Military Review

Faithfully and truly - Karl Fedorovich Baggovut (Karl Gustav von Baggenhufwoodt)

1
The Russian Empire, unlike the modern Russia, was able to attract foreign specialists. Talented foreign officers made a huge contribution to the development of the Russian army in general, and the most important victory over Napoleon in particular. One of such commanders was Karl Fedorovich Baggovut (Karl Gustav von Baggenhufwoodt).

He was born in 1761, in the town of Pergel, in the province of Estland. The family, with a difficultly pronounced family name Baggenhufwoodt, has Norwegian roots, but moved to Sweden in the 16th century, then to Estonia in the 17th century. Karl Gustav’s father headed the Libau customs, and it was he who determined his son’s future career, in 1778, having bought him a captain's patent for the army of Margrave Anspach-Bayreutsky. But for a long time in the army of the Bavarian margrave 17, the summer Baggovut did not linger and a year later he joined the Tobolsk infantry regiment as a lieutenant.

The first combat experience Karl Fedorovich received later 2, after entering the Russian service. In 1781, the Crimean Tatars rebelled. While serving in the Donetsk regiment, Baggovut during the year participated in the pacification of the Tatars.

Faithfully and truly - Karl Fedorovich Baggovut (Karl Gustav von Baggenhufwoodt)
KF Baggovut. Hood George Doe. Military Gallery of the Winter Palace. State Hermitage. St. Petersburg


In 1787, with the rank of Captain Karl Fedorovich, they were transferred to the Siberian Grenadier Regiment, which went south to fight the Turks. In the 1789 year, in the battle of Malaya Salcha, the troops of Prince Repnin, which included Baggovut's regiment, routed the Turks, seizing 8 banners and 3 guns. This battle was one of the first major battles of Karl Fedorovich, in which he showed himself to be a skillful commander. Later, under the command of Prince Potemkin, he took part in the conquest of Bender.

By the end of the Russian-Turkish war, the health of Karl Fyodorovich deteriorated sharply, and he was forced to resign as the prime minister. But less than a year later, at 1792, he volunteered for the army of Count Kakhovsky, who was in troubled Poland. At the end of 1792 (or the beginning of 1793 on the Gregorian calendar) was again officially recruited as a major in the Siberian Grenadier Regiment.

In 1794, in Warsaw, on Easter night, a treacherous attack on the Russian garrison happened. The order 2000 of Russian soldiers taken aback was killed. But Karl Baggovut managed to gather around him a handful of brave men and with fights to get out of the rebellious city. Less than two weeks after the Warsaw events, 21 April 1794, Baggovut once again distinguished himself, having managed to turn the 6 squadrons of cavalry and two companies of rangers of the rebel Poles to 2 to flee. In June of the same year, Karl Fedorovich, having two infantry companies, a cavalry squadron and hundreds of Cossacks, dispersed the infantry battalion 400, cavalry squadrons and the XNUMX order of cosiners (militia). Baggovut also participated in the Battle of Matzeevitsky Castle, where the leader of the uprising, Kosciusko, was captured, and then distinguished himself during the storming of the outskirts of Warsaw and the further pursuit of the rioters.

At sunset of the Catherine era in 1795 Baggovut was appointed commander of the 1 battalion of the Belarusian Chasseur Regiment, then, in 1797, he became the commander and, a year later, became the chief of the 14 th Chasseur regiment. At 1799, Karl Fedorovich was promoted to major general, but at 1800, at the whim of Paul I, was dismissed from service.

In the fall of 1801 of the year, with the accession of Alexander I, Baggovut returns to the service and gets the position of chief of the 4 th Huntsman Regiment, which will be held until his death. In 1804, Karl Fedorovich receives the coveted order for a Russian officer of St.. George 4 degree, for 25 years of impeccable service as an officer. Already next year, Karl Fedorovich once again proved his value to the Russian army in the campaigns against the French 1805-1807 of the year.

So, in 1806, in the battle of Pultusk, an unexpected counterattack, Baggovutu managed to rout the advancing French, who, according to one version, was commanded by Napoleon himself. Then the cavalry general Bennigsen commanded the Russian troops. For this battle, Karl Fedorovich was awarded the Order of St.. George 3 degree, and from the Prussian king granted the Order of the Red Eagle.

In the 1807 campaign on Baggovuta, the task was to cover the retreat of the Allied army from Yankov to Preussish-Eylau. In January, in the rear-guard battle in the city of Preussis-Eylau, he received a heavy concussion with a nucleus, but he managed to detain the enemy. For this fight he was awarded the Order of St.. Anna 1 degree. Despite the injury of Karl Fedorovich, in the summer of 1807, he took part in the battle of Galesburg, and then in the battle of Friedland. Raevsky. It is worth noting that Prince Bagration valued Baggovut and often relied on the military art of the latter.

After the completion of the coalition warrior Baggovut was promoted to lieutenant general. But he did not have to rest on his laurels for a long time, in 1808, the war began with Sweden. Here Baggovut successfully commanded a number of operations and particularly distinguished himself in the battle of Abo, where the Swedish landing force was defeated.

In 1812, Baggovut commanded the 2 Infantry Corps of the 1 Western Army, Barclay de Tolly. The corps, originally located in Orzhitsy, retreated to Smolensk and took part in the battle for the city itself. On August 17, the 6 Division of Major General Yevgeny of Württemberg was deployed to the aid of units of the Dohturov 4 Infantry Corps. Her timely approach allowed her to correct the situation at that moment unfavorable for the Russians.

Leaving the burning Smolensk dominated by the French, the Baggovut corps with the whole army retreated to Borodino, where the general battle of the campaign took place. The 2 Infantry Corps initially occupied a position on the right flank, but when it became clear that the main events were unfolding on the left, Barclay de Tolly transferred Baggovut's corps to the village of Utica. By the time of the approach of the 2 Infantry, the cavalry of Poniatowski and the Junot corps, due to the enormous advantage in numbers, some success had already been achieved, pushing the Tuchkov-3 1 corps. General Tuchkov himself was seriously wounded in one of the counterattacks on the Utitsky barrow. If the defense of the left flank had been broken, then Napoleon would have had great prospects for entering the rear of the Russian army.

It is likely that a convenient position to retreat would allow part of the army to escape, but the losses would be incomparably higher. However, Baggovut, who took command after the injuries of Bagration and Tuchkov, managed to gain a foothold on the left flank and he withdrew his troops only after it became clear that Bagration flushes had been taken by the French and that they didn’t keep Utitsu and Utitsky kurgan. For the battle of Borodino, Karl Fedorovich received the Order of St.. Alexander Nevsky. But they did not have time to hand the award signs and the emperor's rescript.

October 18, not far from the Russian camp at Tarutino, was found a consolidated detachment of Marshal Murat, who with his presence was supposed to demonstrate the false direction of the retreat of the French from Moscow. The avant-garde commander of the French cavalry, pretty thinned by that time, numbered about 20 thousand fighters and 197 guns. The partisan detachments reported that the nearest reinforcements, which Murat might receive, were in Moscow. To the remoteness of the reinforcements, the unfavorable position of the French was added, to the left flank of which a dense forest adjoined. In the end, it was decided to attack the troops of Murat.

Baggovut's infantry corps was to attack the left flank of the French near the village of Teterinka. By chance, the corps came out of the forest opposite the French battery and the renowned general, who had survived the bloody battle of Borodino, was killed by the core at the very beginning of the battle. This did not allow the Russian infantry to act more decisively. As a result, Murat could not be completely defeated, but the French suffered significant losses, only by prisoners losing the order of 2000 people, in addition to 22 guns and the entire train. The Russians, on the other hand, have lost the order of 300 people killed and wounded.

Both Alexander I and Kutuzov regretted the loss of Baggovut. The commander-in-chief noted that Karl Fedorovich was one of the most talented corps commanders, and the emperor, in a letter to the widow of the commander of the 2 infantry corps, wrote the following: "I lost in him a brave commander useful to the fatherland."

Karl Fedorovich Baggovut was one of many foreigners in the Russian service, thanks to whom they managed to stop Napoleon’s invasion.
Author:
1 comment
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. darkman70
    darkman70 28 August 2012 23: 13
    0
    Good was the general. Everlasting memory.

Верой и правдой - Карл Федорович Багговут (Карл Густав фон Баггенхуфвудт)

Российская империя, в отличие от России современной, умела привлекать иностранных специалистов. Талантливые зарубежные офицеры внесли огромный вклад в становление русской армии в целом, и важнейшую победу над Наполеоном в частности. Одним из таких полководцев был Карл Федорович Багговут (Карл Густав фон Баггенхуфвудт).

