Military Review

"Glory will not perish!" Heroic Defense of Dorostol

7
"Glory will not perish!" Heroic Defense of Dorostol
Grand Duke Svyatoslav the Brave. Artist I. Ozhiganov


War of attrition


The siege of Dorostol dragged on until July 971. Neither the Emperor Tzimiskes nor Svyatoslav were able to achieve a quick victory. The Greeks, despite the surprise of the attack and the great numerical superiority, were unable to crush the Russian squads. Tzimiskes also failed to force the Russians to lay down weapon... The Russian prince was unable to defeat the Byzantine army in a number of battles. Affected by the lack of reserves and the almost complete absence of cavalry. The Russian foot "wall" covered all the attacks of the enemy infantry and cavalry, but could not launch a counteroffensive. The Greeks had a powerful cavalry, which thwarted the attempts of the Russians to go on the offensive.

The Greeks noted the high fighting spirit of the Rus throughout the entire siege. The Romans were able to fill the moat and bring their stone-throwing machines closer to the walls. Rus and Bulgarians suffered heavy losses from their actions. However, they fought steadily and bravely for three months, holding back a powerful enemy. The Byzantines noted that the Russian "barbarians" prefer to kill themselves rather than be captured.

Gradually, day after day, the Greeks destroyed the walls and ramparts of Dorostol with the help of battering and stone-throwing machines. The Russian-Bulgarian garrison was thinning, there were many wounded among the soldiers. There was a severe shortage of food. The guards boiled the last horses in the cauldrons, emaciated and weakened.

However, the situation was difficult not only for Svyatoslav, but also for Tzimiskes. He hoped for a quick and triumphant victory that would strengthen his position in the empire. But the siege dragged on, the Rus held out, the Greeks suffered heavy losses. There was a threat that Svyatoslav's soldiers would be able to take over in one of the fierce battles, or help from Russia would come to them. It was restless in the rear. In the Byzantine Empire, there were constant rebellions. To know, taking advantage of the absence of the basileus in the capital, she wove intrigues and arranged conspiracies. The brother of the Emperor Nicephorus Phocas, killed by Tzimiskes, Lev Kuropalat rebelled. The palace coup failed, but the anxiety remained. The next conspiracy could be more successful.

Svyatoslav decided that the time had come for a new decisive battle. On July 19, 971, the Russians made a great sortie. She became unexpected for the enemy. Attacks usually took place at night. The Russians attacked at noon, in the afternoon, when the Greeks were resting and sleeping. They destroyed and burned many siege engines. The head of the siege park, a relative of the emperor, Master John Curkuas, was also killed. Then the Greeks whispered that Master John was punished for his crimes against Christian churches. He plundered many temples in Mizia (as the Greeks called Bulgaria), considering the Bulgarians to be almost pagans, and melted precious vessels and bowls into ingots.


Trizna of Svyatoslav's warriors after the battle at Dorostol in 971. Hood. G. Semiradsky

Battles of 20 and 22 July


On July 20, 971, the Russians again went into the field, but in large forces. The Greeks also built their forces. The battle began. In this battle, according to the Greeks, one of the closest associates of Svyatoslav, the governor of Ikmor, died. Even among the Russian Scythians, he stood out for his gigantic stature and cut down many Romans. He was killed by one of the bodyguards of the Basileus Anemas. The death of one of the big voivods, and even on the Day of Perun (the Russian thunderer, the patron saint of warriors, confused the Russians. The army retreated outside the city walls.

The Rus, burying their fallen, arranged a funeral feast. Memorial feast. It included washing the body, dressing in the best clothes, ornaments. Ritual feast, fun and burning of the deceased (steal). Interestingly, the Greeks noted the unity of funeral customs (one of the most important in human life) of the Scythians and the Rus. Also Leo the Deacon reported on the Scythian origin of the ancient hero Achilles. The Rus-Scythians contemporary to the Deacon have preserved ancient traditions. Actually, this is not surprising, because the Rus are direct descendants of the ancient Scythians-Sarmatians and earlier - the Aryans-Hyperboreans. Heirs of the most ancient northern tradition and civilization. All its basic and sacred symbols.

On July 21, Svyatoslav Igorevich convened a military council. He asked his people what to do.

