Military Review

Deck universal aircraft "Douglas TB2D Skypirate" (prototype)

2
Deck development aviation in 1941-45, it was associated in the United States, primarily with the threat posed by the Imperial fleet Japan. Pearl Harbor has shown the world how important deck aviation is. The United States needed a plane with the capabilities of self-defense, striking at surface and submarine ships of the enemy.

Deck universal aircraft "Douglas TB2D Skypirate" (prototype)


By the beginning of the 2MW, the Americans had successfully developed and built two deck-based aircraft - the TBD "Devastator" torpedo bomber and the SBD "Dauntless" dive bombard. From 1941, the aviation company Douglas began to develop a new aircraft called the XSB2D “Dauntless” II. But two years later, the development of the aircraft was stopped in favor of a universal aircraft with one engine called BTD "Destroyer". True, it is worth noting that the United States Navy did not acquire the aircraft.

Engineers of the company "Douglas" worked hard on the project of the new aircraft. The A-26 Invader aircraft was chosen as the base. The aircraft received a new engine, increased wing span. Modify the chassis of the aircraft to ensure the deck take-off / landing and tail section. The possibility of overseas aircraft delivery was planned, for which changes were made to the design (tailhook). Under the wings, pylons are installed to arm the aircraft with aerial bombs or torpedoes.



In 1942, work began on the Douglas 1942 VTB Proposal aircraft project (the Devastator 2 project). The plane gets a folding wing. The aircraft’s armament was represented by seven machine guns:
- two pylons Mk 2. The pylon consisted of 2 machine guns "Browning M-2" caliber 12.7mm. Accommodation - under the wing of the aircraft;
- Three Browning M-2 rolling machine guns of 12.7mm caliber. Two machine guns were placed in the tower of the type "Firestone 250CH-3", the third machine gun was installed under the fuselage.

On 4 free pylons under the wing, it was planned to install additional fuel tanks, which made it possible to almost double the flight range. From the equipment, according to the project, the aircraft received an APS-4 radar and a 28-cylinder WaspMajor Pratt & Whitney XR-4360-8 engine with a capacity of 3 thousand hp with opposite rotation of the propellers.

Fleet commanders showed interest in this aircraft to provide aircraft carriers of the Midway class. The plane interested the sailors as a torpedo bomber, for its cover and escort they planned to use fighters "Boeing XF8B". However, the “Douglas 1942 VTB Proposal” was to become a universal aircraft with the ability to perform the following tasks:
- bombing of enemy surface ships;
- intelligence and surveillance.



In the autumn of 1943, the lead midway class aircraft carrier was launched, and they signed a contract with Douglas to create 2 prototypes. The aircraft is officially called "Skypirate", the designation "TB2D". The serial numbers of prototype universal deck aircraft are 36933 / 36934. It was planned to order 23 copies of new deck aircraft.

The first of the prototypes for the first time rises to the sky only at the beginning of the 1945 year. The second - a few months later. The second prototype was slightly different from the first by the presence of an elongated fuselage (+ 58 centimeters). Experienced aircraft tested without installing weapons. In flight tests, the aircraft was able to lift into the air a payload that is 4 times as large as most US Air Force bombers.

After the war, Japan still had a fairly powerful fleet, and the need for such aircraft was quite relevant. However, a sharp post-war reduction in the military budget was reflected in the production and acquisition of TB2D Skypirate in the most pitiable way. The Navy abolishes the lot in 23 of the new aircraft “TB2D Skypirate”. Flight tests universal deck aircraft stop. Two prototypes existed for only three years and are destroyed in the 1948 year.



This aircraft was the largest of the known deck aircraft with one or even two engines, designed and built during the 2MB. He even surpassed (in wing span and full take-off weight) 2's NorthAmerican B-25B engine, and this was the largest aircraft built for takeoff from the deck of an aircraft carrier.

