Military Review

Gladiators and gladiator fights: a look into the past

8

For the general public история Ancient Rome, since school, has been associated with gladiators and gladiatorial battles. Hollywood has undoubtedly left its mark on the understanding of the essence of the "institute" of gladiators. Contributed to the perception of gladiatorial duels and other areas of mass culture, including classical music. To what extent did the images of gladiators, created by the masters of cinema, writers and composers of modern times, correspond to the real ancient Roman gladiators - "sword-bearers"?


Gladiator fights began to gain popularity long before the onset of a new era. Even in the second century BC, the battles of gladiators in Rome began to acquire the character of truly mass spectacles. At the same time, for the then public, such spectacles, despite their frank cruelty, had a connotation, first of all, of fun. If today people allow themselves to relax, for example, in stadiums or in concert halls, then for the Romans amphitheaters were such a resting place, where performances, as they say, were not for the faint of heart. But the average Roman man in the street 2 thousand years ago cannot be called faint of heart either.

The historical magazine Proshloe tells about gladiators, gladiatorial battles and their features:

8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Far B
    Far B 10 June 2021 05: 31
    +7
    To be fair, I associate Ancient Rome from the school curriculum not at all with gladiators. And with surprise - as from such a spit, which was Rome in 510 BC, in five hundred years (and in fact, less - the Romans still had to deal with the Veii for a long time, with their fellow Latins, and Brennus with his "woe to the vanquished "much later was) such a huge empire has grown ?!
    And gladiator fights - they were different in different periods. At first, when the prisoners were simply forced to fight, they didn’t care that everyone would kill each other. Enemies all the same. And then, when they put the case on professional rails, they began to take care of the gladiator carcasses. For it is expensive.
    1. Pilat2009
      Pilat2009 10 June 2021 15: 06
      +2
      Quote: Dalny V
      as from such a spit, which was Rome in 510 BC, in five hundred years (and in fact, less - the Romans still had to deal with the Veii for a long time, with their fellow Latins, and Brennus with his "grief defeated "much later was) such a huge empire has grown ?!

      Rome grew while there was a republican form of government. When the emperor began to rule, degradation began. Rarely was an emperor worthy and capable, and after him, the citizens began to decay. Rome, which fielded 200 thousand army could not find soldiers. It got to the point that the army was hired and consisted of barbarians who safely and overthrew the last emperor. In a word, the disintegration of the state begins with the elite, history gives many examples of this, including the Russian Empire and the USSR
      1. Glory1974
        Glory1974 11 June 2021 08: 38
        +3
        Rome grew while there was a republican form of government. When the emperor began to rule, degradation began

        Rome had both a royal and an imperial period. Under the republic, he had no less problems than under other forms of government, including the struggle for power. The question is debatable. But in modern history, this is undoubtedly one of the most powerful empires with a reasonable state structure.
    2. Egoza
      Egoza 10 June 2021 17: 30
      +1
      Quote: Dalny V
      And gladiator fights - they were different in different periods

      And in the ballet "Spartacus" different variants of gladiator fights are very colorfully presented. And this was done based on historical descriptions.
    3. Babay Atasovich
      Babay Atasovich 12 June 2021 05: 41
      +1
      they put the case on professional rails - here they began to take care of the gladiator carcasses. For it is expensive.

      Along the way, then negotiated battles were born! wink
  2. riwas
    riwas 10 June 2021 06: 08
    +5
    Gladiator fights are not a bloody sport. These are bloody spectacles. To this end, it was not uncommon to put up a strong gladiator against a weak one, since the fight of equals is not so interesting. For the same reason, female gladiators took part in the battles. And there were also just murders against the backdrop of the scenery of unarmed people, including women and children: they were given up to be torn apart by wild animals, and this practice existed long before the appearance of the first Christians, or according to a certain scenario, it was done by armed soldiers. The wounded people were finished off with a hammer by a special man dressed in a carrier suit across the Styx River. The ancient version of the consumer society is "bread and circuses".
  3. nikvic46
    nikvic46 10 June 2021 06: 13
    +2
    The desire of today's historians to surprise, as well as latently say, they say, what you were taught before is all nonsense; very high. Among the slaves there were wealthy people. But at the same time they forget to say that they were forbidden to have families. The desire to have slaves stretched until the beginning of the XNUMXth century. Mamluks are also slaves. And among them there were very noble people with truncated everyday laws. they did not disdain to buy even European countries. Any post is not history, but only my opinion on history. And of course I may be wrong about something. I need to listen to serious historians.
  4. Engineer
    Engineer 10 June 2021 19: 18
    +2
    Oh, Kozlenko
    Klim Zhukov is a healthy person.
    I would like to see him as a permanent contributor to VO

Военное обозрение

Гладиаторы и гладиаторские бои: взгляд в прошлое

8

Для широкой общественности история Древнего Рима ещё со школьной скамьи ассоциируется с гладиаторами и гладиаторскими боями. Свой отпечаток на понимание сути «института» гладиаторов, бесспорно, наложил Голливуд. Внесли вклад в восприятие гладиаторских поединков и другие направления массовой культуры, включая классические музыкальные произведения. Насколько образы гладиаторов, созданные мастерами киноискусства, писателями и композиторами нового времени, отвечали реальным древнеримским гладиаторам-«меченосцам»?


