Military Review

Integration of the island of Puerto Rico into the political system of the United States

11

The Free Associated State of Puerto Rico is a territory under the control of the US government, the status of which is not definitively determined: residents are US citizens, but the US Constitution is not fully valid here, since the Constitution of Puerto Rico is also in force here. And this situation has been maintained since 1952. How did it come about?


The 1900 US "Organic Law" established a civilian government on the island of Puerto Rico, which became US possession in 1898 as a result of the Spanish-American War, as I wrote about in my article "Patriarch of American Imperialism" (https: / /topwar.ru/108180-patriarh-amerikanskogo-imperializma.html). This law also established Puerto Rican citizenship. On April 12, 1900, President Bill McKinley signed the Organic Act, which became known as the Foreaker Act, after its sponsor, Ohio Senator Joseph Foreker. The main author of the Foreaker Act was Secretary of War Elihu Ruth, who was appointed Secretary of State by President Theodore Roosevelt in 1905.

The new government of Puerto Rico provided for a governor and an 11-member executive council (5 were selected from among the residents of Puerto Rico, and the rest were from among those who held the highest positions in the cabinet of ministers, including the attorney general and chief of police, appointed President of the United States), the House of Representatives of 35 elected members, the judiciary, and the Permanent Commissioner to the United States Congress. The Supreme Court of Puerto Rico was also appointed. In addition, all US federal laws were to be applied on the island. Charles Allen became the first civilian governor of the island under the Foreaker Act, who was inaugurated on May 1, 1900 in the administrative center of the island, San Juan.

In 1917, the Foreaker Act was replaced by the Puerto Rico Federal Relations Act, also known as the Jones-Shafroot Act or the Jones Puerto Rico Act. This Act was signed into law by President Woodrow Wilson on March 2, 1917. The Puerto Rico Federal Relations Act granted US citizenship to anyone born in Puerto Rico on or after April 11, 1899. The law also established the Puerto Rican Senate, approved the Bill of Rights, and authorized the election for a 4-year term of a permanent commissioner previously appointed by the President of the United States. In addition, the law had an economic component: it exempted Puerto Rican bonds from federal, state and local taxes, regardless of the place of residence of the bondholder.

The provisions of the Puerto Rico Federal Relations Act were partially repealed in 1948, after which the island's governor was elected. In 1948, the US Congress instructed the Puerto Rican authorities to draft their own constitution, which, after ratification by voters in 1952, provided the island with a greater degree of autonomy.

It is highly likely that the status of the island of Puerto Rico will change in the future.
Author:
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. knn54
    knn54 April 24 2021 18: 17
    +4
    Last September, Joe Biden said about the possible "assignment" of 51st state status to the island "... would be the most effective means of ensuring equal treatment of the residents of Puerto Rico, equal representation at the federal level."
    Let's see what happens to the territory that Trump wanted to change to Greenland. Denmark refused.
    1. Blacksmith 55
      Blacksmith 55 April 24 2021 18: 29
      +4
      According to my information, Trump wanted to buy Greenland.
      But Denmark refused to sell.
      1. Cowbra
        Cowbra April 24 2021 19: 13
        +4
        Oh, this Denmark. Democracy is not enough, there are virtually no blacks ... They also killed their prince ...
    2. Terenin
      Terenin April 24 2021 20: 18
      +3
      the US Constitution is not fully valid here, since the Constitution of Puerto Rico is also in force here. And this situation has been maintained since 1952. How did it come about?
      Cuba, also in the underbelly of the United States, has been kept autonomously for many years.
  2. A. Privalov
    A. Privalov April 24 2021 19: 15
    +7
    Given that all Puerto Ricans have American citizenship, and half of them already live in the United States, the question of whether or not Puerto Rico is accepted by 51 states is becoming more and more rhetorical.
    Here, I wonder how things are changing. I remember very well how in the 60s of the last century socialists and communists of various stripes and shades, using the ideological, moral and completely material assistance of the CPSU, waged an armed struggle there against colonialism and for independence. However, Puerto Ricans are very similar to our Middle Eastern neighbor. They love to buzz, but not to work very well. After seeing how crime is growing and what the already miserable "independent" economy is turning into, they preferred to live in the United States in any way and receive social services there. Although it is not so great, it is still more earnings at home, and it is unnecessary to work to get it. Tens of thousands of people aged 20-40 years all year round live in primitive bungalows on the shores of the warm sea, sip beer, fish for lunch and feel great.
    1. Blackmokona
      Blackmokona April 24 2021 19: 18
      +5
      Yes, the whole region is so strong and independent, some are poorer than others.
    2. Terenin
      Terenin April 24 2021 20: 32
      +4
      Quote: A. Privalov
      ... using the ideological, moral and completely material assistance of the CPSU, they waged an armed struggle there against colonialism and for independence ...

      It looks like the United States is doing the same thing with a smart look winked
    3. michael.jacksno
      michael.jacksno April 24 2021 21: 20
      -5
      There is no social network in the USA. Do not work do not eat.

      And what kind of independence? If half of the people live on the money earned through the second half in the United States.
      1. Blackmokona
        Blackmokona April 25 2021 12: 54
        +2
        More than a trillion a year is allocated in the United States for social services from the federal budget, plus there are local budgets. Another trillion was thrown into the coronavirus.
        Food stamps, tax credits, unemployment benefits, etc., etc.
    4. Nikolaevich I
      Nikolaevich I April 25 2021 00: 41
      +3
      One "tovarisch" told me: if the Americans make Puerto Rico their state, then they will be forced by their legislation to make Spanish the second official language of the United States, along with English! And now there is a reason to imagine what kind of "fun" in the United States will be ...
  3. Krasnodar
    Krasnodar April 25 2021 08: 42
    -2
    Interesting topic, but this is not an article - reference type note

Военное обозрение

Интеграция острова Пуэрто-Рико в политическую систему США

11

Свободно ассоциированное государство Пуэрто-Рико является территорией под управлением правительства США, статус которой окончательно не определен: жители – граждане США, но конституция США действует здесь не в полном объеме, поскольку здесь имеет силу и конституция Пуэрто-Рико. И такое положение сохраняется с 1952 года. Как оно сложилось?


«Органический закон» США, принятый в 1900 году, установил гражданское правительство на острове Пуэрто-Рико, который в 1898 году в результате испано-американской войны стал владением США, о чем я писал в своей статье «Патриарх американского империализма» (https://topwar.ru/108180-patriarh-amerikanskogo-imperializma.html). Этот закон также учредил гражданство Пуэрто-Рико. 12 апреля 1900 года президент Билл Мак-Кинли подписал «Органический закон», который стал известен как «Закон о форэкерах» по имени его спонсора сенатора от штата Огайо Джозефа Форэкера. Основным автором «Закона о форэкерах» стал военный министр Элиу Рут, назначенный в 1905 году президентом Теодором Рузвельтом государственным секретарем.

В новом правительстве Пуэрто-Рико были предусмотрены губернатор и исполнительный совет из 11 членов (5 человек были отобраны из числа жителей Пуэрто-Рико, а остальные были из числа тех, кто занимал высшие должности в кабинете министров, включая генерального прокурора и начальника полиции, назначаемых президентом США), палата представителей из 35 избранных членов, судебная система, а также постоянный комиссар в конгрессе США. Был также назначен верховный суд Пуэрто-Рико. Кроме того, на острове должны были действовать все федеральные законы США. Первым гражданским губернатором острова в соответствии с «Законом о форэкерах» стал Чарльз Аллен, инаугурация которого состоялась 1 мая 1900 года в административном центре острова городе Сан-Хуан.

В 1917 году «Закон о форэкерах» был заменен «Законом о федеральных отношениях Пуэрто-Рико», известным также как закон «Джонса – Шафрота» или «Закон Джонса о Пуэрто-Рико». Этот Закон был подписан президентом Вудро Вильсоном 2 марта 1917 года. «Закон о федеральных отношениях Пуэрто-Рико» предоставил гражданство США любому, кто родился в Пуэрто-Рико 11 апреля 1899 года или позднее. Закон также учредил сенат Пуэрто-Рико, утвердил билль о правах и санкционировал выборы на 4-летний срок постоянного комиссара, который ранее назначался президентом США. Кроме того, закон имел и экономическую составляющую: он освободил пуэрториканские облигации от федеральных налогов, налогов штата и местных налогов независимо от места проживания держателя облигаций.

