Military Review

US to build new submarines with strategic missiles

9
September 6 marks the fifteenth anniversary of the introduction of the USS “Louisiana” nuclear submarine (SSBN-743) into the US Navy. This submarine was the last ship of the project "Ohio" ("Ohio"), launched in the seventies. In 2002, after the withdrawal from the composition fleet Ohio's Benjamin Franklin project boats remained the only American type of nuclear submarine with ballistic missiles. Since then, a lot of time has passed and it is time to begin creating new projects of submarines, which will replace the existing ones.

The last days have been fruitful on events concerning the future of the American and British submarine fleets. At first, on August 31, the Washington Navy Yard Washington Shipyard signed the basic requirements for prospective boats, and on September 6 there were reports that the fleet command had approved these requirements. The approved package of documents is the first step towards the creation of two projects at once: the American “Ohio Replacement” (“Replacement for Ohio”) and the English “Successor”. The signing of the papers was not without loud statements. According to the head of the Ohio Replacement program, V. Brukhema, the certified document marks a significant advance in the construction of strategic submarines.

The content of the technical requirements documentation has not yet been fully announced - only approximate terms for its implementation were announced. From the above it follows that new submarines will be in service for several decades and will be able to set a new record for the duration of service. So, the construction of the first boat is now planned for the 2021 fiscal year. In 2027, the lead submarine will be handed over to the fleet, and through 3-4 of the year, she will go on her first duty with missiles on board. Construction of the entire series will last until 2040-45's, when "Ohio Replacement" will be the only type of submarines in service. However, the timing of deliveries of new boats, but the timing of their cancellation, looks much more interesting. According to those responsible for the Ohio Replacement program, submarines of this type will plow the oceans until the 2080 year. For this reason, now we have to take into account a number of technical issues, as well as the features of especially long-term operation.

One of the problems that the customer and potential contractors face is the provision of new boats with the possibility of using such strategic missiles that are not only not yet existing, but are not even planned for the time being. To this end, the question of the maximum unification of launching devices for ballistic missiles or even the creation of a universal mine for submarines is currently being worked out. Such devices should be installed on the "Ohio Replacement", which will allow to re-equip the boat with a relatively small effort. In addition, new universal launch shafts will become the basis of armament not only for American submarines. The English prospective Successor project will also receive this equipment, which is expected to be jointly developed by the United States and the United Kingdom.

US to build new submarines with strategic missiles


It is not clear yet which missiles will form the basis of the armament of the boats created by the Ohio Replacement program. It will probably be new ballistic missiles continuing the current American Trident SLBM line. However, so far there are no reports of the existence or at least plans to create a "Trident III" or another promising missile. At the same time, we can already speak about the approximate characteristics of the main armament of promising boats. At recent events, fleet representatives made the reservation that the existing 14 “Ohio” submarines could be replaced only with the 12 submarines. From this it is possible to draw certain conclusions regarding the combat potential and requirements for new missiles. Probably, the number of missiles will be compensated by their quality, namely, an even higher range and a greater number of warheads.

Interestingly announced approach to the creation of new boats. Earlier, in the 1995, the UGM-133A “Trident II” D5 missiles were adopted by the British Navy as weapons for “Vanguard” type boats. Adoption was preceded by a number of military-technical agreements, the transfer of relevant documentation, etc. In this case, the developers of the missiles remained the United States. Now, apparently, the role of Britain in the creation of new weapons will be much greater. British engineers, at least, will take part in the creation of universal launchers for their own and American nuclear submarines. It is possible that in the very near future it will become known about a similar approach to the development of promising missiles themselves, but there is no official information on this issue yet.

The announced project of a new submarine with ballistic missiles is interesting for several reasons at once. Firstly, the creation of such military equipment always attracts attention. Secondly, the Ohio Replacement program should lead to a complete replacement of existing Ohio-type boats, which are currently the only American ballistic missile submarines. Finally, the estimated service life of new submarines looks ambiguous, which also stirs public interest. Given the American practice of lighting and advertising of such projects, in the very near future we can expect new messages, and not necessarily positive ones. It may well be that, due to the complexity of the tasks assigned, new SSBNs and missiles for them will be created with a significant lag behind the originally set deadlines.


