Military Review

Reconstruction of the Baltic naval base is nearing completion

8

Ships DKBF at one of the berths of the Baltic naval base, 2010


Since 2012, the program of reconstruction of the naval base in the city of Baltiysk (Kaliningrad region) has been continuing. In 2015, the first stage of the program was completed, after which construction organizations began to implement the second. According to the latest news, the current work schedule provides for the completion of the last facilities by the end of 2021. Thanks to this, the Baltic Naval Base will acquire its final form and receive all the necessary capabilities.

Long story


On March 1, 1956, an order was signed by the Minister of Defense on the formation of a new first-class naval base in Baltiysk. She was supposed to become one of the main bases of the Red Banner Baltic fleet and ensure its access to the southern part of the Baltic Sea. The base was built on the basis of existing coastal infrastructure facilities; later they were reconstructed and supplemented or replaced with new ones.

At different times, various divisions and brigades of ships and boats for various purposes, parts of coastal troops and logistical support served on the Red Banner Baltic naval base. The composition of the units and formations at the base was regularly changed in accordance with the current tasks and needs of the Baltic Fleet.


Due to various reasons, not all objects of the Baltic Navy have undergone the necessary repairs and restoration in a timely manner. So, at the turn of the two thousandth and tenth years, during the engineering survey, it was found that the base's berths were in disrepair, and their equipment, at least, imposes serious restrictions on the operation of warships, boats and ships, incl. modern.

It was decided to carry out a full-scale reconstruction of the naval base with the restructuring of some of the facilities, replacement of worn out communications and networks, etc. The work started in 2012 and was carried out by several state organizations, including Spetsstroy. According to the plans of that time, all events were to be completed no later than 2020.

In two stages


In accordance with the reconstruction plan, construction organizations had to dismantle various structures that could not be repaired, as well as build new ones. In parallel, other facilities were being repaired. It was supposed to restore or rebuild more than 3 km of the mooring front, as well as to carry out work on a large number of land facilities for various purposes. To ensure the service of new ships of different types and ranks, the bottom was deepened - more than 1,3 million cubic meters of soil had to be raised.


Corvettes pr. 20380 "Boyky" and "Guarding" at the modernized pier, December 2020

The first stage of reconstruction of the Baltic naval base was completed in the fall of 2015. It was reported that by this time several berthing facilities with a total wall length of more than 1,6 km had been rebuilt. On an area of ​​about 20 thousand square meters, more than 300 thousand cubic meters of soil were raised. New buildings appeared on the shore for the headquarters of naval formations, training facilities, etc.

As reported, dismantling and construction work was generally on schedule. However, they often had to be interrupted: in the Baltiysk region, on land and at sea, there were still a lot of ammunition from the times of the Great Patriotic War, which required neutralization.

In the fall of 2016, the Ministry of Defense and Spetsstroy disclosed the details of the begun second stage of reconstruction. The main task during this period was the construction of new berths that meet the requirements of modern ships and have all the necessary communications. The deepening of the bottom continued in new areas.

The original plans to complete the renovation in 2020 were not fulfilled. However, by this time, almost all the main work had been completed. In August last year, it was reported about the successful completion of the overhaul of the berthing facilities. Almost required objects have been restored or rebuilt, as well as work has been carried out on the access roads. Almost all communications of the berths have been re-laid. The necessary funds have appeared on the shore, from power substations to wastewater treatment plants.


Naval parade in the Baltic naval base, 2018

As a result, all possibilities for basing ships were provided with an increase in energy efficiency and environmental safety. In the near future, it was planned to complete the construction of the remaining facilities, complete the second stage of reconstruction - and the entire program as a whole.

In January 2021, the Ministry of Defense revealed new details and clarified plans. By this time, a complete replacement of communications took place at 16 berths out of 20 available. More than 3 km of the mooring front was renovated and other activities were carried out. Commissioning work continued at infrastructure facilities. The last funds of the base were going to be commissioned by the end of the year.

