Military Review

If India does not buy the S-400, Pakistan will take them: the US is discussing the supply of Russian air defense systems to South Asia

23

In recent years, India has paid particular attention to arming and equipping its armed forces. This is due to the difficult military-political situation on the Indian-Chinese border. Some sections of the border in both the west and east of the Himalayan mountains are controversial, and New Delhi believes that the country should be ready at any time to repel aggression from China.


Not so long ago, India turned to Russia with a request to speed up the delivery of the S-400 Triumph air defense system. Recall that the contract for the supply of the S-400 totaling $ 5,43 billion has already been signed by representatives of the two states. Russia must supply five regimental complexes to India. The first regimental complex is planned to be transferred to India in late 2021 or early 2022. Indian servicemen have already been sent to Moscow to undergo training in the operation of the S-400.

Possible obstacles to the delivery of S-400 to India


However, Peter Suciu of The National Interest writes about the likely emergence of obstacles to the supply of S-400 to India. First, Suchiu refers to the Indian Financial Express, which wrote about possible technical problems that slowed down the reception and transmission of equipment. Second, Suciu dwells on the Countering America's Adversaries Through Sanctions Act, which was introduced in 2017 by the administration of then US President Donald Trump.

The law prohibited India from buying the S-400 from Russia, and India is a long-term and forced ally of the United States and may not dare to go against Washington's opinion. After all, New Delhi is counting on America's support in the event of a confrontation with neighboring China. In March 2021, the leaders of Australia, India, Japan and the United States met in the Security Quadrilateral format, created to counter possible Chinese aggression. Senator Bob Menendez, known for his tough anti-Russian stance, has already warned the Indian side that the deal to buy the S-400 will come under US sanctions.

But India is also Moscow's longtime military partner. For many decades, even since the Soviet era, India has been purchasing Soviet and then Russian weapons. The country will not abandon important ties with Russia either. As a result, India may find itself in the same situation as Turkey once found itself in: after purchasing the S-400, the United States, as we recall, excluded Ankara from the Lockheed Martin F-35 Joint Strike Fighter program.

Thus, the purchase of the S-400 from Russia could significantly undermine Indian-American relations, as well as affect India's purchases of American weapons. The United States may refuse to supply some types of weapons to New Delhi if the Indian side buys Russian anti-aircraft missile systems.

However, as Suchiu writes, the situation in India is complicated by another circumstance. In any case, Russia will find foreign buyers for the S-400, and if India does not buy them in South Asia, Pakistan can most likely buy them. Islamabad is also interested in building up its military power, and Pakistani-American relations have recently cracked.

But if Pakistan acquires the S-400 air defense system from Russia, it will negatively affect the defense capability of India. It turns out that the country finds itself between two fires: on the one hand, the United States, threatening with sanctions for the purchase of Russian air defense systems, and on the other hand, a very likely risk of acquiring the S-400 by Pakistan. The choice ultimately rests with New Delhi, with the Indian leaders themselves, who will have to decide which is more important for them - a partnership with the United States or a threat from neighboring Pakistan.
Author:
23 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. aleksr2005
    aleksr2005 April 30 2021 11: 50
    +3
    What is the problem for the United States to exert the same pressure on Pakistan. Moreover, the other day Blinken urged all countries not to buy Russian weapons, otherwise sanctions will follow.
    1. Doccor18
      Doccor18 April 30 2021 12: 06
      +8
      Quote: aleksr2005
      What is the problem for the United States to exert the same pressure on Pakistan ...

      It may well be.
      In addition, Pakistan has a longtime ally, China, which may offer its HQ-9B air defense system.
    2. aszzz888
      aszzz888 April 30 2021 12: 11
      +1

      aleksr2005 (Alexander)
      Today, 11: 50
      0
      What is the problem for the United States to exert the same pressure on Pakistan. Moreover, the other day Blinken urged all countries not to buy Russian weapons, otherwise sanctions will follow..
      ... yes, it was. Scares merikatos all in a row! laughing
      1. Alex777
        Alex777 April 30 2021 16: 31
        +1
        So let's see who is cooler - Turks or Indians? bully
        Erdogan was offered Chinese air defense, inexpensively.
        But the sultan took the real protection, not the "copy".
  2. tralflot1832
    tralflot1832 April 30 2021 11: 51
    +9
    Maybe you need to read the news, yesterday the Prime Minister of India confirmed that the first deliveries of the C 400 complex will begin at the end of 2021, the contract price is $ 5 billion in rubles.
    Complex with tags in Indian. The choice has been made. The Americans have many desires for their weapons. They have it for Tobaki. India is not a vassal in any way, although the homeland of literary heroes, analogues of the modern political elite of the West.
  3. Russ
    Russ April 30 2021 11: 58
    +7
    If you go to the left, you will fall under the sanctions
    If you go to the right, you will fall under the sanctions ...
    Go straight ahead!
    1. aszzz888
      aszzz888 April 30 2021 12: 04
      +1
      Russia (maRus)
      Today, 11: 58
      +1
      If you go to the left, you will fall under the sanctions
      If you go to the right, you will fall under the sanctions ...
      Go straight ahead!
      In the sense of the forest? laughing
      1. Russ
        Russ April 30 2021 12: 36
        +2
        Aha! And Susanin to help them ... yes
    2. Sidor Amenpodestovich
      Sidor Amenpodestovich April 30 2021 12: 15
      +1
      Quote: Russia
      Go straight ahead!

      They have nowhere to go to the rhythm of the dance.
  4. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek April 30 2021 11: 58
    +6
    Can't you sell the С400 first to India and then to Pakistan? Blossom all flowers ...
    1. aszzz888
      aszzz888 April 30 2021 12: 06
      0

      Zaurbek (Zaur)
      Today, 11: 58
      0
      Can't you sell the С400 first to India and then to Pakistan? Blossom all flowers ...
      “And if they don’t take it, we’ll turn off the gas!” ... The Hindus fell into a twine. Now only the shaman will tell them what and where! laughing
  5. APASUS
    APASUS April 30 2021 12: 24
    +4
    Will India fail again like a 5th generation aircraft? I think Pakistan will not be afraid to buy the S-400 if the opportunity presents itself. For some reason, the Hindus are always trying to shield themselves some special conditions and usually get paid
  6. Tusv
    Tusv April 30 2021 12: 25
    0
    Lord. An evil Penguin is raging in the world, who penetrates your taxation without opposition. Moreover, the most sniffy cheerleaders will be poked with pipidasters. Buy S-400 and you will be happy. So they will give money. Free of charge, that is, dadam, as the great owl from Vin Pooh bequeathed
    1. Ross xnumx
      Ross xnumx April 30 2021 12: 49
      +7
      Quote: Tusv
      Lord. An evil Penguin is raging in the world. Which, without opposition, penetrates your taxation.

      The best advertisement for the S-400 would be an F-35 or F-22 shot down in foreign airspace. After that, it will become completely clear to everyone what the Pentagon is so afraid of.
      Currently Iran can do it. It is with him that you need to talk if India begins to wander.
      Air defense systems, if my memory serves me, do not fall under any restrictions and the strange American "dislike" for our weapons is based not only on mercantile interests. The Yankees are afraid of direct clashes with the RF Armed Forces.
      1. Tusv
        Tusv April 30 2021 18: 10
        0
        Quote: ROSS 42
        The best advertisement for the S-400 would be an F-35 or F-22 shot down in foreign airspace.
        .
        The best ads are already there. Where there is an S-400, there is no American democracy. Let me remind you that the fake that Russia delivered the S-300 postponed the bombing of Serbia for 3 months. It’s a pity that I didn’t prevent it. Well, they had this Tony Kukoch, that's why they got
  7. Glagol1
    Glagol1 April 30 2021 12: 28
    +5
    They scare from right to left, but not the fact that they will decide. The same India bought Poseidons from amers, such clients are not sausages. This is such a form of behavior - to press, press, maybe it will work. It never ceases to amaze me what faces are sitting there, especially aunties. Where do they dig them up ?! Nancy Pelosi, Kamala Harris, Talking Head, Blinken, etc. The can is more or less, but what does it decide? Moreover, already under insanity.
    I think the S-400 for India will take place.
  8. Pandiurin
    Pandiurin April 30 2021 12: 30
    +4
    It has been a long time ago ...
    The United States, in an ultimatum, tried to put pressure on China over the "undervalued yuan."
    The Chinese then replied that, in principle, not to move a single millimeter. Because if they show that it is possible to resolve issues with them by exerting pressure, then by doing so they will forgive to conduct a dialogue with China from a position of strength. Accordingly, this pressure will only increase.

    The Indians apparently do not fully understand that this is not a question of buying a C400 from Russia, but more important for India.
    Those. now the mechanism of pressure on India is being determined and the possibility of its use by third countries, in the sovereign issues / interests of India.
    If India shows weakness now, it will recognize the legitimacy of such an approach to itself.

    As a result, "third countries" will press and threaten the Indians for any reason. And if at some point the Indians start to resist on some issue. Then they will simply begin to press harder, the working mechanism is recognized by India as acceptable. If the control action is not enough, then it must be increased.

    Let's see how the Hindus have wisdom and foresight (in comparison with the Chinese).
  9. gorenina91
    gorenina91 April 30 2021 12: 32
    -2
    If India does not buy the S-400, Pakistan will take them: the US is discussing the supply of Russian air defense systems to South Asia

    - Yes, of course Russia needs to supply (sell) S-400 to Pakistan ... - Otherwise ... - China will quickly hurry up and will supply Pakistan with an analogue of the S-400 itself; and even at a lower price ... - At least ... - the same Chinese complex HQ-26.
  10. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 April 30 2021 12: 36
    +1
    the country is caught between two fires
    It is not surprising when you want to sit on two or even more chairs. I wonder if American partners have already helped India in a critical situation with a pandemic?
  11. rocket757
    rocket757 April 30 2021 12: 39
    +1
    If India does not buy the S-400, Pakistan will take them: the US is discussing the supply of Russian air defense systems to South Asia
    The question is, who can offer better, in terms of price - quality aggregate?
  12. Niko
    Niko April 30 2021 15: 00
    0
    In general, it is interesting that the USSR, which supplied weapons to many countries, was guided by principles, and now it sometimes looks like Russia is ready to sell anything and to anyone, as if the survival of the sellers themselves depends on it.
  13. xorek
    xorek April 30 2021 15: 59
    0
    I don’t know about the Indians and the packs .. But Iran would urgently need to supply them with more
  14. hohohol
    hohohol April 30 2021 19: 45
    0
    Quote: tralflot1832
    They are already riveting to the full
    Complex with tags in Indian.

    There is no current Indian language, there are 447 of them plus 2000 dialects, but there are only 2 official languages ​​- Hindi and English. So what language is the tag riveted in?

Военное обозрение

Если Индия не купит С-400, их возьмет Пакистан: в США обсуждают вопрос поставок российских ЗРК в Южную Азию

23

В последние годы Индия уделяет особое внимание вооружению и оснащению своих вооруженных сил. К этому обязывает сложная военно-политическая обстановка на индийско-китайской границе. Некоторые участки границы и на западе, и на востоке Гималайских гор являются спорными, и в Нью-Дели считают, что страна должна быть готова в любой момент отразить агрессию со стороны Китая.


