Military Review

British tanks: an inside view

26

Introducing the video cycle “Inside tank"From the creators of the famous game World of Tanks. The project is dedicated to the review of combat vehicles, and Richard Cutland, a representative of the British tank forces, will talk about the steel monsters. This time, the British tanks Churchill and Cromwell were in the center of his attention.


The Churchill tank was created in 1941 and named after British Prime Minister Winston Churchill. It was a very sturdy car. For example, in the Churchill VII modification, the armor was thicker than that of the German Tigers. However, this had to be paid for with modest indicators of dynamics and maneuverability. The motor developed a power of 350 hp, but the speed did not exceed 24 km / h.

Another distinctive feature of the tank is the chassis, which has no analogues among the combat vehicles of the Second World War. It consists of 44 rollers, placed on separate carts, attached to the tank hull. Each of the bogies has a lubrication neck through which the chassis was serviced.

The crew consisted of 5 people who were comfortable enough inside the car. The main armament of the Churchill was a 75 mm gun, to the right of which was one of the two installed machine guns. Meanwhile, in the "Crocodile" modification, instead of a machine gun, a flamethrower was installed in the frontal sheet of the hull.

What else is remarkable about the car and what is inside the famous "Churchill", see the video from Wargaming.



The British Cromwell medium cruiser tank was in service from 1942 to 1952. At one time, it was the main combat vehicle of the 7th Panzer Division, nicknamed "Desert Rats". Its mass reached 27,5 tons, and the thickness of the armor was about 70 mm, which was not bad for a cruising tank of that time.

Despite the fact that the crew of the "Cromwell" consisted of 5 people, the dimensions of the tank are small. The main armament of early releases was the 57 mm Mk III cannon, which was later replaced by a 75 mm cannon. In addition, there was one machine gun in the tower and in the hull.

In addition to the cannon, there are two hatches outside the vehicle - the loader's hatch and the commander's hatch, on either side of which there are periscopes. You can also see a simple exhaust fan for removing powder gases after firing.
In the engine compartment there is a 12-cylinder carburetor engine with 27 liters and 600 hp. In fact, this is the same engine that was installed on the Supermarine Spitfire, but with a reduced number of revolutions.
The chassis is quite simple. The car is equipped with a Christie type suspension - 5 road wheels on each side. The drive wheel is located at the rear of the tank.

All design features and internal structure of the famous "Cromwell" watch in the video from Wargaming.

Author:
26 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. svp67
    svp67 15 May 2021 04: 36
    +7
    At one time, it was the main combat vehicle of the 7th Panzer Division, nicknamed "Desert Rats".
    Yes "Jerboas" they are, JERBOES
    1. Paragraph Epitafievich Y.
      Paragraph Epitafievich Y. 15 May 2021 18: 28
      +7
      Quote: svp67
      Yes "Jerboas" they are, JERBOES

      why are you minus?
      Is it difficult for people to part with stamps? yes


      here is the sleeve patch for tommy from the 7th btd:
  2. Catfish
    Catfish 15 May 2021 04: 55
    +7
    Regarding the tank named after him, Churchill himself said that "this tank has more flaws than myself." wink
    1. Vovk
      Vovk 15 May 2021 10: 25
      -1
      Tank for breaking through the defense - was highly valued by Soviet tankers for its convenience and quality of booking. In the battles near Moscow, he saved the lives of many crews. The Memoirs indicated the standard for British tanks (including Matilda and Valentine) drawback in the battle of Moscow - the absence of high-explosive shells in the ammunition load.
      1. mat-vey
        mat-vey 15 May 2021 10: 42
        +14
        Quote: Vovk
        In the battles near Moscow, he saved the lives of many crews.

