Military Review

Anti-tank gun caliber 76.2 / 57 mm C-40 (1946-1948)

3
After the end of the Second World War, a large number of captured samples of weapons and equipment fall into the hands of the Soviet military. On the basis of some of them in the USSR they begin to develop their own analogues. Thus, the 75mm “PaK 41” captured anti-tank gun was of interest to Soviet military specialists, first of all, with the cylindrical barrel shape and armor penetration. The development of the Soviet analogous gun with a caliber 76.2 / 57 mm became the central artillery design bureau with the 1946 of the year. The anti-tank gun is called C-40 and is classified as a regimental anti-tank gun.

Device and construction

The lower part (carriage) for the new gun is taken from the 1944 “ZIS-S-8” anti-tank gun of the year 85mm caliber. In the carriage make small changes. Due to its conical shape, the barrel had a 76.2 mm caliber for the most part (breech) and an 57mm caliber for a smaller portion (muzzle). The length of the cylindrical barrel was 5.4 meters. The charging chamber for the new gun was taken from an anti-aircraft gun caliber 85mm sample 1939 of the year. After the chamber, the threaded conical part of the 76.2mm caliber began with a length of 3.2 meter. She had a 32 rifling constant gradient (22 caliber). The muzzle part received a nozzle with a cylindrical channel. The area of ​​the conical smooth nozzle had a length of 51 centimeter, a portion of the cylindrical nozzle 59 centimeters. The tool receives a wedge vertical shutter and mechanical copy-type semi-automatics. Homing angles are (-5 + 30) degrees vertically, (± 25) degrees horizontally. The C-40 doesn’t have a weapon rifle; Suspension of the wheel travel torsion, the maximum transportation speed on the equipped road to 50 km / h. Total weight C-40 - 1824 kilogram. The unfolding / folding of the instrument in time was about 60 seconds. Firing speed up to 20 / min.

Anti-tank gun caliber 76.2 / 57 mm C-40 (1946-1948)


Ammunition anti-tank guns C-40
The main ammunition for the guns were selected armor-piercing sabot and high-explosive fragmentation incendiary-tracer shells. A piercing armor-piercing projectile had a length of 84 centimeters and a mass of 6.3 kilograms. The armor-piercing core (25mm) weighed a little over half a kilogram. The weight of the powder mass 2.94 kilogram. All this provided the projectile with a high flight speed (initial 1330 m / s), a sufficient effective firing range of up to 1500 meters and incredible armor penetration for a given caliber:
- at a distance of 0.5 kilometer projectile penetrated when hit for 285mm armor protection;
- at a distance of 1 kilometer projectile penetrated when hit for 230mm armor protection;
- at a distance of 1.5 kilometer projectile penetrated when hit for 140mm armor protection.

The OFZT ammunition had a length of 89 centimeters and a mass of 9.3 kilograms. The mass of the projectile is 4.2 kilogram, the mass of the explosive projectile is 105 grams. The mass of the propellant charge is 1.3 kilogram, the flight speed is up to 783 m / s.

Comparison of C-40 and PaK 41
The Soviet analogue 7,5, see the cannon PAK-41 (Grabin's system) superior to the trophy model in ballistic and armor penetration characteristics, for comparison: at a distance of 0.5 kilometers the German gun pierced the armor to 200mm (C-40 to 285mm).

The fate of the anti-tank gun C-40
The built prototype of the C-40 gun was successfully shot out at the factory and field tests that took place in the 1947 year. Accuracy and armor penetration of sub-caliber armor-piercing ammunition was higher than that of the tested ZN-57 anti-tank gun 2mm. But OFZT ammunition was inferior to fragmentation ammunition (ZIS-2) in terms of effectiveness (fragmentation action). In the 1948 year, the C-40 ground test continues. But, unfortunately, due to the low survivability and high complexity of the manufacturing technology of the barrel, the C-40 anti-tank gun was not put into service with regimental artillery.

Information sources:
http://raigap.livejournal.com/152496.html
http://forum.guns.ru/forum/42/000009.html
Author:
3 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Prohor
    Prohor 31 August 2012 09: 57
    +1
    Penetration is impressive! That would be such a gun on the T-34!
    And the weight of the explosive in the HE shell is most likely not indicated correctly, 105 g is for a hand grenade, in the RGD-5 it’s 110 g ...
    1. borisst64
      borisst64 3 September 2012 16: 27
      0
      Quote: Prokhor
      That would be such a gun on the T-34!


      A cannon on a tank is not only for fighting tanks, it is a side task, more important is the fight against enemy strongholds.
  2. Stas57
    Stas57 31 August 2012 11: 13
    +3
    in the foreground 75-mm anti-tank guns PaK-40, 88 stands in the distance
    nowhere is there neither 41 nor c-40

    here is PaK 41

Противотанковое орудие калибра 76.2/57 мм С-40 (1946-1948 гг)

После окончания ВОВ в руки советских военных попадает большое количество трофейных образцов вооружения и техники. На основе некоторых из них в СССР начинают разрабатывать собственные аналоги. Так, трофейное противотанковое орудие калибра 75мм «PaK 41» заинтересовало советских военных специалистов, в первую очередь, цилиндроконической формой ствола и бронепробиваемостью. Разработкой советского аналогичного орудия калибром 76.2/57 мм стало заниматься центральное артиллерийское конструкторское бюро с 1946 года. Противотанковое орудие получает название С-40 и классифицируется как полковое противотанковое орудие.