Не так давно Индия обратилась к России с просьбой ускорить поставку системы ПВО С-400 «Триумф». Напомним, что контракт на поставку С-400 на общую сумму 5,43 млрд долларов, уже был подписан представителями двух государств. Россия должна поставить в Индию пять полковых комплексов. Первый полковой комплекс планируется передать Индии в конце 2021 или начале 2022 гг. В Москву уже направлены индийские военнослужащие, которым предстоит пройти обучение эксплуатации С-400.

Возможные препятствия для поставки С-400 в Индию


Однако Питер Сучиу из The National Interest пишет о вероятном возникновении препятствий для поставок С-400 в Индию. Во-первых, Сучиу ссылается на индийское издание Financial Express, которое писало о возможных проблемах технического характера, замедливших прием и передачу оборудования. Во-вторых, Сучиу останавливается на Законе о противодействии противникам Америки посредством санкций, который был в 2017 году представлен администрацией тогдашнего президента США Дональда Трампа.

Закон запрещал Индии покупать С-400 у России, а Индия – давний и вынужденный союзник США и может не решиться пойти наперекор мнению Вашингтона. Ведь Нью-Дели рассчитывает на поддержку Америки в случае конфронтации с соседним Китаем. В марте 2021 г. лидеры Австралии, Индии, Японии и США встречались в формате «Четырехугольника безопасности», созданного для противостояния возможной китайской агрессии. Сенатор Боб Менендес, известный своей жесткой антироссийской позицией, уже предупреждал индийскую сторону о том, что сделка о покупке С-400 попадет под санкции со стороны США.

Но Индия – и давний военный партнер Москвы. На протяжении многих десятилетий, еще начиная с советского времени, Индия закупала советское и потом российское вооружение. Отказываться от важных для нее связей с Россией страна тоже не будет. В итоге Индия может оказаться в той же ситуации, в какой в свое время оказалась Турция: после покупки С-400 США, как мы помним, исключили Анкару из программы Lockheed Martin F-35 Joint Strike Fighter.

Таким образом, покупка С-400 у России может существенно подорвать индийско-американские отношения, а также отразиться на покупках Индией американского вооружения. США могут отказаться поставлять Нью-Дели некоторые виды вооружений, если индийская сторона купит российские зенитные ракетные комплексы.

Впрочем, как пишет Сучиу, положение Индии осложняется и другим обстоятельством. Россия в любом случае найдет иностранных покупателей для С-400, и если в Южной Азии их не купит Индия, то их с большой вероятностью может купить Пакистан. В Исламабаде тоже заинтересованы в наращивании своей военной мощи, а пакистано-американские отношения в последнее время дали трещину.

Но если Пакистан приобретет у России ЗРК С-400, это негативно скажется на обороноспособности Индии. Получается, что страна оказывается меж двух огней: с одной стороны – США, угрожающие санкциями за покупку российских ЗРК, а с другой стороны – очень вероятный риск приобретения С-400 Пакистаном. Выбор, в конечном итоге, остается за Нью-Дели, за самими индийскими руководителями, которым придется решить, что для них важнее – партнерство с Соединенными Штатами или угроза со стороны соседнего Пакистана.
Автор:
23 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. aleksr2005
    aleksr2005 30 апреля 2021 11:50
    +3
    В чём проблем для США оказать такое же давление на Пакистан. Тем более на днях Блинкен призвал все страны не покупать российское оружие, иначе последуют санкции.
    1. Doccor18
      Doccor18 30 апреля 2021 12:06
      +8
      Цитата: aleksr2005
      В чём проблем для США оказать такое же давление на Пакистан...