        ... were sent to the Soviet Union as part of the Lend-Lease program. In total, 344 combat vehicles were sent, of which only 253 units reached their destination. The first 10 tanks arrived in the USSR in July 1942.
        Battle for Moscow (Battle of Moscow, Battle of Moscow, September 30, 1941 - April 20, 1942)
      2. YOUR
        YOUR 15 May 2021 14: 20
        +12
        Neither the Churchill tank nor the Cromwell took part in the battles near Moscow. The participation of Matilda tanks is also questionable, as the first 49 tanks arrived in the USSR only in November 1941. Here Valentine took part in the defense of Moscow, all nine tanks. The first battle is November 10. Three weeks later, one battalion was equipped with them.
        The main drawback was not the absence of high-explosive fragmentation shells, but the tracks, which did not have hooks, slid over snow and ice, turned over on the slopes. In terms of its armor and armament, this tank was located between our BT and T-70
        1. Vovk
          Vovk 15 May 2021 15: 47
          -1
          Both Matilda and Churchill took part in the battle of Moscow. And that was in the winter of 1941, in the spring of 1942. I recommend that the unbelievers read the memoirs of the tankers there, it is well described, about the shortcomings and advantages of Churchill is taken from there. I understand, to officially admit that Great Britain provided the necessary assistance in the form of tanks at the right time ... therefore, everywhere there are postscripts that the tanks came after the battle for Moscow. Yes, there were few of them, but they were received practically at the level of smuggling before the official request from the USSR. Everything that could be thrown into the Battle of Moscow.
          1. Vovk
            Vovk 15 May 2021 16: 12
            -2
            By the way, about the Battle of Moscow, I immediately remembered the memories of a certain Zhukov (not the future Marshal of Victory). So, he was a career military man - a signalman. Near Moscow, he was plowed to escort the BT-7 battalion as an escort. So, having arrived at the place of escorting the tanks, he reported to the future Marshal of Victory Zhukov (he did not know to whom he reported) and wanted to dump him to his place of service. I memorized the phrase of the future Marshal Zhukov, after the report, literally !!! - Well, since you brought the tanks, you will command them ... The people around and the signalman himself were crazy ...
            The battles were described as "wonderful", as battles of local importance, when infantry + 4 tanks were sent to the positions fortified by the Germans, which were commanded by a signalman. The Germans were then knocked out, but ours lost 70% of the infantry and 2 tanks with crews ... as they fought on the defensive near Moscow, they "took care" of people and equipment ...
            1. Torins
              Torins 15 May 2021 18: 25
              +2
              You have perverted ideas about war.
            2. Paragraph Epitafievich Y.
              Paragraph Epitafievich Y. 15 May 2021 21: 48
              0
              Quote: Vovk
              I memorized the phrase of the future Marshal Zhukov, after the report, literally !!! - Well, since you brought the tanks, you will command them ... The people around you and the signalman himself went nuts ...

              I do not believe. Nonsense. Passion for memoirs in general, as I noticed, leads to some deformations in the idea of ​​war.
              1. Vovk
                Vovk 16 May 2021 09: 31
                0
                Quote: Paragraph Epitafievich Y.
                Quote: Vovk
                I memorized the phrase of the future Marshal Zhukov, after the report, literally !!! - Well, since you brought the tanks, you will command them ... The people around you and the signalman himself went nuts ...
                I do not believe. Nonsense. Passion for memoirs in general, as I noticed, leads to some deformations in the idea of ​​war.

                Unfortunately, I don't remember the name of the book of memoirs.
                The surname of the author is Zhukov. He was appointed to command the BT-7 battalion, then he fought on the Matilda, then on the Churchells. After being wounded, he went on reconnaissance to the breakthrough regiment on the IS-2. The book was published during the Soviet era. I would be grateful if they could suggest the title of the book.
                1. Paragraph Epitafievich Y.
                  Paragraph Epitafievich Y. 16 May 2021 10: 06
                  -3
                  Quote: Vovk
                  Unfortunately, I don't remember the name of the book of memoirs.
                  The surname of the author is Zhukov. He was appointed to command the BT-7 battalion, then he fought on the Matilda, then on the Churchells. After being wounded, he went on reconnaissance to the breakthrough regiment on the IS-2.

                  That is, you 'remember' the details from the book, but do not remember its title?
                  Quote: Vovk
                  After being wounded, he went on reconnaissance to the breakthrough regiment on the IS-2.

                  And this is generally a pearl.
                  1. Vovk
                    Vovk 16 May 2021 14: 09
                    -1
                    Quote: Paragraph Epitafievich Y.
                    That is, you 'remember' the details from the book, but do not remember its title?