On July 29, Izvestia, citing its source in the Ministry of Defense, confirmed plans and a schedule to complete the reconstruction this year. However, it is not ruled out that some work will have to be completed as early as 2022. However, in any case, a complete renovation of the main base of the Double Red Banner Baltic Fleet is a matter of the near future.

New opportunities


The reconstruction of the Baltic naval base has two main goals. The first is the preservation of the key facility of the DKBF, which ensures the activities of several ship and coastal formations. Over the decades of active operation, the infrastructure of the base has worn out, some of the facilities have reached an emergency state. Now it has been restored and supplemented with new objects.


The second goal is to expand the capabilities of Baltiysk for the basing of warships and auxiliary vessels. New communications and facilities have been improved and strengthened taking into account the requirements of the operation of large ships, high-ranking combat units and modern technology.

Such opportunities are already being used. So, it is in Baltiysk that there are four corvettes of project 20380, attributed to the 2nd rank. In the near future, after repairs, the destroyer Nastoichivy pr. 956A, the flagship of the Baltic Fleet and its only 1st rank ship, will return to the base. It should be expected that in the future, as the shipbuilding program continues, new combat units of all main classes and different ranks will appear at the berths of the Baltic naval base.

Due to the restructuring of most of the facilities, the conditions of service for personnel have been improved. New training facilities have been built to improve the efficiency of training.

Strategic importance


The Baltic Fleet has several basing points at its disposal, divided between the Baltic and Leningrad naval bases. In this case, the main base of the fleet is the Baltic. It has a number of features that determine its special value for the Baltic Fleet and the Navy as a whole.


It is in Baltiysk that most of the DKBF ships serve. The base provides direct access to the Baltic Sea, without the need to cross the Gulf of Finland. At the same time, it is located on the territory of the Kaliningrad region, separated from the main part of the country, which imposes some restrictions, but expands operational capabilities.

In fact, the state and capabilities of the Baltic naval base have a decisive influence on the potential of the Red Banner Baltic Fleet, and also determine the capabilities of the Russian armed forces in the region. The absence of such a base, its ships and coastal units, would seriously complicate activities in the Baltic Sea and nearby regions - and could negatively affect the organization of the defense of the country's western borders.

As a result of several decades of active operation, almost all objects of the Baltic naval base were worn out, which became an indirect threat to the security of the Kaliningrad region and the western borders. In recent years, the infrastructure of the base has been restored and rebuilt, which allows not only to get rid of such problems, but also to increase the potential of the Baltic Fleet.

Thus, the reconstruction of the Baltic naval base is one of the most important modern military construction projects. The restructuring and modernization program also turned out to be one of the most lengthy, complex and expensive, but all efforts are already paying off thanks to the expansion of the base's capabilities and the growth of its potential in the context of protecting the country's maritime borders.
Author:
Photos used:
RF Ministry of Defense, Wikimedia Commons
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. lucul
    lucul 2 August 2021 18: 09
    +4
    Almost required objects have been restored or rebuilt, as well as work has been carried out on the access roads. Almost all communications of the berths have been re-laid. The necessary funds have appeared on the shore, from power substations to wastewater treatment plants.