Гладиаторские бои стали обретать популярность задолго до наступления новой эры. Ещё во втором столетии до Рождества Христова битвы гладиаторов в Риме стали приобретать характер по-настоящему массовых зрелищ. При этом для тогдашней публики такие зрелища, несмотря на их откровенную жестокость, носили оттенок, в первую очередь, забавы. Если сегодня люди позволяют себе отдыхать, например, на стадионах или в концертных залах, то для римлян таким местом отдыха были амфитеатры, где представления были, как говорится, не для слабонервных. Но и среднестатистического римского обывателя 2-тысячелетней давности слабонервным точно не назвать.

Исторический журнал Proshloe рассказывает о гладиаторах, гладиаторских боях и их особенностях:

8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Дальний В
    Дальний В 10 июня 2021 05:31
    +7
    Справедливости ради, у меня Древний Рим со школьной программы ассоциируется совсем не с гладиаторами. А с удивлением - как из такого плевочка, каковой представлял из себя Рим в 510 г. до н.э., за пятьсот лет (а на самом деле меньше - римлянам еще с Вейями предстояло долго разбираться, с соплеменниками-латинянами, да и Бренн со своим "горе побеждённым" много позже был) выросла такая громадная империя?!
    А гладиаторские бои - они в разные периоды разные были. Поначалу, когда просто пленных драться заставляли - там пофиг, что все друг друга поубивают. Все равно враги. А потом, когда дело на профессиональные рельсы поставили - тут уж гладиаторские тушки беречь начали. Ибо дорого.
    1. Pilat2009
      Pilat2009 10 июня 2021 15:06
      +2
      Цитата: Дальний В
      как из такого плевочка, каковой представлял из себя Рим в 510 г. до н.э., за пятьсот лет (а на самом деле меньше - римлянам еще с Вейями предстояло долго разбираться, с соплеменниками-латинянами, да и Бренн со своим "горе побеждённым" много позже был) выросла такая громадная империя?!

      Рим рос пока была республиканская форма правления.Когда править стал император, началась деградация.Редко императором был достойный и способный,а за ним и граждане начали разлагаться.Рим,который выставлял 200 тыс армии не мог найти солдат.Дошло до того,что армия была наемная и состояла из варваров,которые благополучно и низвергли последнего императора.Словом распад государства начинается с элиты,история приводит этому много примеров,в том числе Российская Империя и СССР
      1. слава1974
        слава1974 11 июня 2021 08:38
        +3
        Рим рос пока была республиканская форма правления.Когда править стал император, началась деградация

        У Рима был и царский период, и имперский. При республике у него было не меньше проблем , чем при других формах правления, в том числе и борьба за власть,. Вопрос дискуссионный. Но в современной истории это бесспорно одна из мощнейших империй с разумным государственным устройством
    2. Егоза
      Егоза 10 июня 2021 17:30
      +1
      Цитата: Дальний В
      А гладиаторские бои - они в разные периоды разные были

      А в балете "Спартак" очень красочно представлены разные варианты гладиаторских боев. Причем делалось это с опорой на исторические описания.
    3. Babay Atasovich
      Babay Atasovich 12 июня 2021 05:41
      +1
      дело на профессиональные рельсы поставили - тут уж гладиаторские тушки беречь начали. Ибо дорого.

      По ходу тогда и договорнячные бои и зародились! wink
  2. riwas
    riwas 10 июня 2021 06:08
    +5
    Бои гладиаторов - это не кровавый спорт. Это кровавые зрелища. С этой целью, не редко выставляли сильного гладиатора против слабого, так как бой равных не так интересен. По этой же причине в боях участвовали женщины-гладиаторы. И были также просто убийства на фоне декораций безоружных людей, в том числе женщин и детей: отдавали на растерзание диким зверям, причем такая практика была задолго до появления первых христиан, или по определенному сценарию это делали вооруженные воины. Раненных людей добивал молотом специальный человек, одетый в костюм перевозчика через реку Стикс. Древний вариант общества потребления - "хлеба и зрелищ".
  3. nikvic46
    nikvic46 10 июня 2021 06:13
    +2
    Жажда нынешних историков удивить,а также подспудно сказать,мол чему вас раньше учили-все это ерунда; очень высока.Среди рабов были состоятельные люди.Но при этом забывают сказать,что им запрещено было заводить семьи.Желание иметь рабов простиралось до начала XIX века.Мамлюки -те же рабы.И среди них были очень знатные с усеченными бытовыми законами.Причем их не брезговали покупать даже европейские страны.Любой пост-это не история,а лишь свое мнение на историю.И конечно я могу в чем то ошибаться.НАдо слушать серьезных историков.
  4. Engineer
    Engineer 10 июня 2021 19:18
    +2
    О, Козленко
    Клим Жуков здорового человека.
    Хотел бы видеть его постоянным автором ВО