Military Review

A pistol for silent shooting without a silencer: an overview of the PSS "Vul"

11

In 1983, a new pistol entered service in the USSR. It is a self-loading pistol with the provision of silent and flameless firing, designated PSS. He is known as "Wool" or PSS "Wool".


Distinctive features of this rifle weapons such that it is suitable for discreet wearing, than managed to gain popularity in the ranks of the Soviet special services.

The small size of the pistol and the peculiarities of shooting from it are based on the use of a special cartridge. It's about the SP-4 cartridge. These special cartridges differ in that the powder gases are cut off in the case itself. This fact made it possible to achieve such specifics as the absence of a muffler. It would seem how a pistol without a silencer can shoot silently, but it was the SP-4 special cartridge of 7,62 mm caliber that allowed the Vul PSS to do this.

The weight of the equipped special pistol is 850 g. The provided rate of fire is 8 rounds per minute with an aiming range of 25 m. Such parameters allow the use of the Vul PSS during special operations, for example, in confined spaces. The pistol is used as standard armament for a number of special units.

A detailed overview of such weapons is presented on the Lazarev Tactical channel:

11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Mordvin 3
    Mordvin 3 April 23 2021 16: 25
    -4
    ilabelokaZ
  2. 123456789
    123456789 April 23 2021 21: 28
    +1
    The bolt is tightened with a wrench, and the screw is tightened with a screwdriver soldier
  3. dgonni
    dgonni April 23 2021 21: 28
    -1
    Well, 25 meters is to him in advance.
    In fact, from 10-15, you can get there if you go further then only
  4. gorenina91
    gorenina91 April 24 2021 04: 32
    0
    - It seems that there was a demonstration of a gas pistol ... - Well, at least they showed a target ... - at which shots were fired ...
    - There is a gas pistol "Blow" (there are several modifications of them) ...
    - It shoots as silently as this demonstrated by the PSS "Wool" (even quieter) ... - And even their cartridge cases are similar ... - And this "gasman" is effective at a distance of 2 to 3 meters ...
    - Well, the Vul PSS is most likely effective at a distance ... - no more than 10 meters ... and ... and any clothing made of thick thick material (quilted jackets, sweatshirts, multilayer material; and a bulletproof vest, even more so) - will greatly reduce the penetration of the bullet fired from this weapon (and even the shape of the bullet is not very conducive to "penetration") ... - This pistol ... - PSS "Vul" can serve, most likely ... - as a traumatic weapon ...
    - And also; personally, I would suggest making it universal; those. to make it also suitable for shooting and "gas cartridges" (the caliber and shape of the ammunition corresponds ... - almost the same) ... - So it will have three functions at once: - like a firearm; like a traumatic weapon; and like a gas pistol ... - and plus - also noiselessness ...
    1. Shishkov
      Shishkov April 24 2021 07: 14
      +2
      "Impact" shoots a little louder, due to the sound from the combustion of gunpowder in the charge. With the PSS, almost only the operation of the shutter is audible. And yes, there are no "practically identical" ammunition)) They are either "the same" or "completely different", even with the external similarity and the minimum difference in caliber and / or sleeve length.
    2. Shishkov
      Shishkov April 24 2021 07: 15
      +3
      As for the sweatshirt, the SP-4 ammunition has a cylindrical bullet weighing 9.3 grams. The bullet is made of steel and has a brass leading belt. There is a small indentation in the back of the bullet.
      Although this form and degrades the ballistic characteristics of the bullet, but it increases the stopping effect. With a 20 meter, the bullet does not stop either a modern helmet or an armor vest of the 2 class. With 30 meters, the bullet leaves a hole in the steel 5-mm sheet.
      1. gorenina91
        gorenina91 April 24 2021 07: 36
        -1
        From 20 meters, neither a modern helmet nor a 2nd class bulletproof vest can stop the bullet. From 30 meters, the bullet leaves a hole in the 5 mm steel sheet.

        - This is at such a low initial speed - 200m / s ??? - She (the bullet) can simply knock down a person in a bulletproof vest; and concussion if it hits the helmet ...; but to ... - "From 30 meters, the bullet leaves a hole in the steel 5-mm sheet" ... - it sounds somehow doubtful ...
        - And why would a silent pistol have such "powerful penetrating properties" ??? - From whom to shoot from him ??? - After all, everything should be imperceptible and quiet ... - with a large crowd of people; most likely in a crowd ... - And if ... - such a silent bullet "clicks" on the helmet of a sentry or a security guard ... - the very loud sound of this "click" will reveal the whole "secret" of what is happening ... - What's the point then in the application of this silent pistol ???
        - But, by the way ... I won't say ...
        1. mat-vey
          mat-vey April 24 2021 08: 58
          +2
          Quote: gorenina91
          - This is at such a low initial speed - 200m / s ???

          "First of all, the" highlight "of the pistol was modernized - the silent ammunition. If the SP-4 provided penetration at 20 meters of a steel helmet and a 25 mm pine board hidden behind it, then the new cartridge SP-16 at the same distance confidently" sews "the same board, but already clothed in a body armor of the second class of protection. This became possible due to the carbide head part of the bullet, made in the form of a chisel. In addition, the cartridge "replenished" in comparison with its predecessor - more propellant, higher bullet speed: 300 meters per second , against 200 in the SP-4. Thus, the energy of the silent ammunition has come close to the performance of supersonic pistol cartridges. "
          1. cat Rusich
            cat Rusich April 25 2021 18: 21
            +2
            Quote: mat-vey
            Quote: gorenina91
            - This is at such a low initial speed - 200m / s ???

            "First of all, the" highlight "of the pistol - the silent ammunition - was modernized.
            Then we are talking about another pistol ... PSS-2
            PSS-2
            cartridge pss-2
            cartridge pss-2
            The new PSS-2 was put into service in 2011.
            The new SP-16 cartridges are not suitable for the old PSS.
            soldier
            1. mat-vey
              mat-vey April 26 2021 15: 14
              0
              If we are talking about:
              Quote: Shishkov
              From 20 meters, neither a modern helmet nor a 2nd class bulletproof vest can stop the bullet. From 30 meters, the bullet leaves a hole in the 5 mm steel sheet.

              That is about him and goes ...
  5. Gudrich
    Gudrich 6 June 2021 08: 26
    0
    It's time to develop a PP for this ammunition!
    Only to shoot from a closed bolt.

Военное обозрение

Пистолет для бесшумной стрельбы без глушителя: обзор ПСС «Вул»

10

В 1983 году на вооружение в СССР поступил новый пистолет. Это самозарядный пистолет с обеспечением бесшумной и беспламенной стрельбы, получивший обозначение ПСС. Он известен как «Вул» или ПСС «Вул».


Отличительные особенности этого стрелкового оружия таковы, что он подходит для скрытного ношения, чем успел завоевать популярность в рядах советских специальных служб.

Малогабаритность пистолета и особенности стрельбы из него основаны на использовании особого патрона. Речь о патроне СП-4. Эти спецпатроны отличаются тем, что отсечка пороховых газов производится в самой гильзе. Это факт позволил добиться такой специфики как отсутствие глушителя. Казалось бы, как может пистолет без глушителя бесшумно стрелять, но именно спецпатрон СП-4 калибра 7,62 мм и позволял ПСС «Вул» это делать.

Вес снаряженного специального пистолета составляет 850 г. Обеспечиваемая скорострельность – 8 выстрелов в минуту при прицельной дальности в 25 м. Такие параметры позволяют применять ПСС «Вул» в ходе специальных операций, например, в условиях ограниченного пространства. Пистолет используется в качестве штатного вооружения ряда спецподазделений.

Подробный обзор такого оружия представлен на канале Lazarev Tactical:

10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. мордвин 3
    мордвин 3 23 апреля 2021 16:25
    -4
    илабелокаЗ
  2. 123456789
    123456789 23 апреля 2021 21:28
    +1
    Болт закручивают ключом, а отверткой завинчивают винт soldier
  3. dgonni
    dgonni 23 апреля 2021 21:28
    -1
    Ну 25 метров это ему авансом.
    По факту с 10-15 можно и попасть если дальше то попугать только
  4. gorenina91
    gorenina91 24 апреля 2021 04:32
    0
    - Такое впечатление , что произошла демонстрация газового пистолета... - Ну , хотя бы мишеньку показали ... - в которую производились выстрелы...
    - Вот есть газовый пистолет "Удар" (их несколько модификаций)...
    - Стреляет он также бесшумно , как этот продемонстрированный ПСС «Вул» (даже ещё тише)... - И даже патрончики у них похожие ... - А эффективен этот "газовик" на дистанции - от 2 до 3 метров...
    - Ну , а ПСС «Вул» , скорее всего эффективен на дистанции ... - не более 10 метров... и...и любая , из плотного толстого материала одежда (ватники , фуфайки , многослойный материал ; а бронежилет и подавно) - очень снизит пробиваемость пули , выпущенной из этого оружия (да ешё и форма пули очень не располагает к "пробитию")... - Этот пистолет... - ПСС «Вул» может служить , скорее всего ...- как травматическое оружие ...
    - А ещё ; лично Я предложила бы сделать его универсальным ; т.е. сделать его пригодным ещё и для стрельбы и "газовыми патронами" (калибр и форма боеприпасов соответствует... - практически одинаковые) ... - Вот и будут у него сразу три функции : - как у огнестрельного оружия ; как у травматического оружия ; и как у газового пистолета... - и плюс - ещё и бесшумность...
    1. Шишков
      Шишков 24 апреля 2021 07:14
      +2
      «Удар» стреляет несколько громче, за счёт звука от сгорания пороха в заряде. У ПСС слышно практически только работу затвора. И да, «практически одинаковых» боеприпасов не бывает)) Они или «одинаковые», или «совсем разные», даже при внешней схожести и минимальной разнице калибра и/или длины гильзы.
    2. Шишков
      Шишков 24 апреля 2021 07:15
      +3
      Что касается фуфайки - боеприпас СП-4 имеет цилиндрическую пулю массой 9.3 грамма. Пуля изготовлена из стали и имеет ведущий поясок латунного исполнения. В задней части пули имеется небольшое углубление.
      Хотя такая форма и ухудшает баллистические характеристики пули, зато увеличивает останавливающее действие. С 20 метров пулю не останавливает ни современный шлем, ни бронежилет 2-го класса. С 30 метров пуля оставляет отверстие в стальном 5-мм листе.
      1. gorenina91
        gorenina91 24 апреля 2021 07:36
        -1
        С 20 метров пулю не останавливает ни современный шлем, ни бронежилет 2-го класса. С 30 метров пуля оставляет отверстие в стальном 5-мм листе.

        - Это при такой низкой начальной скорости - 200м/сек ??? - Она (пуля) может просто сбить с ног человека в бронежилете ; и контузить , если попадёт в шлем ... ; но , чтобы... - "С 30 метров пуля оставляет отверстие в стальном 5-мм листе"... - это звучит как-то сомнительно...
        - Да и зачем бесшумному пистолету такие "мощные пробивные свойства" ??? - От кого из него отстреливаться ??? - Ведь всё должно быть незаметно и тихо ... - при большом скоплении народа ; скорее всего в толпе ... - Да и , если ... - такая бесшумная пуля "щёлкнет" об каску часового или охранника ... - сам громкий звук этого "щелчка" выдаст всю "тайну" происходящего... - Какой смысл тогда в применении этого бесшумного пистолета ???
        - А , впрочем ... не стану утверждать...
        1. mat-vey
          mat-vey 24 апреля 2021 08:58
          +2
          Цитата: gorenina91
          - Это при такой низкой начальной скорости - 200м/сек ???

          "Прежде всего, была модернизирована «изюминка» пистолета – бесшумный боеприпас. Если СП-4 обеспечивал пробитие на 20 метрах стальной каски и спрятанной за ней 25 миллиметровой сосновой доски, то новый патрон СП-16 на такой же дистанции уверенно «шьет» ту же доску, но уже облаченную в бронежилет второго класса защиты. Это стало возможным за счет твердосплавной головной части пули, сделанной в форме зубила. Кроме того, патрон «пополнел» в сравнении с предшественником – больше метательного вещества, выше скорость пули: 300 метров в секунду, против 200 у СП-4. Таким образом, энергетика бесшумного боеприпаса вплотную подобралась к показателям сверхзвуковых пистолетных патронов."
          1. котик-русич
            котик-русич 25 апреля 2021 18:21
            +2
            Цитата: mat-vey
            Цитата: gorenina91
            - Это при такой низкой начальной скорости - 200м/сек ???

            "Прежде всего, была модернизирована «изюминка» пистолета – бесшумный боеприпас.
            Тогда речь идёт уже о другом пистолете... ПСС-2
            ПСС-2
            патрон псс-2
            патрон псс-2
            Новый ПСС-2 принят на вооружение в 2011г.
            Новые патроны СП-16 не подходят для старого ПСС.
            soldier
            1. mat-vey
              mat-vey 26 апреля 2021 15:14
              0
              Если речь идёт про :
              Цитата: Шишков
              С 20 метров пулю не останавливает ни современный шлем, ни бронежилет 2-го класса. С 30 метров пуля оставляет отверстие в стальном 5-мм листе.

              То про него и идёт ...