Military Review

April 11 - International Day for the liberation of prisoners of Nazi concentration camps

11

At the entrance to the Buchenwald Memorial



Today, April 11, is a memorable date - International Day for the Liberation of Nazi Concentration Camp Prisoners. We are talking about the release of a large number of people who languished in Nazi torture chambers during the Second World War - in concentration camps, death camps, special prisons of the Gestapo, etc. The exact number of human lives that were carried away by the Nazis during the war in concentration camps is still being counted. This number is in the millions.

Why is the International Day for the Liberation of Nazi Concentration Camp Prisoners celebrated on April 11


This is due to the uprising raised by the prisoners in the Buchenwald concentration camp. When Nazi Germany was living out its last days, the prisoners of one of the largest camps in Germany were preparing to revolt and free themselves. Preparations for the uprising were carried out by an underground organization of prisoners.

Initially, the uprising was scheduled for April 1, 1945, but for a number of reasons it had to be postponed several times. In early April, Soviet prisoner of war Konstantin Leonov and Pole Guidon Damazin, who was an engineer by profession, attempted to get in touch with Soviet and American troops advancing through Germany. Leonov and Damazin tried to inform the allied troops that the camp administration was making attempts to completely destroy all the prisoners languishing there. After several unsuccessful attempts, as a result, on April 8, the radiogram reached the Americans.

From the command of the 3rd US Army in Buchenwald, we received a response that the detachments rushed to the rescue.

On April 11, 1945, an organized uprising began. The prisoners managed to take control of the towers, destroy several guards, enter the commandant's office and ultimately take up a perimeter defense. Historians still argue about the exact number of prisoners who died during the uprising in Buchenwald.

On the same day - April 11 - American troops entered the concentration camp, which ultimately marked the release of all surviving prisoners.

It is noteworthy that if some Nazi criminals who were directly related to the functioning of Buchenwald were executed on the basis of the decision of the tribunal, others managed to escape responsibility. So, Erich Gust, Schutzhaftlagerfuehrer Buchenwald, managed to hide and live to old age (died in 1992) on the territory of Germany itself. And Heinrich Plaza, a doctor who set up unthinkable experiments on prisoners, continued to live in German territory (in the Federal Republic of Germany) after the war and practice medicine ...

Eternal memory to all those who died in concentration camps at the hands of Nazi criminals and did not wait for the Victory.
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Aaron Zawi
    Aaron Zawi April 11 2021 08: 02
    +9
    Everlasting memory.
    1. Tatyana
      Tatyana April 11 2021 12: 31
      +3
      In general, about 20 million people died in the Nazi-Nazi death camps, of which 5 million were citizens of the USSR.
      And this is far from a complete calculation.

      And of the surviving ADULTS prisoners of Nazi camps during the Second World War and WWII, there is now no one alive who could now tell live about what happened to them then.
      However, some of the prisoners of the Nazi death camps are still alive, who in those years were in the camp dungeons as CHILDREN. And they are not silent, but gradually they also leave life.

  2. Uncle lee
    Uncle lee April 11 2021 08: 03
    +8
    Read, understand ...
  3. WHAT IS
    WHAT IS April 11 2021 08: 17
    +7

