Military Review

On the training time and experience of Soviet military pilots during the Great Patriotic War

23
On the training time and experience of Soviet military pilots during the Great Patriotic War

How long did the pilot training take place during the Great Patriotic War? Due to the urgent need to replenish the air force fleet qualified pilots, especially at the first stage of the war, training, for obvious reasons, could be very short.


Could the compressed time preparation affect the final skills of the flight school graduate? The question is more rhetorical. Historians aviation they argue about the numbers about what time during the Second World War was the most optimal so that the pilot could begin to professionally perform combat missions at the helm. There are also disputes over who could be called a novice at the front and who could be an experienced pilot.

The Sky Artist channel is considering a variant with the famous hero of the truly legendary Soviet film about the Great Patriotic War "Only Old Men Go to Battle". It's about Grasshopper. The dispute in this case is devoted to what experience that same Grasshopper had at the time of getting into the "singing squadron". At the same time, the consideration is not at all connected with an “idle” interest in the plot, but with the one who was the prototype of the film's hero.

About Soviet pilots during the Great Patriotic War, about the collective image of the Grasshopper, about a specific air battle - in the video presented:

Photos used:
still from the film "Only" old men "go into battle, directed by L. Bykov
23 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Petrol cutter
    Petrol cutter 23 May 2021 17: 00
    +2
    Gentlemen. I watched a film (ours of those times) training on takeoff-landing / flight in a circle IL-2.
    And I realized that I did not understand nicherta.
    How can you fly an airplane at all?
    This is incomprehensible to the mind ... request
    1. Torins
      Torins 23 May 2021 17: 33
      +4
      Everything is simple and difficult at the same time) It's just that if you understand the physical principles that make the plane fly, just if you understand the performance characteristics of the machine, at what speed and at what position of the flaps it will lift off the ground, what angle of the elevator should be set so as not to lose speed quickly and not fall off. It's all really simple if you start to delve into it. More difficult is another, how to lay a turn with the least loss of speed, how not to go into a spin in a vertical manner, flutter, the ability to feel the car and much more. The first can be comprehended by many, for the second accelerated courses it is not explicit enough.
      1. Petrol cutter
        Petrol cutter 23 May 2021 17: 38
        0
        You see. This is some kind of horror ..
        By God, it's easier with ships.
        1. Mooh
          Mooh 23 May 2021 23: 35
          +4

          You see. This is some kind of horror ..
          By God, it's easier with ships.

          Not much. The ship is controlled only through two channels, if there is no steering wheel, but it has monstrous inertia and very bad maneuverability. Just like an airplane, it requires certain knowledge and skills. At the same time, there are an order of magnitude more different systems in it, and the skills of commanding a team are needed. I don’t think that learning to command a steam cruiser is easier than flying a single-engine piston aircraft. Much more complicated, I suspect.
          1. Petrol cutter
            Petrol cutter 25 May 2021 17: 46
            +1
            *Not much. *
            Well, how is it not much? The ship, even though it stands on the water with God's help. Below water (without unplanned holes it will not fall through.
            But the airplane, in at least three planes, is a very unstable apparatus ...
            I think so!
            Although, I could be wrong. Unfortunately, I didn't become an aviator. request
            Although I really wanted at one time repeat
      2. Grandfather
        Grandfather 23 May 2021 17: 40
        +1
        with the machine you need to become one, then you are an ace.
        1. Torins
          Torins 23 May 2021 17: 50
          +3
          In principle, this is a necessary skill so as not to be killed by stupidity, to become an ace you need talent and a lot of luck, which grows from professionalism)
      3. Doctor
        Doctor 23 May 2021 22: 33
        +1
        Everything is simple and difficult at the same time) It's just that if you understand the physical principles that make the plane fly, just if you understand the performance characteristics of the machine, at what speed and at what position of the flaps it will lift off the ground, what angle of the elevator should be set so as not to lose speed quickly and not fall off. It's all really simple if you start to delve into it. More difficult is another, how to lay a turn with the least loss of speed, how not to go into a spin in a vertical manner, flutter, the ability to feel the car and much more. The first can be comprehended by many, for the second accelerated courses it is not explicit enough.