                    I read this book back in Soviet times, when I was a schoolboy. Remember the title of a book read once out of 1 read in childhood?
                    Quote: Vovk
                    After being wounded, he went on reconnaissance to the breakthrough regiment on the IS-2.
                    And this is generally a pearl.

                    Well, I have to retell part of the book.
                    After recovering, Zhukov was sent with a promotion to the formed Guards Breakthrough Tank Regiment. When he arrived at the duty station, it turned out that the "warm" place in the regiment had already been taken. He was offered a similar position in the formed rifle unit, he refused (he turned on the "fool" - remembering the set-up of his namesake), he asked all the same to join the tank troops. The only "vacant" post in the regiment according to his rank was the commander of the scouts. In this position, at the beginning of his career as a reconnaissance commander, he managed to place the entire regiment on an anti-tank minefield for an evening stand without blowing up anyone. In the morning, having received a star from his superiors, he managed to avoid a military tribunal - with the help of sappers, without blowing up a single tank, he led a tank regiment on a march to break through the German defense at the set time.
                    1. Paragraph Epitafievich Y.
                      Paragraph Epitafievich Y. 16 May 2021 14: 37
                      0
                      Quote: Vovk
                      He was offered a similar position in the formed rifle unit, he refused (he turned on the "fool" - remembering the set-up of his namesake), he asked all the same to join the tank troops. The only "vacant" post in the regiment according to his rank was the commander of the scouts. In this position, at the beginning of his career as a reconnaissance commander, he managed to place the entire regiment on an anti-tank minefield for an evening stand without blowing up anyone. In the morning, having received a star from his superiors, he managed to avoid a military tribunal - with the help of sappers, without blowing up a single tank, he led a tank regiment on a march to break through the German defense at the set time.

                      Delightful story. Everything about her is beautiful. Just for kids.
            3. Omskgasmyas
              Omskgasmyas 16 May 2021 06: 33
              +3
              "Nobody lies as lie in their memoirs."
          2. Paragraph Epitafievich Y.
            Paragraph Epitafievich Y. 15 May 2021 18: 37
            +10
            Quote: Vovk
            Both Matilda and Churchill took part in the battle of Moscow.

            There were no Churchills near Moscow. The question of their delivery to the USSR was not raised at all until the spring of 1942. In January 42, the Soviet commission only visited Birmingham at the plant and Churchill tests. The first Ch. Went to the USSR in June 42 on the very same PQ-17. Of the 25 five cars, only 10 arrived in Arkhangelsk.
          3. bolt
            bolt 15 May 2021 21: 09
            +7
            Quote: Vovk
            Both Matilda and Churchill took part in the battle of Moscow ...


            For the first time Churchill participated in a battle January 21 1943 years... As part of the 48th Guards Tank Regiment of the Don Front. Near Stalingrad.

            ... Yes, there were few of them, but they were received practically at the level of smuggling (???) ...


            Thirty-eight-ton tanks ... With ammunition and spare parts ... With English fuel and lubricants ... With documentation in English ... And (what is it, shit - shit so!) With British crews ... "Contraband" ... Apparently, in the diplomatic baggage ... They, hey, saved Moscow too?
        2. Saxahorse
          Saxahorse 15 May 2021 19: 28
          +6
          Quote: YOUR
          In terms of its armor and armament, this tank was located between our BT and T-70