Some commanders suggested leaving, secretly immerse themselves on boats at night. Since it is impossible to continue the war: the best fighters were killed or wounded. You could also pave your way by force, abandon the city, break into the forests and mountains of Bulgaria, find support from local residents who are dissatisfied with the policy of the boyars and Greeks.

Others suggested making peace with the Greeks, because it would be difficult to get away secretly, and the Greek fire-carrying ships could burn the boats. Then Svyatoslav made a speech delivered by Leo the Deacon:

“The glory perished, which followed the army of the Rus, who easily defeated the neighboring peoples and enslaved whole countries without bloodshed, if we now shamefully retreat before the Romans. So, let’s feel the courage that our ancestors have bequeathed to us, remember that the power of the Rus was still indestructible, and we will fight bitterly for our lives. It is not for us to return to our homeland, fleeing; we must either win and stay alive, or die with glory, having accomplished feats worthy of valiant men! ”

"Glory will not perish!"

- assured the governors of the prince. And they vowed to lay down their heads, but not to shame the glory of the Russian.

Then all the soldiers took the oath, and the Magi sealed the oaths with sacrifices. On July 22, the Russians went out into the field again. The prince ordered to close the gate so that no one could return behind the walls. The Rus themselves struck at the Greeks, and their attack was so fierce that the enemy wavered and began to gradually withdraw. Svyatoslav himself cut into the enemy ranks like a simple warrior. Seeing that his phalanx was retreating, the Byzantine emperor led the "immortals" into battle. On the flanks of the Russian army, the enemy armored cavalry struck. This halted the onslaught of the "barbarians", but the Rus continued the attack, regardless of the losses. The Deacon called their onslaught "monstrous." Both sides suffered heavy casualties, but the bloody battle continued.

As the Christians themselves later recalled, they were literally saved by a miracle. Suddenly, a strong thunderstorm began, a strong wind rose. Clouds of sand hit the Russian soldiers in the face. Then a downpour poured down. The Russians had to hide behind the walls of the city. The Greeks attributed the riot of the elements to divine intercession.


Svyatoslav during the defense of Dorostol. Hood. S. Pokotilov

World


Tzimisce, shaken by the battle and fearing a new battle or bad News from the capital, if the siege is continued, he secretly offered peace to Svyatoslav. According to the Greek version, the world was proposed by Svyatoslav. Basilevs insisted that the Russians themselves come up with peace proposals. Tzimiskes considered it a belittling of his honor to seek peace himself. He wanted to appear victorious to Byzantium. Svyatoslav satisfied his vanity. Sveneld with his retinue arrived at the Byzantine camp and conveyed the offer of peace.

The two rulers met on the Danube and negotiated peace. Lev Deacon left a description of the Russian prince:

“Svyatoslav arrived on the river by boat. He sat on the oars and rowed with his warriors, no different from them. The Grand Duke looked like this: of medium height, neither too tall nor too small, with thick eyebrows, blue eyes, an even nose, a shaved head and a thick long mustache. His head was completely naked, and only on one side of it hung a lock of hair, which signified the nobility of the family. He had a strong neck and broad shoulders, and his entire physique was rather slender. He looked gloomy and stern. In one ear he had a gold earring adorned with two pearls with a ruby ​​inserted between them. His clothes were white, and in nothing but cleanliness, they did not differ from the clothes of others. "

The Greeks let the soldiers of Svyatoslav on the Danube. They gave bread for the journey. Greek sources reported that the Russians took bread for 22 thousand soldiers. The Russian prince agreed to leave the Danube. The Russians left Dorostol. All the prisoners were given to the Romans. Russia and Byzantium returned to the articles of agreements 907-944. The parties again considered themselves "friends". This meant that Constantinople was again paying tribute to Russia. This was also reported in the Russian chronicle. Also, Tzimiskes had to send ambassadors to the Pechenegs so that they would clear the way.

Thus, Svyatoslav Igorevich escaped a military defeat. The world was honorable. Byzantium was again considered a "partner" and paid tribute. However, Bulgaria, for which the Russian prince had big plans, had to be abandoned and Byzantine rule was established there. Therefore, Svyatoslav wanted to continue the dispute over the Danube lands, which had long belonged to the Slavic Russians. According to The Tale of Bygone Years, the prince said:

"I will go to Russia, I will bring more squads."

