0
      Цитата: saygon66
      - Так и запишем: Пер-спек-тив не и-ме-ли... wink

      А так же вооружённый "Мул".

  5. Вадим Ананьин
    Вадим Ананьин 21 марта 2021 08:35
    +1
    Интересно, познавательно.
  6. andrewkor
    andrewkor 21 марта 2021 08:54
    +2
    Уважаемый коллега,20 лет форы (37-57) года с начала разработки,ещё 20 лет доводки до серийного пр-ва,с привлечением всех ресурсов Автопрома и науки,согласитесь,это имело значение!
  7. dauria
    dauria 21 марта 2021 10:15
    +3
    Недостаток один - лежачее положение . Если использовать эту малявку на аэродроме - цены бы ей не было даже в таком примитивном виде.

    И интересная штука. Лежачее положение не прижилось даже в авиации - слишком велика утомляемость даже без всякой тряски. Хеншель 132 тоже упростить пытались дальше некуда.И тоже лёжа wink
    1. Проктолог
      Проктолог 21 марта 2021 12:43
      +2
      ну, преимущества лежачего положения для военной техники уж больно соблазнительны - мала лобовая проекция. Понять инженеров можно. В принципе, суперкары F1 доказывают, что можно довести до приемлемого для удобства пилота варианта.
  8. bk0010
    bk0010 21 марта 2021 10:31
    +3
    Служить лежа! Атаковать лежа!!!
  9. Проктолог
    Проктолог 21 марта 2021 12:40
    0
    Большое спасибо! Очень познавательно! Особенно интересно увидеть, как проект, опередивший свое время лет на 30-50, был совершенно бесполезен, пока кто-то не придумал дополнить его парой "мелочей", превращающих шасси в багги, и этот вариант оказался успешным! Всего-то подвеску добавить и дуги!
  10. Вольный ветер
    Вольный ветер 21 марта 2021 12:58
    +1
    Необычный наш ЛуАЗ . А если воткнуть движок от китайского мотоблока. То будет вполне удачная машина.. Интересны опыты по втыканию китайских движков в Бураны.
  11. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 21 марта 2021 22:08
    +2
    У англичан была в WW2 подобная машинка. И показала себя хорошо.
    Под противотанковое ружье и пулемет.
    Universal Weapons Carrier (Bren Carrier)
    1. Alex013
      Alex013 22 марта 2021 18:53
      +1
      Да её и в Советский Союз по ленд лизу поставили около 2 тыс. штук. Много есть фото с разведчиками.
      1. voyaka uh
        voyaka uh 22 марта 2021 19:09
        +1
        Я в нее даже залезал. Она выставлена, как экспонат, в одном из парков.
        Прикольно. Движок открыт, как на старом катере. Корыто такое... laughing
  12. MooH
    MooH 7 мая 2021 15:10
    0
    Есть еще наша адская конструкция - асу-57. Противотанковая десантируемая самоходка в габаритах легкового автомобиля. Подозреваю, что с противотанковостью у нее было не очень, даже на момент создания, но штука очень прикольная. Мотор от Победы, управление легкое, проходимость с колесными ТС не сравнима. И главное, никакой крыши, что редкость для бронеобъекта.