Military Review

U.S. worries about risk of Chinese naval base in Cambodia

14

US Undersecretary of State Wendy Sherman recently held a two-hour meeting with Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen in Phnom Penh. During the meeting, the diplomat expressed serious concern about the presence of the PRC military at the Cambodian naval base Ream.


Apparently, it was this circumstance that gave rise to another concern - about the observance of human rights by the Cambodian authorities and the political future of the Cambodian opposition. Usually, the State Department "turns on the plate" of human rights when it wants to put pressure on a country and express its dissatisfaction with its policies.

The Ream naval base is located in the province of Sihanoukville in Cambodia, on the shores of the Gulf of Thailand. Sihanoukville is the country's main sea harbor, home to a civilian port and a famous resort. Chinese companies have increasingly invested in Sihanoukville's infrastructure, including civil port terminals, hotels and casinos, in recent years. For China, settling in Sihanoukville means gaining access to the seas of Southeast Asia.

Naturally, China also offered its help for the modernization of the naval base, so there is nothing surprising in the fact that the country's authorities in the future may be ready to provide Beijing with the opportunity to use the Ream base. Moreover, this is quite natural, given that it is China that is now making large-scale investments in the Cambodian economy.

Not so long ago, in March 2021, another hearing was held at the US Senate Armed Services Committee, at which the then Commander of the US Indo-Pacific Command, Admiral Philip Davidson, spoke. A senior military official said that in September 2020, the Cambodian authorities demolished the headquarters of the National Maritime Safety Committee, which at one time was built with the participation of the United States. This step, according to the admiral, the Cambodians took in order to make room for the construction of a Chinese military facility.

The US Center for Strategic and International Studies has published satellite images showing two structures that appeared on the site of the demolished object. Meanwhile, the Cambodian Navy says China is backing a port expansion project that will include a newly dredged port and a shipyard.

US Deputy Secretary of State Sherman demanded that the Cambodian authorities explain why they demolished buildings in Ream, which were once built with American money, without notifying the United States, and stressed that the appearance of a Chinese military base in Cambodia would threaten both the country's relations with the United States and its state sovereignty and regional security.

However, Cambodian Defense Minister Lieutenant General Tea Ban denies that the base will be used by China, and wonders why his country cannot resort to the support of the PRC in the implementation of certain projects. A strange "state sovereignty" is obtained.

However, the United States itself pushed Cambodia into the arms of Beijing, touching upon issues that the country does not like to discuss. For example, the United States and the EU began to make claims to the Cambodian government about the persecution of the political opposition. Hong Sen, like any other ruler, is concerned about maintaining his power, and in China, in this case, he sees an alternative source of power, which, if necessary, can provide him with support.

It is clear that the United States does not like this, but the mechanism has already been launched: China will continue to increase its presence in Cambodia, also because the choice for Chinese bases in the region is not great: Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei are allies of the United States , Vietnam is China's longtime opponent, Cambodia and Myanmar remain.

By the way, the irony of fate is that both Hun Sen and his permanent defense minister Tea Ban were both born into families of Chinese origin, but at one time they belonged to the pro-Vietnamese faction of Cambodian communists, which opposed Chinese influence and focused on Vietnam. But times have changed, and now Vietnam is ready to cooperate with the United States against China, and the former pro-Vietnamese communists are ready to help China in exchange for investments.
Author:
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. NF68
    NF68 2 June 2021 16: 32
    +1
    Presumably, even in the next 20-25 years, Americans will have to worry more than once for similar reasons. And then howl looking at the moon. Or to Mars.
    1. hirurg
      hirurg 2 June 2021 18: 20
      +3
      And we will stand and watch as the hegemon twitches on several fronts.)
      1. NF68
        NF68 3 June 2021 16: 21
        +1
        Quote: hirurg
        And we will stand and watch as the hegemon twitches on several fronts.)