          However, in terms of its armor, Valentine, formally light in weight, found itself between the T-34 and the KV, which earned the sincere love of Soviet tankers. The forehead and side of 60 mm in the fall of 1941, the Germans had nothing to punch through. In general, it turned out to be a surprisingly useful machine. It is no coincidence that half of the Valentines were bought by the USSR using a lend-lens.
        3. bubalik
          bubalik 16 May 2021 09: 10
          +1
          Here Valentine took part in the defense of Moscow, all nine tanks.
          ,,, why only nine?
        4. Alex013
          Alex013 16 May 2021 13: 21
          +3
          His armor is at the T-34 level. And in terms of armament, the T-70 and BT were inferior to the Vali-Tani.
      3. yehat2
        yehat2 17 May 2021 09: 16
        +1
        the convenience there was relative - the comfort of living - yes, but there were not so many conveniences in battle.
        As for the armor, it was radically different in that the forehead was well protected and very often survived after being hit by a mechanized drive - and this is a valuable crew member, but the tower was not better protected than the T-34 nut, but at the same time it was larger, i.e. e. the inhabitants of the tower died more often. But the main advantage was that when knocked out, the devastation began much less often, and even if it did, the crew had more opportunities to extinguish and escape. Churchill was good for inexperienced units and commanders who climbed head-on. For more skilled and experienced t34, and then t34-85 and kv-1 were preferable.
  3. iouris
    iouris 15 May 2021 23: 02
    0
    Normal tanks are Shermans. British tanks are something special. They were created for British tactics. However, the Russians had to apply this too.
    1. Snail N9
      Snail N9 16 May 2021 10: 19
      +4
      British tanks were pretty good. Unfortunately, in Soviet historiography and memoir literature, it was customary for ideological reasons to speak contemptuously about them. Only now a lot of historical material has appeared, showing the real state of affairs in terms of both foreign and Soviet military equipment of the WWII times. Read, for example, the memoirs: "Tankman on a Foreign Car." In addition, there are many videos on YouTube both about specific types of tanks and how they were used in battles, with stories of people who fought on them, for example, a series of great films "Great Tank Battles". British tanks were used en masse on the southern front and in the battle for the Caucasus. Moreover, their number in the troops exceeded the number of Soviet vehicles, and in some units there were only Lendleigh vehicles. Soviet tankers, when ideological frameworks do not weigh on them, speak flatteringly about British armored vehicles, noting good, viscous armor, internal comfort and communication devices, excellent sights and observation devices, strong cannons (for their caliber), quiet tracks, reliability of the engine, transmission and undercarriage when properly maintained. And also the presence of excellent documentation describing the maintenance of each unit of the tank. Our tankers explain the failure of British vehicles not by poor quality of equipment or poor design, but by incorrect and untimely maintenance and the use of surrogate fuel and lubricants.
      1. Barberry25
        Barberry25 17 May 2021 00: 12
        0
        laughing at the same time, when they themselves poorly serviced the Soviet vehicles, they said that the blame for everything was the terrible quality of the tanks, and not the manuscript of the tankers, and they did everything perfectly ... these pearls had already passed
      2. REZMovec
        REZMovec 19 May 2021 19: 37
        0
        That is why to direct the shadow on the fence? British and American tanks had a lot of shortcomings. And M3 Li was called a mass grave, and not for the sake of Soviet propaganda. Those Churchillies had a lot of problems in the chassis in muddy roads and in cold weather, and all British tanks together had a shitty small-caliber cannon without HE shells. Tanks fought against tanks not as often as is commonly thought. Tracks without grousers were also a weak point, however, like the Shermans. Until the Americans came up with spurs. And there are enough of such problems. If the topic is rather weak, there is no need to post anti-Soviet libels.
  4. REZMovec
    REZMovec 18 May 2021 21: 14
    0
    Quote: YOUR
    Neither the Churchill tank nor the Cromwell took part in the battles near Moscow. The participation of Matilda tanks is also questionable, as the first 49 tanks arrived in the USSR only in November 1941. Here Valentine took part in the defense of Moscow, all nine tanks. The first battle is November 10. Three weeks later, one battalion was equipped with them.
    The main drawback was not the absence of high-explosive fragmentation shells, but the tracks, which did not have hooks, slid over snow and ice, turned over on the slopes. In terms of its armor and armament, this tank was located between our BT and T-70

    What do you mean was between the BT and the T-70 for booking? Valentine had 70mm in his forehead ...

Военное обозрение

Британские танки: взгляд изнутри

26

Представляем цикл видео «Внутри танка» от создателей знаменитой игры World of Tanks. Проект посвящен обзору боевых машин, а рассказывать о стальных монстрах будет представитель танковых войск Великобритании Ричард Катланд. В этот раз в центре его внимания оказались британские танки Churchill и Cromwell.


Танк Churchill создали в 1941 году и назвали в честь британского премьер-министра Уинстона Черчилля. Это была очень крепкая машина. К примеру, в модификации Churchill VII броня была толще, чем у немецких «Тигров». Впрочем, за это приходилось платить скромными показателями динамики и маневренности. Мотор развивал мощность в 350 л.с, но скорость не превышала 24 км/ч.

Еще одна отличительная особенность танка — ходовая, не имеющая аналогов среди боевых машин периода Второй мировой войны. Она представляет собой 44 катка, расставленных на отдельные тележки, закрепленные на корпусе танка. На каждой из тележек есть смазочная горловина, через которую и проводилось обслуживание ходовой.

Экипаж насчитывал 5 человек, которым было достаточно комфортно внутри машины. Основным вооружением «Черчилля» было орудие калибра 75 мм, справа от которого располагался один из двух установленных пулеметов. Между тем, в модификации «Crocodile» вместо пулемета в лобовом листе корпуса устанавливался огнемет.

Чем еще примечательна машина и что находится внутри знаменитого «Черчилля», смотрите в видео от компании Wargaming.



Британский средний крейсерский танк Cromwell стоял на вооружении с 1942 по 1952 год. В свое время он был основной боевой машиной 7-ой танковой дивизии, получившей прозвище «Крысы пустыни». Его масса достигала 27,5 тонн, а толщина брони составляла около 70 мм, что для крейсерского танка того времени было неплохо.

Несмотря на то, что экипаж «Кромвеля» состоял из 5 человек, габариты танка небольшие. Основным вооружением ранних выпусков была 57-мм пушка Мк III, которую позже заменили орудием калибра 75 мм. Кроме того, в башне и в корпусе находилось по одному пулемету.

Помимо пушки, снаружи машины есть два люка — люк заряжающего и командирский, по обе стороны от которого установлены перископы. Также можно увидеть простой вытяжной вентилятор для отвода пороховых газов после выстрела.
В моторном отсеке находится 12-цилиндровый карбюраторный двигатель на 27 литров мощностью 600 л.с. По сути, это тот же двигатель, который ставили на истребитель Supermarine Spitfire, но с пониженным количеством оборотов.
Ходовая часть достаточно простая. В машине установлена подвеска типа Кристи — по 5 опорных катков на каждой стороне. Ведущее колесо находится в задней части танка.

Все особенности конструкции и внутреннее устройство знаменитого «Кромвеля» смотрите в видео от компании Wargaming.

Автор:
26 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. svp67
    svp67 15 мая 2021 04:36
    +7
    В свое время он был основной боевой машиной 7-ой танковой дивизии, получившей прозвище «Крысы пустыни».
    Да "Тушканчики" они, ТУШКАНЧИКИ
    1. Абзац Эпитафьевич Ы.
      +7
      Цитата: svp67
      Да "Тушканчики" они, ТУШКАНЧИКИ

      а чего минусуют-то Вас?
      Трудно народу со штампами расставаться? yes


      вот нарукавный патч томми из 7-ой бтд:
  2. Морской Кот
    Морской Кот 15 мая 2021 04:55
    +7
    По поводу танка, названного его именем, сам Черчилль сказал, что "у этого танка недостатков больше, чем у меня самого". wink
    1. Vovk
      Vovk 15 мая 2021 10:25
      -1
      Танк прорыва обороны - очень ценился советскими танкистами за удобства и качество бронирования. В Боях под Москвой сохранил жизни многим экипажам. В Мемуарах указывался стандартный для британских танков (в том числе Матильда и Валентайн) недостаток в битве под Москвой - отсутствие в боекомплекте фугасных снарядов.
      1. mat-vey
        mat-vey 15 мая 2021 10:42
        +14
        Цитата: Vovk
        В Боях под Москвой сохранил жизни многим экипажам.

        ...были отправлены в Советский Союз в рамках программы ленд-лиза. Всего было отправлено 344 боевых машины, из которых до места назначения добрались только 253 единицы. Первые 10 танков прибыли в СССР в июле 1942 года.
        Би́тва за Москву́ (Моско́вская би́тва, Би́тва под Москво́й, 30 сентября 1941 года — 20 апреля 1942 года)
      2. ВАШ
        ВАШ 15 мая 2021 14:20
        +12
        Ни танк Черчилль ни Кромвель в боях под Москвой участия не принимали. Участие танков Матильда также под вопросом, т.к. первые 49 танков прибыли в СССР только в ноябре 1941 года. Вот Валентайн в обороне Москвы участвовал, все девять танков. Первый бой 10 ноября. Через 3 недели ими был оснащен один батальон.
        Основной недостаток не отсутствие осколочно-фугасных снарядов, а гусеницы, которые не имели зацепов, по снегу и льду скользили, переворачивались на склонах. По своему бронированию и вооружению этот танк находился между нашими БТ и Т-70
        1. Vovk
          Vovk 15 мая 2021 15:47
          -1
          В битве под Московой участвовали и Матильды и Черчилли. И это было зимой 1941, весной 1942. Фомам неверующим рекомендую почитать воспоминания танкистов там это хорошо описано, про недостатки и достоинства Черчилля взято оттуда. Я понимаю, официально признать, что Великобритания предоставляла нужную помощь в виде танков в нужное время ... поэтому везде и приписки, что танки поступили после битвы за Москву. Да их было мало, да они были получены практически на уровне контрабанды до официального запроса из СССР. В Битву под Москвой кидалось всё что можно было.
          1. Vovk
            Vovk 15 мая 2021 16:12
            -2
            Кстати, по поводу битвы под Москвой мне сразу вспомнились воспоминания некого Жукова(не будущего Маршала Победы). Так вот, он был кадровым военным - связистом. Под Москвой его при пахали сопроводить батальон БТ-7, как сопровождающего. Так вот прибыв на место сопровождения танков он доложился, будущему Маршалу Победы Жукову (не знал, кому он докладывался) и хотел свалить на место своей службы. Я запомнил фразу будущего маршала Жукова, после доклада, дословно!!! - Ну раз привел танки, будешь ими командовать ... Окружающие и сам связист офигели ...
            Бои описывались "замечательно", как бои местного значения, когда на укрепленные немцами позиции послали пехоту + 4 танка, которыми командовал связист. Немцев то выбили, но наши потеряли 70% пехоты и 2 танка с экипажами ... во как в обороне под Москвой воевали, людей и технику "берегли" ...
            1. Torins
              Torins 15 мая 2021 18:25
              +2
              У вас извращенные понятия о войне.
            2. Абзац Эпитафьевич Ы.
              0
              Цитата: Vovk
              Я запомнил фразу будущего маршала Жукова, после доклада, дословно!!! - Ну раз привел танки, будешь ими командовать ... Окружающие и сам связист офигели ...

              Не верю. Бред какой-то. Увлечение мемуаристикой вообще, как заметил, приводит к некоторым деформациям в представлении о войне.
              1. Vovk
                Vovk 16 мая 2021 09:31
                0
                Цитата: Абзац Эпитафьевич Ы.
                Цитата: Vovk
                Я запомнил фразу будущего маршала Жукова, после доклада, дословно!!! - Ну раз привел танки, будешь ими командовать ... Окружающие и сам связист офигели ...
                Не верю. Бред какой-то. Увлечение мемуаристикой вообще, как заметил, приводит к некоторым деформациям в представлении о войне.

                К Сожалению название книги воспоминаний я не помню.
                Фамилия автора Жуков. Его назначали командовать батальеном БТ-7, потом он воевал на Матильдах, потом на Черчеллях. После ранения ушел в разведку в полк прорыва на ИC-2. Книга была издана во времена СССР. Был бы признателен, если бы подсказали название книги.
                1. Абзац Эпитафьевич Ы.
                  -3
                  Цитата: Vovk
                  К Сожалению название книги воспоминаний я не помню.
                  Фамилия автора Жуков. Его назначали командовать батальеном БТ-7, потом он воевал на Матильдах, потом на Черчеллях. После ранения ушел в разведку в полк прорыва на ИC-2.

                  То есть, Вы 'помните' подробности из книги, но не помните её названия?
                  Цитата: Vovk
                  После ранения ушел в разведку в полк прорыва на ИC-2.

                  А это вообще перл.
                  1. Vovk
                    Vovk 16 мая 2021 14:09
                    -1
                    Цитата: Абзац Эпитафьевич Ы.
                    То есть, Вы 'помните' подробности из книги, но не помните её названия?

                    Это книгу читал еще в советское время, когда был школьником. Помнить название 1 раз прочитанной книги из 1000 прочитанных в детстве?
                    Цитата: Vovk
                    После ранения ушел в разведку в полк прорыва на ИC-2.
                    А это вообще перл.

                    Ну придется пересказывать часть книги.
                    После выздоровления Жукова направили с повышением в сформированный гвардейский танковый полк прорыва. Когда он прибыл на место службы, оказалось, что "теплое" место в полку уже было занято. Ему предложили аналогичную должность в сформированной стрелковой части, он отказался(включил "дурака" - вспомнив подставу своего однофамильца), попросился все таки в танковые войска. Единственной "свободной" должностью в полку по его рангу было - командир разведчиков. На этой должности в начале карьеры командира разведчиков он умудрился расположить на вечерний постой весь полк на противотанковом минном поле не подорвав никого. С утра получив звездюлей от начальства умудрился избежать военного трибунала - с помощью саперов не подорвав ни одного танка вывел в установленное время танковый полк на марш для прорыва немецкой обороны.
                    1. Абзац Эпитафьевич Ы.
                      0
                      Цитата: Vovk
                      Ему предложили аналогичную должность в сформированной стрелковой части, он отказался(включил "дурака" - вспомнив подставу своего однофамильца), попросился все таки в танковые войска. Единственной "свободной" должностью в полку по его рангу было - командир разведчиков. На этой должности в начале карьеры командира разведчиков он умудрился расположить на вечерний постой весь полк на противотанковом минном поле не подорвав никого. С утра получив звездюлей от начальства умудрился избежать военного трибунала - с помощью саперов не подорвав ни одного танка вывел в установленное время танковый полк на марш для прорыва немецкой обороны.

                      Восхитительная история. В ней прекрасно всё. Как раз для детей.
            3. Омскгазмяс
              Омскгазмяс 16 мая 2021 06:33
              +3
              "Никто так не врёт, как врут в мемуарах".
          2. Абзац Эпитафьевич Ы.
            +10
            Цитата: Vovk
            В битве под Московой участвовали и Матильды и Черчилли.

            Черчиллей под Москвой не было. Вопрос их поставки в СССР вообще не поднимался до весны 1942-го. В январе 42-го советская комиссия только побывала в Бирмингеме на заводе и испытаниях черчилля. Первые Ч. отправились в СССР в июне 42-го на том самом PQ-17. Из 25 пяти машин в Архангельск прибыли только 10.
          3. грохот
            грохот 15 мая 2021 21:09
            +7
            Цитата: Vovk
            В битве под Московой участвовали и Матильды и Черчилли ...


            Впервые Черчилли участвовали в бою 21 января 1943 года. В составе 48-го гвардейского танкового полка Донского фронта. Под Сталинградом.

            ...Да их было мало, да они были получены практически на уровне контрабанды (???) ...


            Тридцати восьми тонные танки... С боеприпасами и запчастями... С английским топливом и ГСМ... С документацией на английском... И (чего уж там, брехать - так брехать!) с английскими экипажами... "Контрабандой". Видимо, в дипломатическом багаже... Они, поди, и Москву спасли?
        2. Saxahorse
          Saxahorse 15 мая 2021 19:28
          +6
          Цитата: ВАШ
          По своему бронированию и вооружению этот танк находился между нашими БТ и Т-70

          Однако по своему бронированию Валентайн, формально легкий по весу танк, оказался между т-34 и КВ, чем и заслужил искреннею любовь советских танкистов. Лоб и борт в 60 мм осенью 1941-го немцам пробивать было нечем. В общем оказался на удивление полезной машинкой. Не случайно половину Валентайнов закупил именно СССР по ленд-линзу.
        3. bubalik
          bubalik 16 мая 2021 09:10
          +1
          Вот Валентайн в обороне Москвы участвовал, все девять танков.
          ,,,а почему только девять?
        4. Alex013
          Alex013 16 мая 2021 13:21
          +3
          У него бронирование на уровне Т-34. И по вооруженности Т-70 и БТ уступали "Вали-Тани".
      3. yehat2
        yehat2 17 мая 2021 09:16
        +1
        удобство там было относительно - комфорт обитания - да, но вот удобств в бою было уже не так много.
        что касается брони - он радикально отличался тем, что хорошо защищен был лоб и очень часто выживал после подбития мехвод - а это ценный член экипажа, а вот башня была защищена не лучше, чем гайка т-34, но при этом была крупнее, т.е. обитатели башни погибали чаще. Но главным плюсом было то, что при подбитии пожер начинался гораздо реже и даже если начинался, у экипажа было больше возможностей и потушить и сбежать. Черчилль был хорош для малоопытных частей и командиров, которые лезли в лоб. Для более умелых и опытных т34, а затем т34-85 и кв-1 были предпочтительнее.
  3. iouris
    iouris 15 мая 2021 23:02
    0
    Нормальные танки - это "Шерманы". Британские танки - это что-то особенного. Они создавались под британскую тактику. Однако русским приходилось применять и это.
    1. Улиточник N9
      Улиточник N9 16 мая 2021 10:19
      +4
      Британские танки были очень неплохи. К сожалению в советской историографии и мемуарной литературе было принято по идеологическим причинам, презрительно о них отзываться. Только сейчас появилось много исторического материала, показывающего реальное положение вещей в плане, как с иностранной, так и с советской военной техникой времён ВМВ. Почитайте например мемуары: "Танкист на иномарке".Кроме того на YouTube много видео как о конкретных типах танков, так и о том как они применялись в боях, причем с рассказами людей на них воевавших, например серия великолепных фильмов " Великие танковые сражения". Английские танки массово применялись на южном фронте и в битве за Кавказ. Причем их количество в войсках превышало количество советских машин, а в отдельных частях были одни только лендлизовские машины. Советские танкисты, когда над ними не довлеют идеологические рамки, лестно отзываются об английской бронетехнике, отмечая хорошую, вязкую броню, внутренний комфорт и переговорные устройства, отличные прицелы и приборы наблюдения, сильные пушки( для своего калибра), нешумные гусеницы, надежность двигателя, трансмиссии и ходовой части при правильном их обслуживании. А также наличие прекрасной документации описывающей обслуживание каждого узла танка. Выход из строя английских машин наши танкисты объясняют не некачеством техники или плохой конструкцией, а именно неправильным и несвоевременной её обслуживанием и использованием суррогатного топлива и смазочных материалов.
      1. Барбарис25
        Барбарис25 17 мая 2021 00:12
        0
        laughing при этом когда сами плохо обслуживали советские машины,то заявляли что виной всему-ужасное качество танков,а не рукопопие танкистов,а они прекрасно все делали..проходили уже эти перлы
      2. REZMovec
        REZMovec 19 мая 2021 19:37
        0
        Вот зачем тень на плетень наводить? У английских и американских танков была масса недостатков. А М3 Ли называли братской могилой, и не в угоду советской пропаганде. Те же Черчилли имели массу проблем в ходовой части в распутицу и в морозы, а все английские танки вместе гов_няную малокалиберную пушку без ОФ снарядов. Танки против танков воевали не так часто, как это принято думать. Гусеницы без грунтозацепов тоже были слабым местом, впрочем, как и у Шерманов. Пока американцы не придумали шпоры. И таких проблем достаточно. Если в теме слабоват - не надо постить антисоветские пасквили.
  4. REZMovec
    REZMovec 18 мая 2021 21:14
    0
    Цитата: ВАШ
    Ни танк Черчилль ни Кромвель в боях под Москвой участия не принимали. Участие танков Матильда также под вопросом, т.к. первые 49 танков прибыли в СССР только в ноябре 1941 года. Вот Валентайн в обороне Москвы участвовал, все девять танков. Первый бой 10 ноября. Через 3 недели ими был оснащен один батальон.
    Основной недостаток не отсутствие осколочно-фугасных снарядов, а гусеницы, которые не имели зацепов, по снегу и льду скользили, переворачивались на склонах. По своему бронированию и вооружению этот танк находился между нашими БТ и Т-70

    Что значит находился между БТ и Т-70 по бронированию? Валентайн имел 70 мм во лбу...