Svyatoslav sent Sveneld to Kiev with a large part of the army, she walked overland. Himself with a small retinue remained on the Beloberezhye, on the island of the Danube delta, and spent the winter there. The prince was waiting for the arrival of a new large army from Russia in order to continue the battle in Bulgaria.

And hard times have come for Bulgaria. Eastern Bulgaria was deprived of its independence. Roman garrisons were located in the cities. Tsar Boris was deposed, he was ordered to lay down the royal regalia. His younger brother, Roman, was emasculated so that he would not have children. Bulgarian cities were renamed in the Greek way. Pereslav became Ioannopolis, in honor of Basileus, Dorostol - Theodoropolis, in honor of his wife.


"Meeting of Svyatoslav with the Byzantine emperor Tzimiskes on the banks of the Danube." K.V. Lebedev, 1880s
Author:
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Kote Pan Kokhanka
    Kote Pan Kokhanka 4 May 2021 05: 31
    +10
    It's sad. Good day everyone.
    1. SERGE ANT
      SERGE ANT 4 May 2021 10: 10
      +10
      Both the campaign and the end of Svyatoslav are sad ... In the year 6479 (971). ... Having made peace with the Greeks, Svyatoslav went to the rapids in boats. And the governor of his father Sveneld said to him:
      "Go around, prince, the rapids on horseback, for they are at the thresholds of the Pechenegs."
      And he did not listen to him, and went in the boats. And the people of Pereyaslavl sent them to the Pechenegs to say:
      "Here Svyatoslav walks past you to Russia with a small squad, taking from the Greeks a lot of wealth and prisoners without number."
      Hearing about this, the Pechenegs stepped into the rapids. And Svyatoslav came to the thresholds, and it was impossible to pass them. And he stopped to spend the winter in Beloberezhye, and they had no food, and they had a great hunger, so they paid half a quarter for a horse's head, and then Svyatoslav spent the winter.
      In the year 6480 (972). When spring came, Svyatoslav went to the rapids. And smoking attacked him, the prince of Pechenezh, and they killed Svyatoslav, and took his head, and made a cup from the skull, bound him, and drank from it. Sveneld came to Kiev to Yaropolk. And all the years of Svyatoslav's reign were 28.
      "The Tale of Bygone Years"
      A memorial sign dedicated to Prince Svyatoslav appeared on the Dnieper rapids in 1913.
      Memorable sign of the work of B.V. Eduards was a horizontal cast-iron slab with an area of ​​about 2 square meters. m. The inscription is cast on the slab: In 972, at the Dnieper rapids, the Russian knight Prince Svyatoslav Igorevich fell in an unequal battle with the Pechenegs.
      After the construction of the Dneproges, in 1932, the Nenasytets rapids, like other rapids, disappeared under the river waters raised to a higher level. The Monastyrko rock, along with a memorial plate, also appeared under the waters.
      After the explosion in 1941 of the Dneproges dam, during the Second World War, the rock with the slab was again accessible for viewing for some time. After the end of the war and the restoration of the dam of the hydroelectric power station, in 1947 the memorial plate was dismantled and moved to a non-flooded part of the coast.
  2. Bully
    Bully 4 May 2021 13: 13
    +5
    In the epic, there is another version of the death of Svyatoslav and it deserves more trust.

    Treason at the rapids

    “Here, Sveneld, and we reached Kiev. Only the rapids were left and dragged. A Pecheneg sits on the thresholds, its close one does not know death. I will go with a small army along the trail, I will lure the Pechenegoin with weakness, I will start the battle with him at the plows with prey. You are an ambush regiment, with all your strength, go around the Pechenegs along the shore, wait for the horns, my signal, and strike the shit from the sun. ”