        Hegemon is strenuously looking for those who will be ready to pull roasted chestnuts out of the fire for the Hegemon. For example, India, which the United States is trying to use in its own interests to confront China. Whether the United States succeeds this time or not, one can assume a lot and hope for a lot. But sooner or later it will be more and more difficult to find such US fools. It is already clear even now that, in addition to jackals like Poland and the giant states from the Baltic states, there are fewer and fewer fools, and even these fools behave more and more neutral and are not particularly eager to help the hegemon.
  2. Prisoner
    Prisoner 2 June 2021 16: 37
    +1
    what Nh-ah! Mattress toppers will not be able to outbid Cambodia from China like Sudan from ours. China has more dollars than a mattress machine can print for many years. laughing
  3. spirit
    spirit 2 June 2021 16: 46
    0
    All the totalitarian leaders of the region, who have been sitting in a warmed place for 10 years, go to bow and defend to the main pope of the SI hi
  4. tralflot1832
    tralflot1832 2 June 2021 16: 53
    -2
    For Cambodia, China is close, and the United States is far away, and if Premier Hun Sen smiled during the negotiations, it might be so distracting from the American woman.
  5. APASUS
    APASUS 2 June 2021 16: 56
    0
    The Americans would offer Cambodia an investment package of 30 billion and demanded a change in policy towards China. And only slave countries can change profitable decisions so easily
  6. knn54
    knn54 2 June 2021 16: 56
    -1
    -Vietnam is ready to cooperate with the United States against China.
    This guide is ready, but not the people. Even teenagers truly hate the USA.
    Although the attitude towards the PRC is no better, it happened historically.
    After the military coup, the Yankees' relations with Myanmar are tense.
    Laos is trying to adhere to neutrality, maintaining equal relations with both the PRC and the Socialist Republic of Vietnam.
    True, Lao PDR is landlocked.
    1. stalkerwalker
      stalkerwalker 2 June 2021 17: 01
      +3
      Having visited Thailand, and having gone on an excursion to Cambodia (Angkor Wat, etc.), I came up with one thought - in Southeast Asia, everyone hates each other. The Thai people hate the Khmers, the Cambodians hate the Vietnamese, the latter hate the Chinese, and so on in a circle.
      1. Alien From
        Alien From 2 June 2021 17: 03
        +1
        And yet, almost all Asians of mattresses, so to speak, are not very ...
        1. stalkerwalker
          stalkerwalker 2 June 2021 17: 06
          +2
          Thailand owes them the grave. They remember, keep a good memory, which cannot be said about Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia. They remember something else.
  7. Alien From
    Alien From 2 June 2021 17: 02
    0
    Let them keep their anxiety to themselves.
  8. faterdom
    faterdom 2 June 2021 17: 26
    +1
    There is no such thing: "American interests in the region." This is a deceitful term in itself.
    They are only in the US region - American, and in all other cases we are talking about infringement of other people's interests.
  9. notingem
    notingem 2 June 2021 22: 15
    -2
    The only thing left for the United States is to revive the Khmer Rouge and bring Pol Pot democracy to the region.

Военное обозрение

США обеспокоены риском появления военно-морской базы Китая в Камбодже

14

Заместитель государственного секретаря США Венди Шерман недавно провела двухчасовую встречу с премьер-министром Камбоджи Хун Сеном в Пномпене. Во время встречи дипломат выразила серьезную обеспокоенность присутствием военных КНР на камбоджийской военно-морской базе Реам.


Судя по всему, именно это обстоятельство послужило поводом и для другой обеспокоенности – по поводу соблюдения прав человека властями Камбоджи и политического будущего камбоджийской оппозиции. Обычно Госдеп «включает пластинку» прав человека, когда хочет надавить на ту или иную страну и выразить свое недовольство ее политикой.

Военно-морская база Реам находится в провинции Сиануквиль в Камбодже, на берегу Сиамского залива. Город Сиануквиль – основная морская гавань страны, где находятся гражданский порт и известный курорт. Китайские компании в последние годы все более активно инвестируют в инфраструктуру Сиануквиля, включая терминалы гражданского порта, строительство отелей и казино. Для Китая обосноваться в Сиануквиле значит получить доступ к морям Юго-Восточной Азии.

Естественно, что свою помощь Китай предложил и для модернизации военно-морской базы, поэтому нет ничего удивительного в том, что власти страны в перспективе могут быть готовы предоставить Пекину возможность использования базы Реам. Более того, это вполне естественно, учитывая, что именно Китай сейчас осуществляет масштабные инвестиции в экономику Камбоджи.

Не столь давно, в марте 2021 года, в Комитете Сената США по вооруженным силам состоялись очередные слушания, на которых выступил тогдашний командующий Индо-Тихоокеанским командованием США адмирал Филип Дэвидсон. Высокопоставленный военный сообщил, что в сентябре 2020 года власти Камбоджи снесли здание штаба Национального комитета по морской безопасности, который в свое время был построен при участии США. Этот шаг, по словам адмирала, камбоджийцы предприняли для того, чтобы освободить место под строительство китайского военного объекта.

Центр стратегических и международных исследований США опубликовал спутниковые снимки, на которых видны два строения, появившиеся на месте снесенного объекта. Между тем, в ВМС Камбоджи утверждают, что Китай поддерживает проект по расширению порта, который будет включать недавно углубленный порт и судоремонтный завод.

Заместитель госсекретаря США Шерман потребовала у властей Камбоджи объяснений, почему они без уведомления США снесли здания в Реаме, которые в свое время строились на американские деньги, и подчеркнула, что появление военной базы КНР в Камбодже поставит под угрозу как отношения страны с США, так и ее государственный суверенитет и региональную безопасность.

Однако министр обороны Камбоджи генерал-лейтенант Теа Бан отрицает, что база будет использоваться Китаем, и недоумевает, почему его страна не может прибегать к поддержке КНР в реализации тех или иных проектов. Странный «государственный суверенитет» получается.

Впрочем, США сами подтолкнули Камбоджу в объятия Пекина, затрагивая те вопросы, которые в стране обсуждать не любят. Например, США и ЕС стали предъявлять правительству Камбоджи претензии по поводу преследования политической оппозиции. Хун Сен, как и любой другой правитель, обеспокоен вопросами сохранения своей власти, и в Китае в данном случае он видит альтернативный источник силы, который при необходимости может оказать ему поддержку.

Понятно, что США это не по нраву, но механизм уже запущен: Китай будет и далее наращивать свое присутствие в Камбодже, в том числе и потому, что выбор для китайских баз в регионе не велик: Таиланд, Малайзия, Сингапур, Бруней – союзники США, Вьетнам – давний оппонент Китая, остаются Камбоджа и Мьянма.

Кстати, ирония судьбы – и Хун Сен, и его бессменный министр обороны Теа Бан оба родились в семьях китайского происхождения, но в свое время принадлежали к провьетнамской фракции камбоджийских коммунистов, которая противостояла китайскому влиянию и ориентировалась на Вьетнам. Но времена изменились, и теперь уже Вьетнам готов сотрудничать с США против Китая, а бывшие провьетнамские коммунисты – помогать Китаю в обмен на инвестиции.
Автор:
14 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. NF68
    NF68 2 июня 2021 16:32
    +1
    Надо полагать, что даже в ближайшие 20-25 лет американцам еще не раз придется беспокоиться по подобным причинам. И то и повыть глядя на Луну. Или на Марс.
    1. hirurg
      hirurg 2 июня 2021 18:20
      +3
      А мы постоим и посмотрим, как гегемон дергается на несколько фронтов.)
      1. NF68
        NF68 3 июня 2021 16:21
        +1
        Цитата: hirurg
        А мы постоим и посмотрим, как гегемон дергается на несколько фронтов.)


        Хегемон усиленно ищет тех, кто будет готов вытаскивать для хегемона из огня жареные каштаны. На пример Индия, которую США стараются использовать в своих интересах для противостояния Китаю. Получится ли это у США и на этот раз или нет, тут можно многое предполагать и на многое надеяться. Но рано или поздно находить таких дурачков США будет все сложнее и сложнее. Оно и сейчас уже видно, что кроме шакалят типа Польши и государств-гигантов из Прибалтики, дурачков становится все меньше и меньше и даже эти дурачки ведут себя все более нейтрально и не особо рвутся помогать хегемону.
  2. Пленник
    Пленник 2 июня 2021 16:37
    +1
    what Нд-а! Перекупить Камбоджу у Китая как Судан у наших матрасники не смогут. У Китая доЛАРОВ больше, чем их успевает напечатать матрасная машинка за многие годы. laughing
  3. spirit
    spirit 2 июня 2021 16:46
    0
    Все тоталитарные руководители региона,которые 10-ки лет сидят на пригретом месте,идут на поклон и защиту к главному папе СИ hi
  4. tralflot1832
    tralflot1832 2 июня 2021 16:53
    -2
    Для Камбоджи Китай рядом,а США далеко.И если Премьр Хунь Сен улыбался при переговорах,это может его так от американки кривило.
  5. APASUS
    APASUS 2 июня 2021 16:56
    0
    Американцы предложили бы Камбодже инвестиционный пакет ,так миллиардов на 30 и требовали изменить политику ,в отношении Китая. А так просто изменить выгодные решения могут только страны рабы
  6. knn54
    knn54 2 июня 2021 16:56
    -1
    -Вьетнам готов сотрудничать с США против Китая.
    Это руководство готово,но не народ.Даже подростки искренне ненавидят США.
    Хотя к КНР отношение не лучше,так уж сложилось исторически..
    С Мьянмой после военного переворота у янкесов отношения напряженные.
    Лаос старается придерживаться нейтралитета,сохраняя ровные отношения как с КНР,так и СРВ.
    Правда ЛНДР не имеет выхода к морю.
    1. stalkerwalker
      stalkerwalker 2 июня 2021 17:01
      +3
      Побывав в Таиланде, и съездив на экскурсию в Камбоджу (Ангкор-ват и т.д.), вынес одну мысль - в Юго-Восточной Азии все ненавидят друг друга. Таиландцы ненавидят кхмеров, камбоджийцы - вьетнамцев, последние ненавидят китайцев, и так по-кругу.
      1. Alien From
        Alien From 2 июня 2021 17:03
        +1
        А ещё, почти все азиаты матрасов так сказать не очень......
        1. stalkerwalker
          stalkerwalker 2 июня 2021 17:06
          +2
          Таиланд им по гроб жизни обязан. Помнят, хранят добрую память, чего не скажешь о Вьетнаме, Лаосе, Камбодже. Там помнят другое.
  7. Alien From
    Alien From 2 июня 2021 17:02
    0
    Своё беспокойство пусть оставят при себе.
  8. faterdom
    faterdom 2 июня 2021 17:26
    +1
    Нет такого: "американские интересы в регионе". Это лживый термин сам по себе.
    Они только в регионе США - американские, а во всех остальных случаях речь идет об ущемлении чужих интересов.
  9. notingem
    notingem 2 июня 2021 22:15
    -2
    США остается только возрадить красных кхмеров и нести в регион демократию полпотовского типа