      Вполне может быть.
      Кроме того, у Пакистана есть давний союзник - Китай, который может предложить свою ЗРС HQ-9B.
    2. a.s.zzz888
      a.s.zzz888 30 апреля 2021 12:11
      +1

      aleksr2005 (Александр)
      Сегодня, 11:50
      0
      В чём проблем для США оказать такое же давление на Пакистан. Тем более на днях Блинкен призвал все страны не покупать российское оружие, иначе последуют санкции.
      ...таки да, было дело. Шугает мерикатос всех подряд! laughing
      1. Alex777
        Alex777 30 апреля 2021 16:31
        +1
        Вот и посмотрим, кто круче - турки или индусы? bully
        Эрдогану предлагали китайское ПВО, недорого.
        Но султан взял настоящую защиту, а не "копию".
  2. tralflot1832
    tralflot1832 30 апреля 2021 11:51
    +9
    Может надо новости читать,вчера премьер Индии подтвердил,первые поставки комплекса С 400 начнутся в конце 2021 года,цена контракта 5 млрд$ в рублях.Уже во всю клепают
    Комплекс с бирками на индийском языке. Выбор сделан.У американцев много хотелок к своему оружию.Оно у них для Тобаки.Индия ни каким боком не вассал,хотя родина литературных героев,аналогов современной политической элиты запада.
  3. Русь
    Русь 30 апреля 2021 11:58
    +7
    Налево пойдешь- под санкции попадешь
    Направо пойдешь- под санкиции попадешь...
    Идите доргой прямой!
    1. a.s.zzz888
      a.s.zzz888 30 апреля 2021 12:04
      +1
      Русь (маРусь)
      Сегодня, 11:58
      +1
      Налево пойдешь- под санкции попадешь
      Направо пойдешь- под санкиции попадешь...
      Идите доргой прямой!
      В смысле лесом? laughing
      1. Русь
        Русь 30 апреля 2021 12:36
        +2
        Ага! И Сусанин им в помощь... yes
    2. Сидор Аменподестович
      Сидор Аменподестович 30 апреля 2021 12:15
      +1
      Цитата: Русь
      Идите доргой прямой!

      В ритме танца им некуда деваться.
  4. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek 30 апреля 2021 11:58
    +6
    А нельзя, сначала продать С400 в Индию, а потом в Пакистан? Цветите все цветы...
    1. a.s.zzz888
      a.s.zzz888 30 апреля 2021 12:06
      0

      Zaurbek (Zaur)
      Сегодня, 11:58
      0
      А нельзя, сначала продать С400 в Индию, а потом в Пакистан? Цветите все цветы...
      "А если не будут брать — отключим газ! "... Индусы попали таки на шпагат. Теперь только шаман их скажет, чего и куда! laughing
  5. APASUS
    APASUS 30 апреля 2021 12:24
    +4
    Не получиться у Индии опять как с самолетом 5 го поколения ? Думаю Пакистан не побоится купить С-400 если представиться возможность.Индусы почему то всегда пытаются себе выгородить какие то особые условия и как правило попадают на деньги
  6. Tusv
    Tusv 30 апреля 2021 12:25
    0
    Хосподя. В мире свирепствует злобный Пингвин.Который без противодействия проникает в ваше налогообложение. Да еще пипидастрами самая занюханная черлидерша будут тыкать. Покупайте С-400 и будет вам счастье. Так денег дадут. Безвозмездно, то есть дадам, как завещала великая сова из Вин пуха
    1. ROSS 42
      ROSS 42 30 апреля 2021 12:49
      +7
      Цитата: Tusv
      Хосподя. В мире свирепствует злобный Пингвин. Который без противодействия проникает в ваше налогообложение.