    The statistics are simply terrifying - over the years during which the Second World War was going on, 20 million people were captured in concentration camps. Exceptions were not made for anyone, the prisoners were both children and old people. More than 11 million people died before liberation. 5 million of them were Soviet citizens.
  4. Mountain shooter
    Mountain shooter April 11 2021 08: 19
    +5
    Terrible date. A reminder of how "civilized" a civilized Europe can be ... New Zealand cannibals nervously smoke on the sidelines.
    1. prior
      prior April 11 2021 08: 51
      0
      Since then, both Europe and the United States have become even more "civilized".
      Confirming this is dazzling ...
      At least the rejection of an effective Russian vaccine to the detriment of the lives of its citizens!
      Well, who are they after that, if not the successors of the deeds of Dr. Mengele? am
  5. Thrifty
    Thrifty April 11 2021 08: 47
    +4
    Nobody is forgotten, nothing is forgotten! We remember. ...
  6. Doccor18
    Doccor18 April 11 2021 08: 48
    +4
    Eternal memory to the victims, and eternal remember to the living ...
    I once had an invaluable experience of communicating with a woman - a former prisoner of a concentration camp in Germany. What a woman! 89 years old. Cheerful, sociable, cheerful ... Surprisingly, people went through this ... but vitality remained in them, optimism and love for people remained.
    After everything you've seen, it's just a shame to despair and be discouraged by any small and insignificant problems ...
  7. xorek
    xorek April 11 2021 09: 43
    +1
    And who really liberated, at the cost of the lives of soldiers, is somehow kept quiet in the "world community" .. That's what a shame! angry
    I remember in Poland, events on this occasion were invited by many countries to honor the memory, etc. And Russia did not even deign to invite, here it is gratitude to the Russian soldier for everything .. Eh Europe, again you step on the old rake and support the Nazis on the sly, in spite of Russia .. Well, well, we all remember soldier
    1. Volodin
      Volodin April 11 2021 09: 49
      +2
      Quote: xorek
      Well, well, we all remember

      Dear Meehan forgot to say that only our memory is short. In the end, we forgive everyone, even betrayal.
      1. xorek
        xorek April 11 2021 10: 47
        +1
        Quote: Volodin
        In the end, we forgive everyone, even betrayal.

        Here you are right Alexey .. Russia is a kind soul, but for the time being hi

Военное обозрение

11 апреля - Международный день освобождения узников фашистских концлагерей

11

На входе в Бухенвальдский мемориал



Сегодня, 11 апреля, отмечается памятная дата – Международный день освобождения узников фашистских концлагерей. Речь идёт об освобождении большого числа людей, которые томились в нацистских застенках в годы Второй мировой войны - в концентрационных лагерях, лагерях смерти, спецтюрьмах гестапо и т.п. До сих пор ведётся подсчёт точного количества человеческих жизней, которые были унесены нацистами в годы войны в концлагерях. Это количество исчисляется миллионами.

Почему Международный день освобождения узников фашистских концлагерей отмечается именно 11 апреля


Связано это с поднятым заключёнными в концлагере Бухенвальд восстанием. Когда гитлеровская Германия доживала свои последние дни, узники одного из крупнейших лагерей на территории Германии готовились восстать и освободиться. Подготовка к восстанию велась подпольной организацией заключённых.

Изначально восстание было намечено на 1 апреля 1945 года, однако в силу ряда причин его пришлось переносить несколько раз. В первых числах апреля советский военнопленный Константин Леонов и поляк Гвидон Дамазин, являвшийся инженером по профессии, осуществляли попытку выйти на связь с советскими и американскими войсками, продвигавшимися по территории Германии. Леонов и Дамазин пытались сообщить союзническим войскам о том, что администрация лагеря предпринимает попытки полностью уничтожить всех томящихся там узников. После нескольких неудачных попыток в итоге 8 апреля радиограмма дошла до американцев.

От командования 3-й армией США в Бухенвальде получили ответ о том, что отряды поспешили на помощь.

11 апреля 1945 года началось организованное восстание. Узникам удалось взять под свой контроль вышки, уничтожить несколько охранников, войти в комендатуру и в конечном итоге занять круговую оборону. О точном числе погибших узников в ходе восстания в Бухенвальде историки спорят по сей день.

В тот же день – 11 апреля – американские войска вошли в концлагерь, что в конечном итоге и ознаменовало освобождения всех, оставшихся в живых, заключённых.