        Both the first and the second are easy. Almost any normal person will master all of these sorties in 30.

        And an air battle is a completely different matter.

        It's not the laws of physics that are against you, but the unpredictable brain of another person. There is no instructor nearby who will tell you. Everything happens very quickly. And most importantly, there is no second attempt. If you hit an experienced one - a skiff.

        Therefore, it is very important to enter into battle gradually.
        In the beginning, generally fly over your own. Then cross the front line, stay on top, not getting involved and trying to understand what is going on in general.
        Ideally, start in air defense, covering Moscow, trying to shoot down bombers without the opposition of fighters, ready to jump if shot down by a gunner.

        But in that war, all this was unreal. recourse
        1. Torins
          Torins 23 May 2021 22: 59
          0
          Seasoned veterans were trained in spare shelves, but of course this could not, due to the tight deadlines, radically change the situation ...
      4. isv000
        isv000 23 May 2021 23: 47
        -1
        Plus, for diligence!
    2. Vladimir_2U
      Vladimir_2U 25 May 2021 08: 37
      0
      Quote: Benzorez
      I watched a film (ours of those times) training on takeoff-landing / flight in a circle IL-2.
      And I realized that I did not understand nicherta.
      You are missing the fact that the pilots sat on the IL-2 or any other combat aircraft already trained, on the U-2 for example. So there was additional training for a specific type of aircraft for pilots who ALREADY knew how to fly.
  2. Eug
    Eug 23 May 2021 18: 39
    +3
    A very vivid example is I.N. Kozhedub, released from the school in 1941, until the summer of 1943 - an instructor of the same school, that is, the raid is simply huge compared to an ordinary young pilot ... but he was still hit, although he was on that moment a master of aerobatics.
    1. Konnick
      Konnick 23 May 2021 18: 43
      +1
      but still he was hit, although at that time he was a master of aerobatics.

      Hit, but not knocked down. A big difference. Kozhedub always landed his damaged plane, and for this one must have great skill.
      1. Eug
        Eug 23 May 2021 18: 48
        +2
        I mean, even aerobatics masters without front-line experience were not full-fledged fighters. But they became them much faster than others ...
        1. Konnick
          Konnick 23 May 2021 18: 56
          0
          even aerobatics masters without front-line experience were not full-fledged fighters.

          Of course, but besides skill, other qualities were needed, such as the physiology of the body, that is, speed of reaction, coordination, vision ... it's easier to say talent.
        2. Torins
          Torins 23 May 2021 18: 57
          +2
          It is difficult to argue with this, and it is not necessary) Everything is so)
    2. Zug
      Zug 24 May 2021 18: 12
      0
      As practice shows, the number of flight hours of former instructors of years of schools did not affect their combat successes in any way.
    3. kig
      kig 25 May 2021 06: 09
      0
      Quote: Eug
      that is, the flying time is simply huge compared to an ordinary young pilot

      The first German was shot down only in the 40th sortie! Or, for example, Hartman: arrived at the front in October 1942, shot down the first plane in November, and then there was a pause of as much as three months ... so this is not an easy task.
  3. geniy
    geniy 24 May 2021 10: 13
    -2
    I watched a film (ours of those times) training on take-off-landing / flying in a circle of IL-2 and realized that I didn't understand a thing. How is it possible to fly an airplane at all? This is incomprehensible to the mind ...

    It is a shameless general opinion that Soviet pilots were untrained in comparison with the Germans. Because it is said that Soviet pilots had a scanty flight time - only 10-16 hours, while German novice pilots - about 200 hours. In fact, the true picture was much more complicated. The fact is that before putting the net into a combat aircraft, each student first studied physics, then aerodynamics. At the same time, he was explained how lift arises on the wing and from what it is lost - for example, at critical angles of attack, or from loss of speed. Therefore, it is not surprising that the author of the previous commentary did not understand how to fly - he simply does not know aerodynamics.
    So - after studying the science of flight, the cadet again does not get into a combat aircraft, but at first he taxied around the airfield on a wingless aircraft for several hours. And then he made small flights on a training aircraft of the U-2 type. And only then the cadet made several flights with an instructor, and then he was released on independent flights. Then the cadet was released from the elementary flight school and he transferred to the training regiment where he was trained on a specific combat aircraft - a fighter, attack aircraft or bomber. And this insignificant time of 10-16 hours takes into account only the time on a combat aircraft, and all amateur historians happily forget about what was the raid on the training U-2. But a raid on a training plane still gives a complete picture of the rules of flight - and the cadets were necessarily taught to choose a landing site from the air.
    True, here we must take into account that the U-2 is very different from a combat aircraft. The fact is that all combat aircraft had a very high takeoff and landing speed of -150 km / h, while the U-2 only had 80 km / h. And besides that, the U-2 had a fixed landing gear and no landing flaps. And in addition, combat aircraft had a very powerful engine and received a turning moment during takeoff and landing due to the reverse reaction of the propeller.
    However, a smart pilot could instantly learn to fly even on an aircraft unknown to him - for example, the well-known Devyatayev - who flew a fighter plane and instantly switched to a bomber - and a German one! And if you ask: how many hours before that he flew in a German bomber? Yes, in general, not at all - a complete zero! This means that the main thing is to know and understand the laws of aerodynamics.
    1. Zug
      Zug 24 May 2021 18: 15
      +2
      The last stage of training in hours on a combat fighter or its training version is the root of training. The main thing to pay attention to. If a Japanese pilot had a flight time of 2 hours after graduation, what would you do with him on the same Hassan or Khankhin-Gol with your 25, for example? You will die quickly and that's it.
  4. Zug
    Zug 24 May 2021 18: 11
    0
    Maybe you shouldn't post "SkyClown creations" on the site? And then we are already going down to a cheap blogger, and also a liar.
  5. dgonni
    dgonni 24 May 2021 22: 16
    +1
    To understand the amount of our newcomers' raid before the front, you just need to open the site I remember. And read the memoirs of the pilots!
    Former instructors had a much higher survival rate a priori!
    For in aviation there is such a thing as automatism.
    So the instructors did not need to look at the instruments to understand the spatial position of the aircraft. A larger plaque provided in the majority of cases from falling into a tailspin.
    Unfortunately, even by the end of the war, most of the newly arrived pilots had very little air flight!
    If you read Galland, at the end of the war the Germans had a queue of high-class pilots for howling for fuel.
    The fact that they were mainly trying to beat the fortresses on heavy foreships. These are the preferences and priorities of the war.
  6. zenion
    zenion 25 May 2021 17: 45
    0
    There was a colleague at work, a former fighter pilot, who was drafted at his own request into the army as a pilot, the surname Nikolay Kovalchik. He said that they just grabbed and taught, this could not be. Checked on different devices and health. According to the plan, the training was supposed to be six months. He unlearned less, he had the ability to fly. I was already preparing to set off, new planes appeared, and I had to retrain a little over a month. Those who could not show the high quality of flight were not put on new aircraft. He ended the war in Romania during the Battle of Iasi. They knocked him out and crippled him. Barely walked and made a dispatcher out of him and taught the newcomers to aerobatics.

Военное обозрение

О времени подготовки и опыте советских военных лётчиков в годы Великой Отечественной

23
О времени подготовки и опыте советских военных лётчиков в годы Великой Отечественной

Сколько времени шла подготовка лётчика в годы Великой Отечественной войны? В связи с острой необходимостью в пополнении военно-воздушного флота квалифицированными лётчиками, особенно на первом этапе войны, подготовка, по понятным причинам, могла быть весьма сжатой.


Могла ли сжатая по времени подготовка сказываться на итоговых умениях выпускника лётной школы? Вопрос в большей степени риторический. Историки авиации спорят относительно цифр о том, какое время в годы ВОВ было наиболее оптимальным, чтобы лётчик мог начать профессионально выполнять боевые задачи за штурвалом. Также споры идут и относительно того, кого на фронте можно было называть новичком, а кого опытным лётчиком.