Устройство и конструкция

Нижнюю часть (лафет) для нового орудия берут от противотанкового орудия разработки 1944 года «ЗИС-С-8» калибра 85мм. В лафет вносят небольшие изменения. Ствол благодаря конической форме имел 76.2 мм калибр в большей части (казенник) и 57мм калибр в меньшей части (дульный срез). Длина цилиндроконического ствола составила 5.4 метра. Зарядная камора для нового орудия была взята от зенитной пушки калибра 85мм образца 1939 года. После каморы начиналась нарезная коническая часть калибра 76.2мм с длиной 3.2 метра. Она имела 32 нареза постоянной крутизны (22 калибра). Дульная часть получила насадку с цилиндроконическим каналом. Участок конической гладкой насадки имел длину 51 сантиметр, участок цилиндрической насадки 59 сантиметров. Орудие получает клиновый вертикальный затвор и механическую полуавтоматику копирного типа. Углы наведения – (-5+30) градусов по вертикали, (±25) градусов по горизонтали. Орудийного передка у С-40 нет, для транспортировки использовали крепления станин. Подрессоривание колесного хода торсионное, максимальная скорость транспортирования по оборудованной дороге до 50 км/ч. Полный вес С-40 – 1824 килограмма. Разворачивание/сворачивание орудия по времени составляло около 60 секунд. Скорость стрельбы до 20 выст/мин.


Противотанковое орудие калибра 76.2/57 мм С-40 (1946-1948 гг)


Боеприпасы противотанкового орудия С-40
Основными боеприпасами для орудия выбрали бронебойные подкалиберные и осколочно-фугасные зажигательно-трассирующие снаряды. Подкалиберный бронебойный снаряд имел длину 84 сантиметра и массу 6.3 килограмма. Бронебойный сердечник (25мм) весил чуть более полкилограмма. Вес пороховой массы 2.94 килограмма. Все это обеспечило снаряду высокую скорость полета (начальная 1330 м/с), достаточную эффективную дальность ведения огня до 1500 метров и невероятную для данного калибра бронепробиваемость:
- на расстоянии 0.5 километра снаряд проникал при попадании за 285мм броневую защиту;
- на расстоянии 1 километр снаряд проникал при попадании за 230мм броневую защиту;
- на расстоянии 1.5 километра снаряд проникал при попадании за 140мм броневую защиту.

ОФЗТ боеприпас имел длину 89 сантиметров и массу 9.3 килограмма. Масса снаряда - 4.2 килограмма, масса разрывного снаряда - 105 грамм. Масса метательного заряда - 1.3 килограмма, скорость полета - до 783 м/с.

Сравнение С-40 и PaK 41
Советский аналог 7,5 см пушки РАК-41 (система Грабина) превосходил трофейный образец по характеристикам баллистики и бронепробиваемости, для сравнения: на расстоянии 0.5 километра немецкое орудие пробивало броню до 200мм (С-40 до 285мм).

Судьба противотанковой пушки С-40
Построенный прототип орудия С-40 успешно отстрелялся на заводских и полигонных испытаниях, прошедших в 1947 году. Кучность и бронепробиваемость подкалиберных бронебойных боеприпасов была выше, чем у проходивших испытания боеприпасов калибра 57мм противотанкового орудия «ЗИС-2». Но ОФЗТ боеприпас уступал осколочному боеприпасу (ЗИС-2) по эффективности (осколочному действию). В 1948 году продолжаются полигонные испытания С-40. Но, к сожалению, из-за низкой живучести и высокой сложности технологии изготовления ствола, противотанковое орудие С-40 на вооружение полковой артиллерии не поступило.

Источники информации:
http://raigap.livejournal.com/152496.html
http://forum.guns.ru/forum/42/000009.html
Автор: Роман Джерелейко


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. Прохор 31 августа 2012 09:57
    Бронепробиваемость впечатляет! Вот бы такую пушку на Т-34!
    А вес ВВ в ОФ снаряде, скорее всего, указан неправильно, 105 г - это для ручной гранаты, в РГД-5 и то 110 г...
    Прохор
    1. borisst64 3 сентября 2012 16:27
      Цитата: Прохор
      Вот бы такую пушку на Т-34!


      Пушка на танке не только для борьбы с танками, это попутная задача, важнее борьба с опорными пунктами противника.
      borisst64
  2. стас57 31 августа 2012 11:13
    а переднем плане 75-мм противотанковые пушки PaK-40, 88 вдали стоит
    нигде нет ни пак- 41, ни с-40

    вот PaK 41

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня