Military Review

Guam May Launch Lawsuit Against Pentagon For US Navy Dump On Island

18

In the near future, the territory of Guam may start a lawsuit against the US authorities. At stake is $ 160 million, which the civilian administration of the island wants to receive for clearing a dump hazardous to human health, the appearance of which is associated with the long-term presence of American sailors in Guam.


The island of Guam is the southernmost part of the Mariana Islands and has the status of an unincorporated organized territory of the United States, that is, not part of the American state, but under its control.

Guam is currently the largest strategic base for the US Air Force and Navy in the Western Pacific. Located on the island, Andersen Air Force Base and Apra Harbor Naval Base together occupy a third of the area of ​​Guam. Given the seventy year history operation of military bases, one can imagine how much waste has accumulated in the landfill.

Back in the 1940s, the US Navy set up the Ordot landfill on the island of Guam, where toxic military waste was buried. In 1950, control of the landfill was transferred to Guam. At present, the landfill territory is part of the Chalan-Pago-Ordot municipality, whose population is about 7 thousand people.

The island's civilian administration has operated the landfill for decades with little regard for environmental protection. This ultimately caused discontent on the part of the American administration.

In 2002, the US filed a lawsuit against the Guam administration because the landfill was polluting the environment. In 2004, Guam agreed to close the landfill and take measures to prevent pollution of the environment with waste from the landfill. On December 14, 2007, the Chief Justice of the Guam District Court issued a court order demanding the immediate closure of the Ordot landfill as it posed a serious threat to the health of the population of nearby villages.

However, in 2017, the position of the island's authorities changed. Guam has filed a lawsuit against the United States, arguing that it is the American authorities who must compensate the island for the costs it incurred to clean up the landfill, amounting to more than $ 160 million. The first instance court granted Guam's claim, but the appeal court dismissed it.

Guam is convinced that it is the American authorities, or rather the military department, that must compensate for the significant funds that the island spent on cleaning up the landfill. Moreover, the waste from the US naval base was stored at the landfill, which poses a certain danger to human health.

It is worth noting that the problem of waste storage in Guam is quite acute, especially if we remember that the United States intends to expand its military presence in the western part of the Pacific Ocean. In the concept of strategic confrontation with China, Guam is assigned a particularly significant role, and this implies not only the preservation of American military facilities on the island, but also their possible expansion.
Author:
18 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. prior
    prior 25 May 2021 10: 02
    -1
    Guam on Guam is original.
    But is it the tsar's business for Americans to poke around in "guam" ?! bully
    Could Guam "guam" to the Chinese for dollars for recycling ...
    1. Finches
      Finches 25 May 2021 10: 17
      +4
      Yes, they will bomb this Guam under the pretext of having chemical-nuclear weapons, along with a landfill and a business! The world community will not even notice this, at most it will blame Russia for the escalation of the situation in this region! laughing
      1. prior
        prior 25 May 2021 10: 20
        +2
        Right. And let them bomb. Guam is theirs ... laughing
        1. Finches
          Finches 25 May 2021 10: 21
          +2
          But Guam is not a pity to introduce more sanctions and blame Russia for everything! laughing
        2. knn54
          knn54 25 May 2021 11: 16
          +1
          -not part of the American state, but under its control.
          "Tolerant" name of the colony.
          And the fact that the Yankees are "global" assholes ... has been known for a long time.
          I understand that you can forget about the gorgeous (half a century ago) beaches.
          1. Sergej1972
            Sergej1972 25 May 2021 13: 31
            +2
            Alaska had a similar status. She, too, was never part of the territory of the Russian Empire, but was under its control. Not quite the same, but a close situation was in the late 19th and early 20th centuries with the Bukhara Emirate and the Khiva Khanate, which were vassal states to the Republic of Ingushetia.
      2. isv000
        isv000 25 May 2021 22: 16
        0
        Leave Guam to Kim - he has long promised to cover the FSA base there. In general, it's sad - striped gopniks captured the island, they don't take part in the gang, but, in the case of a nix, the islanders at any 3,14 are here ... sad
      3. isv000
        isv000 28 May 2021 16: 36
        0
        Did Kim look closely at Guam? Aiming ... wassat
  2. tralflot1832
    tralflot1832 25 May 2021 10: 07
    +3
    What do they allow themselves, democratic trash smells like raspberries. We plugged our nose, clap our hands and smile. You are under the protection of the United States, everything else is secondary!
  3. tihonmarine
    tihonmarine 25 May 2021 10: 11
    +3
    Guam is currently the largest strategic base for the US Air Force and Navy in the Western Pacific.
    Where the Americans don't get in, they shit everywhere, but they don't create anything.
    1. Piramidon
      Piramidon 25 May 2021 11: 09
      +1
      Quote: tihonmarine
      Where the Americans don't get in, they shit everywhere, but they don't create anything.

  4. YOU
    YOU 25 May 2021 10: 15
    +1
    Well, the "greens" rubbed us in that our military dirtied the entire north. This is how we clean up, and their garbage brings another portion of "democracy" into the world. You cannot touch him.
  5. Mouse
    Mouse 25 May 2021 10: 19
    +4
    The United States intends to expand its military presence in the Western Pacific.

    from which we can conclude that the landfill will only grow ... and there will begin a lawsuit against the Pentagon or whatever ... the case is not even secondary ... tertiary ...
  6. Sands Careers General
    Sands Careers General 25 May 2021 10: 22
    +2
    And the Yankees have fouled many islands in the Pacific Ocean with their nuclear tests. We must, we must write them an incredible fine)))
  7. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 25 May 2021 10: 26
    +3
    lawsuit against the Pentagon ... The first instance court granted Guam's claim, but the appellate court dismissed it.
    The dump is certainly bad (where is the voice of the "green"?), But suing the United States, and even more so the Pentagon, is like pissing against the wind. I even assume the unofficial answer of the Americans: "Say thank you for falling asleep with garbage, not bombs!"
    1. Sergej1972
      Sergej1972 25 May 2021 13: 34
      +2
      So the inhabitants of Guam are also considered Americans, they have American passports. At the same time, Guam is under US control, but is not part of their territory. Therefore, the residents of Guam do not participate in the elections of the President and the Senate of the United States, and one representative with an advisory vote is sent to the House of Representatives.
  8. Decimalegio
    Decimalegio 25 May 2021 14: 08
    +1
    I understand that some people need to write compulsively. But what is this news ???? Every settlement produces garbage, and everyone with a landfill would like it to be located elsewhere. Balashikha, Volokolamsk, Shies are somewhat reminiscent of ?????
  9. Gunther
    Gunther 25 May 2021 14: 40
    -2
    that's it...
    now it is clear why UFOs hover over the mattresses like flies - the reptilians apparently have their own Greta Tuborg))))

Военное обозрение

Гуам может начать судебный процесс против Пентагона за устроенную ВМС США свалку на острове

18

В ближайшее время территория Гуам может начать судебный процесс против властей США. На кону – 160 миллионов долларов, которые гражданская администрация острова хочет получить за расчистку опасной для здоровья людей свалки, появление которой связано с многолетним присутствием на Гуаме американских военных моряков.


Остров Гуам является самым южным в составе Марианских островов и имеет статус неинкорпорированной организованной территории США, то есть не входящей в состав американского государства, но находящейся под его управлением.

В настоящее время Гуам является крупнейшей стратегической базой ВВС и ВМС США в западной части Тихого океана. Расположенные на острове военно-воздушная база Андерсен и военно-морская база Апра-Харбор занимают в совокупности треть площади Гуама. Учитывая семидесятилетнюю историю эксплуатации военных баз, можно себе представить, какое количество отходов скопилось на свалке.

Еще в 1940-х годах ВМС США оборудовали на острове Гуам свалку Ордот, где были захоронены токсичные военные отходы. В 1950 году контроль над свалкой был передан Гуаму. В настоящее время территория свалки входит в состав муниципального образования Чалан-Паго-Ордот, население которого составляет около 7 тысяч человек.

Гражданская администрация острова эксплуатировала свалку на протяжении многих десятилетий, при этом не уделяя особого внимания мерам по охране окружающей среды. Это, в конечном итоге, вызвало недовольство со стороны американской администрации.

В 2002 году США подали в суд на администрацию Гуама, так как свалка загрязняла окружающую среду. В 2004 году Гуам согласился закрыть свалку и принять меры по предотвращению загрязнения окружающей среды отходами со свалки. 14 декабря 2007 года главный судья Окружного суда Гуама издал постановление суда, в котором содержалось требование немедленного закрытия свалки Ордот как представляющей серьезную угрозу для здоровья населения близлежащих деревень.

Однако в 2017 году позиция властей острова изменилась. Гуам подал в суд на США, утверждая, что именно американские власти должны компенсировать острову понесенные им расходы на очистку свалки, составившие в сумме более 160 млн долларов. Суд первой инстанции иск Гуама удовлетворил, но апелляционный суд его отклонил.

На Гуаме убеждены, что именно американские власти, а точнее – военное ведомство, должны компенсировать значительные средства, которые остров потратил на очистку свалки. Тем более, что на свалке складировались отходы с военно-морской базы США, представляющие определенную опасность для здоровья людей.

Стоит отметить, что проблема складирования отходов на Гуаме стоит достаточно остро, особенно если вспомнить, что США намерены расширять свое военное присутствие в западной части Тихого океана. В концепции стратегического противостояния с Китаем, Гуаму отведена особенно значимая роль, и это подразумевает не только сохранение на острове американских военных объектов, но и их возможное расширение.
Автор:
18 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. prior
    prior 25 мая 2021 10:02
    -1
    "Гуам" на Гуаме, это оригинально.
    Но царское ли дело американцам в "гуаме" ковыряться?! bully
    Могли бы гуамский "гуам" китайцам за долляры на утилизацию .....
    1. Зяблицев
      Зяблицев 25 мая 2021 10:17
      +4
      Да они разбомбят этот Гуам под предлогом наличия у него химическо-ядерного оружия, вместе со свалкой и делов! Мировая общественность этого даже не заметит, максимум обвинит Россию в эскалации обстановке в этом регионе! laughing
      1. prior
        prior 25 мая 2021 10:20
        +2
        Правильно. И пусть бомбят. Гуам то ихний.... laughing
        1. Зяблицев
          Зяблицев 25 мая 2021 10:21
          +2
          Об чем и речь!Но чтобы ввести очередные санкции и во всем обвинить Россию, Гуам не жалко! laughing
        2. knn54
          knn54 25 мая 2021 11:16
          +1
          -не входящей в состав американского государства, но находящейся под его управлением.
          "Толерантное "название колонии.
          А то.что янкесы "глобальные" заср...цы".известно давно.
          Я так понял,что про шикарные(еще полвека назад) пляжи можно забыть.
          1. Sergej1972
            Sergej1972 25 мая 2021 13:31
            +2
            У нас похожий статус был у Аляски. Она тоже никогда не являлась частью территории Российской империи, но находилась под её управлением. Не совсем такая, но близкая ситуация была в конце 19-начале 20 веков с Бухарским эмиратом и Хивинским ханством, которые были вассальными по отношению к РИ государствами.
      2. isv000
        isv000 25 мая 2021 22:16
        0
        Оставьте Гуам Киму - тот давно обещает накрыть там базу ФША. А вообще грустно - полоссатые гопники захватили остров, в состав банды не берут а, в случае шухера, островитянам по любому 3,14здец... sad
      3. isv000
        isv000 28 мая 2021 16:36
        0
        К Гуаму, вроде, Ким приглядывался? Прицеливался... wassat
  2. tralflot1832
    tralflot1832 25 мая 2021 10:07
    +3
    Да что они себе позволяют,демократический мусор малиной пахнет.Нос заткнули ,хлопаем в ладоши и улыбаемся.Вы под защитой США,все остальное второстепенно!
  3. tihonmarine
    tihonmarine 25 мая 2021 10:11
    +3
    В настоящее время Гуам является крупнейшей стратегической базой ВВС и ВМС США в западной части Тихого океана.
    Куда не влезут американцы, везде гадят, но ничего не создают.
    1. Piramidon
      Piramidon 25 мая 2021 11:09
      +1
      Цитата: tihonmarine
      Куда не влезут американцы, везде гадят, но ничего не создают.

  4. ВАМ
    ВАМ 25 мая 2021 10:15
    +1
    Ну вот а нам то "зелёные" втирали, что наши военные весь север загадили. Так мы убираемся, а их мусор несет в мир очередную порцию "демократии". Его трогать нельзя.
  5. Mouse
    Mouse 25 мая 2021 10:19
    +4
    США намерены расширять свое военное присутствие в западной части Тихого океана.

    из чего можно сделать вывод, что свалка будет только ширится.... а там начнут судебный процесс против Пентагона или как.... дело даже не второстепенное.... третьестепенное...
  6. Генерал Песчаных Карьеров
    +2
    А еще янки засрали своими ядерными испытаниями много островов в Тихом океане. Надо, надо им невероятный штраф выписать)))
  7. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 25 мая 2021 10:26
    +3
    судебный процесс против Пентагона... Суд первой инстанции иск Гуама удовлетворил, но апелляционный суд его отклонил.
    Свалка конечно плохо (где глас "зеленных"?), но судиться с Сша, а тем более Пентагоном это как писить против ветра. Даже предполагаю неофициальный ответ американцев: "Скажите спасибо, что засыпали мусором, а не бомбами!"
    1. Sergej1972
      Sergej1972 25 мая 2021 13:34
      +2
      Так жители Гуама тоже американцами считаются, у них американские паспорта. При этом Гуам находится под управлением США, но частью их территории не является. Поэтому в выборах Президента и Сената США жители Гуама не участвуют, а в Палату представителей посылают одного представителя с совещательным голосом.
  8. Decimalegio
    Decimalegio 25 мая 2021 14:08
    +1
    Я понимаю, что некоторым нужно писать навязчиво. Но что это за новость ???? Каждое поселение производит мусор, и всем, у кого есть свалка, хотелось бы, чтобы она находилась в другом месте. Балашиха, Волоколамск, Шиес чем-то напоминают ?????
  9. Гюнтер
    Гюнтер 25 мая 2021 14:40
    -2
    вот оно что...
    теперь понятно почему над матрасами НЛО вьются как мухи - у рептилоидов видимо есть своя Грета Tuborg))))