    This makes me happy.
    It would not hurt to update communications at all other naval bases in Russia (at least key ones) so that ships do not use up their engine resources at the berth.
    1. Anachoret
      Anachoret 2 August 2021 18: 16
      +5
      Hopefully, step by step, all databases will be updated in order of priority)
  2. SERGE ANT
    SERGE ANT 2 August 2021 18: 16
    +9
    Good news! It's even more exciting that
    In addition to modernization in the Kaliningrad region, large-scale infrastructure projects for the Navy are underway in other regions. A new base for the Caspian flotilla is being built in the Dagestan Caspian. The Novorossiysk naval base is being built and the Sevastopol naval base is being updated. The main bases in the Arctic and Pacific oceans are also being reconstructed.
  3. knn54
    knn54 2 August 2021 18: 57
    +4
    A lot of tunnels were dug under the city Where they could not be found out - they were all mined. The Soviet command did not risk the life of the sappers, and all approaches to underground communications were simply walled up. The technical documentation of the city, including engineering and communal services, castle structures, was taken by the Germans to Germany.
    The situation is not pleasant.
  4. xomaNN
    xomaNN 2 August 2021 20: 13
    +7
    Taking into account the militant raids (so far oral) of pshek and other NATO warriors on the Kaliningrad enclave of the Russian Federation and the Baltiysk naval base, one must think about strengthening the air defense / missile defense of the base, dispersing the sides and doing the necessary infrastructure. So that the motorcycle resource of ships is not wasted
  5. tralflot1832
    tralflot1832 2 August 2021 21: 06
    +1
    I looked at the Baltic base from the satellite, I hope the patrol beyond the Curonian Spit is always present. Yes, and it is quite fun for ships to leave the base "all of a sudden". And the fact that the infrastructure is being modernized is a big plus.
  6. stalkerwalker
    stalkerwalker 3 August 2021 00: 09
    +1
    Where is Boa KAA?
    Only he can comment on this news, which he reported about almost half a year ago ...
  7. tihonmarine
    tihonmarine 3 August 2021 10: 05
    +2
    It is in Baltiysk that most of the DKBF ships serve.

    It cannot be after 1991 to be Twice Red Banner. This is our youth and for us he is the DKBF, but not for the government.

Военное обозрение

Реконструкция Балтийской военно-морской базы завершается

8

Корабли ДКБФ у одного из причалов Балтийской ВМБ, 2010 г.


С 2012 г. продолжается программа реконструкции военно-морской базы в г. Балтийск (Калининградская область). В 2015 г. был завершен первый этап программы, после чего строительные организации приступили к выполнению второго. Согласно последним новостям, актуальный график выполнения работ предусматривает сдачу последних объектов до конца 2021 г. Благодаря этому Балтийская ВМБ приобретет окончательный вид и получит все необходимые возможности.

Долгая история


1 марта 1956 г. был подписан приказ министра обороны о формировании в Балтийске новой ВМБ первого класса. Она должна была стать одним из основных пунктов базирования Краснознаменного Балтийского флота и обеспечивать его доступ в южную часть Балтийского моря. База строилась на основе уже существующих объектов береговой инфраструктуры; в дальнейшем они реконструировались и дополнялись или заменялись новыми.

В разное время на Краснознаменной Балтийской ВМБ несли службу разные дивизионы и бригады кораблей и катеров различного назначения, части береговых войск и тылового обеспечения. Состав подразделений и соединений на базе регулярно изменялся в соответствии с текущими задачами и нуждами Балтийского флота.


В силу разных причин, не все объекты Балтийской ВМФ своевременно проходили необходимый ремонт и восстановление. Так, на рубеже двухтысячных и десятых годов в ходе инженерного обследования было установлено, что причалы базы находятся в аварийном состоянии, а их оснащение, как минимум, накладывает серьезные ограничения на работу боевых кораблей, катеров и судов, в т.ч. современных.

Было принято решение о проведении полномасштабной реконструкции ВМБ с перестройкой части объектов, заменой изношенных коммуникаций и сетей и т.д. Работы стартовали в 2012 г. и проводились силами нескольких государственных организаций, включая Спецстрой. Согласно планам того времени, все мероприятия должны были завершиться не позднее 2020 г.

В два этапа


В соответствии с планом реконструкции, строительные организации должны были демонтировать различные сооружения, не подлежащие ремонту, а также построить новые. Параллельно осуществлялся ремонт прочих объектов. Предполагалось восстановить или построить заново более 3 км причального фронта, а также провести работы на большом количестве сухопутных объектов разного назначения. Для обеспечения службы новых кораблей разных типов и рангов проводилось углубление дна – следовало поднять более 1,3 млн куб.м грунта.


Корветы пр. 20380 "Бойкий" и "Стерегущий" у модернизированного причала, декабрь 2020 г.

