Military Review

The largest weapon in history that has never fought. Mortar Little David

22

The biggest guns in stories... The sonorous and ironic nickname "Little David" was given to the American 914-mm mortar, built during the Second World War. Despite its impressive caliber, this weapon is superior in this indicator to the huge German railway artillery installations "Dora" and "Gustav" was not intended for military operations.


Experimental 914-mm mortar was developed for testing aviation bombs. Not differing in gigantic dimensions against the background of the "Karl" mortar or the "Dora" installation, the American artillery system holds the record for the largest caliber among all models of modern artillery.

Making mortar Little David


American engineers and designers, unlike their counterparts from the Axis countries, have never suffered from gigantomania. In the USA during the Second World War were not created Tanks, similar to the "Mouse", artillery systems, commensurate with the "Dora", and on navy there were no battleships that could compete in caliber and size with the Japanese Yamato.

It is all the more surprising that it was in the United States in the second half of the 1940s that an artillery system was created, which still holds the record for caliber among modern artillery installations. The caliber of a giant experimental mortar in 914 mm inspires respect even today.

Before the Americans, only the British used this caliber. Mortar Malletdesigned in Great Britain in the 1850s also had a 914 mm caliber. The mortar, which was planned to be used during the Crimean War and the siege of Sevastopol, did not have time for the war and, like Little David, never fought, remaining only a curiosity in history and the British Tsar Cannon, with which tourists willingly take pictures.

The largest weapon in history that has never fought. Mortar Little David
Little David mortar at the Aberdeen Proving Grounds

The prerequisite for the creation of the Little David mortar was the American practice of testing air bombs. During the Second World War, the American army quite often used large-caliber artillery systems that were removed from service to test aircraft ammunition.

With the help of relatively small powder charges, it was possible to launch an aerial bomb at a distance of several hundred yards from the gun. This practice of testing was in demand, as it was much cheaper than bombing from aircraft. In addition, the tests did not depend in any way on weather conditions and flying weather.

Usually, old 234-mm and 305-mm guns were used for testing. However, the increase in the size of the bombs required an increase in the caliber of the guns. As a result, the United States decided to design a device that received the designation Bomb Testing Device T1. It was this setup that came to be known as Little David.

The unique artillery system was designed by engineers at Mesta Machinery, one of the leading industrial companies in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The company went bankrupt in the early 1980s, but for a long time was the leading manufacturer of industrial equipment in the world.

The president of the company, Lorenz Iversen, supervised the creation of a unique artillery system. He personally supervised the entire course of development work until the creation of the mortar. Lorenz Iversen also prepared an instruction manual for the unique artillery gun and instructions for the artillery crew.


914-mm shell for the Little David mortar

Experimental ammunition for "Little David" was created as part of a government order by engineers at the Babcock & Wilcox military laboratory in Akron, Ohio. This company exists and successfully operates today, having gone from steam boilers to nuclear power and renewable energy sources.

Description 914-mm mortar Little David


Outwardly, the huge artillery mount was a muzzle-loading mortar with a rifled barrel. The barrel rested on a large steel box weighing 46,5 tons, which burst into a fairly deep hole. The barrel weight was approximately 40,64 tons. The weight is not small, but in comparison with the giant German artillery systems it is quite tolerable, and most importantly - transportable.

In a metal buried box there were mechanisms for vertical guidance of the mortar, as well as six hydraulic jacks, which were needed for mounting and removing the barrel. The barrel of a 914-mm mortar was raised and lowered thanks to a "quadrant" driven from the breech of the barrel. At the same time, the width of the steel box made it possible, if necessary, to carry out guidance and horizontally.

The installation was loaded using a special crane. The loading came from the muzzle of the gun at zero elevation. A curious feature of the mortar was the lack of a knurling plate. The barrel returned to its place after each manual shot. At the same time, the installation had a hydraulic rollback brake.