Родился он в 1761 году в городе Пергель Эстляндской губернии. Семья, с труднопроизносимой фамилией Баггенхуфвудт, имеет норвежские корни, но в XVI веке переселилась в Швецию, затем в XVII в Эстляндию. Отец Карла Густава возглавлял Либавскую таможню, и именно он определ будущую карьеру сына, в 1778 году купив ему капитанский патент в армию маркграфа Аншпах-Байрёйтского. Но надолго в армии баварского маркграфа 17-ти летний Багговут не задержался и уже через год поступил на службу в Тобольский пехотный полк подпоручиком.

Первый боевой опыт Карл Фёдорович получил спустя 2 года после поступления на русскую службу. В 1781 взбунтовались Крымские татары. Находясь на службе в Донецком полку, Багговут в течении года участвовал в усмирении татар.


Верой и правдой - Карл Федорович Багговут (Карл Густав фон Баггенхуфвудт)
К. Ф. Багговут. Худ. Джордж Доу. Военная галерея Зимнего дворца. Государственный Эрмитаж. Санкт-Петербург


В 1787 году в чине капитана Карла Федоровича переводят в Сибирский гренадерский полк, который отправился на юг сражаться с турками. В 1789 году в сражении у Малой Сальчи войска князя Репнина, в составе которых находился полк Багговута, наголову разбили турок, захватив 8 знамен и 3 пушки. Эта битва стала одним из первых крупных сражений Карла Федоровича, в котором он показал себя умелым командиром. Позднее, уже под командованием князя Потемкина, он принял участие в покорении Бендер.

К концу Русско-турецкой войны здоровье Карла Фёдоровича резко ухудшилось, и он вынужден был уйти в отставку в чине премьер-майора. Но уже меньше чем через год, в 1792, отправился волонтером в армию графа Каховского, находившейся в неспокойной Польше. В конце 1792 (или начале 1793 по грегорианскому календарю) вновь был официально принят на службу в звании премьер-майора Сибирского гренадерского полка.

В 1794 году в Варшаве, в ночь на Пасху, случилось вероломное нападение на русский гарнизон. Было убито порядка 2000 русских солдат, застигнутых врасплох. Но Карлу Багговуту удалось собрать вокруг себя горстку храбрецов и с боями выйти из взбунтовавшегося города. Менее чем через две недели после варшавских событий, 21 апреля 1794 года Багговут вновь отличился, сумев силами одного батальона и сотни казаков обратить в бегство 6 эскадронов кавалерии и две роты егерей восставших поляков. В июне того же года Карл Федорович, располагая двумя ротами пехоты, эскадроном кавалерии и сотней казаков, разогнал 2 батальона пехоты, эскадронов конницы и порядка 400 косинеров (ополченцев). Багговут участвовал также в сражении при Мацеевицком замке, где был пленен предводитель восстания – Костюшко, а затем отличился при штурме предместий Варшавы и дальнейшем преследовании бунтовщиков.

На закате екатерининской эпохи в 1795 Багговут назначен командиром 1-го батальона Белорусского егерского полка, затем, в 1797, он становится командиром и, спустя еще год, шефом 14-го егерского полка. В 1799 Карл Федорович произведен в генерал-майоры, но в 1800 по прихоти Павла I уволен со службы.

Осенью 1801 года, с воцарением Александра I, Багговут возвращается на службу и получает должность шефа 4-го егерского полка, на которой будет состоять до самой смерти. В 1804 году Карл Федорович получает заветный для русского офицера орден св. Георгия 4-й степени, за 25 лет безупречной службы в офицерских чинах. Уже в следующем году Карл Федорович в очередной раз доказал свою ценность для русской армии, в кампаниях против французов 1805-1807 года.

Так, в 1806 году в сражении под Пултуском неожиданной контратакой Багговуту удалось обратить в бегство наступающих французов, которыми, по одной из версий, командовал сам Наполеон. Над русскими войсками начальствовал тогда генерал от кавалерии Беннигсен. За это сражение Карлу Федоровичу был присвоен орден св. Георгия 3-й степени, а от прусского короля пожалован орден Красного Орла.

В кампанию 1807 на Багговута легла задача прикрывать отступление союзной армии от Янкова до Прейсиш-Эйлау. В январе в арьергардном сражении в самом городе Прейсиш-Эйлау он получил тяжелую контузию ядром, однако противника задержать сумел. За этот бой награжден орденом св. Анны 1-й степени. Несмотря на ранение Карл Федорович уже летом 1807 года принял участие в сражения при Гейлсберге, а затем и в битве при Фридланде В последнем сражении Багговут командовал левым флангом русских войск, но из-за очередного ранения вынужден был покинуть строй, сдав командование Н.Н. Раевскому. Стоит отметить, что князь Багратион ценил Багговута и часто полагался на воинское искусство последнего.

После завершения коалиционных воин Багговут был произведен в генерал-лейтенанты. Но почивать на лаврах ему долго не пришлось, в 1808 году началась война со Швецией. Здесь Багговут с успехом командовал рядом операций и особо отличился в сражение при Або, где был разбит шведский десант.

В 1812 году Багговут командовал 2-м пехотным корпусом 1-й Западной армии Барклая-де-Толли. Корпус, первоначально расположенный в Оржицах, с боями отступал к Смоленску и приняла участие в сражении за сам город. 17 августа на помощь частям 6-го пехотного корпуса Дохтурова была выдвинута 4-я дивизия генерал-майора Евгения Вюртембергского. Своевременный её подход позволил выправить сложившуюся на тот момент неблагоприятную для русских ситуацию.

Оставив горящий Смоленск во власти французов, корпус Багговута со всей армией отступил к Бородино, где состоялось генеральное сражение кампании. 2-й пехотный корпус первоначально занимал позицию на правом фланге, но когда стало ясно, что основные события развернулись на левом, Барклай де Толли перевел корпус Багговута к деревне Утица. К моменту подхода 2-го пехотного, кавалерии Понятовского и корпусу Жюно благодаря огромному перевесу в численности уже удалось добиться некоторых успехов, оттеснив 3-й корпус Тучкова-1. Сам генерал Тучков был тяжело ранен в одной из контратак на Утицкий курган. Если бы оборона левого фланга была прорвана, то у Наполеона открывались огромные перспективы по выходу в тыл русской армии.

Вероятно, что удобная для отступления позиции и позволила бы части армии спастись, но потери были бы несоизмеримо выше. Однако Багговуту, принявшему командование после ранений Багратиона и Тучкова, удалось закрепиться на левом фланге и войска он отвел только после того, как стало ясно, что Багратионовы флеши взяты французами и удерживать Утицу и Утицкий курган дальше нет смысла. За Бородинское сражение Карл Федорович получил орден св. Александра Невского. Но вручить наградные знаки и рескрипт императора не успели.

18 октября, не далеко от русского лагеря у Тарутино, был обнаружен сводный отряд маршала Мюрата, который своим присутствием должен был продемонстрировать ложное направление отступления французов из Москвы. Авангард командующего французской кавалерией, изрядно поредевшей к тому моменту, насчитывал порядка 20 тыс. бойцов и 197 пушек. Партизанские отряды доложили, что ближайшее подкрепление, которое мог бы получить Мюрат находиться в Москве. К удаленности подкреплений прибавлялась и невыгодная позиция французов, к левому флангу которой примыкал густой лес. В итоге, было принято решение атаковать войска Мюрата.

Пехотный корпус Багговута должен был наступать на левый фланг французов у деревне Тетеринка. По воле случая корпус вышел из леса напротив французской батареи и прославленный генерал, уцелевший в кровопролитнейшем сражении при Бородино, был убит ядром в самом начале боя. Это не позволило русской пехоте действовать более решительно. В результате, полностью разгромить Мюрата не удалось, но французы понесли ощутимые потери, только пленными потеряв порядка 2000 человек, в придачу к 22 орудиям и всему обозу. Русские же потеряли порядка 300 человек убитыми и раненными.

О потере Багговута сожалели и Александр I, и Кутузов. Главнокомандующий отмечал, что Карл Федорович был одним из талантливейших корпусных командиров, а император в письме к вдове командира 2-го пехотного корпуса писал следующее: «Я потерял в нем храброго военачальника, полезного отечеству».

Карл Федорович Багговут был одним из многих иностранцев на русской службе, благодаря которым удалось остановить вторжение Наполеона.
Автор: Станислав Пошелюжный


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
  1. darkman70 28 августа 2012 23:13
    Хороший был генерл. Вечная память.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня