Military Review

Soviet fighters MiG-15 versus F-86 Saber: saving radar

11

Many modern drivers use a device such as a radar detector to receive warnings that a violation camera may be ahead. Typically, radar detectors are made in China and other countries in East and Southeast Asia. At the same time, not everyone knows that such a system was invented in our country. But it was not invented at all in order to help motorists avoid fines. During the invention, completely different tasks were set.


The first radar detectors were received by Soviet pilots. It was after the Second World War. The first use took place during the armed conflict in Korea, where, as you know, our military also participated - on the side of the communist forces, which are commonly called the "North".

The American F-86 Saber fighters, which were actively used by the US Air Force in Korea, were superior to the Soviet MiG-15 in firing accuracy. They allowed them to achieve advantages primarily onboard radio range finders. In case of ideal weather conditions, the American F-86 Sabers could conduct aimed fire in the sky from a distance of up to 2,5 km, which at that time was considered something incredible.

The Soviet Union developed a way to neutralize the advantage of the Americans. It is about the invention of the radio rangefinder activity detector used by the US Air Force. This life-saving device, as well as how it was used in Korea, is described on the Sky Artist channel:

11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Engineer
    Engineer 28 May 2021 09: 47
    +22
    F-86 Saber could conduct aimed fire in the sky from a distance of up to 2,5 km

    Sabers were armed with 12,7 mm Browning machine guns with an aiming range of 2 km.
    which at that time was considered something incredible

    This is still considered incredible.
  2. vl903
    vl903 28 May 2021 12: 40
    +2
    like the principle itself or its idea, our technician spied on the Germans in 1944. and the trick of his device was that it weighed not hundreds of kilograms (and such were developed) but was the size of a pack of cigarettes.
    1. dauria
      dauria 28 May 2021 13: 27
      +6
      like the principle itself or its idea, our technician spied on the Germans in 1944.

      Radar detector at a wavelength of 1,3-2,6 m. FuMB1 "Metox" appeared in July 1942.
      The famous "Biscay Cross" was twisted by hands.
      Then in November 1943 FuMB7 "Naxos", which worked in the range of 8-12 cm. Then a bunch of all sorts up to FuMB25 "Muke" (range 2-4 cm) In fact, they covered the entire even modern range (except for the millimeter)
      And the Saber had only a rangefinder, a "defective" radar such as a radio altimeter.
      And "weight under 100 kg"? Why, this is just a receiver, on the SPO-10 of the 70s it is generally a detector one. (4 antennas with a microwave diode and a low-frequency amplifier)

      1. vl903
        vl903 28 May 2021 13: 47
        +8
        our technician just suggested a simple high-frequency diode and a wire to the pilot's earphone. without any selection. and the pilot simply by the nature of the sound understood whether he was being illuminated by a locator, his own or an American one, or the saber was aimed at him and in a second the shells would come if he did not immediately maneuver sharply. the trick of the amerski radio sights was that on a straight-line flying target, they gave an ideal lead and guaranteed the defeat of our aircraft from the first stage even before our pilot realized that he was at gunpoint and needed to maneuver. Our return course was one and the sun was shining in the back of the head. they were pointing the saber from the avik, he cheered from behind, cut down ours and abruptly left. 100kg turned out because the profile institute wanted to stick in something like a stern radar. MIG, of course, did not agree to stick hundreds of kg into the tail of a light fighter.
      2. Captain Pushkin
        Captain Pushkin 29 May 2021 14: 43
        0
        The British deployed radar on their heavy night bombers to detect night fighters attacking from the tail.
        The Germans quickly began to install a detection receiver on night fighters, which allowed the fighter to aim at the radiation source and intercept bombers.
        1. vl903
          vl903 29 May 2021 15: 17
          +1
          yes, it was a period when electronics (communications and locators) and cybernetics (decryption, fire control systems) developed in 5 years, as it would have developed peacefully for 100 years
  3. eklmn
    eklmn 28 May 2021 16: 13
    0
    Many modern drivers use a device such as a radar detector to receive warnings that a violation camera may be ahead.

    And how are they, amers?
    In many states, police use lasers, not radars, so radar detectors are useless. Highways are crossed by bridges, under which a radar is hung and a radar detector signals the presence of a policeman who is not. As a result of frequent bridges and frequent signals, the driver drives according to the rules, which is what the police want.
    In some states, radar detectors are banned, and the police can issue a fine if it is found when the car stops - the police have a small device to find the radar detector.
    The road service warns about the presence of fixing cameras in advance, so radar detectors are pointless.
  4. Crimean partisan 1974
    Crimean partisan 1974 29 May 2021 18: 42
    0
    a cool sport in my youth was, "hunting foxes", so this detector in the evenings listened to amateur frequencies. true distance was not determined
  5. KLV
    KLV 31 May 2021 19: 05
    +2
    The author, like many others, thinks that a radar detector and a radar detector are one and the same.

    No, these are different devices. A radar detector is an active device designed to generate interference in certain radio frequency bands or modulate a false response signal. A radar detector is a passive device serving only for receiving / detecting radiation from the outside and signaling about it.

    So this article is about a radar detector.
  6. alexey alexeyev_2
    alexey alexeyev_2 1 June 2021 07: 09
    0
    I have a book in the library. Soldier of the Empire. Matskevich V. I recommend. And respect to the author.
  7. Kostadinov
    Kostadinov 1 June 2021 16: 13
    0
    The American F-86 Saber fighters, which were actively used by the US Air Force in Korea, were superior to the Soviet MiG-15 in firing accuracy. They allowed them to achieve advantages primarily onboard radio range finders. In case of ideal weather conditions, the American F-86 Sabers could conduct aimed fire in the sky from a distance of up to 2,5 km, which at that time was considered something incredible.

    1. In a maneuvering battle of fighters, the use of airborne rangefinders and warheads is very doubtful.
    The best American pilots claim that they often did not use sights and made marks on the glass of the lantern themselves.
    2. 12,7 mm bullet travels 2,5 km. in about 4-5 seconds, the target moves about 400-800 meters in an unpredictable direction. What kind of aiming fire is there? It's another matter if the 37 mm cannon shoots at the B-29, but even then 2,5 km is too far and the probability of hitting it goes to zero.
    3. Information about attacks from behind can be obtained from observers on the ground.

Военное обозрение

Советские истребители МиГ-15 против F-86 Sabre: спасительные антирадары

11

Многие современные водители пользуются таким приспособлением как антирадар для получения предупреждений о том, что впереди может оказаться камера-фиксатор нарушений. Обычно антирадары сделаны Китае и других странах Восточной и Юго-Восточной Азии. При этом далеко не всем известно, что такая система была изобретена в нашей стране. Но изобреталась она вовсе не для того, чтобы помогать автомобилистами избежать штрафов. При изобретении ставились совсем другие задачи.


Первыми радар-детекторы получили советские лётчики. Было это после Второй мировой войны. Происходило первое применение в ходе вооружённого конфликта в Корее, где, как известно, участвовали и наши военные – на стороне коммунистических сил, которые принято называть «Севером».

Американские истребители F-86 Sabre, которые активно применялись ВВС США в Корее, превосходили советские МиГ-15 по точности ведения огня. Позволяли им добиваться преимущества в первую очередь бортовые радиодальномеры. В случае идеальных погодных условий американские F-86 Sabre могли вести прицельный огонь в небе с дистанции до 2,5 км, что на тот момент считалось чем-то невероятным.

В Советском Союзе разработали способ нивелировать преимущество американцев. Речь идёт об изобретении детектора активности радиодальномера, использовавшегося ВВС США. Об этом спасительном устройстве, а также о том, как оно применялось в Корее, рассказывается на канале Sky Artist:

11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Инжeнeр
    Инжeнeр 28 мая 2021 09:47
    +22
    F-86 Sabre могли вести прицельный огонь в небе с дистанции до 2,5 км

    Сейбры были вооружены 12,7 мм пулеметами Браунинг с прицельной дальностью 2км.
    что на тот момент считалось чем-то невероятным

    Это и сейчас считается невероятным.
  2. vl903
    vl903 28 мая 2021 12:40
    +2
    вроде сам принцип или его идею наш техник подсмотрел у немцев году так в 1944. и фишка его устройсва была в том что оно весило не сотни килограмм( а такие разрабатывались) а было размером с пачку сигарет.
    1. dauria
      dauria 28 мая 2021 13:27
      +6
      вроде сам принцип или его идею наш техник подсмотрел у немцев году так в 1944.

      Детектор радарного излучения на длине волны 1,3-2,6 м. FuMB1 "Метокс" появился в июле 1942 года.
      Знаменитый "Бискайский крест", крутили руками.
      Потом в ноябре 1943 года FuMB7 "Наксос", работавшей в диапазоне 8-12 см. Потом ещё куча всяких вплоть до FuMB25 "Мюке" (диапазон 2-4 см)Фактически перекрыли весь даже современный диапазон ( кроме миллилетрового)
      Да и на "Сейбре" был всего лишь дальномер, "неполноценный" локатор типа радиовысотомера.
      А "вес под 100 кг" ? Зачем, это всего лишь приёмник, на СПО-10 70-х годов так вообще детекторный .( 4 антенки с СВЧ диодом и НЧ- усилком )

      1. vl903
        vl903 28 мая 2021 13:47
        +8
        наш техник как раз и предложил просто высокочастоный диод и провод к наушнику пилота. безо всякой селекции. а пилот просто по характеру звука понимал подсвечивают ли его локатором, своим или американским , или на него навелся сейбр и через секунду придут снаряды если моментально резко не сманеврировать. фишка амерски радиоприцелов была в том что по прямолинейно летящей цели они давали идеальное упреждение и гарантировали поражение нашего самолета с первой очереди еще до того как наш пилот понимал что он на прицеле и надо маневрировать.курс возвращения у наших был один и солнце светило в затылок. с авика сейбр наводили , он сзади подрадывался , срубал нашего и резко уходил. 100кг получалось потому что профильный институт хотел всунуть что то типо кормового радара. МИГ конечно не соглашался всовывать в легкий истребитель в хвост сотни кг.
      2. Капитан Пушкин
        Капитан Пушкин 29 мая 2021 14:43
        0
        Англичане ставили на свои тяжелые ночные бомбардировщики радиолокатор для обнаружения ночных истребителей, атакующих с хвоста.
        Немцы оперативно начали устанавливать на ночные истребители обнаружительный приемник, позволявший истребителю наводиться на источник излучения и перехватывать бомберы.
        1. vl903
          vl903 29 мая 2021 15:17
          +1
          да это был период когда электроника(связь и локаторы) и кибернетика (дешифровка, системы управления стрельбой) развились за 5 лет как в мирное развивались бы лет 100
  3. eklmn
    eklmn 28 мая 2021 16:13
    0
    Многие современные водители пользуются таким приспособлением как антирадар для получения предупреждений о том, что впереди может оказаться камера-фиксатор нарушений

    А как у них, амеров?
    Во многих штатах полиция используют лазеры, а не радары, поэтому антирадары бесполезны. Скоростные магистрали пересекаются мостами, под которыми навешивают радар и антирадар даёт сигнал о присутствии полицейского, которого нет. В результате частых мостов и частых сигналов водитель едет по правилам, что полиции и нужно.
    В некоторых штатах антирадары запрещены, и полиция может выписать штраф, если при остановке машины его обнаружат - у полиции есть маленькое устройство для поиска антирадара.
    О наличии камер-фиксаторов дорожная служба предупреждает заранее, поэтому антирадары бессмысленны.
  4. Крымский партизан 1974
    0
    классный вид спорта в юности был, "охота на лис", дык этим детектором по вечерам любительские частоты прослушивались. правда расстояние не определялись
  5. KLV
    KLV 31 мая 2021 19:05
    +2
    Автор, как и многие другие, думает, что антирадар и радар-детектор - это одно и то же.

    Нет, это разные устройства. Антирадар - активное устройство, созданное для генерирования помех в определённых диапазонах радиочастот или модулирования ложного ответного сигнала. Радар-детектор - пассивное устройство, служащее только для приёма/обнаружения излучения со стороны и сигнализации об этом.

    Так что в статье речь идёт о радар-детекторе.
  6. алексей алексеев_2
    алексей алексеев_2 1 июня 2021 07:09
    0
    Книга у меня есть в библиотеке.Солдат империи.Мацкевича В..Рекомендую.А автору респект.
  7. Костадинов
    Костадинов 1 июня 2021 16:13
    0
    Американские истребители F-86 Sabre, которые активно применялись ВВС США в Корее, превосходили советские МиГ-15 по точности ведения огня. Позволяли им добиваться преимущества в первую очередь бортовые радиодальномеры.В случае идеальных погодных условий американские F-86 Sabre могли вести прицельный огонь в небе с дистанции до 2,5 км, что на тот момент считалось чем-то невероятным.

    1. В маневреном бою истребителей от бортових дальномеров и вьичислителей польза очень сомнительная.
    Лучшие американские летчики утверждают что часто не использовали прицелов а сами делали отметки на стекле фонаря.
    2. 12,7 мм пуля преодолевает 2,5 км. за примерно 4-5 секунд при етом цель перемещается на примерно 400-800 метра в непредсказуемом направление. Какой здесь прицельний огонь? Другое дело если 37 мм пушка стреляет по Б-29, но и тогда 2,5 км слишком далеко и вероятность попадания идет к нулю.
    3. Информацию об атак сзади можно получить из набюдателей с земли.