The dimensions of the steel box buried in the ground were as follows - 5500x3360x3000 mm. The vertical aiming angles of the 914-mm mortar on the target were +45 .. + 65 degrees, the horizontal aiming angles were 13 degrees in each direction.


The advantage of the whole design was relative mobility. For the transportation of mortars, it was planned to use modified wheeled heavy tank tractors M26. Each tractor received a two-axle trailer. On one of them the barrel of a mortar was transported, on the other - a steel box and mechanisms for installation. This transportation option made the American mortar much more mobile than most railway artillery systems of comparable calibers.

In addition to these tractors, the artillery crew should have included a crane, a bulldozer and a bucket excavator - all of them were used to place a mortar in a firing position. At the same time, this process took about 12 hours.

The experimental installation Bomb Testing Device T1 has proven itself quite successfully when testing aviation ammunition, so that the military has an idea to use the mortar as a full-fledged artillery weapon. Work in this direction began in March 1944. At the same time, test firing began at the Aberdeen Proving Ground using ammunition specially created for the mortar.

The fate of the project


The Americans quickly realized that their Tsar Cannon could also be used for military purposes. The relevance of such an application grew in the light of a possible invasion of the Japanese islands. The American military hoped that they would face serious resistance from the Japanese, as well as a developed system of fortifications. Fighting bunkers and bunkers with a 914mm mortar would definitely be easier.

Especially for these purposes, a powerful high-explosive projectile weighing 1678 kg was developed, in which 703 kg accounted for an explosive. Tests of mortars with this ammunition were carried out at the Aberdeen Proving Ground. Moreover, they quickly revealed the same shortcomings that were inherent in all giant mortars of the past. "Little David" fired not far, but what is even more sad - inaccurate.


Test firing showed that the maximum range of the projectile was 9500 yards (8690 meters). The American military was not encouraged by the 12 hours that were needed to fully place the mortar in position. Although, compared to the time spent on deploying the German Dora, it was almost an instant, and the mortar itself was much more mobile. Two M26 wheeled artillery tractors could be used to transport it.

All plans for the combat use of mortars were finally buried by the end of the Second World War. Landing on the Japanese Islands was not needed, and the US military found a more terrible and destructive weaponthan 914 mm shells. The era of nuclear weapons was dawning, the power of which Japanese cities felt to the fullest.

After the end of the war, the unusual project was stopped, and in 1946 it was completely closed. The American wonder weapon never left the borders of the Aberdeen Proving Ground. Today the unusual mortar is one of the unique exhibits of the local open-air museum.
Author:
22 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Undecim
    Undecim 24 May 2021 18: 10
    +6
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:LittleDavid.ogv -документальній фильм об использовании.
    1. Undecim
      Undecim 24 May 2021 18: 59
      +11

      More convenient link.
      1. mmaxx
        mmaxx 25 May 2021 13: 26
        0
        Thanks to the Amaricans for this vidos.
  2. Alexey RA
    Alexey RA 24 May 2021 18: 45
    +10
    American engineers and designers, unlike their counterparts from the Axis countries, have never suffered from gigantomania. Tanks like the "Mouse" were not created in the USA during the Second World War., artillery systems commensurate with the "Dora", and the fleet did not have battleships that could compete in caliber and size with the Japanese "Yamato".

    Now the T28 / T95 self-propelled gun was offended. smile

    When Johnny comes marching home again
    Hurrah! Hurrah!
    ©

    And about the naval gigantomania - the Yankees simply did not have time to finish building the Montana with their 70 kt full displacement.
    1. Undecim
      Undecim 24 May 2021 19: 08
      +10
      And the T-30 tank too.
      1. Alexey RA
        Alexey RA 24 May 2021 19: 29
        +11
        Quote: Undecim
        And the T-30 tank too.

        Pfff ... a measly 70 tons versus a turtle 86. smile

        And the turtle also had 146% camouflage - the tank stood unnoticed for 27 years between three bushes in Fort Belvoir, at the training ground for NVG training.

        Its existence became known only in 1974, when Fort Belvoir responded to the "guess the photo" quiz in one of the army magazines. "this thing is on our landfill". Journalists, together with a specialist from the BTV Fort Knox Museum, arrived at the test site - and exactly, he ©. Moreover, whole and complete, only rusted.
        According to rumors, a representative of the museum performed an Indian victory dance around the turtle - because according to all the documents, all the built T28 / 95s went for butchering after tests in the late 40s.
        1. Undecim
          Undecim 24 May 2021 19: 48
          +6
          Pfff ... a measly 70 tons versus a turtle 86.
          "86 turtle" is the curb weight, with fuel and ammunition.
          And the "dry weight" without external tracks is 60 tons.
        2. Alf
          Alf 24 May 2021 20: 29
          -1
          The Russian-backed CAR authorities are fighting armed groups operating in rural areas that are not only against the authorities, but also against Russia.

          And they also say that the Russian races are ... slovens.
          1. Catfish
            Catfish 24 May 2021 22: 11
            +3
            What are you talking about? "Where is the river and where is the estate?", In the sense of an elderberry in the garden and an uncle in Kiev. laughing
            1. Alf
              Alf 25 May 2021 20: 48
              0
              Quote: Sea Cat
              What are you talking about? "Where is the river and where is the estate?", In the sense of an elderberry in the garden and an uncle in Kiev. laughing

              I answer. A technical error. Wrote
              the tank for 27 years stood unnoticed between three bushes in Fort Belvoir, at the training ground
              , and why my previous comment stuck is unclear.
              1. Catfish
                Catfish 25 May 2021 21: 14
                0
                Yes, obviously a glitch, it turned out very strange.
        3. spech
          spech 25 May 2021 13: 21
          0
          According to rumors, a representative of the museum performed an Indian victory dance around the turtle - because according to all the documents, all the built T28 / 95s went for butchering after tests in the late 40s.

          That is, the tank was simply "loved"?
          1. Alexey RA
            Alexey RA 25 May 2021 14: 07
            +5
            Quote: spech
            That is, the tank was simply "loved"?

            Yeah ... lost an 11-meter 86-ton car. smile
            Moreover, according to the documents, the product has been disposed of - but in fact it brazenly stands at the Fort Belvoir test site.
            The only thing that can be attributed to it is the post-war mess with reductions, reorganizations, etc. Then they were odd, notably - at the training ground near the Joliet Armory they forgot the company of "Shermans" for two decades (the old l / s left for Europe, and the one assigned for the distillation of tanks was suddenly transferred to another place), in one of the bays they forgot the TKA flotilla for ten years, at the operating airfield, the decommissioned torpedo bombers forgot at the edge of the airfield until the stage "trees sprouted through the wings", etc.
    2. BISMARCK94
      BISMARCK94 24 May 2021 19: 35
      -1
      yes, everyone was addicted to gigantomania) the main thing is to realize the dead end of development in time and stop)
  3. vladcub
    vladcub 24 May 2021 19: 31
    +4
    I was still a kid and heard somewhere that the Americans fired bombs from a cannon, but no details. Over time, I forgot, but Sergey reminded me. Thank you for that, it's always nice to remember childhood.
  4. bk0010
    bk0010 24 May 2021 20: 10
    +1
    Especially for these purposes, a powerful high-explosive projectile weighing 1678 kg was developed, in which 703 kg accounted for an explosive.
    700 kg of explosives, that's from the heart! And at the same time, not 5% of the mass of the projectile, like the sailors, but all 40!
    1. gsev
      gsev 25 May 2021 01: 45
      0
      Quote: bk0010
      700 kg of explosives, that's from the heart! And at the same time, not 5% of the mass of the projectile, like the sailors, but all 40!

      About 4 years ago, a Chinese machine-tool company specializing in the production of machine tools for guns came to Moscow for the exhibition. In the Chinese segment of the Internet, they claim to be capable of making barrels over 1 meter in diameter.
    2. Vladimir_2U
      Vladimir_2U 25 May 2021 04: 34
      +2
      Quote: bk0010
      700 kg of explosives, that's from the heart! And at the same time, not 5% of the mass of the projectile, like the sailors, but all 40!

      Yes, an excellent ratio of explosives to projectile mass, but a mortar is a mortar.
  5. Hog
    Hog 25 May 2021 13: 39
    0
    tanks like "Mouse" were not created

    There are no tanks, but there were SPGs, forgot the T95?
  6. vadim dok
    vadim dok 25 May 2021 15: 26
    0
    Really the largest (in caliber) gun - even the "Tsar Cannon was smaller / 890 mm / but never fired!"
    1. abrakadabre
      abrakadabre 15 July 2021 14: 02
      0
      even the Tsar Cannon was smaller / 890 mm / but never fired!
      According to the results of examining the barrel of the Tsar Cannon, this gun fired at least once. Traces of a burnt powder charge were found on the inner surface of the barrel. Just do not forget that the Tsar Cannon was a huge shotgun to defend the gate from the enemy's breakthrough.
  7. Understanding
    Understanding 18 July 2021 06: 37
    0
    The largest caliber - yes. But not the biggest one.

Военное обозрение

Самое крупное орудие в истории, которое никогда не воевало. Мортира Little David

20

Самые большие пушки в истории. Звучное и ироничное прозвище «Маленький Давид» (Little David) получила американская 914-мм мортира, построенная в годы Второй мировой войны. Несмотря на внушительный калибр, данное орудие, превосходящее по этому показателю огромные немецкие железнодорожные артиллерийские установки «Дора» и «Густав», не предназначалось для боевых действий.


Экспериментальная 914-мм мортира была разработана для проведения испытаний авиационных бомб. Не отличаясь исполинскими размерами на фоне мортиры «Карл» или установки «Дора», американская артсистема удерживает рекорд самого большого калибра среди всех моделей современной артиллерии.

Создание мортиры Little David


Американские инженеры и конструкторы, в отличие от их визави из стран Оси, никогда не страдали гигантоманией. В США в годы Второй мировой войны не создавались танки, подобные «Маусу», артиллерийские системы, соизмеримые с «Дорой», а на флоте не было линкоров, которые могли бы соперничать по калибру орудий и размерам с японским «Ямато».

Тем удивительнее, что именно в США во второй половине 1940-х годов создали артиллерийскую систему, которая до сих пор удерживает рекорд по калибру среди современных артиллерийских установок. Калибр гигантской экспериментальной мортиры в 914-мм внушает уважение и сегодня.

До американцев к такому калибру обращались лишь англичане. Мортира Маллета, спроектированная в Великобритании в 1850-е годы, также имела калибр 914 мм. Мортира, которую задумывали использовать во время Крымской войны и осады Севастополя, на войну не успела и, как и Little David, никогда не воевала, оставшись лишь курьёзом истории и британской «Царь-пушкой», с которой охотно фотографируются туристы.

Самое крупное орудие в истории, которое никогда не воевало. Мортира Little David
Мортира Little David на Абердинском испытательном полигоне

Предпосылкой для создания мортиры Little David стала американская практика испытаний авиационных бомб. В годы Второй мировой войны американская армия достаточно часто использовала снятые с вооружения крупнокалиберные артиллерийские системы для испытаний авиационных боеприпасов.

С помощью сравнительно небольших по размерам пороховых зарядов можно было запустить авиационную бомбу на расстояние в несколько сотен ярдов от орудия. Такая практика испытаний была востребованной, так как была гораздо более дешёвой по сравнению с бомбометанием с самолетов. Помимо этого, испытания никак не зависели от погодных условий и летной погоды.

Обычно для испытаний привлекались старые 234-мм и 305-мм орудия. Однако увеличение размеров бомб требовало увеличения калибров орудий. В результате в США было принято решение сконструировать устройство, получившее обозначение Bomb Testing Device T1. Именно эта установка получила известность как Little David.

Уникальную артиллерийскую систему спроектировали инженеры компании Mesta Machinery – одной из ведущих промышленных компаний Питтсбурга в Пенсильвании. Компания обанкротилась в начале 1980-х годов, но длительное время была ведущим производителем промышленного оборудования в мире.

Руководил созданием уникальной артсистемы президент компании Лоренц Иверсен. Он лично контролировал весь ход опытно-конструкторских работ до момента создания мортиры. Лоренц Иверсен также подготовил инструкцию по эксплуатации уникального артиллерийского орудия и наставления для артиллерийского расчёта.


914-мм снаряд для мортиры Little David

Экспериментальные боеприпасы для «Маленького Давида» создавались в рамках госзаказа инженерами военной лаборатории компании Babcock & Wilcox из Акрона, штат Огайо. Данная компания существует и успешно работает и сегодня, пройдя путь от паровых котлов до ядерной энергетики и возобновляемых источников энергии.

Описание 914-мм мортиры Little David


Внешне огромная артиллерийская установка представляла собой дульнозарядную мортиру с нарезным стволом. Ствол опирался на большой стальной короб весом 46,5 тонны, который врывался в достаточно глубокую яму. Вес ствольной части составлял примерно 40,64 тонны. Вес не маленький, но в сравнении с гигантскими немецкими артсистемами вполне терпимый, а главное – транспортабельный.

В металлическом заглубляемом коробе находились механизмы вертикального наведения мортиры, а также шесть гидравлических домкратов, которые нужны были для монтажа и извлечения ствола. Ствол 914-мм мортиры поднимался и опускался благодаря «квадранту» с приводом с казённой части ствола. При этом ширина стального короба позволяла при необходимости осуществлять наведение и по горизонтали.

Заряжание установки производилось при помощи специального крана. Заряжание шло с дульного среза орудия при нулевом угле возвышения. Любопытной особенностью мортиры было отсутствие накатника. Ствол возвращался на место после каждого выстрела вручную. При этом на установке имелся гидравлический тормоз отката.

Размеры заглубляемого в грунт стального короба были следующими – 5500х3360х3000 мм. Вертикальные углы наведения 914-мм мортиры на цель составляли +45..+65 градусов, горизонтальные углы наводки – по 13 градусов в каждую сторону.


Плюсом всей конструкции была относительная мобильность. Для перевозки мортиры планировалось использовать доработанные колесные тяжелые танковые тягачи M26. Каждый тягач получал двухосный прицеп. На одном из них перевозился ствол мортиры, на другом – стальной короб и механизмы для установки. Такой вариант транспортировки делал американскую мортиру гораздо мобильнее большинства железнодорожных артиллерийских систем сопоставимых калибров.

Помимо указанных тягачей в состав артиллерийского расчёта должны были штатно входить кран, бульдозер и ковшовый экскаватор – все они применялись для размещения мортиры на огневой позиции. При этом по времени данный процесс занимал примерно 12 часов.

Экспериментальная установка Bomb Testing Device T1 достаточно успешно зарекомендовала себя при испытаниях авиационных боеприпасов, чтобы у военных появилась идея использовать мортиру как полноценное артиллерийское орудие. Работы в этом направлении начались в марте 1944 года. Тогда же начались и испытательные стрельбы на Абердинском полигоне с использованием специально созданного для мортиры боеприпаса.

Судьба проекта


Американцы достаточно быстро поняли, что свою «Царь-пушку» можно использовать и в военных целях. Актуальность такого применения росла в свете возможного вторжения на Японские острова. Американские военные рассчитывали, что столкнутся с серьёзным сопротивлением японцев, а также развитой системой фортификационных сооружений. Бороться с ДОТами и бункерами с помощью 914-мм мортиры было бы определённо легче.

Специально для этих целей и был разработан мощный фугасный снаряд весом 1678 кг, в котором 703 кг приходилось на взрывчатое вещество. Испытания мортиры с данным боеприпасом велись на Абердинском полигоне. Причём они достаточно быстро выявили те же недостатки, что были присущи всем гигантским мортирам прошлого. «Маленький Давид» стрелял недалеко, но что ещё более печально – неточно.


Испытательные стрельбы показали, что максимальная дальность полета снаряда – 9500 ярдов (8690 метров). Не воодушевляли американских военных и 12 часов, которые необходимы были для полного размещения мортиры на позиции. Хотя по сравнению с временными затратами на развёртывание немецкой «Доры», это было практически мгновением, а сама мортира была гораздо более мобильной. Для её транспортировки можно было использовать два колесных артиллерийских тягача M26.

Все планы по боевому применению мортир окончательно похоронило завершение Второй мировой войны. Высадка на Японские острова не понадобилась, а американские военные нашли более страшное и разрушительное оружие, чем 914-мм снаряды. Наступала эра ядерного оружия, мощь которого японские города ощутили на себе в полной мере.

Уже после завершения войны необычный проект был остановлен, а в 1946 году полностью закрыт. Американское чудо-оружие так никогда и не покидало границ Абердинского полигона. Сегодня необычная мортира входит в число уникальных экспонатов местного музея под открытым небом.
Автор:
20 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Undecim
    Undecim 24 мая 2021 18:10
    +6
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:LittleDavid.ogv -документальній фильм об использовании.
    1. Undecim
      Undecim 24 мая 2021 18:59
      +11

      Более удобная сылка.
      1. mmaxx
        mmaxx 25 мая 2021 13:26
        0
        Спасибо амариканцам за такой видос.
  2. Alexey RA
    Alexey RA 24 мая 2021 18:45
    +10
    Американские инженеры и конструкторы, в отличие от их визави из стран Оси, никогда не страдали гигантоманией. В США в годы Второй мировой войны не создавались танки, подобные «Маусу», артиллерийские системы, соизмеримые с «Дорой», а на флоте не было линкоров, которые могли бы соперничать по калибру орудий и размерам с японским «Ямато».

    Вот сейчас танку Т28 / САУ Т95 обидно было. smile

    When Johnny comes marching home again
    Hurrah! Hurrah!
    ©

    А насчёт флотской гигантомании - янки просто не успели достроить "Монтаны" с их 70 кт полного водоизмещения.
    1. Undecim
      Undecim 24 мая 2021 19:08
      +10
      И танку Т-30 тоже.
      1. Alexey RA
        Alexey RA 24 мая 2021 19:29
        +11
        Цитата: Undecim
        И танку Т-30 тоже.

        Пффф... жалкие 70 тонн против черепашкиных 86. smile

        А ещё у черепашки была 146% маскировка - танк 27 лет простоял незамеченным меж трёх кустов в Fort Belvoir, на полигоне для обучения работе с ПНВ.

        О его существовании стало известно лишь в 1974 г., когда в ответ на викторину "угадай фото" в одном из армейских журналов пришёл ответ из Fort Belvoir "эта штука стоит у нас на полигоне". Журналисты вместе со спецом из музея БТВ Fort Knox приехали на полигон - и точно, он ©. Причём целый и комплектный, только поржавевший.
        По слухам представитель музея исполнил вокруг черепашки индейский победный танец - ибо по всем документам все построенные Т28/95 ушли на разделку после испытаний в конце 40-х.
        1. Undecim
          Undecim 24 мая 2021 19:48
          +6
          Пффф... жалкие 70 тонн против черепашкиных 86.
          "86 черепашкиных" - это снаряженная масса, с топливом и боеприпасами.
          А "сухой вес" без наружных гусениц - 60 тонн.
        2. Альф
          Альф 24 мая 2021 20:29
          -1
          Власти ЦАР, поддерживаемые Россией, ведут борьбу с вооруженными группировками, действующими в сельской местности, которые выступают не только против властей, но и против России.

