Military Review

Transporter for the Arctic. The Pentagon continues the CATV program

17

Army transporter M973 SUSV at the training ground, 1985


The Pentagon continues the Cold Weather All-Terrain Vehicle (CATV) program. Its goal is to find and select a modern tracked carrier for operation in the Arctic. In the coming months, it is planned to receive experimental equipment and begin comparative tests at proving grounds and on real terrain. The best example will replace obsolete technology in the near future.

Replacement problem


In the early eighties, the US Army held the SUSV (Small Unit Support Vehicle) competition, the winner of which was the Swedish company Hägglunds (now part of BAE Systems) with a two-link tracked carrier Bv 206. This machine was adopted as the M973 SUSV and at minimum terms became the main transport of the arctic units of the army and the Marine Corps.

By now, the operation of SUSV machines is facing serious problems. The "American" modification of the Bv 206 has already been discontinued, and the cash machines are close to the full depletion of the resource. Repair is difficult due to the lack of required spare parts. The number of active SUSVs has been reduced to the required minimum, and in 2023 FY. they will be written off due to the complete impossibility of continuing operation.


Bronco armored vehicle from ST Engineering

In 2018, the Pentagon launched the Joint All Weather All Terrain Support Vehicle (JAASV) program to find a modern replacement for the SUSV. After a short preparatory work, this program was transferred to a new level and renamed. Since May 2019, the search for new equipment has been carried out within the framework of the CATV project.

In 2019-20. The Pentagon accepted and considered applications from potential participants. Two projects developed by two organizations entered the new phase of the CATV program. The first sample is offered by the American company Oshkosh Defense and Singapore's ST Engineering, and the second is presented by the international BAE Systems, which now includes Hägglunds.

Soon


On April 5, it became known that the Pentagon had issued contracts to the two alliances for the production and supply of equipment for comparative tests. An unnamed number of transporters of two models must be handed over to the customer by June 14. The cost of contracts has not been specified, but it is known that for the procurement of equipment under CATV for 2021 FY. $ 9,25 million was allocated. In addition, this year another 6 million will be spent on research and testing.


Comparative tests of two transporters will be carried out in Alaska by one of the army training centers. The events will start in August this year and will run until December. Such a schedule will allow you to test the equipment in different locations and in different weather conditions typical for all seasons.

Immediately after the comparative tests, the process of analyzing the collected data and choosing the best design will begin. The winner of the CATV program will be selected by the end of Q3 FY2022, i.e. no later than mid-summer of the calendar year. After that, a contract for serial production will appear, and by the beginning of 2023 the industry will have to supply the first CATV machines to replace the outdated SUSV.

Current plans call for the purchase of 110 CATV transporters by mid-decade. This is enough to re-equip the arctic units of the army and the ILC. Depending on the progress of production and the results of actual operation, the order can be increased by one and a half times. It is curious that earlier there were also larger numbers, up to 200 units.


International project


One of the contenders for the contract is a multipurpose vehicle from Oshkosh Defense and ST Engineering. The competition sample was made on the basis of the articulated Bronco 3 transporter. The latter has undergone some changes and received new equipment in accordance with the customer's requirements and the standards of the US Army. Two cars will be sent for testing - one will receive a cargo-passenger rear link, and the second will be equipped with a cargo body.

Bronco 3 is a two-link armored personnel carrier with the ability to transport people and goods, as well as provide fire support. The machine with a total length of 8,6 m with a curb weight of 10,2 tons has two hulls on unified chassis. A 325 hp engine is installed in the front housing. and a 6-speed automatic transmission to drive two tracked propellers. The bodies are hinged with hydraulic drives.

The Bronco 3 transporter initially has a bulletproof booking with the ability to install additional protection modules. V-shaped bottoms are also used to protect against mines. In the configuration of the armored personnel carrier, the vehicle can accommodate 12 people: 4 in the front body and 8 in the rear. Installation of the required weapons is possible. Carrying capacity - 6,3 tons.

Transporter for the Arctic. The Pentagon continues the CATV program

BAE Systems BvS 10 Beowulf Machine

The armored personnel carrier is able to move on roads at a speed of 65 km / h and swim, developing 5 km / h. Low ground loading allows you to move on sand, deep snow and other difficult surfaces without a serious drop in mobility and flotation.

Swedish challenger


BAE Systems offers the BvS 10 Beoulf multipurpose transporter for the CATV competition. This is one of the modern options for the further development of the old Bv 206, operated in different countries, incl. in USA. The new BvS 10 differs from its predecessor in increased dimensions, weight and payload. An armored version of such a vehicle has been developed and is being mass-produced.

The BvS 10 has a length of 7,6 m and a mass of at least 8,5 t. The machine is split into two links with its own caterpillar drives and a hydraulic articulation mechanism. The Beowulf is powered by a 275 hp diesel engine. and an automatic transmission with power output to all four tracks.


At the request of the customer, the BvS 10 can be equipped with anti-bullet / anti-fragmentation armor. It is planned to install machine guns of various models and smoke grenade launchers. The front hull can accommodate four people, while the rear hull has eight seats. Transportation of goods of appropriate dimensions is possible.

In terms of basic running characteristics, the BvS 10 is on a par with the Bronco 3 - speed up to 65 km / h on land and up to 5 km / h on water. The existing undercarriage is characterized by low ground loading and provides the highest flotation in a variety of terrains.

Challenges and choices


By mid-June, the two equipment manufacturers must provide the Pentagon with transporters for comparative tests, which will last until the end of the year. They will spend several more months analyzing the accumulated information and choosing a winner.


Beowulf with cab tilted to access the power plant

Which of the two multipurpose vehicles will go to the US Army is unclear. In this case, the American military will have to face certain difficulties. Bronco 3 and BvS 10 are close in their tactical, technical and operational characteristics and are almost equal. In this regard, the customer, when choosing, will have to take into account not only the main tabular characteristics, but also other parameters of various kinds.

Modifications of production vehicles are claiming victory in the CATV program. This means that it will not take long to produce test equipment and then start production for the United States. Thanks to this, the Pentagon can count on the timely completion of all planned work - and the start of re-equipment of parts in 2023.

Thus, the US Army gets every chance to re-equip the Arctic units in a timely manner and in full. The successful outcome of the current CATV competition, despite the limited volume of future purchases, is of great importance for the development of the US military. The new technology will make it possible to maintain or increase the combat capability of the Arctic units, which is especially important given the new US plans for the military and economic development of the region.
Author:
Photos used:
US Army, ST Engineering, BAE Systems
17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Lontus
    Lontus April 7 2021 18: 33
    +1
    The advantages of articulated technology only overcome its disadvantages on heavy machines.
    Why it is on 10 tons is unclear.
    1. Bad_gr
      Bad_gr April 8 2021 00: 11
      0
      Quote: Lontus
      Why it is on 10 tons is unclear.

      We produce the same. For example GAZ-3344-20 "Aleut"
  2. ee2100
    ee2100 April 7 2021 18: 36
    0
    Yes, let them do or buy. In Russia, there is actually an analogue to the Swedish M973 SUSV, this is the Typhoon SUV, https://taifun.tech/, while someone chooses something, someone just works.
  3. saygon66
    saygon66 April 7 2021 18: 44
    +1
    - They had SnowCat transporters from the RATRAC company - they were used in Antarctica ...
  4. sabakina
    sabakina April 7 2021 19: 01
    0
    I'm embarrassed to ask, tell the C-grade student in geography, Alaska, is this already the Arctic or the circumpolar region?
    1. old_pferd
      old_pferd April 7 2021 19: 21
      +2
      Some attribute the tundra zone to the Arctic, but usually everything north of the Arctic Circle. And so and so the so-called. Alaska's northern slope - Arctic.
      1. sabakina
        sabakina April 7 2021 19: 26
        +1
        Thank you Alexander, I just remembered the film "The Head of Chukotka". For me, the Arctic is the place where, apart from expeditions, no one can live.
        1. old_pferd
          old_pferd April 7 2021 20: 27
          +3
          Hmm. I was born there and lived there until retirement. You can live, but ...
          1. sabakina
            sabakina April 7 2021 20: 46
            0
            Alexander, you can only be envied. In Central Russia I do not know how to get to this, as it is called, "pre-retirement age". I no longer dream of a pension. True, in the State Duma the "Fair Russia" party made a proposal to postpone the "Reforms to raise the retirement age", but I think it will be "a bunch of puddles" ...
  5. Ponchik78
    Ponchik78 April 7 2021 19: 17
    +3
    Exactly!!! The reclining cockpit is just the thing for the Arctic !!! For road trucks, this is not desirable in the north. And here is the off-road technique. What do they think there at all?
  6. gvozdan
    gvozdan April 7 2021 20: 23
    0
    DT-30 at minimum salaries
  7. Basarev
    Basarev April 7 2021 21: 17
    -2
    Why all these difficulties? The Americans could buy our Knights.
  8. Cowbra
    Cowbra April 7 2021 21: 18
    0
    As I recall that Pearly about "Putin's Swedish all-terrain vehicle" - so I can not read this article)))
    But in general ... With such a "development" of the polar region, as in the United States - it is easier for them to buy 10 all-terrain vehicles from the Swedes without a competition - they don't need more. And it will come out cheaper - without cutting the competition. Well, really, they have shit in Alaska - NO. One city for a hundred thousand, a dozen urban settlements, a couple of bases and a couple of mines - that's all. And to put it mildly, not everything is where such a technique is, in principle, needed. The garden would be worth fencing because of what.
    1. OgnennyiKotik
      OgnennyiKotik April 8 2021 00: 31
      -1
      Quote: Cowbra
      "Putin's Swedish all-terrain vehicle"

      So he drove a modification of the BV-206, called the GAZ-3351. It is powered by an Austrian Steyr diesel engine and an Allison automatic transmission. What is the laugh?

      1. Cowbra
        Cowbra April 8 2021 09: 22
        0
        So I also say - it's all different. What in Russia produce an all-terrain vehicle under license is horror and backward cotton wool. But the fact that in the United States they do not produce a Swedish all-terrain vehicle under license and drive on junk is the most pyridaway country in the world. Not like backward cotton wool!
    2. Doctor
      Doctor April 8 2021 21: 57
      +1
      But in general ... With such a "development" of the polar region, as in the United States - it is easier for them to buy 10 all-terrain vehicles from the Swedes without a competition - they don't need more. And it will come out cheaper - without cutting the competition.

      And with a choice:

  9. aries2200
    aries2200 April 7 2021 21: 34
    0
    make beautiful pictures of mattress covers by specialists of the highest standard ... and the rest is how Hollywood will remove it and show the generals.

Военное обозрение

Транспортер для Арктики. Пентагон продолжает программу CATV

17

Армейский транспортер M973 SUSV на полигоне, 1985 г.


Пентагон продолжает программу Cold Weather All-Terrain Vehicle (CATV). Ее целью является поиск и выбор современного гусеничного транспортера для эксплуатации в Заполярье. В ближайшие месяцы планируется получить опытную технику и начать ее сравнительные испытания на полигонах и на реальной местности. Наилучший образец в ближайшем будущем придет на смену устаревшей технике.

Проблема замены


В начале восьмидесятых годов армия США провела конкурс SUSV (Small Unit Support Vehicle), победителем которого стала шведская компания Hägglunds (ныне входит в состав BAE Systems) с двухзвенным гусеничным транспортером Bv 206. Эта машина была принята на вооружение под индексом M973 SUSV и в минимальные сроки стала основным транспортом арктических частей армии и Корпуса морской пехоты.

К настоящему времени эксплуатация машин SUSV сталкивается с серьезными проблемами. «Американская» модификация Bv 206 уже снята с производства, а наличные машины близки к полной выработке ресурса. Ремонт затрудняется из-за недостатка требуемых запчастей. Количество активных SUSV сокращено до необходимого минимума, а в 2023 ф.г. их спишут ввиду полной невозможности продолжения эксплуатации.


Бронемашина Bronco от ST Engineering

В 2018 г. Пентагон запустил программу Joint All Weather All Terrain Support Vehicle (JAASV), целью которой был поиск современной замены для SUSV. После недолгих подготовительных работ эту программу перевели на новый уровень и переименовали. С мая 2019 г. поиски новой техники ведутся в рамках проекта CATV.

В 2019-20 гг. Пентагон принимал и рассматривал заявки потенциальных участников. В новый этап программы CATV перешли два проекта, разработанные двумя организациями. Первый образец предлагают американская компания Oshkosh Defense и сингапурская ST Engineering, а второй представлен международной BAE Systems, в состав которой сейчас входит Hägglunds.

В ближайшем будущем


5 апреля стало известно, что Пентагон выдал двум альянсам контракты на производство и поставку техники для проведения сравнительных испытаний. Неназванное количество транспортеров двух моделей требуется передать заказчику до 14 июня. Стоимость контрактов не уточняется, но известно, что на закупки техники в рамках CATV на 2021 ф.г. выделялось 9,25 млн долл. Кроме того, в этом году на исследованиях и испытаниях освоят еще 6 миллионов.


Сравнительные испытания двух транспортеров будут проводиться на Аляске силами одного из учебных центров армии. Мероприятия стартуют в августе этого года и продлятся до декабря. Такой график позволит проверить технику на разных местностях и в разных погодных условиях, характерных для всех времен года.

Сразу после сравнительных испытаний начнется процесс анализа собранных данных и выбора наилучшей конструкции. Победителя программы CATV выберут до конца 3 квартала 2022 ф.г., т.е. не позднее середины лета календарного года. После этого появится контракт на серийное производство, и уже к началу 2023 г. промышленность должна будет поставить первые машины CATV для замены устаревших SUSV.

Нынешние планы предусматривают закупку 110 транспортеров CATV к середине десятилетия. Это достаточно для переоснащения арктических частей армии и КМП. В зависимости от хода производства и результатов реальной эксплуатации, заказ может быть увеличен в полтора раза. Любопытно, что ранее фигурировали и более крупные числа, до 200 ед.


Международный проект


Одним из претендентов на контракт является многоцелевая машина от Oshkosh Defense и ST Engineering. Конкурсный образец выполнен на базе сочлененного транспортера Bronco 3. Последний претерпел некоторые изменения и получил новое оснащение в соответствии с требованиями заказчика и стандартами армии США. На испытания отправят две машины – одна получит грузопассажирское заднее звено, а вторую оснастят грузовым кузовом.

Bronco 3 представляет собой двухзвенный бронетранспортер с возможностью перевозки людей и грузов, а также оказания огневой поддержки. Машина общей длиной 8,6 м со снаряженной массой 10,2 т имеет два корпуса на унифицированных ходовых частях. В переднем корпусе устанавливаются двигатель мощностью 325 л.с. и 6-ступенчатая автоматическая трансмиссия, обеспечивающие привод двух гусеничных движителей. Корпуса соединены при помощи шарнира с гидравлическими приводами.

Транспортер Bronco 3 изначально имеет противопульное бронирование с возможностью установки дополнительных модулей защиты. Также применены V-образные днища для защиты от мин. В конфигурации БТР машина вмещает 12 человек: 4 в переднем корпусе и 8 в заднем. Возможна установка требуемого вооружения. Грузоподъемность – 6,3 т.

Транспортер для Арктики. Пентагон продолжает программу CATV

Машина BAE Systems BvS 10 Beowulf

Бронетранспортер способен двигаться по дорогам со скоростью 65 км/ч и плавать, развивая 5 км/ч. Низкая нагрузка на грунт позволяет передвигаться по песку, глубокому снегу и другим сложным поверхностям без серьезного падения подвижности и проходимости.

Шведский претендент


Компания BAE Systems предлагает на конкурс CATV многоцелевой транспортер BvS 10 Beoulf. Это один из современных вариантов дальнейшего развития старого Bv 206, эксплуатируемого в разных странах, в т.ч. в США. Новый BvS 10 отличается от предшественника увеличенными размерами, массой и грузоподъемностью. Разработан и производится серийно бронированный вариант такой машины.

BvS 10 имеет длину 7,6 м при массе не менее 8,5 т. Машина разделяется на два звена с собственными гусеничными движителями и гидравлическим механизмом сочленения. Beowulf оснащается дизельным двигателем мощностью 275 л.с. и автоматической трансмиссией с выдачей мощности на все четыре гусеницы.


По желанию заказчика, BvS 10 может иметь противопульную / противоосколочную броню. Предусматривается установка пулеметов разных моделей и дымовых гранатометов. Передний корпус вмещает четырех человек, в заднем имеется восемь мест. Возможна перевозка грузов соответствующих габаритов.

По основным ходовым характеристикам BvS 10 находится на одном уровне с машиной Bronco 3 – скорость до 65 км/ч на суше и до 5 км/ч на воде. Имеющаяся ходовая часть отличается малой нагрузкой на грунт и обеспечивает высочайшую проходимость на разных ландшафтах.

Испытания и выбор


До середины июня два производителя техники должны предоставить Пентагону транспортеры для проведения сравнительных испытаний, которые продлятся до конца года. Еще несколько месяцев потратят на анализ накопленной информации и выбор победителя.


Beowulf с откинутой кабиной для доступа к силовой установке

Какая из двух многоцелевых машин пойдет в армию США – неясно. При этом американским военным придется столкнуться с определенными трудностями. Bronco 3 и BvS 10 близки по своим тактико-техническим и эксплуатационным характеристикам и едва ли не равноценны. В связи с этим заказчику при выборе предстоит учитывать не только основные табличные характеристики, но и другие параметры разного рода.

На победу в программе CATV претендуют модификации серийных машин. Это означает, что производство техники для испытаний и последующий запуск производства для США не займет много времени. Благодаря этому Пентагон может рассчитывать на своевременное выполнение всех запланированных работ – и на старт переоснащения частей в 2023 г.

Таким образом, армия США получает все шансы своевременно и в полном объеме переоснастить арктические части. Успешный исход текущего конкурса CATV, несмотря на ограниченные объемы будущих закупок, имеет большое значение для развития американских вооруженных сил. Новая техника позволит сохранить или повысить боеспособность арктических частей – что особенно важно с учетом новых планов США по военному и экономическому освоению региона.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
US Army, ST Engineering, BAE Systems
17 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Lontus
    Lontus 7 апреля 2021 18:33
    +1
    Преимущества сочлененной техники перекрывают её недостатки только на тяжелых машинах.
    Зачем это на 10 тонниках - непонятно.
    1. Bad_gr
      Bad_gr 8 апреля 2021 00:11
      0
      Цитата: Lontus
      Зачем это на 10 тонниках - непонятно.

      У нас такие то же выпускают. К примеру ГАЗ-3344-20 «Алеут»
  2. ee2100
    ee2100 7 апреля 2021 18:36
    0
    Да пусть делают или покупают . В России есть фактически аналог шведскому M973 SUSV это внедорожник Тайфун, https://taifun.tech/, пока кто-то что-то выбирает, кто-то просто работает.
  3. saygon66
    saygon66 7 апреля 2021 18:44
    +1
    -Были у них транспортеры SnowCat от фирмы RATRAC - в Антарктиде использовались...
  4. sabakina
    sabakina 7 апреля 2021 19:01
    0
    Стесняюсь спросить, скажите троечнику по географии, Аляска, это уже Арктика или приполярье?
    1. old_pferd
      old_pferd 7 апреля 2021 19:21
      +2
      Одни относят к Арктике зону тундры, но обычно все, что севернее Полярного Круга. А и так и эдак т.н. Северный склон Аляски - Арктика.
      1. sabakina
        sabakina 7 апреля 2021 19:26
        +1
        Спасибо Александр, просто вспомнил фильм "Начальник Чукотки". Для меня Арктика, это то место, где кроме экспедиций, никто жить не может.
        1. old_pferd
          old_pferd 7 апреля 2021 20:27
          +3
          Хм. Я там родился и прожил до пенсии. Жить можно, но...
          1. sabakina
            sabakina 7 апреля 2021 20:46
            0
            Александр, Вам можно только позавидовать. Я в Средней полосе России не знаю, как докарабкаться до этого, как его называют, "предпенсионного возраста". Про пенсию я уже и не мечтаю. Правда, в ГД партия "Справедливая Россия" внесла предложение об отсрочке "Реформы о повышении пенсионного возраста", но думаю, это будет "пук в лужу"...
  5. Ponchik78
    Ponchik78 7 апреля 2021 19:17
    +3
    Вот-вот!!! Откидывающаяся кабина самое то для Арктики!!! Для дорожных грузовиков подобное на северах не желательно. А тут техника для внедорожья. Чем они там думают вообще?
  6. gvozdan
    gvozdan 7 апреля 2021 20:23
    0
    ДТ-30 на минималках
  7. Басарев
    Басарев 7 апреля 2021 21:17
    -2
    К чему все эти сложности? Американцы могли бы закупить наших Витязей.
  8. Cowbra
    Cowbra 7 апреля 2021 21:18
    0
    Как вспомню, что перли про "шведский вездеход Путина" - так не могу эту статью читать)))
    А вообще... С таким "освоением" приполярья, как в США - им проще купить без конкурса 10 вездеходов у шведов - больше и не надо. И дешевле выйдет - без распила на конкурсе. Ну реально же, у них нихрена на Аляске - НЕТ. Один город на сотню тысяч, десяток ПГТ, пара баз и пара рудников - все. Причем мягко говоря не все там, где такая техника в принципе нужна. Огород городить стоило бы из-за чего.
    1. OgnennyiKotik
      OgnennyiKotik 8 апреля 2021 00:31
      -1
      Цитата: Cowbra
      "шведский вездеход Путина"

      Так он и ездил на модификации BV-206, под названием ГАЗ-3351. На нем австрийский дизельный двигатель производства Steyr и автоматическая коробка передач Allison. В чем смех то?

      1. Cowbra
        Cowbra 8 апреля 2021 09:22
        0
        Дык я и говорю - этосавсемдругое. Что в России производят у себя по лицензии вездеход - это ужас и отсталая вата. А вот то, что в США не производят у себя по лицензии шведский вездеход и ездят на рухляди - так это самая пиридавая в мире страна. Не то что отсталая вата!
    2. Arzt
      Arzt 8 апреля 2021 21:57
      +1
      А вообще... С таким "освоением" приполярья, как в США - им проще купить без конкурса 10 вездеходов у шведов - больше и не надо. И дешевле выйдет - без распила на конкурсе.

      Да и причем на выбор:

  9. aries2200
    aries2200 7 апреля 2021 21:34
    0
    делать красивые картинки матрасники специалисты высшей пробы ...а всё остальное это как голливуд снимет покажет хенералам.