    Everything fell silent in the morning damp, bloody flashes flared up, the prince pulled his plows with prey, a tribute that the treacherous voloks gave. They reported to the filthy Pecheneg that the planes were coming with a small squad, the prince fell into the trap of Sveneldov, as was agreed with the Romans. The Pecheneg’s eyes flared up on the wealth of the Tsar’s squads, the Horde cavalry rushed with a screech, one hundred filthy for every Russian.
    1. andrew42
      andrew42 4 May 2021 16: 25
      +5
      Unambiguous collusion. Emissaries of Tzimiskes + Christian community of Kiev + Pechenegs. Specialist. the operation was successful. Russia entered the era of fratricides, justified by the degree of zeal in the new "correct" faith.
  3. Basarev
    Basarev 4 May 2021 18: 39
    +4
    It was necessary not to split up, but to walk together on land. Ponty in such an important matter is inappropriate.
  4. Khibiny Plastun
    Khibiny Plastun 5 May 2021 19: 45
    +1
    Or maybe everything is simpler - Svyatoslav has already gotten out of his war with Byzantium, some losses, because the Byzantine trades are closed. And the people did not forget how the prince himself, in essence, abandoned Kiev during the siege by the Pechenegs. He sent only a small detachment, and only an accident saved the city from surrender, and if you remember that both his mother and his children were in the city ...
    They also remembered the words of the prince, "I do not like it in Kiev, but I like it in Pereslavets ..."
    And now he is again taking the men away on an incomprehensible campaign.
    And to collect at least 10000 again for the war for the lands that will not be able to hold, there are already few fools. So, I think about Svyatoslav in Russia, few people wept.
    Yes, and betrayal on Sveneld may not be worth it. It just did not work to gather an army, people are free, they did not go and that's it. Why does Karachun need such a prince - he stopped defending his land from the gate, he doesn’t wander about where, the trade stands, he only puts soldiers, Perun knows where. Svyatoslav forgot the sense of proportion ...
  5. Victor Tsenin
    Victor Tsenin Yesterday, 03: 29
    0
    I read this article in the journal Science and Life, as a schoolboy, the term mori turi, stuck in the neocortex forever, since those times)

Военное обозрение

«Слава не погибнет!» Героическая оборона Доростола

8
«Слава не погибнет!» Героическая оборона Доростола
Великий князь Святослав Храбрый. Художник И. Ожиганов


Война на истощение


Осада Доростола затянулась до июля 971 года. Ни император Цимисхий, ни Святослав не смогли добиться быстро победы. Греки, несмотря на внезапность нападения и большое численное превосходство, не сумели раздавить русские дружины. Цимисхию также не удалось заставить русских сложить оружие. Русский князь не смог в ряде сражений одолеть византийскую армию. Сказывалась нехватка резервов и почти полное отсутствие кавалерии. Русская пешая «стена» обивала все атаки вражеской пехоты и конницы, но не могла перейти в контрнаступление. Греки имели мощную кавалерию, которая пресекала попытки русских перейти в наступление.

Греки отмечали высокий боевой дух русов на протяжении всей осады. Ромеи смогли засыпать ров и приблизить свои камнемётные машины к стенам. Русы и болгары несли большие потери от их действия. Однако они стойко и храбро сражались три месяца, сдерживая сильного врага. Византийцы отмечали, что русские «варвары» предпочитают убить себя, нежели попасть в плен.

Постепенно, день за днем, греки с помощью стенобитных и камнеметных машин разрушали стены и валы Доростола. Русско-болгарский гарнизон редел, среди воинов было много раненых. Ощущалась сильная нехватка пищи. Дружинники сварили в котлах последних коней, отощали и ослабли.

Однако ситуация была сложной не только для Святослава, но и для Цимисхия. Он надеялся на быструю и триумфальную победу, которая укрепит его позиции в империи. Но осада затянулась, русы держались, греки несли большие потери. Существовала угроза, что воины Святослава смогут в одном из яростных сражений взять вверх, либо к ним придёт помощь с Руси. В тылу было неспокойно. В Византийской империи постоянно происходили мятежи. Знать, пользуясь отсутствием басилевса в столице, плела интриги и устраивала заговоры. Брат убитого Цимисхием императора Никифора Фоки Лев Куропалат поднял мятеж. Дворцовый переворот не удался, но тревога осталась. Следующий заговор мог стать более успешным.

Святослав решил, что пришло время для новой решительной битвы. 19 июля 971 года русы сделали большую вылазку. Она стала неожиданной для противника. Обычно нападения происходили ночью. Русские атаковали в полдень, после обеда, когда греки отдыхали и спали. Они разрушили и сожгли множество осадных машин. Был убит и начальник осадного парка, родственник императора, магистр Иоанн Куркуас. Затем греки шептались, что магистр Иоанн был наказан за свои преступления против христианских храмов. Он разграбил в Мизии (так греки называли Болгарию) многие храмы, считая болгар почти язычниками, а драгоценные сосуды и чаши переплавил в слитки.


Тризна дружинников Святослава после боя под Доростолом в 971 г. Худ. Г. Семирадский

Битвы 20 и 22 июля


20 июля 971 года русские снова вышли в поле, но уже большими силами. Греки также построили свои силы. Началось сражение. В этой битве, по информации греков, погиб один из ближайших сподвижников Святослава – воевода Икмор. Он даже среди русских скифов выделялся гигантским ростом и срубил много ромеев. Его убил один из телохранителей басилевса Анемас. Гибель одного из больших воевод, да ещё и в День Перуна (русский громовержец, покровитель воинов, смутила русов. Рать отступила за стены города.

Русы, хороня своих павших, устраивали тризну. Поминальный пир. Он включал в себя омовение тела, одевание в лучшие одежды, украшения. Обрядовый пир, веселье и сжигание покойника (крада). Интересно, что греки отмечали единство похоронных обычаев (одним из самых важных в жизни человека) скифов и русов. Также Лев Диакон сообщал о скифском происхождении древнего героя Ахилла. Современные Диакону русы-скифы сохранили древние традиции. Собственно, это и не удивительно, ведь русы прямые потомки древних скифов-сарматов и ранее – ариев-гипербореев. Наследники древнейшей северной традиции и цивилизации. Всех её базовых и сакральных символов.

21 июля Святослав Игоревич собрал военный совет. Он спросил своих людей, как поступить.

Одни воеводы предлагали уходить, ночью скрытно погрузиться на ладьи. Так как продолжать войну невозможно: лучшие бойцы погибли или ранены. Также можно было проложить себе дорогу силой, бросить город, прорваться в леса и горы Болгарии, найти поддержку местных жителей, недовольных политикой бояр и греков.

Другие предложили замириться с греками, потому что будет сложно скрытно уйти, и греческие огненосные суда могут сжечь ладьи. Тогда Святослав произнёс речь, которую передал Лев Диакон:

«Погибла слава, которая шествовала вслед за войском русов, легко побеждавшим соседние народы и без кровопролития порабощавшим целые страны, если мы теперь позорно отступим перед ромеями. Итак, проникнемся мужеством, которое завещали нам предки, вспомним о том, что мощь русов до сих пор была несокрушимой, и будем ожесточенно сражаться за свою жизнь. Не пристало нам возвращаться на родину, спасаясь бегством; мы должны либо победить и остаться в живых, либо умереть со славой, совершив подвиги, достойные доблестных мужей!»

«Слава не погибнет!»

– заверили воеводы князя. И поклялись сложить головы, но не посрамить славы русской.

Следом клятву принесли все воины, а волхвы скрепили клятвы жертвоприношениями. 22 июля русские снова вышли в поле. Князь приказал закрыть ворота, чтобы никто не мог вернуться за стены. Русы сами ударили по грекам, и их атака была такой яростной, что противник дрогнул и стал постепенно отходить. Сам Святослав врубался во вражеские ряды как простой воин. Видя, что его фаланга отступает, византийский император повёл в бой «бессмертных». По флангам русской рати ударила вражеская бронированная конница. Это приостановило натиск «варваров», но русы продолжали атаку, не считаясь с потерями. Их натиск Диакон назвал «чудовищным». Обе стороны понесли тяжелые потери, но кровавая битва продолжалась.

Как позднее вспоминали сами христиане, их спасло буквально чудо. Неожиданно началась сильная гроза, поднялся сильный ветер. Тучи песка ударили в лицо русским воинам. Затем хлынул ливень. Русским пришлось укрыться за стенами города. Греки приписали буйство стихии божественному заступничеству.


Святослав во время обороны Доростола. Худ. С. Покотилов

Мир


Цимисхий, потрясённый сражением и опасающийся нового боя или плохих новостей из столицы, если осада будет продолжена, тайно предложил Святославу мир. По греческой версии, мир предложил Святослав. Басилевс настаивал, чтобы русы сами обратились с мирными предложениями. Цимисхий считал умалением своей чести самому искать мира. Он хотел казаться Византии победителем. Святослав удовлетворил его тщеславие. Свенельд со свитой прибыл в византийский лагерь и передал предложение мира.

Два правителя встретились на Дунае и договорились о мире. Лев Дикон оставил описание русского князя:

«Святослав прибыл по реке на лодке. Он сидел на веслах и греб вместе со своими воинами, ничем не отличаясь от них. Выглядел великий князь так: среднего роста, ни слишком высокий, ни слишком мал, с густыми бровями, голубыми глазами, ровным носом, бритой головой и с густыми длинными усами. Глава у него была совсем голая и лишь на одном ее боку висела прядь волос, который означал знатность рода. У него была крепкая шея и широкие плечи, а все телосложение довольно стройное. Он выглядел пасмурным и суровым. В одном ухе у него висела золотая сережка, украшенная двумя жемчужинами с рубином, вставленным между ними. Одежда на нем была белая, и ничем кроме чистоты, не отличалась от одежды других».

Греки пропускали воинов Святослава на Дунае. Дали в дорогу хлеб. Греческие источники сообщили, что русские взяли хлеба на 22 тыс. воинов. Русский князь соглашался уйти с Дуная. Доростол русские оставляли. Ромеям отдали всех пленных. Русь и Византия возвращались к статьям соглашений 907–944 гг. Стороны снова считали себя «друзьями». Это означало, что Константинополь снова платил дань Руси. Об этом сообщалось и в русской летописи. Также Цимисхий должен был направить послов к печенегам, чтобы они освободили дорогу.

Таким образом, Святослав Игоревич избежал военного поражения. Мир был почётным. Византия снова считалась «партнером» и платила дань. Однако Болгарию, на которую у русского князя были большие планы, пришлось оставить и там устанавливалось византийское господство. Поэтому Святослав желал продолжить спор за дунайские земли, издавна принадлежавшие славянорусам. Согласно «Повести временных лет», князь сказал:

«Поиду в Русь, приведу боле дружины».

Святослав отправил в Киев Свенельда с большой частью рати, она шла по суше. Сам с малой дружиной остался на Белобережье, на острове дунайской дельты, и зимовал там. Князь ждал прихода с Руси новой большой рати, чтобы продолжить сражение на Болгарию.

А для Болгарии наступили тяжелые времена. Восточная Болгария было лишена независимости. В городах расположились ромейские гарнизоны. Царя Бориса низложили, ему приказали сложить царские регалии. Его младшего брата – Романа, оскопили, чтобы у него не было детей. Болгарские города переименовывали на греческий лад. Переслав стал Иоаннополисом, в честь басилевса, Доростол – Феодорополисом, в честь его жены.


«Встреча Святослава с византийским императором Цимисхием на берегу Дуная». К. В. Лебедев, 1880-е гг.
Автор:
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Коте пане Коханка
    Коте пане Коханка 4 мая 2021 05:31
    +10
    Печально. Всем доброго дня.
    1. СЕРЖ ант
      СЕРЖ ант 4 мая 2021 10:10
      +10
      И поход,и конец Святослава печальны..В год 6479 (971).…Заключив мир с греками, Святослав в ладьях отправился к порогам. И сказал ему воевода отца его Свенельд:
      «Обойди, князь, пороги на конях, ибо стоят у порогов печенеги».
      И не послушал его, и пошел в ладьях. А переяславцы послали к печенегам сказать:
      «Вот идет мимо вас на Русь Святослав с небольшой дружиной, забрав у греков много богатства и пленных без числа».
      Услышав об этом, печенеги заступили пороги. И пришел Святослав к порогам, и нельзя было их пройти. И остановился зимовать в Белобережье, и не стало у них еды, и был у них великий голод, так что по полугривне платили за конскую голову, и тут перезимовал Святослав.
      В год 6480 (972). Когда наступила весна, отправился Святослав к порогам. И напал на него Куря, князь печенежский, и убили Святослава, и взяли голову его, и сделали чашу из черепа, оковав его, и пили из него. Свенельд же пришел в Киев к Ярополку. А всех лет княжения Святослава было 28.
      "Повесть Временных Лет"
      Памятный знак, посвященный князю Святославу, появился на Днепровских порогах в 1913 г.
      Памятный знак работы Б.В. Эдуардса представлял собой горизонтальную чугунную плиту площадью около 2 кв. м. На плите отлита надпись: В 972 году у днепровских порогов пал в неравном бою с печенегами русский витязь Князь Святослав Игоревич.
      После сооружения Днепрогэса, в 1932 году, порог Ненасытец, как и другие пороги, исчез под поднятыми на более высокий уровень водами реки. Оказалась под водами и скала Монастырко вместе с памятной плитой.
      После взрыва в 1941 году плотины Днепрогэса, во время Второй мировой войны, скала с плитой некоторое время были вновь доступны для обозрения. После окончания войны и восстановления плотины гидроэлектростанции, в 1947 году памятную плиту демонтировали, перенесли на не затопляемую часть берега.
  2. Задира
    Задира 4 мая 2021 13:13
    +5
    В былине другая версия гибели Святослава и она заслуживает больше доверия.

    Измена Свенельда у порогов

    “Вот, Свенельд, и дошли мы до Киева. Лишь пороги остались да волоки. На порогах сидит печенежина, своей близкой не знает погибели. Я пойду с малым войском по волоку, заманю печенежину слабостью, бой начну с ним у стругов с добычею. Ты - засадным полком, всею силою, обойди печенегов по берегу, выжди рога сигнал мой условленный и от солнца ударь по поганому”.

    Все замолкло в предутренней сырости, разгорались кровавые сполохи, князь тянул свои струги с добычею, дань, что дали коварные волохи. Донесли печенегу поганому, что идут струги с малой дружиною, князь попался в ловушку Свенельдову, как с ромеями было условленно. Разгорелись глаза печенежские на богатства дружины цицарские, с визгом мчится ордынская конница, сто поганых на каждого русского.
    1. andrew42
      andrew42 4 мая 2021 16:25
      +5
      Однозначный сговор. Эмиссары Цимисхия + христианская община Киева + печенеги. Спец. операция удалась. Русь вступила в эпоху братоубийств, оправдываемых степенью истовости в новой "правильной" вере.
  3. Басарев
    Басарев 4 мая 2021 18:39
    +4
    Надо было не разделяться, а всем вместе идти по суше. Понты в столь важном деле неуместны.
  4. Хибинский Пластун
    Хибинский Пластун 5 мая 2021 19:45
    +1
    А может всё проще- Святослав уже достал своей войной с Византией, одни убытки, ведь торги византийские закрыты. Да и люд не забыл, как сам князь бросил, по существу, Киев во время осады печенегами. Послал только небольшой отряд и только случайность спасла город от сдачи, а если вспомнить, что в городе были и мать, и дети его...
    Вспомнили и слова князя, "Не любо мне в Киеве, а любо в Переславце..."
    И теперь опять идет уводит мужиков в непонятный поход.
    А собрать хотя бы опять 10000 для войны за земли которые и удержать то не получится,дураков уже мало. Так, что думаю по Святославу на Руси мало кто возрыдал.
    Да и на Свенельда возводить предательство может и не стоит. Просто войско собрать не получилось,люди вольные, не пошли и все тут. На кой Карачун нужен такой князь- свою землю от ворога оборонять перестал, шляется не весть где, торговля стоит, только воинов кладёт, Перун знает где. Святослав забыл чувство меры...
  5. Виктор Ценин
    Виктор Ценин 6 мая 2021 03:29
    0
    Читал эту статью в журнале наука и жизнь, будучи школьником, термин мори тури, засел в неокортексе навсегда, с тех времён)
  6. Мак-Сим
    Мак-Сим 10 мая 2021 09:22
    0
    Поэтому Святослав желал продолжить спор за дунайские земли, издавна принадлежавшие славянорусам.


    Эт как "издавна"? С античных времен что ли? Когда суперэтнос русов строил пирамид или копал Черное море, тогда? Каким образом претензии на "издавно" принадлежащие земли скрывают банальный будничный (и оплаченой византийцами) набег руссов на Болгарию. Тогда Это было в порядке вещей - захотел, пошел пограбил что-б были шмотки, бабло и бабы. Какие "издавна принадлежащие" и т. д. клише? Называйте вещи их именами.