          А еще говорят, что русские рас...разгильдяи.
          1. Морской Кот
            Морской Кот 24 мая 2021 22:11
            +3
            Вы это к чему? "Где река и где имение?", в смысле про бузину в огороде и про дядюшку в Киеве. laughing
            1. Альф
              Альф 25 мая 2021 20:48
              0
              Цитата: Морской Кот
              Вы это к чему? "Где река и где имение?", в смысле про бузину в огороде и про дядюшку в Киеве. laughing

              Отвечаю. Техническая ошибка. Писал
              танк 27 лет простоял незамеченным меж трёх кустов в Fort Belvoir, на полигоне
              , а почему воткнулся мой предыдущий коммент-непонятно.
              1. Морской Кот
                Морской Кот 25 мая 2021 21:14
                0
                Да, очевидно глюк, уж очень странно получилось.
        3. spech
          spech 25 мая 2021 13:21
          0
          По слухам представитель музея исполнил вокруг черепашки индейский победный танец - ибо по всем документам все построенные Т28/95 ушли на разделку после испытаний в конце 40-х.

          То-есть танк просто "пролюбили"?
          1. Alexey RA
            Alexey RA 25 мая 2021 14:07
            +5
            Цитата: spech
            То-есть танк просто "пролюбили"?

            Ага... потеряли 11-метровую 86-тонную машину. smile
            Причём по документам изделие утилизировано - а по факту оно нагло стоит на полигоне Fort Belvoir.
            Единственное, на что это можно списать - на послевоенный бардак с сокращениями, реорганизациями и т.д. Тогда чудили знатно - на полигоне у Joliet Armory на два десятка лет забыли роту "Шерманов" (старый л/с убыл в Европу, а назначенный для перегонки танков внезапно перевели в другое место), в одной из бухт на десяток лет забыли флотилию ТКА, на действующем аэродроме снятые с вооружения торпедоносцы забыли у края лётного поля до стадии "сквозь крылья проросли деревья" и т.д.
    2. BISMARCK94
      BISMARCK94 24 мая 2021 19:35
      -1
      да все гигантоманией увлекались) главное-вовремя осознать тупик развития и остановиться)
  3. vladcub
    vladcub 24 мая 2021 19:31
    +4
    Ещё пацаном был и где-то слышал,что американцы авиабомбы из пушки выстреливали,но никаких деталей. Со временем забыл,а Сергей напомнил. Спасибо за это, всегда приятно вспомнить детство
  4. bk0010
    bk0010 24 мая 2021 20:10
    +1
    Специально для этих целей и был разработан мощный фугасный снаряд весом 1678 кг, в котором 703 кг приходилось на взрывчатое вещество.
    700 кг взрывчатки, вот это от души! И при этом не 5% от массы снаряда, как у моряков, а все 40!
    1. gsev
      gsev 25 мая 2021 01:45
      0
      Цитата: bk0010
      700 кг взрывчатки, вот это от души! И при этом не 5% от массы снаряда, как у моряков, а все 40!

      Года 4 назад в Москву на выставку приезжала китайская станкостроительная фирма, специализирующаяся на производстве станков для пушек. В китайском сегменте интернета они заявляют, что способны изготовить стволы диаметром более 1 метра.
    2. Владимир_2У
      Владимир_2У 25 мая 2021 04:34
      +2
      Цитата: bk0010
      700 кг взрывчатки, вот это от души! И при этом не 5% от массы снаряда, как у моряков, а все 40!

      Да, отличное соотношение ВВ к массе снаряда, но мортира есть мортира.
  5. Hog
    Hog 25 мая 2021 13:39
    0
    не создавались танки, подобные «Маусу»

    Танки нет, а вот САУ были, Т95 забыли?
  6. вадим dok
    вадим dok 25 мая 2021 15:26
    0
    Действительно крупнейшее ( по калибру) орудие- даже "Царь-пушка была меньше/ 890 мм /но никогда не стреляла!