Примечательно, что если одни нацистские преступники, имевшие прямое отношение к функционированию Бухенвальда, были казнены на основании решения трибунала, то другим удалось уйти от ответственности. Так, Эриху Густу, шуцхафтлагерфюреру Бухенвальда, удалось скрыться и дожить до преклонного возраста (умер в 1992 году) на территории самой Германии. А Генрих Плаза – доктор, который ставил немыслимые эксперименты над узниками, продолжал проживать на немецкой территории (в ФРГ) после войны и заниматься медицинской практикой…

Вечная память всем тем, кто погиб в концлагерях от рук нацистских преступников и не дождался Победы.
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Арон Заави
    Арон Заави 11 апреля 2021 08:02
    +9
    Вечная память.
    1. Татьяна
      Татьяна 11 апреля 2021 12:31
      +3
      Вообще в фашистско-нацистских лагерях смерти погибло порядка 20 млн. человек, из них 5 млн - это граждане СССР.
      И это далеко не полный подсчёт.

      А из оставшихся в живых ВЗРОСЛЫХ узников нацистских лагерей времён ВОВ и ВМВ ныне уже нет никого в живых, которые могли бы сейчас в живую рассказать о том, что с ними тогда было.
      Однако ещё живы те некоторые узники нацистских лагерей-смерти, которые в те годы были в лагерных застенках ещё ДЕТЬМИ. И они не молчат, но постепенно и они тоже из жизни уходят.

  2. Uncle Lee
    Uncle Lee 11 апреля 2021 08:03
    +8
    Прочитайте, вникните....
  3. КАКОЙ ЕСТЬ
    КАКОЙ ЕСТЬ 11 апреля 2021 08:17
    +7

    Статистика просто ужасающая - за годы, в которые шла Вторая мировая война, в плену концлагерей побывало 20 миллионов человек. Исключения не делались ни для кого, узники были, как и детьми, так и стариками. До освобождения не дожило более 11 миллионов человек. 5 миллионов из них были советскими гражданами.
  4. Горный стрелок
    Горный стрелок 11 апреля 2021 08:19
    +5
    Страшная дата. Напоминание о том, какой "цивилизованной" может быть цивилизованная Европа... Каннибалы Новой Зеландии нервно курят в сторонке.
    1. prior
      prior 11 апреля 2021 08:51
      0
      С той поры и Европа и Соединённые Штаты стали ещё "цивилизованнее".
      От подтверждения этому рябит в глазах....
      Хотя бы отказ от эффективной российской вакцины в ущерб жизням своих граждан !
      Ну и кто они после этого, если не продолжатели дел доктора Менгеле ? am
  5. Бережливый
    Бережливый 11 апреля 2021 08:47
    +4
    Никто не забыт, ничто не забыто! Мы помним. ...
  6. Doccor18
    Doccor18 11 апреля 2021 08:48
    +4
    Вечная память жертвам, и вечно помнить живущим...
    Был у меня, однажды, неоценимый опыт общения с женщиной - бывшей узницей концентрационного лагеря в Германии. Какая женщина! 89 лет. Веселая, общительная, жизнерадостная... Удивительно, люди прошли через такое... но остались в них жизненные силы, остался оптимизм, любовь к людям.
    После всего увиденного, просто стыдно отчаиваться и унывать от каких-либо мелких и незначительных проблем...
  7. xorek
    xorek 11 апреля 2021 09:43
    +1
    А кто по настоящему освобождал ,ценою жизней солдат ,как то помалкивают в "мировой общественности" ..Вот ,что обидно ! angry
    Помнится в Польше ,мероприятия по этому поводу были многие страны пригласили почтить память и т.д. А Россию даже не соизволили пригласить ,вот она благодарность русскому солдату за все ..Эх Европа ,опять на старые грабли наступаете и нацистов поддерживаете исподтишка,назло России ..Ну ну мы все запоминаем soldier
    1. Володин
      Володин 11 апреля 2021 09:49
      +2
      Цитата: xorek
      Ну ну мы все запоминаем

      Дорогой Михан забыл сказать, что только память у нас короткая. Всё равно в итоге всем всё прощаем, даже предательство
      1. xorek
        xorek 11 апреля 2021 10:47
        +1
        Цитата: Володин
        Всё равно в итоге всем всё прощаем, даже предательство

        Тут вы правы Алексей ..Россия добрая душа ,но до поры до времени hi