Key Features:
- wing - 21.3 meter;
- length - 14 meters;
- height - 5 meters;
- weight empty / normal / full - 8.3 / 12.9 / 15.7 tons;
- speed cruiser / max - 270 / 547 km / h;
- distance practice / distance - 2.3 / 4.6 thousands of kilometers;
- lifting speed 1120 meters per minute;
- High-altitude ceiling - kilometer 7.4;
- crew - three people;
Aircraft Armament:
- seven 12.7mm Browning M-2 machine guns;
- payload up to 3.8 tons;
- torpedoes - up to 4-x torpedoes of the Mk.13 / 13-2 / 13-2А type;
- Aerial bombs - several bombs, depending on weight. (900 kilograms each)


Information sources:
http://alternathistory.org.ua/duglas-tb2d-skypirate-naslednik-znamenitykh-evendzherov
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_XTB2D_Skypirate
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/sww2/tb2d.html
Author:
2 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Zerstorer
    Zerstorer 27 August 2012 10: 04
    0
    The idea of ​​creating a single-engine reconnaissance / torpedo bomber / bomber looks very tempting. However, I believe that using the Invader glider did not make sense. It was better to make a new glider, since this plane was supposed to be too multi-purpose. See for yourself, appointment: reconnaissance / bomber / torpedo bomber. These are completely different flight profiles. And just applying an invader glider is not the best solution.

    Thanks for the article.
  2. Kibb
    Kibb 27 August 2012 12: 11
    0
    Motor, motor, and once again the motor - and in this the British advanced

Палубный универсальный самолёт «Douglas TB2D Skypirate» (прототип)

Развитие палубной авиации в 1941-45 годах связано в Соединенных Штатах, в первую очередь, с угрозой, исходящей от Императорского флота Японии. Пёрл-Харбор показал всему миру, какое значение приобретает палубная авиация. США требовался самолет с возможностями самозащиты, нанесения ударов по надводным и подводным кораблям противника.

Палубный универсальный самолёт «Douglas TB2D Skypirate» (прототип)


К началу 2МВ американцы успешно разрабатывали и создавали два палубных самолета – торпедоносец TBD «Devastator» и пикировщик SBD «Dauntless». С 1941 года авиационная компания «Douglas» начинает разрабатывать новый самолет под названием XSB2D «Dauntless» II. Но через два года разработку самолета останавливают в пользу универсального самолета с одним двигателем под названием BTD «Destroyer». Правда стоит отметить, что ВМФ Соединенных Штатов самолет не стали приобретать.


Инженеры компании «Дуглас» усиленно работали над проектом нового самолета. В качестве базы был выбран самолет «A-26 Invader». Самолет получил новый двигатель, увеличенный размах крыла. Изменяют шасси самолета для обеспечения палубной взлет/посадки и хвостовую часть. Планировалась возможность зарубежной поставки самолетов, для чего вносят изменения в конструкцию (tailhook). Под крылья устанавливают пилоны для вооружения самолета авиабомбами или торпедами.

Палубный универсальный самолёт «Douglas TB2D Skypirate» (прототип)


В 1942 году начались работы над проектом самолета «Douglas 1942 VTB Proposal» (проект «Devastator 2»). Самолет получает складывающееся крыло. Вооружение самолета было представлено семью пулеметами:
- два пилона Mk 2. Пилон состоял из 2-х пулеметов «Browning M-2» калибра 12.7мм. Размещение – под крылом самолета;
- три пулемета подвижного исполнения Browning M-2» калибра 12.7мм. Два пулемета разместили в башне типа «Firestone 250CH-3», третий пулемет установили под фузеляжем.

На 4-х свободных пилонах под крылом планировали установку дополнительных топливных баков, что давало возможность увеличить дальность полета почти в два раза. Из оборудования, согласно проекта, самолет получал радар «APS-4» и 28-цилиндровый двигатель «WaspMajor» Pratt&Whitney XR-4360-8 с мощностью 3 тысячи л.с с противоположным вращением винтов.