Положения «Закона о федеральных отношениях Пуэрто-Рико» были частично отменены в 1948 году, после чего состоялись выборы губернатора острова. В 1948 году конгресс США поручил властям Пуэрто-Рико разработать собственную конституцию, которая после ратификации избирателями в 1952 году обеспечила острову большую степень автономии.

Велика вероятность того, что в будущем статус острова Пуэрто-Рико будет изменяться.
Автор:
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. knn54
    knn54 24 апреля 2021 18:17
    +4
    В сентябре прошлого года Джо Байден,заявил по поводу возможного "присвоения " острову статуса 51-ого штата «...было бы наиболее эффективным средством обеспечения равного отношения к жителям Пуэрто-Рико, равного представительства на федеральном уровне».
    Посмотрим,что будет с территорией,которую Трамп хотел поменять на Гренландию. Дания отказалась.
    1. Кузнец 55
      Кузнец 55 24 апреля 2021 18:29
      +4
      По моим сведениям Трамп хотел купить Гренландию .
      Но Дания отказалась продать .
      1. Cowbra
        Cowbra 24 апреля 2021 19:13
        +4
        Ох уж эта Дания. Демократии - не хватает, негров фактически нет... Еще и принца своего убили...
    2. Теренин
      Теренин 24 апреля 2021 20:18
      +3
      конституция США действует здесь не в полном объеме, поскольку здесь имеет силу и конституция Пуэрто-Рико. И такое положение сохраняется с 1952 года. Как оно сложилось?
      Куба, тоже в подбрюшье США держится автономно много лет.
  2. А. Привалов
    А. Привалов 24 апреля 2021 19:15
    +7
    Учитывая, что все пуэрториканцы имеют американское гражданство, а половина из них уже и так живут в США, то вопрос принимать Пуэрто-Рико 51 штатом или не принимать, становится всё более и более риторическим.
    Вот, нтересно, как всё меняется. Я прекрасно помню, как 60-е годы прошлого века социалисты и коммунисты различных мастей и оттенков пользуясь идеологической- моральной и вполне материальной помощью КПСС, вели там вооружённую борьбу против колониализма и за независимость. Однако, пуэрториканцы очень похожи на наших ближневосточных соседушка. Бузить они любят, а работать не очень. Посмотрев, как растёт преступность и во что превращается и так жалкая "независимая" экономика, они предпочли любым способом жить в США и получать тамошнюю социалку. Она хоть и не так уж велика, но всё равно больше заработка на родине, а трудиться для её получения ненужно. Десятки тысяч людей в возрасте 20-40 лет круглый год живут в примитивных бунгало на берегу тёплого моря, потягивают пивко, ловят на обед рыбку и чувствуют себя прекрасно.
    1. BlackMokona
      BlackMokona 24 апреля 2021 19:18
      +5
      Да там весь регион такой сильных и независимых, одни беднее других
    2. Теренин
      Теренин 24 апреля 2021 20:32
      +4
      Цитата: А. Привалов
      ...пользуясь идеологической- моральной и вполне материальной помощью КПСС, вели там вооружённую борьбу против колониализма и за независимость...

      Похоже, США по тем же граблям шпарят, с умным видом winked
    3. michael.jacksno
      michael.jacksno 24 апреля 2021 21:20
      -5
      Никакой социалки в США нет. Не работаешь не ешь.

      И какая независимость? Если половина народа живёт за деньги заработанные через вторую половину в США.
      1. BlackMokona
        BlackMokona 25 апреля 2021 12:54
        +2
        Больше триллиона в год выделяется в США на социалку из федерального бюджета, плюс местные бюджеты есть. В короновирус ещё триллиончик накинули.
        Продуктовые талоны, налоговые скидки, пособий по безработице и тд и тп
    4. Nikolaevich I
      Nikolaevich I 25 апреля 2021 00:41
      +3
      Один "товарисч" мне говорил:если американцы сделают Пуэрто-Рико своим штатом,то они будут вынуждены по своему законодательству сделать испанский язык вторым официальным языком США ,наряду с английским ! А теперь есть повод представить себе,что тогда будет за "веселье " в Соединённых Штатах....
  3. Krasnodar
    Krasnodar 25 апреля 2021 08:42
    -2
    Тема интересная, но это не статья - заметка справочного типа