Первый этап реконструкции Балтийской ВМБ завершили осенью 2015 г. Сообщалось, что к этому времени перестроено несколько причальных сооружений с общей длиной стенок более 1,6 км. На площади порядка 20 тыс.кв.м подняли свыше 300 тыс.куб.м грунта. На берегу появились новые здания под штабы флотских соединений, учебные объекты и т.д.

Как сообщалось, демонтажные и строительные работы в целом укладывались в установленный график. Однако нередко их приходилось прерывать: в районе Балтийска, на земле и в море, до сих пор оставалось множество боеприпасов времен Великой Отечественной войны, требовавших обезвреживания.

Осенью 2016 г. Минобороны и Спецстрой раскрыли подробности начатого второго этапа реконструкции. Основной задачей в этот период являлось строительство новых причалов, соответствующих требованиям современных кораблей и имеющих все необходимые коммуникации. Продолжалось углубление дна на новых участках.

Изначальные планы по завершению реконструкции в 2020 г. выполнить не удалось. Однако к этому сроку были проведены почти все основные работы. В августе прошлого года сообщалось об успешном завершении капитального ремонта причальных сооружений. Восстановлены или перестроены почти требуемые объекты, а также проведены работы на подъездных путях. Почти все коммуникации причалов проложены заново. На берегу появились необходимые средства, от подстанций энергоснабжения до станций очистки сточных вод.


Военно-морской парад в Балтийской ВМБ, 2018 г.

В итоге обеспечены все возможности по базированию кораблей с повышением энергоэффективности и экологической безопасности. В ближайшее время предполагалось завершить строительство оставшихся объектов, закончить второй этап реконструкции – и всю программу в целом.

В январе 2021 г. Минобороны раскрыло новые подробности и уточнило планы. К этому времени полная замена коммуникаций прошла на 16 причалах из 20 имеющихся. Было обновлено более 3 км причального фронта и выполнены другие мероприятия. Продолжались пуско-наладочные работы на объектах инфраструктуры. Последние средства базы собирались сдать в эксплуатацию до конца года.

29 июля «Известия» со ссылкой на свой источник в Минобороны подтвердили наличие планов и графика по завершению реконструкции в этом году. Впрочем, пока не исключается, что отдельные работы придется заканчивать уже в 2022-м. Однако в любом случае полное обновление главной базы Дважды Краснознаменного Балтийского флота является делом ближайшего времени.

Новые возможности


Реконструкция Балтийской ВМБ преследует две основные цели. Первая – сохранение ключевого объекта ДКБФ, обеспечивающего деятельность нескольких корабельных и береговых соединений. За десятилетия активной эксплуатации инфраструктура базы износилась, часть объектов дошла до аварийного состояния. Теперь ее восстановили и дополнили новыми объектами.


Вторая цель заключается в расширении возможностей Балтийска по базированию боевых кораблей и вспомогательных судов. Новые коммуникации и объекты улучшены и усилены с учетом требований эксплуатации крупных кораблей, боевых единиц высоких рангов и современной техники.

Такие возможности уже используются. Так, именно в Балтийске служат четыре корвета пр. 20380, относимые к 2 рангу. В ближайшем будущем после ремонта на базу вернется эсминец «Настойчивый» пр. 956А – флагман Балтийского флота и единственный его корабль 1 ранга. Следует ожидать, что в будущем, по мере продолжения кораблестроительной программы, у причалов Балтийской ВМБ будут появляться новые боевые единицы всех основных классов и разных рангов.

За счет перестройки большей части объектов улучшены условия службы личного состава. Построены новые учебные объекты, призванные повысить эффективность подготовки.

Стратегическая важность


В распоряжении Балтийского флота имеется несколько пунктов базирования, разделенных между Балтийской и Ленинградской военно-морскими базами. При этом главной базой флота является Балтийская. Она имеет ряд особенностей, определяющей ее особую ценность для Балтийского флота и ВМФ в целом.


Именно в Балтийске служит большая часть кораблей ДКБФ. База обеспечивает прямой доступ в Балтийское море, без необходимости прохождения через Финский залив. При этом она расположена на территории Калининградской области, отделенной от основной части страны, что накладывает некоторые ограничения, но расширяет оперативные возможности.

По сути, состояние и возможности Балтийской ВМБ оказывают решающее влияние на потенциал КБФ, а также определяют возможности российских вооруженных сил в регионе. Отсутствие такой базы, ее кораблей и береговых частей, серьезно затруднило бы деятельность в Балтийском море и близлежащих регионах – и могло бы негативно сказаться на организации обороны западных рубежей страны.

По результатам нескольких десятилетий активной эксплуатации практически все объекты Балтийской ВМБ были изношены, что стало косвенной угрозой безопасности Калининградской области и западных границ. В последние годы инфраструктура базы была восстановлена и перестроена, что позволяет не только избавиться от подобных проблем, но и повысить потенциал Балтийского флота.

Таким образом, реконструкция Балтийской военно-морской базы является одним из самых важных современных проектов военного строительства. Программа перестройки и модернизации также оказалась одной из самых длительных, сложных и дорогих, но все усилия уже окупаются благодаря расширению возможностей базы и росту ее потенциала в контексте защиты морских рубежей страны.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Минобороны РФ, Wikimedia Commons
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. lucul
    lucul 2 августа 2021 18:09
    +4
    Восстановлены или перестроены почти требуемые объекты, а также проведены работы на подъездных путях. Почти все коммуникации причалов проложены заново. На берегу появились необходимые средства, от подстанций энергоснабжения до станций очистки сточных вод.

    Это радует.
    Не мешало бы и на всех остальных военно-морских базах России (хотябы ключевых) ,комуникации обновить ,чтобы корабли моторесурс двигателей не расходовали у причала.
    1. Анахорет
      Анахорет 2 августа 2021 18:16
      +5
      Надеюсь, поэтапно по всем базам обновятся в порядке приоритетов)
  2. СЕРЖ ант
    СЕРЖ ант 2 августа 2021 18:16
    +9
    Хорошая новость!Еще более радует,что
    Помимо модернизации в Калининградской области крупномасштабные инфраструктурные проекты для ВМФ ведутся и в других регионах. Новая база для Каспийской флотилии возводится в дагестанском Каспийске. Строится Новороссийская ВМБ и обновляется Севастопольская. Реконструируют и основные пункты базирования в Северном Ледовитом и Тихом океанах.
  3. knn54
    knn54 2 августа 2021 18:57
    +4
    Под городом была прорыта масса туннелей Куда они выяснить так и не удалось – все они были заминированы. Рисковать жизнью саперов советское командование не стало, и все подступы к подземным коммуникациям просто замуровали. Техническую документацию города, в том числе инженерную и коммунального хозяйства, замковых сооружений, немцы вывезли в Германию.
    Ситуация не из приятных.
  4. xomaNN
    xomaNN 2 августа 2021 20:13
    +7
    С учётом воинственных наездов ( пока устных) пшеков и прочих натовских вояк на Калининградский анклав РФ и ВМБ Балтийск надо-надо думать о усилении ПВО/ПРО базы, рассредоточении бортов и инфраструктуру нужную делать. Чтобы мото-ресурс кораблей не мотать впустую
  5. tralflot1832
    tralflot1832 2 августа 2021 21:06
    +1
    Посмотрел со спутника Балтийскую базу ,надеюсь дозор за Куршской косой всегда присутствует.Да и с базы кораблям выходить" все вдруг " довольно весело.А то что инфраструктуру модернезируют большой плюсище.
  6. stalkerwalker
    stalkerwalker 3 августа 2021 00:09
    +1
    Где Удав КАА?
    Только он может прокомментировать сию новость, о которой он же сообщал чуть ли не пол-года назад...
  7. tihonmarine
    tihonmarine 3 августа 2021 10:05
    +2
    Именно в Балтийске служит большая часть кораблей ДКБФ.

    Не может быть после 1991 года быть Дважды Краснознамённым. Это наша молодость и для нас он ДКБФ, но не для государственной власти.