К данному самолету командование флота проявило интерес для обеспечения авианосцев класса «Midway». Самолет интересовал моряков как торпедоносец, для его прикрытия и эскорта планировали использовать истребители «Boeing XF8B». Однако «Douglas 1942 VTB Proposal» должен был стать универсальным самолетом с возможностью выполнения следующих задач:
- бомбардировки вражеских надводных кораблей;
- разведки и наблюдения.

Палубный универсальный самолёт «Douglas TB2D Skypirate» (прототип)


Осенью 1943 года спущен на воду головной авианосец класса «Midway» и с компанией «Douglas» подписывают контракт на создание 2-х прототипов. Самолеты официально называют «Skypirate», обозначение «TB2D». Серийные номера прототипов универсальных палубных самолетов - 36933/36934. Планировалось заказать 23 экземпляра новых палубных самолетов.

Первый из прототипов впервые поднимается в небо только в начале 1945 года. Второй – на несколько месяцев позже. Второй прототип немного отличался от первого наличием удлиненного фюзеляжа (+ 58 сантиметров). Опытные самолеты испытывали без установки вооружения. На летных испытаниях самолет смог поднять в воздух полезную нагрузку, в 4 раза большую, чем большинство бомбардировщиков ВВС США.

После войны у Японии оставался все еще довольно мощный флот, и потребность в подобных самолетах была достаточно актуальна. Однако резкое послевоенное сокращение военного бюджета отразилось на производстве и приобретении «TB2D Skypirate» самым плачевным образом. Партию в 23 новых самолета «TB2D Skypirate» ВМФ отменяет. Летные испытания универсальных палубных самолетов останавливают. Два прототипа просуществовали всего три года и в 1948 году их уничтожают.

Палубный универсальный самолёт «Douglas TB2D Skypirate» (прототип)


Данный самолет являлся самым большим из известных палубных самолетов с одним и даже с двумя моторами, разработанных и построенных во время 2МВ. Он даже превосходил (по размаху крыла и полному взлетному весу) 2-х моторный«NorthAmerican B-25B», а это был самый большой из построенных самолетов для взлета с палубы корабля (авианосца).

Основные характеристики:
- крыло- 21.3 метра;
- длина – 14 метров;
- высота – 5 метров;
- вес пустой/норма/полный – 8.3/12.9/15.7 тонны;
- скорость крейсер/макс – 270/547 км/ч;
- дальность практика/перегон – 2.3/4.6 тысяч километров;
- скорость подъема 1120 метров в минуту;
- высотный потолок – 7.4 километра;
- экипаж – три человека;
Вооружение самолета:
- семь пулеметов калибра 12.7мм «Browning M-2»;
- полезная нагрузка до 3.8 тонны;
- торпеды – до 4-х торпед типа Mk.13/13-2/13-2А;
- авиабомбы – несколько бомб в зависимости от веса. (900 килограмм каждая)


Источники информации:
http://alternathistory.org.ua/duglas-tb2d-skypirate-naslednik-znamenitykh-evendzherov
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_XTB2D_Skypirate
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/sww2/tb2d.html
Автор: Роман Джерелейко


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. Zerstorer 27 августа 2012 10:04
    Идея создания однодвигательного разведчика/торпедоносца/бомбардировщика выглядит весьма заманчиво. Однако, считаю, что использование планера Invader не имело смысла. Лучше было сделать новый планер, так как уж слишком многоцелевым должен был быть этот самолет. Смотрите сами, назначение: разведчик/бомбардировщик/торпедоносец. Это совершенно разные профили полета. И просто применить планер инвейдора - не лучшее решение.

    За статью спасибо.
  2. Kibb 27 августа 2012 12:11
    Мотор ,мотор, и еще раз мотор- и в в этом продвинулись далше всех британцы
    Kibb

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня