Military Review

The Black Triangle Incident: The US and British military keep the details of the plane that crashed at Boscombe Down in 1994 under wraps

22

One of the rare photographs of the British Air Force Base Boscombe Down



On September 22, 1994, the British living in settlements near the Boscombe Down air base reported an incomprehensible noise that was approaching the area of ​​the base. The next day, residents again reported hearing a noise similar to that of a freight train. In principle, there was little surprise in such a noise, given the specifics of the airbase, but about everything in more detail.

The Royal Air Force's Boscombe Down Base has long been the main site for testing and evaluating new British military aircraft. aviation... In 1917, the base was built, and then the British Center for Research and Testing of Aircraft and Weapons began to operate it.

In Boscombe Down, promising aircraft were tested and recovered foreign aircraft were studied in order to analyze foreign experience and technologies of aircraft construction. During the period under review, the first half of the 1990s, the base was operated by the Defense Assessment and Research Agency (DERA).

September 1994: exciting events at the airbase


But back to the events of the third decade of September 1994. On the evening of September 26, as a result of an unknown aircraft malfunction, the runway of the Boscombe Down airbase was stopped. The wrecked plane was quickly covered with tarpaulins, and ambulances surrounded it. Eyewitnesses said that the rear of the aircraft was raised, which could indicate a breakdown of the nose of the aircraft. The aircraft was moved to a hangar, where it remained for the next two days.

Eyewitnesses then reported the arrival of a British Army Special Operations Force at Boscombe Down. According to some reports, an Agusta A109 helicopter belonging to the SAS (Special Air Service) covert airlift unit and a Chinook helicopter from the 7th Royal Air Force Squadron, also involved in supporting the British Special Operations Forces, arrived at the airbase.

It was also reported that several unusual aircraft had arrived at the airbase. Among them was, for example, the US Air Force C-12 Huron, which is used by the Department of Defense for priority air travel throughout Europe. In addition, a Boeing 707 flew to the base. According to some reports, the last aircraft purchased by the US government in 1992 was used for the secret needs of the US Central Intelligence Agency and the US Air Force Special Operations Command.

On September 28, 1994, eyewitnesses accidentally saw how a partially covered aircraft was removed from the base hangar. It was charcoal gray with tilted twin tail fins and was about the size of a large fighter. But no one could identify the model of the plane. Its removal from the hangar followed the arrival of the US Air Force C-5 Galaxy at the base.

Of course, the British War Department, like the Pentagon, denied the incident at Boscombe Down airbase. However, the information leaked, and unnamed officers of the Royal Air Force acted as newsmakers of the British and American media. That is, the information about the event was received by the journalists practically at first hand. Today they write about it in The Drive.

Scout, transport plane, or something else?


In 1997, Air Forces Monthly wrote that the crashed plane was a long-talked about ASTRA (Advanced Stealth Reconnaissance Aircraft) project, produced by Northrop and called AV-6 (Air Vehicle Six).

According to Brett Tingley, the crashed plane could have been one of quite a few reconnaissance stealth aircraft used by the US Air Force. Eyewitnesses of their flights called such airplanes nothing more than "black triangles" - because of their color and specific shape.


At the same time, there was no convincing evidence of the existence of a new reconnaissance aircraft. Moreover, just during the period under review, satellites were actively developing, which were much more effective than traditional aerial reconnaissance, and the popularity of the latter was steadily declining. American aircraft designers could not fail to take into account current trends, so it is possible that the incident at Boscombe Down occurred with the TR-3A subsonic tactical aircraft.

As Tyler Rogoway emphasizes, such aircraft did exist in the first half of the 1990s. In addition, at that time, work was underway to create small, stealthy tactical transport aircraft for the needs of special operations forces. They also had to go unnoticed to covertly deploy spetsnaz units to carry out top-secret missions.

Another analyst, Thomas Newdick, admits the possibility that the plane crashed at Boscombe Down could be a foreign-made aircraft, somewhere captured and rebuilt at a British air base for study. After all, the center located at the airbase specialized, among other things, in the restoration of foreign aircraft.

Joseph Trevithick, having sent a journalistic request to the US CIA, received a rather interesting reply: a responsible CIA official advised him to contact the Department of Defense and the Air Force for further comments. However, the Air Force Security Center said they were unaware of any incident at a British airbase in 1994. Nor were there any intelligible answers from the British War Office and the Royal Air Force of Great Britain.

It turns out that almost thirty years later, the incident at Boscombe Down is still a mystery under seven seals. And this allows us to make a variety of guesses and build the most unimaginable versions as to what kind of secret plane the British and Americans were hiding and why there is still silence about it.
Author:
Photos used:
Wikipedia / Rodw
22 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. sergo1914
    sergo1914 April 8 2021 09: 43
    +6
    The next day, residents again reported hearing a noise similar to that of a freight train.


    What's wrong? The experimental plane flew on rails in the air. That's why he is experimental.
    1. NIKN
      NIKN April 8 2021 13: 29
      +2
      Quote: sergo1914
      The next day, residents again reported hearing a noise similar to that of a freight train.


      What's wrong? The experimental plane flew on rails in the air. That's why he is experimental.

      Yes, okay, I, too, as soon as I hear a sound like a train, I immediately report running to anyone.
      Yes, everything is wrong here and sucked from the finger,.
  2. GTYCBJYTH2021
    GTYCBJYTH2021 April 8 2021 09: 48
    +1
    The film "Hangar 18" is some kind of ....
    1. Egoza
      Egoza April 8 2021 10: 19
      +1
      Quote: GTYCBJYTH2021
      The film "Hangar 18" is some kind of ....

      Sometimes science fiction writers are surprisingly accurate in their "fantasies"
      However, the fact that they are silent about this plane even now gives an excellent reason (if they demand something from Russia to open, explain, show, let in with the inspection) to declare: "Only after you," maybe we will show ... Kuzkin's mother
      1. GTYCBJYTH2021
        GTYCBJYTH2021 April 8 2021 13: 36
        -1
        Quote: Egoza
        Quote: GTYCBJYTH2021
        The film "Hangar 18" is some kind of ....

        Sometimes science fiction writers are surprisingly accurate in their "fantasies"
        However, the fact that they are silent about this plane even now gives an excellent reason (if they demand something from Russia to open, explain, show, let in with the inspection) to declare: "Only after you," maybe we will show ... Kuzkin's mother

        Was the plane really, was it really something old to fiddle with ... So, for garbage information ...
    2. Serg koma
      Serg koma April 8 2021 19: 02
      +2
      Quote: GTYCBJYTH2021
      "Hangar 18" some ...


      Not "some sort of", but quite real, there the planes are converted into cars, so that their shaves and zaluzhniki could not find them - invisible. In the photo there are already converted F-35s; F-22 and TR-3A But don't tell anyone about it - it's scary secret wassat
      1. GTYCBJYTH2021
        GTYCBJYTH2021 April 8 2021 19: 24
        +1
        Good man ..... I will be silent. wink good drinks
  3. Gato
    Gato April 8 2021 10: 18
    +7
    They scare you with plates
    Say, vile, fly (c)
    1. Sidor Amenpodestovich
      Sidor Amenpodestovich April 8 2021 10: 33
      +4
      How much they bother
      Triangular affairs!
    2. Alien From
      Alien From April 8 2021 11: 26
      +4
      One night, a UFO flew to our village, I moved like a drunk with a crowbar ... how long would it take to break the car wassat (C)
  4. spech
    spech April 8 2021 10: 21
    0
    Ren tv an article embossed?
  5. Doctor
    Doctor April 8 2021 10: 22
    +2
    That was it.



    https://news.rambler.ru/army/43356630-v-ssha-zayavili-o-vozmozhnosti-dostavki-cheloveka-za-chas-v-lyubuyu-tochku-planety/
    1. Ruslan Sulima
      Ruslan Sulima April 8 2021 11: 24
      +3
      That was it.

      In parts only) In this case, the spread of the limbs over a rather large territory.
      "Men in black" remembered) Not a jetpack!
    2. Alf
      Alf April 8 2021 18: 09
      +2
      Quote: Arzt
      That was it.



      https://news.rambler.ru/army/43356630-v-ssha-zayavili-o-vozmozhnosti-dostavki-cheloveka-za-chas-v-lyubuyu-tochku-planety/

      What's the problem? It is possible to deliver a person to any end of the world much faster, the only question is in what form, in whole or in a set of spare parts ...
      1. sharp-lad
        sharp-lad April 8 2021 22: 10
        +1
        A set of broken parts. hi
  6. Thrifty
    Thrifty April 8 2021 10: 51
    0
    Perhaps, over time, we will find out that such a thing crashed there, but I think that the analogue, due to an accident, did not go into the series of some new aircraft.
  7. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 April 8 2021 11: 07
    +1
    heard a noise similar to that of a freight train
    Obviously not aliens, because you won't thunder like that. Maybe they were tanks in the hallway? If over the past 27 years there has been silence and a breakthrough in super technologies has not happened, then you can sleep peacefully, as long as the aliens are not going to capture us.
    1. Gato
      Gato April 8 2021 11: 12
      +2
      so far, the aliens are not going to capture us.

      You ... keep us informed, if that.
      1. rotmistr60
        rotmistr60 April 8 2021 11: 52
        +1
        Is irony hard to understand? It happens.
        1. Gato
          Gato April 8 2021 12: 34
          +1
          Is irony hard to understand? It happens.

          I will forward your post to you.
  8. Prisoner
    Prisoner April 9 2021 15: 33
    0
    Don't go to the fortune-teller, it was a flying locomotive. Surely, when landing, the switchman did not have time to move the arrow.
  9. Pavel57
    Pavel57 April 10 2021 10: 30
    0
    In a generation, it will be a UFO.

Военное обозрение

Инцидент с «чёрным треугольником»: военные США и Великобритании хранят в тайне данные о самолёте, разбившемся на базе Боскомб Даун в 1994

22

Одна из редких фотографий авиабазы ВВС Великобритании Боскомб Даун



22 сентября 1994 года британцы, живущие в населенных пунктах неподалеку от авиабазы Боскомб Даун, сообщили о непонятном шуме, который приближался к району расположения базы. На следующий день жители опять сообщили, что слышали шум, похожий на те звуки, который издает грузовой поезд. В принципе, удивительного в таком шуме было мало, если учитывать специфику авиабазы, но обо всем поподробнее.

База Боскомб Даун Королевских ВВС Великобритании на протяжении длительного времени была основным местом проведения испытаний и оценки новых военных самолетов британской авиации. В 1917 году база была построена, а затем ее начал эксплуатировать Британский центр исследований и испытаний самолетов и вооружений.

В Боскомб Даун испытывали перспективные самолеты и изучали восстановленные иностранные самолеты с целью анализа зарубежного опыта и технологий авиастроения. В рассматриваемый период, первую половину 1990-х годов, база находилась в ведении Агентства оборонной оценки и исследований (DERA).

Сентябрь 1994: захватывающие события на авиабазе


Но вернемся к событиям третьей декады сентября 1994 года. Вечером 26 сентября в результате неизвестной неисправности самолета была остановлена работа взлетно-посадочной полосы авиабазы Боскомб Даун. Разбитый самолет быстро накрыли брезентом, его окружили машины скорой медицинской помощи. Очевидцы рассказывали, что задняя часть самолета была приподнята, что могло указывать на поломку носовой части воздушной машины. Самолет переместили в ангар, где он находился в течение следующих двух дней.

Затем очевидцы сообщили о прибытии в Боскомб Даун подразделения сил специальных операций британской армии. По некоторым данным, на авиабазу прибыли вертолет Agusta A109, принадлежащий подразделению обеспечения скрытой переброски британского спецназа SAS (Специальная воздушная служба), и вертолет «Чинук» из 7-й эскадрильи Королевских ВВС, также занятый в поддержке британских сил специальных операций.

Также сообщалось о прибытии на авиабазу нескольких необычных самолетов. Среди них был, к примеру, самолет C-12 Huron ВВС США , используемый Министерством обороны для приоритетных воздушных перевозок по всей Европе. Кроме того, на базу прилетал Boeing 707. По некоторым данным, последний самолет, приобретенный американским правительством в 1992 году, использовался для секретных нужд Центрального разведывательного управления США и Командования специальных операций ВВС США.

28 сентября 1994 года очевидцы случайно увидели, как из ангара базы извлекали частично прикрытый самолет. Он был угольно-серого цвета, со скошенными внутрь сдвоенными хвостовыми стабилизаторами и по размеру приближался к большому истребителю. Но модель самолета никто опознать не мог. Его извлечение из ангара последовало за прибытием на базу самолета ВВС США C-5 Galaxy.

Разумеется, британское военное ведомство, как и Пентагон, отрицали факт инцидента на авиабазе Боскомб Даун. Однако утечка информации произошла, и ньюсмейкерами британских и американских СМИ выступили не называвшие своих имен офицеры Королевских Военно-воздушных сил. То есть, информация о событии была получена журналистами практически из первых рук. Сегодня об этом пишут в The Drive.

Разведчик, транспортный самолет или что-то еще?


В 1997 году издание Air Forces Monthly писало, что разбившийся самолет был давно обсуждаемым проектом ASTRA (Advanced Stealth Reconnaissance Aircraft), произведенным компанией Northrop и называвшимся AV-6 (Air Vehicle Six).

Как пишет Бретт Тингли, разбившийся самолет мог быть одним из довольно многочисленных самолетов-невидимок для разведывательных нужд, которые использовались ВВС США. Такие самолеты очевидцы их полетов называли не иначе как «черными треугольниками» - из-за цвета и специфической формы.


В то же время, убедительных доказательств существования нового разведывательного самолета не существовало. Более того, как раз в рассматриваемый период активно развивались спутники, которые были куда более эффективными, чем традиционная авиаразведка, и популярность последней неуклонно снижалась. Американские авиаконструкторы не могли бы не учитывать современные тенденции, поэтому не исключено, что инцидент в Боскомб Даун произошел с дозвуковым тактическим самолетом TR-3A.

Как подчеркивает Тайлер Роговей, подобные самолеты действительно существовали в первой половине 1990-х годов. Кроме того, в то время велась работа и по созданию небольших малозаметных тактических транспортных самолетов для нужд сил специальных операций. Они также должны были оставаться незамеченными, чтобы скрытно перебрасывать подразделения спецназа для выполнения сверхсекретных задач.

Еще один аналитик Томас Ньюдик допускает вероятность, что разбившийся в Боскомб Даун самолет мог быть машиной иностранного производства, где-то захваченной и восстановленной на британской авиабазе с целью изучения. Ведь центр, расположенный на авиабазе, специализировался, в том числе, и на восстановлении иностранных самолетов.

Джозеф Тревитик, направив журналистский запрос в ЦРУ США, получил довольно интересную отписку: ответственный чиновник ЦРУ посоветовал ему обратиться для дальнейших комментариев в министерство обороны и Военно-воздушные силы. Однако в Центре безопасности ВВС сообщили, что им ничего неизвестно о каком-либо инциденте на британской авиабазе в 1994 году. Никаких внятных ответов не последовало и от британского военного ведомства и Королевских Военно-воздушных сил Великобритании.

Получается, что спустя почти тридцать лет инцидент в Боскомб Даун все еще остается тайной под семью печатями. И это позволяет делать самые разные догадки и строить самые невообразимые версии относительно того, что же за секретный самолет скрывали британцы и американцы и почему о нем до сих пор хранится молчание.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Wikipedia/Rodw
22 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. sergo1914
    sergo1914 8 апреля 2021 09:43
    +6
    На следующий день жители опять сообщили, что слышали шум, похожий на те звуки, который издает грузовой поезд.


    Что не так? Экспериментальный самолет летел по рельсам, проложенным в воздухе. На то он и экспериментальный.
    1. НИКНН
      НИКНН 8 апреля 2021 13:29
      +2
      Цитата: sergo1914
      На следующий день жители опять сообщили, что слышали шум, похожий на те звуки, который издает грузовой поезд.


      Что не так? Экспериментальный самолет летел по рельсам, проложенным в воздухе. На то он и экспериментальный.

      Да нормально, я вот тоже, как только звук похожий на поезд слышу, тут же сообщать бегу кому ни будь.
      Да все тут не так и высосано из пальца, .
  2. GTYCBJYTH2021
    GTYCBJYTH2021 8 апреля 2021 09:48
    +1
    Фильм "Ангар 18" какой то....
    1. Егоза
      Егоза 8 апреля 2021 10:19
      +1
      Цитата: GTYCBJYTH2021
      Фильм "Ангар 18" какой то....

      Иногда фантасты бывают удивительно точны в своих "фантазиях"
      Однако то, что об этом самолете молчат и сейчас, дает прекрасный повод (если будут чего-то требовать от России открыть, пояснить, показать, пустить с инспекцией) заявить: "Только после вас", может быть и покажем...кузькину мать
      1. GTYCBJYTH2021
        GTYCBJYTH2021 8 апреля 2021 13:36
        -1
        Цитата: Егоза
        Цитата: GTYCBJYTH2021
        Фильм "Ангар 18" какой то....

        Иногда фантасты бывают удивительно точны в своих "фантазиях"
        Однако то, что об этом самолете молчат и сейчас, дает прекрасный повод (если будут чего-то требовать от России открыть, пояснить, показать, пустить с инспекцией) заявить: "Только после вас", может быть и покажем...кузькину мать

        Был ли самолёт в самом деле-не было его в деле самом-чего старое теребить...Так,для информации мусорной.....
    2. Serg Koma
      Serg Koma 8 апреля 2021 19:02
      +2
      Цитата: GTYCBJYTH2021
      "Ангар 18" какой то...


      Не "какой то", а вполне реальный, там самолёты в автомобили переделывают, что бы их бриты и залужники найти не могли - невидимки. На фото стоят уже переделанные F-35; F-22 и TR-3A Но про это никому не говорите - страшно секретно wassat
      1. GTYCBJYTH2021
        GTYCBJYTH2021 8 апреля 2021 19:24
        +1
        Добряк.....молчать буду. wink good drinks
  3. Gato
    Gato 8 апреля 2021 10:18
    +7
    То тарелками пугают
    Дескать, подлые, летают (с)
    1. Сидор Аменподестович
      Сидор Аменподестович 8 апреля 2021 10:33
      +4
      Во, как сильно беспокоют
      Треугольные дела!
    2. Alien From
      Alien From 8 апреля 2021 11:26
      +4
      Как то ночью к нам в село прилетело НЛО, я как с пьяну ломом двинул.... долго ли сломать машину wassat (С)
  4. spech
    spech 8 апреля 2021 10:21
    0
    Рен тв статейку тиснуло?
  5. Arzt
    Arzt 8 апреля 2021 10:22
    +2
    Это было оно.



    https://news.rambler.ru/army/43356630-v-ssha-zayavili-o-vozmozhnosti-dostavki-cheloveka-za-chas-v-lyubuyu-tochku-planety/
    1. Руслан Сулима
      Руслан Сулима 8 апреля 2021 11:24
      +3
      Это было оно.

      По частям только) При этом разброс конечностей на довольно-таки большую территорию.
      "Люди в черном" вспомнились) Только не реактивный ранец!
    2. Альф
      Альф 8 апреля 2021 18:09
      +2
      Цитата: Arzt
      Это было оно.



      https://news.rambler.ru/army/43356630-v-ssha-zayavili-o-vozmozhnosti-dostavki-cheloveka-za-chas-v-lyubuyu-tochku-planety/

      А в чем проблема-то ? Доставить человека в любой конец света можно и гораздо быстрее, вопрос только в том, в каком виде, целиком или набором запчастей...
      1. sharp-lad
        sharp-lad 8 апреля 2021 22:10
        +1
        Набором поломанных запчастей. hi
  6. Бережливый
    Бережливый 8 апреля 2021 10:51
    0
    Возможно, со временем мы узнаем, что там такое шваркнулось, но думаю что аналог не пошедший из за аварии в серию некоего нового самолета.
  7. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 8 апреля 2021 11:07
    +1
    слышали шум, похожий на те звуки, который издает грузовой поезд
    Явно не инопланетяне, т.к.те так греметь не будут. Может это были танки в коридоре? Если за прошедшие 27 лет была тишина и прорыва в сверх технологиях не случилось, то можно спать спокойно, нас пока инопланетяне захватывать не собираются.
    1. Gato
      Gato 8 апреля 2021 11:12
      +2
      нас пока инопланетяне захватывать не собираются.

      Вы это.. держите нас в курсе, если что.
      1. rotmistr60
        rotmistr60 8 апреля 2021 11:52
        +1
        Неужели трудновато иронию понять? Бывает.
        1. Gato
          Gato 8 апреля 2021 12:34
          +1
          Неужели трудновато иронию понять? Бывает.

          Переадресую ваш пост вам же.
  8. Пленник
    Пленник 9 апреля 2021 15:33
    0
    К гадалке не ходи-это был летающий локомотив. Наверняка при посадке стрелочник не успел перевести стрелку.
  9. Pavel57
    Pavel57 10 апреля 2021 10:30
    0
    Через поколение это будет НЛО.