На канале Sky Artist рассматривается вариант с известным героем по-настоящему легендарного советского кинофильма о Великой Отечественной «В бой идут одни старики». Речь идёт о Кузнечике. Спор в данном случае посвящён тому, какой опыт тот самый Кузнечик имел на момент попадания в «поющую эскадрилью». При этом рассмотрение связано вовсе не с «праздным» интересом к сюжету, а с тем, кто выступал прототипом героя киноленты.

О советских лётчиках в годы Великой Отечественной войны, о собирательном образе Кузнечика, о конкретном воздушном бое – в представленном ролике:

Использованы фотографии:
кадр из фильма «В бой идут одни «старики», реж.Л.Быков
23 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Бензорез
    Бензорез 23 мая 2021 17:00
    +2
    Джентльмены. Я просмотрел фильм (наш тех времён) обучающий по взлет- посадка/полёт по кругу Ил-2.
    И понял, что ничерта я не понял.
    Как летать на аэроплане можно вообще?
    Это- уму не постижимо... request
    1. Torins
      Torins 23 мая 2021 17:33
      +4
      Там все одновременно просто и сложно) Просто если понимаешь физические принципы которые заставляют самолет летать, просто если понимаешь ттх машины, на какой скорости и при каком положении закрылок она оторвется от земли, какой угол руля высоты нужно задавать, чтобы не потерять быстро скорость и не свалиться. Это все на самом деле просто, если начать вникать. Сложнее уже другое, как заложить вираж с наименьшее потере скорости, как не сорваться в штопор на вертикальном манере, флаттер, умение чувствовать машину да и много чего. Первое постигнуть могут многие, для второго ускоренный курсов не достаточно явно.
      1. Бензорез
        Бензорез 23 мая 2021 17:38
        0
        Вот видите. Это-ужас какой-то..
        Ей Богу- с кораблями- проще.
        1. MooH
          MooH 23 мая 2021 23:35
          +4

          Вот видите. Это-ужас какой-то..
          Ей Богу- с кораблями- проще.

          Не намного. Корабль только по двум каналам управляется, если подрульки нет, зато обладает чудовищной инерцией и очень хреновой маневренностью. Также, как и самолет требует определенных знаний и умений. При этом различных систем в нем на порядок больше да и навыки командования коллективом нужны. Не думаю, что обучиться командованию паровым крейсером проще чем управлению одномоторным поршневым самолетом. Подозреваю, что намного сложнее.
          1. Бензорез
            Бензорез 25 мая 2021 17:46
            +1
            *Не намного. *
            Ну как же не намного? Корабль, он хоть на воде стоит с божьей помощью. Ниже воды (без внеплановых отверстий не провалится.
            А вот аэроплан- в трёх как минимум плоскостях- весьма неустойчивый аппарат...
            Я так думаю!
            Хотя, могу ошибаться. Авиатором я к сожалению не стал. request
            Хотя очень хотелось в своё время feel
      2. Дедкастарый
        Дедкастарый 23 мая 2021 17:40
        +1
        с машиной нужно стать единым целым ,тогда ты ас.
        1. Torins
          Torins 23 мая 2021 17:50
          +3
          Это в принципе необходимый навык чтобы не убиться по глупости, что бы стать асом нужен талант и много везения , которое растёт из профессионализма)
      3. Arzt
        Arzt 23 мая 2021 22:33
        +1
        Там все одновременно просто и сложно) Просто если понимаешь физические принципы которые заставляют самолет летать, просто если понимаешь ттх машины, на какой скорости и при каком положении закрылок она оторвется от земли, какой угол руля высоты нужно задавать, чтобы не потерять быстро скорость и не свалиться. Это все на самом деле просто, если начать вникать. Сложнее уже другое, как заложить вираж с наименьшее потере скорости, как не сорваться в штопор на вертикальном манере, флаттер, умение чувствовать машину да и много чего. Первое постигнуть могут многие, для второго ускоренный курсов не достаточно явно.

        И первое и второе несложно. Практически любой нормальный человек освоит все это вылетов за 30.

        И совершенно другое дело - воздушный бой.

        Против тебя не законы физики, а непредсказуемый мозг другого человека. Рядом нет инструктора, который подскажет. Все происходит очень быстро. И главное - нет второй попытки. Если попал на опытного - каюк.

        Поэтому очень важно вводить в бой постепенно.
        Вначале вообще летать над своими. Потом переходить линию фронта, держаться на высоте, не ввязываясь и пытаясь понять, что вообще происходит.
        В идеале - начинать в ПВО в прикрытии Москвы, пытаясь сбивать бомберов без противодействия истребителей в готовности прыгнуть, если сбит стрелком.

        Но на той войне все это было нереально. recourse
        1. Torins
          Torins 23 мая 2021 22:59
          0
          В запасных полках натаскивали бывалые ветераны, но это конечно не могло ввиду сжатых сроков кардинально изменить ситуацию...
      4. isv000
        isv000 23 мая 2021 23:47
        -1
        Плюс, за усердие!
    2. Владимир_2У
      Владимир_2У 25 мая 2021 08:37
      0
      Цитата: Бензорез
      Я просмотрел фильм (наш тех времён) обучающий по взлет- посадка/полёт по кругу Ил-2.
      И понял, что ничерта я не понял.
      Вы упускаете то что на Ил-2 или вообще любой боевой самолёт лётчики садились уже обученными, на У-2 например. Так что шло ДОобучение на конкретный тип самолёта пилотов УЖЕ умевших летать.
  2. Eug
    Eug 23 мая 2021 18:39
    +3
    Очень яркий пример - И.Н.Кожедуб, выпущен из училища в 1941, до лета 1943 - инструктор того же училища, т.е налет просто огромный по сравнению с обычным молодым летчиком... но все равно был подбит, хоть и был на тот момент мастер пилотажа.
    1. Konnick
      Konnick 23 мая 2021 18:43
      +1
      но все равно был подбит, хоть и был на тот момент мастер пилотажа.

      Подбит, но не сбит. Большая разница. Кожедуб всегда сажал свой поврежденный самолет, а для этого большое мастерство надо иметь.
      1. Eug
        Eug 23 мая 2021 18:48
        +2
        Я к тому, что даже мастера пилотажа без фронтового опыта не были полноценными бойцами. Но становились ими гораздо быстрее других...
        1. Konnick
          Konnick 23 мая 2021 18:56
          0
          даже мастера пилотажа без фронтового опыта не были полноценными бойцами.

          Конечно, но кроме мастерства нужны были другие качества, такие как физиология организма, т.е быстрота реакции, координация, зрение ...проще сказать талант.
        2. Torins
          Torins 23 мая 2021 18:57
          +2
          С этим сложно спорить, да и не нужно) Всё так и есть)
    2. Zug
      Zug 24 мая 2021 18:12
      0
      Как практика показывает.Количество налето-часов у бывших инструкторов лет.школ никак на их боевые успехи не влияли.Падали они так же
    3. kig
      kig 25 мая 2021 06:09
      0
      Цитата: Eug
      т.е налет просто огромный по сравнению с обычным молодым летчиком

      Первого немца сбил только в 40-м вылете! Или, например, Хартман: прибыл на фронт в октябре 1942, первый самолет сбил в ноябре, а затем наступила пауза аж в три месяца... так что нелегкое это дело.
  3. geniy
    geniy 24 мая 2021 10:13
    -2
    Я просмотрел фильм (наш тех времён) обучающий по взлет- посадка/полёт по кругу Ил-2.И понял, что ничерта я не понял.Как летать на аэроплане можно вообще? Это- уму не постижимо...