      Лучшей рекламой для С-400 будет сбитый в чужом воздушном пространстве F-35 или F-22. После этого всем станет совершенно понятно, чего так боится Пентагон.
      В настоящее время это может сделать Иран. Именно с ним нужно говорить, если Индия станет кочевряжиться.
      Средства ПВО, если мне не изменяет память, не попадают ни под какие ограничения и странная американская «нелюбовь» к нашим вооружениям основана не только на меркантильных интересах. Боятся янки прямых столкновений с ВС РФ.
      1. Tusv
        Tusv 30 апреля 2021 18:10
        0
        Цитата: ROSS 42
        Лучшей рекламой для С-400 будет сбитый в чужом воздушном пространстве F-35 или F-22
        .
        Лучшая реклама уже есть. Где есть С-400, там нету американской демократии. Напомню Вам,что фейк о том,что Россия поставила С-300 отстрочила бомбардировку Сербии на 3 месяца. Жаль, что не предотвратила. Ну у них был такой Тони Кукоч, потому и получили
  7. Glagol1
    Glagol1 30 апреля 2021 12:28
    +5
    Пугают направо налево, но не факт, что решатся. Та же Индия купила у амеров посейдоны, таких клиентов не колбасят. Это такая форма поведения - давить, давить, может и сработает. Меня не перестаёт удивлять, какие рожи там заседают, особенно тетеньки. Где они их откапывают?! Ненси пелоси, Камала харрис, башка говорящая, блинкен и тд. Бидон более менее, но что он решает? К тому же уже под маразмом.
    Думаю, С-400 для Индии состоится.
  8. Pandiurin
    Pandiurin 30 апреля 2021 12:30
    +4
    Давно уже было...
    США в ультимативной форме пытались давить на Китай по поводу "заниженного курса юаня".
    Китайцы тогда ответили что принципиально не сдвинуться ни на миллиметр. Потому что если покажут что с ними можно решать вопросы оказывая давление то тем самым они будут прощать вести диалог с Китаем с позиции силы. Соответственно такого давления будет становиться только больше.

    Индусы не доконца видимо понимают что это не вопрос покупки С400 у России, а более важный для Индии.
    Т.е. сейчас определяется работает механизм давления на Индию и возможность его использования третьими странами, в суверенных вопросах / интересах Индии.
    Если Индия покажет сейчас слабину, то она признает правомочность такого подхода к себе.

    Как результат "третьи страны" по любому поводу будут давить и угрожать индусам. И если в какой то момент по какому то вопросу индусы начнут упираться. То на них просто начнут сильнее давить, механизм рабочий признан Индией как допустимый. Если управляющее воздействие не достаточно то его надо увеличить.

    Посмотрим насколько индусы обладают мудростью и дальновидностью (по сравнению с китайцами).
  9. gorenina91
    gorenina91 30 апреля 2021 12:32
    -2
    Если Индия не купит С-400, их возьмет Пакистан: в США обсуждают вопрос поставок российских ЗРК в Южную Азию

    - Да , конечно же России надо поставить (продать) Пакистану С-400... - А не то ... - Китай быстренько подсуетится и сам поставит Пакистану аналог С-400 ; да ещё и по более низкой цене... - Хотя бы ... - тот же китайский комплекс HQ-26.
  10. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 30 апреля 2021 12:36
    +1
    страна оказывается меж двух огней
    Не удивительно когда хочется усидеть на двух, а то и более стульях. Интересно, а американские партнеры уже помогли Индии в критической ситуации с пандемией?
  11. rocket757
    rocket757 30 апреля 2021 12:39
    +1
    Если Индия не купит С-400, их возьмет Пакистан: в США обсуждают вопрос поставок российских ЗРК в Южную Азию
    Вопрос в том, а кто может предложить лучше, по совокупности цена - качество?
  12. Niko
    Niko 30 апреля 2021 15:00
    0
    А вообще интересно что СССР поставлявший оружие во многие страны руководствовался принципами ,а сейчас иногда выглядит так ,что Россия готова продать что угодно и кому угодно как будто от этого зависит выживание самих продавцов.
  13. xorek
    xorek 30 апреля 2021 15:59
    0
    На счет индусов и паков не знаю ..А вот Ирану бы нужно срочно поставить им нужней
  14. hohohol
    hohohol 30 апреля 2021 19:45
    0
    Цитата: tralflot1832
    Уже во всю клепают
    Комплекс с бирками на индийском языке.

    Как токового индийского языка нет, их там 447 плюс 2000 диалектов, но официальных только 2 языка - хинди и английский. Так на каком языке бирке клепают?