US decided to improve Hawaii's missile defense

13
US decided to improve Hawaii's missile defense

The House Appropriations Committee approved $ 2022 million in the Defense Financing Bill for 75 to continue building a radar in Hawaii.

According to US Congressman Ed Casey, a total of $ 2022 billion will be allocated for defense in 706. At the same time, part of these funds will be used to strengthen the anti-missile defense of Hawaii in particular and the Indo-Pacific region as a whole.



According to the politician, measures such as the optimization of the infrastructure of the Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard, for which more than $ 2,2 million will be allocated, and the continuation of the construction of the HDR-H radar in Hawaii, are extremely important for the region.

Recall that the decision on the need to create a radar station to protect the Hawaiian Islands from a missile strike, in particular from North Korea, arose back in 2018. Then, in the course of conducting a false missile alarm, the actual vulnerability of the state was established.

Already in December of the same year, a contract was signed with Lockheed Martin in the amount of $ 585 million, providing for the development and construction of a radar. However, due to various twists and turns, including opposition from environmentalists, funding for HDR-H began only last year.

It should be noted that the initial amount specified in the contract was not enough. Thus, the total cost of creating a Hawaiian radar is estimated by the Missile Defense Agency at $ 1,9 billion.

In 2020, $ 133 million was allocated for the development of the radar station. These funds, according to representatives of the Missile Defense Agency, were used for the production of "critical components of the radar" and necessary in the development of research.

E. Keynes, who is a member of the Appropriations Committee, stressed that he purposefully sought to restore funding for Hawaiian radar. He is confident that the future radar station will be able to effectively identify and classify specific missile threats and reliably protect the territory of the islands from them.

The Kahuku training range on Oahu and the Pacific missile range on Kauai are still being considered as a site for the 85-foot radar.

However, despite the allocation of $ 75 million by Congress to further develop the radar, the facility is not included in the long-term planning of the missile defense agency's program. The Pentagon believes that the maneuvering of hypersonic missiles requires a review of the requirements for ground-based radars and a focus on space-based missile threat detection.

Finally, Keyes noted that in addition to the Hawaiian radar, support is also being provided to other elements of the Pacific Deterrence Initiative (PDI), which will provide the American advantage in the Indo-Pacific region and counter threats from China and other potential US adversaries.
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. -1
    July 15 2021
    Radar is good. Better yet, it should be built for another 20 years, and annually allocated and allocated funds for it. What are the chances of the radar to detect the incoming blocks of hypersonic vanguards - it is not known, therefore, whether this radar is necessary at all.
    North Korea, it seems, already has missiles capable of reaching the United States.
    1. +1
      July 15 2021
      So, the total cost of creating a Hawaiian radar is estimated by the Missile Defense Agency in 1,9 billion dollars.

      In 2020, the development of the radar station was allocated 133 billion dollars.


      When there is so much dough, it's easy to get confused in billions.

      We need 1 billion, and in 8 they gave 2020 billion.

      I wonder who was wrong?
      - the author of the note
      - or accounting at the pentagon?
      - or I didn't understand anything where, to whom, how much, and the fuck is so mnoooooooooooo? laughing
    2. +1
      July 15 2021
      - and the Indo-Pacific region as a whole.
      In 2023, another American radar will take up combat duty in Japan, which, due to its long range, will be able to record anti-ship missile launches even from the mainland of the PRC.
      ... Military facilities will appear in Akita and Yamaguchi prefectures, which has already caused a negative reaction from local administrations.
    3. +8
      July 15 2021
      USA, a total of 2022 billion dollars will be allocated for defense in 706.

      Yes, for this money, with a probable enemy (s), you can peacefully drink a century winked
      1. 0
        July 15 2021
        EMNIP, about 70% of the US military budget goes to the maintenance of troops and bases. And if these 70% are taken away from the budget, then not so much remains for armament.
  2. +1
    July 15 2021
    Recall that the decision on the need to create a radar station to protect the Hawaiian Islands from a missile strike, in particular from North Korea, arose back in 2018. Then, in the course of conducting a false missile alarm, the actual vulnerability of the state was established.

    A beautiful legend, like the Iranian threat to NATO.
    We could honestly admit that the Chinese threat has become real, so they fuss with Hawaii as a real element of the missile defense system for America.
    1. +1
      July 15 2021
      Yes, the Chinese threat is real, but Hawaii will not save them, given that China is building ballistic missile nuclear submarines rather quickly. It's time to go on the defensive, to build a missile defense system near San Francisco.
      1. +1
        July 16 2021
        California has a missile defense system. THAAD system.
        But the main interception in the middle section is from Alaska. GBI system.
    2. 0
      July 15 2021
      Quote: ccsr
      the Chinese threat became real, so they fussed with Hawaii,

      But where the Chinese, if the Americans on the "Missouri" were able to defeat the aliens in Hawaii to the music of the AC / DC! Yes
  3. +2
    July 15 2021
    $ 133 billion was allocated.
    Ochepyatka probably
  4. 0
    July 15 2021
    US decided to improve Hawaii's missile defense

    The tale of how four "worthless" Russian military steamers shod the United States with 2 billion American presidents! laughing
  5. -1
    July 15 2021
    On Thursday, the state prosecution asked to sentence the founder of the investment fund Baring Vostok Michael Calvey to six years in prison on probation, finding him guilty of embezzling 2,5 billion rubles, - And there are many like this Vasya, and they will all sit a little under house arrest or nothing at all - a star hero putyatiny and again steal from the people - in short, the conclusion - steal from hundreds of lyamas - share and walk
    1. +3
      July 15 2021
      Looked at the information on this case. Everything is muddy. The damage seems to be there, but it seems to have been reimbursed .... Vostochny Bank was not divided, so they decided to drown the founder of the fund. And under the squeezing out of the share of Eastern Sovcombank, the case was most likely started))))

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Военное обозрение

США решили усовершенствовать противоракетную оборону Гавайев

13
США решили усовершенствовать противоракетную оборону Гавайев

Комитет Палаты представителей по ассигнованиям утвердил в законопроекте о финансировании обороны на 2022 год выделение 75 млн. долларов на продолжение строительства радара на Гавайских островах.


Со слов конгрессмена США Эда Кейси, в общей сложности на оборону в 2022 году будет выделено 706 млрд. долларов. При этом часть этих средств будет направлена на усиление противоракетной обороны Гавайев в частности и Индо-Тихоокеанского региона в целом.

По мнению политика, такие меры, как оптимизация инфраструктуры Военно-морской верфи Перл-Харбор, на которую выделят более 2,2 млн. долларов, и продолжение строительства радара HDR-H на Гавайях являются крайне важными для данного региона.

Напомним, что решение о необходимости создания радиолокационной станции для защиты Гавайских островов от ракетного удара, в частности со стороны Северной Кореи, возникло еще в 2018 году. Тогда, в ходе проведения ложной ракетной тревоги, была установлена фактическая уязвимость штата.

Уже в декабре того же года был заключен контракт с компанией Lockheed Martin на сумму 585 миллионов долларов, предусматривающий разработку и строительство радара. Однако из-за различных перипетий, включая противодействие со стороны экологов, финансирование HDR-H началось лишь в прошлом году.

Стоит отметить, что первоначальной суммы, указанной в контракте, оказалось недостаточно. Так, общая стоимость создания гавайского радара оценивается Агентством противоракетной обороны в 1,9 миллиарда долларов.

В 2020 году на разработку радиолокационной станции было выделено 133 млн долларов. Эти средства, со слов представителей Агентства противоракетной обороны, были использованы на производство «критических компонентов радара» и необходимые в ходе разработки исследования.

Э. Кейнс, который является членом Комитета по ассигнованиям, подчеркнул, что он целенаправленно добивался восстановления финансирования гавайского радара. Он уверен, что будущая радиолокационная станция сможет эффективно выявлять и классифицировать конкретные ракетные угрозы и надежно защитит от них территорию островов.

В качестве места для размещения 85-футового радара пока по-прежнему рассматриваются учебный полигон Кахуку на Оаху и тихоокеанский ракетный полигон на Кауаи.

Впрочем, несмотря на выделение Конгрессом 75 млн. долларов на дальнейшую разработку радара, объект не включен в долгосрочное планирование программы Агентства противоракетной обороны. В Пентагоне считают, что маневрирование гиперзвуковых ракет требует пересмотра потребностей в наземных радарах и сосредоточения на космических средствах обнаружения ракетной угрозы.

Напоследок, Кейс отметил, что кроме гавайского радара поддержка предоставляется и другим элементам Тихоокеанской инициативы сдерживания (PDI), которая обеспечит американское преимущество в Индо-Тихоокеанском регионе и позволит противостоять угрозам, исходящим от Китая и других потенциальных противников США.
Автор:
13 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. mojohed2012
    mojohed2012 15 июля 2021 13:39
    -1
    Радар - это хорошо. А еще лучше, чтобы его строили еще лет так 20, и ежегодно выделяли и выделяли на него средства. Каковы шансы радара засечь подлетающие блоки гиперзвуковых авангардов - неизвестно, следовательно, а надо ли вообще этот радар.
    Северная Корея, думается, уже имеет ракеты, способные долететь до США.
    1. Например
      Например 15 июля 2021 14:00
      +1
      Так, общая стоимость создания гавайского радара оценивается Агентством противоракетной обороны в 1,9 миллиарда долларов.

      В 2020 году на разработку радиолокационной станции было выделено 133 млрд. долларов.


      Когда так много бабла легко запутаться в миллиардах.

      Нужно 1, 8 миллиарда, а в 2020 дали 133 миллиарда.

      Интересно кто ошибся?
      - автор заметки
      - или бухгалтерия в пентагоне?
      - или я ни чего не понял куда, кому, сколько, и нахерна так мнооооооооооого? laughing
    2. knn54
      knn54 15 июля 2021 14:05
      +1
      -и Индо-Тихоокеанского региона в целом.
      В 2023 году в Японии заступит на боевое дежурство еще один американский радар,который в силу большого радиуса действия сможет фиксировать пуски ПКР даже из континентальной части КНР.
      . Военные объекты появятся в префектурах Акита и Ямагути, что уже вызвало негативную реакцию местных администраций.
    3. Теренин
      Теренин 15 июля 2021 14:10
      +8
      США, в общей сложности на оборону в 2022 году будет выделено 706 млрд. долларов.

      Да, за эти деньги, с вероятным(и) противником(и) можно мирно пить столетие winked
      1. Alex777
        Alex777 15 июля 2021 20:49
        0
        ЕМНИП, около 70% военного бюджета Штатов уходит на содержание войск и баз. А если от бюджета отнять эти 70%, то на вооружение не так много и остается.
  2. ccsr
    ccsr 15 июля 2021 13:55
    +1
    Напомним, что решение о необходимости создания радиолокационной станции для защиты Гавайских островов от ракетного удара, в частности со стороны Северной Кореи, возникло еще в 2018 году. Тогда, в ходе проведения ложной ракетной тревоги, была установлена фактическая уязвимость штата.

    Красивая легенда, как и иранская угроза для НАТО.
    Могли бы честно признаться - китайская угроза стала реальной, вот и засуетились с Гавайями, как реальный элемент системы ПРО для Америки.
    1. URAL72
      URAL72 15 июля 2021 14:05
      +1
      Да, китайская угроза реальна, но Гавайи их не спасут, учитывая что Китай довольно быстро строит АПЛ с баллистическими ракетами. Пора переходить к обороне, строить ПРО под Сан Франциско.
      1. voyaka uh
        voyaka uh 16 июля 2021 10:29
        +1
        В Калифорнии есть ПРО. Система THAAD.
        Но основной перехват на среднем участке - с Аляски. Система GBI.
    2. LIONnvrsk
      LIONnvrsk 15 июля 2021 17:56
      0
      Цитата: ccsr
      китайская угроза стала реальной, вот и засуетились с Гавайями,

      Да куда уж китайцам, если амерцы на "Миссури" смогли на Гавайях под музыку АС/ДС инопланетян разгромить! yes
  3. Snegovok
    Snegovok 15 июля 2021 14:27
    +2
    было выделено 133 млрд. долларов.
    Очепятка наверное
  4. Serg65
    Serg65 15 июля 2021 14:55
    0
    США решили усовершенствовать противоракетную оборону Гавайев

    Сказ о том, ка четыре "никчемных" русских военных парохода обули США на 2 миллиарда американских президентов! laughing
  5. Чарик
    Чарик 15 июля 2021 15:24
    -1
    Гособвинение в четверг попросило приговорить основателя инвестиционного фонда Baring Vostok Майкла Калви к шести годам колонии условно, признав его виновным в растрате 2,5 млрд рублей,-И таких как этот вася много-и все они посидят чуток под домашним арестом или вообще ничего-звезду героя путятины и снова воровать у народа-короче вывод -воруй от сотни лямов -делись и гуляй
    1. Minus
      Minus 15 июля 2021 16:15
      +3
      Посмотрел информацию по этому делу. Мутно все.Ущерб вроде и есть, а вроде возмещен.... Не поделили банк Восточный, вот и решили утопить основателя фонда. И под отжимание доли Восточного Совкомбанком дело и завели скорее всего))))