    Это бессовестное всеобщее мнение, будто бы советские летчики были необученными по сравнению с немцами. Потому, что указывается будто бы советские летчики имели мизерный налет - всего 10-16 часов, тогда как немецкие пилоты-новички - порядка 200 часов. А на самом деле истинная картина была гораздо сложнее. Дело в том, что перед тем как сеть в боевой самолет, то каждый курсант сначала изучал физику, потом аэродинамику. При этом ему объясняли как возникает на крыле подъемная сила и от чего она теряется - например на критических углах атаки, или от потери скорости. Поэтому нет ничего удивительного что автор предыдущего комментария ничерта не понял как летать - он просто не знает аэродинамики.
    Так вот - после изучения науки о полете, курсант опять таки не садится в боевой самолет, а сначала несколько часов рулил по аэродрому на бескрылом самолете. А потом совершал небольшие подлеты на учебном самолете типа У-2. И только лишь потом курсант совершал несколько вылетов с инструктором, а потом его выпускали в самостоятельные полеты. Затем курсанта выпускали из начальной летной школы и он переходил в учебный полк где его готовили на конкретном боевом самолете - истребитель, штурмовик или бомбардировщик. И вот это ничтожное время 10-16 часов учитывает только время на боевом самолете, а о том каков был налет на учебном У-2 - все любители историки благополучно забывают. А ведь налет на учебном самолете - все равно дает полное представление о правилах полета - причем курсантов обязательно учили выбирать с воздуха площадку для вынужденного приземления.
    Правда тут надо учесть, что У-2 очень сильно отличается от боевого самолета. Дело в том, что все боевые самолеты имели очень большую взлетно-посадочную скорость -150 км/ч, тогда как У-2 - всего 80 км/ч. А кроме этого у У-2 было неубирающееся шасси и отсутствие посадочных закрылков. И вдобавок боевые самолеты имели очень мощный мотор и получали разворачивающий момент на взлете и посадке за счет обратной реакции винта.
    Однако, умный летчик мог мгновенно научится летать даже на неизвестном ему самолете - например всем известный Девятаев - который летал на истребителе и мгновенно пересел на бомбардировщик - причем немецкий! А если спросить: а сколько часов перед этим он налетал на немецком бомбардировщике? Да вообще нисколько - полный ноль! Это значит, что главное - знать и понимать законы аэродинамики.
    1. Zug
      Zug 24 мая 2021 18:15
      +2
      Налет на У2.Акромя взлета посадки ничего не даст.Последний этап подготовки в часах на боевом истребителе или же тренировочном его варианте .Вот корень обучения.Когда у вас налет в среднем 25 часов вообще и кстати все часы в летной книжке на типах самолетов расписаны,ексть главное на что стоит обратить внимание.Если у японского пилота налет по окончанию училища достигал 600 часов-что вы с ним на том же Хассане или Ханхин-Голе сделаете со своими 50 например?Умрете быстро и все.
  4. Zug
    Zug 24 мая 2021 18:11
    0
    Может не надо выкладывать "творения SkyClown" На сайте? А то уже до дешевого блоггера опускаемся,еще и лжеца.
  5. dgonni
    dgonni 24 мая 2021 22:16
    +1
    Для понимания об колличестве налёта наших новичков перед фронтом, нужно просто открыть сайт Я помню. И почитать воспоминания пилотов!
    Бывшие инструктора имели намного больший процент выживаемости априори!
    Ибо в авиации есть такое понятие как автоматизм.
    Так вот инструкторам не нужно было смотреть на приборы для понимания пространственного положения самолёта. А больший налёт обеспечивал в брльшинстве случаев от срыва в штопор.
    К сожалению даже к концу войны налёт большинства новоприбывших пилотов был крайне мал!
    Если почитать Галланда то в конце войны у немцев стояла очередь из высококласных пилотов за выоетом по топливу.
    То что они в основном пытались бить крепости на тяжёлых фоках. Это предпочтение и приоритеты войны.
  6. zenion
    zenion 25 мая 2021 17:45
    0
    Был коллега по работе, бывший лётчик истребитель, который был призван по его же желанию в армию лётчиком, фамилия Ковальчик Николай. Он сказал, что так просто хватали и учили, такого быть не могло. Проверяли на разных приборах и состояние здоровья. По плану обучение должно было быть полгода. Он отучился меньше, были у него способности к пилотированию. Уже готовился отправляться, появились новые самолёты пришлось чуть больше месяца переучиваться. Те, которые не смогли показать высокие качества полёта на новые самолёты не посадили. Окончил он войну в Румынии во время битвы в Яссах. Подбили и покалечили его. Еле ходил и сделали из него диспетчера и обучал новоприбывших пилотажу.