Military Review

Battles on the Volkhov: combat mission of the battalion of Grigory Gaicheni

4

Some of the most tragic events of the Great Patriotic War for the Red Army are associated with the battles on the Volkhov front. Against this background, one can single out the Luban operation, which is an actual continuation of the Tikhvin operation with an attempt to unblock the approaches to Leningrad.


According to historians, they tried to solve problems on the Volkhov front not by skill, but by number. At the same time, the tactics used did not meet modern (at that time) realities. The numerical superiority in certain sectors of the front did not translate into victories. As a result, the losses were colossal.

The 2nd Shock Army could not return from the Volkhov swamps. The fact that her fighters were going through makes them not just talk about the strategic miscalculations of the command, but really shudder.

One of the mistakes that were made by the command and which the Soviet generals themselves pointed out was that the 2nd Shock Army was thrown into a barely breached hole in the enemy's defenses. The area was too narrow to be able to build on the success with the use of the forces and means of the entire Second Shock.

Miscalculations led to more than significant losses. Among such losses are the servicemen of the 1st battalion.

The battalion of 23-year-old Grigory Gaicheni was sent to carry out a combat mission - to take the coastal cape on the Volkhov. At the same time, the fighters of this battalion found themselves in front of the enemy without artillery preparation, in fact, in a completely open area. Even the incredible courage and heroism shown by the Soviet soldiers did not help to take that ill-fated Volkhov Cape, called the Mysovaya Hill.

Some details of the battle of the battalion of Grigory Gaicheni on Volkhov:

4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Konnick
    Konnick 8 May 2021 16: 14
    0
    Familiar phrases, similar to the shocking memories of M. Suknev. This one, who hid in a collective farm farm, the walls of which withstood a shell from the Tiger, is the one who commanded the penalties, Basmachs and Rostov bear-bearers.
    Why drag it here. If you would like to tell about Major Grigory Ivanovich Gaichen, his blessed memory, then you would bring the records of the ZhBD 1249 rifle regiment of the 255th division, a photo of the monument on the major's grave.
    1. Konnick
      Konnick 8 May 2021 16: 18
      +3
      Some details of the battle of the battalion of Grigory Gaicheni on Volkhov:

      Here they are



  2. Konnick
    Konnick 8 May 2021 16: 33
    +4
    This is what he was


    And the video turns out to repeat the "memories" of Suknev, whose bodies evaporate from the high-explosive shells, but the boots with the gymnastics jacket remain ...
    1. Lech from Android.
      Lech from Android. 8 May 2021 17: 06
      +1
      The young battalion commander is still a boy.

Военное обозрение

Бои на Волхове: боевое задание батальона Григория Гайчени

4

Одни из самых трагичных для Красной армии событий Великой Отечественной войны связаны с боями на Волховском фронте. На этом фоне можно выделить Любанскую операцию, которая фактическим продолжением Тихвинской операции с попыткой деблокировать подходы к Ленинграду.


Решение задач на Волховском фронте пытались осуществлять, как считают историки, не уменьем, а числом. При этом применяемая тактика не отвечала современным (на тот момент) реалиям. Численный перевес на отдельных участках фронта не воплощался в победы. В итоге потери оказались колоссальны.

Из волховских болот не смогла вернуться 2-я ударная армия. То, что переживали её бойцы, заставляет не просто говорить о стратегических просчётах командования, а по-настоящему содрогнуться.

Одна из ошибок, которая была допущена командованием и на которую указывали сами советские генералы, состояла в том, что 2-я ударная армия была брошена в едва пробитую брешь в обороне противника. Участок был слишком узок, чтобы можно было развить успех с применением сил и средств всей Второй ударной.

Просчёты приводили к более чем существенным потерям. Среди таких потерь – и военнослужащие 1-го батальона.

Батальон 23-летнего Григория Гайчени был направлен для выполнения боевого задания - брать береговой мыс на Волхове. При этом бойцы этого батальона оказались перед противником без артиллерийской подготовки, фактически на полностью открытом участке. Даже невероятное мужество и героизм, проявленные советскими воинами, не помогли взять тот злополучный волховский мыс, названный высотой Мысовая.

Некоторые детали боя батальона Григория Гайчени на Волхове:

4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Konnick
    Konnick 8 мая 2021 16:14
    0
    Знакомые фразы, похоже на эпатажные воспоминания М.Сукнева. Этот тот, который спрятался в колхозной ферме, стены которой выдержали снаряд от Тигра, это тот который командовал штрафниками, басмачами и ростовскими медвежатниками.
    Зачем это тащить сюда. Если хотели бы рассказать про майора Григория Ивановича Гайченю, светлая память ему, то привели бы записи ЖБД 1249 стрелкового полка 255 дивизии, фото памятника на могиле майора.
    1. Konnick
      Konnick 8 мая 2021 16:18
      +3
      Некоторые детали боя батальона Григория Гайчени на Волхове:

      Вот они



  2. Konnick
    Konnick 8 мая 2021 16:33
    +4
    Вот он какой был


    А видео оказывается повторяет "воспоминания" Сукнева, у которого от бризантных снарядов испаряются тела, а сапоги с гимнстеркой остаются...
    1. Леха с Андроида.
      Леха с Андроида. 8 мая 2021 17:06
      +1
      Молодой комбат совсем ещё мальчишка.