On the materials of the sites:
http://navy.mil/
http://vz.ru/
http://fas.org/
http://globalsecurity.org/
Author:
9 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Civil
    Civil 11 September 2012 09: 09
    +4
    In addition, the new universal launch mines will become the basis of weapons not only for American submarines. The successful English project Successor will also receive this equipment, which is expected to be jointly developed by the United States and Great Britain.


    It’s high time to go around all the arms limitation treaties as a conditional adversary, for example, to help Belarus develop medium-range missiles and lease warheads for them.
    1. Tirpitz
      Tirpitz 11 September 2012 09: 19
      +8
      Not for rent - this is not serious. It is necessary to conclude an agreement on the deployment of tactical nuclear weapons. After all, they are part of the CSTO.
  2. Sasha 19871987
    Sasha 19871987 11 September 2012 09: 29
    +2
    exactly, in the opinion of the aforementioned person there is some truth
  3. cucun
    cucun 11 September 2012 11: 03
    +1
    Maybe now the "liberals" will understand what the rearmament program is for? Although unlikely ...
  4. Tirpitz
    Tirpitz 11 September 2012 11: 48
    +1
    USA Again want to leave the gap. As soon as the Russian Federation plans to adopt the US, it is taken for the development of a more modern one.
  5. Redpartyzan
    Redpartyzan 11 September 2012 13: 03
    +4
    This is the arms race. I'll try to reassure you. Our projects 955 and 885 are very, very promising and the boats are already being commissioned. There is no ghostly date 2021. And most importantly, Northwind and Ash are in no way inferior to Ohio and Virginia, and even surpass in some ways. The main thing is that the program is completed and the boats go into operation on time.
    1. Diesel
      Diesel 11 September 2012 13: 37
      +4
      Quote: Redpartyzan
      borea and ash tree are in no way inferior to ohio and virginia


      And on the basis of what data did you draw these conclusions? Share ... For example, a mace on boreas is not impressive what
      1. Diesel
        Diesel 11 September 2012 17: 15
        -1
        Who draws cons cons quietly there is no chtoli? I, too, are heroes ..... If you put it so write for what .... For the truth? I don’t exclude that the Northwind and ash are not worse, and maybe even better, but so far they haven’t even been accepted into the fleet, and they shouted at all that we’ll accept them in 2009 and we will have 8 boats each by 2015, unless ?
        1. bulgurkhan
          bulgurkhan 11 September 2012 21: 34
          +2
          And here, some do not need technical data and an objective picture. They would bark the adversary.
          1. gor
            gor 11 September 2012 22: 40
            +1
            do not bark, but wrap around))))))))))
            1. BeTeP
              BeTeP 12 September 2012 11: 04
              +1
              I would also listen more attentively especially about the ash tree ... the Northwind seemed to start flying all the same, but still not impressive ... Who would undertake to compare the Northwind and Trident 2 - it would be very interesting to read ... especially regarding the weight to be thrown under the terms of contracts START
  6. gregor6549
    gregor6549 11 September 2012 16: 34
    0
    Well, of course. Borey, Ash, Bulava sound so menacing and poetic. How is it there ? "I asked the ash tree, and he gave me a club ..." High and pure emotions, in nature. Another would be technical analysis ...
  7. AlexMH
    AlexMH 11 September 2012 20: 28
    +2
    It is unlikely that these boats will be built in the planned quantity. The program is very ambitious and costly, and the US budget has already had to abandon a number of advanced developments, such as a flying laser and a new Marine Corps vehicle. On the eve of the crisis, adopting such a large-scale shipbuilding program is more of a propaganda trick. Actually, they will rather cling to missile defense work to the last (from a financial point of view), and the Ohio are fairly modern boats, especially in the absence of active opposition - the ocean is all around, swim wherever you want, not like ours, who still have an anti-submarine line take place in the North.
  8. maxiv1979
    maxiv1979 12 September 2012 13: 59
    0
    yes, the amers are in no hurry yet, there is no threat to their underwater missile carriers, and until it is foreseen, Ohio can sail with D5 for a very long time.

США построят новые подлодки со стратегическими ракетами

США построят новые подлодки со стратегическими ракетами6 сентября исполнилось пятнадцать лет со дня ввода в боевой состав американских ВМС атомной подводной лодки USS «Louisiana» (SSBN-743). Эта субмарина стала последним кораблем проекта «Ohio» («Огайо»), начатого еще в семидесятых. В 2002 году после вывода из состава флота лодок проекта «Benjamin Franklin» «Огайо» остались единственным американским типом атомных подлодок с баллистическими ракетами. С тех пор прошло уже немало времени и пора начинать создание новых проектов подводных кораблей, которые придут на смену имеющимся.

Последние дни оказались плодовитыми на события, касающиеся будущего американского и британского подводных флотов. Сначала, 31 августа, на вашингтонском судостроительном заводе Washington Navy Yard были подписаны основные требования к перспективным лодкам, а 6 сентября поступили сообщения об утверждении этих требований командованием флота. Утвержденный пакет документов является первым шагом в направлении создания сразу двух проектов: американского «Ohio Replacement» («Замена для “Огайо”») и английского «Successor». Подписание бумаг не обошлось без громких заявлений. По словам руководителя программы «Ohio Replacement» В. Брухема, заверенный документ знаменует значительное продвижение в деле строительства стратегических лодок.

Содержание документации по техническим требованиям полностью пока не оглашалось – были названы только примерные сроки его воплощения. Из рассказанного следует, что новые подлодки будут в строю несколько десятилетий и смогут установить новый рекорд продолжительности службы. Так, строительство первой лодки сейчас планируется на 2021 финансовый год. В 2027 году головную субмарину передадут флоту, а еще через 3-4 года она отправится на свое первое дежурство с ракетами на борту. Строительство всей серии продлится до 2040-45 годов, когда «Ohio Replacement» станут единственным типом субмарин, находящимся в строю. Однако куда более интересными выглядят не сроки поставок новых лодок, но сроки их списания. По словам ответственных за программу «Ohio Replacement», подводные корабли этого типа будут бороздить океаны до 2080 года. По этой причине уже сейчас приходится учитывать ряд технических моментов, а также особенности особо длительной эксплуатации.


Одной из проблем, которая стоит перед заказчиком и потенциальными подрядчиками, является обеспечение новых лодок возможностью использования таких стратегических ракет, которые не только еще не существуют, но и пока даже не планируются. С этой целью в настоящее время прорабатывается вопрос максимальной унификации пусковых устройств для баллистических ракет или даже создания универсальной шахты для подводных лодок. Подобные устройства должны будут устанавливаться на «Ohio Replacement», что позволит перевооружать лодки сравнительно малыми усилиями. Кроме того, новые универсальные пусковые шахты станут основой вооружения не только американских подлодок. Английский перспективный проект «Successor» тоже получит эту аппаратуру, которая, как ожидается, будет сообща разрабатываться США и Великобританией.

США построят новые подлодки со стратегическими ракетами


Пока не понятно, какие ракеты составят основу вооружения лодок, создаваемых по программе «Ohio Replacement». Вероятно, это будут новые баллистические ракеты, продолжающие текущую американскую линейку БРПЛ «Trident». Однако пока нет никаких сообщений о существовании или хотя бы планах на создание «Trident III» или другой перспективной ракеты. В то же время, уже сейчас можно говорить о примерных характеристиках главного вооружения перспективных лодок. В ходе недавних мероприятий представители флота оговорились, что имеющиеся 14 подлодок «Огайо» можно будет заменить только 12 перспективными. Из этого можно сделать определенные выводы относительно боевого потенциала и требований к новым ракетам. Вероятно, количество ракет будет компенсировано их качеством, а именно еще более высокой дальностью и большим числом боевых блоков.

Интересен объявленный подход к созданию новых лодок. Ранее, в 1995 году ракеты UGM-133A «Trident II» D5 были приняты на вооружение британских военно-морских сил в качестве вооружения для лодок типа «Vanguard». Принятию на вооружение предшествовал ряд военно-технических договоренностей, передача соответствующей документации и т.д. При этом разработчиком ракет оставались США. Теперь, по-видимому, роль Великобритании в создании нового вооружения будет гораздо больше. Английские инженеры, как минимум, поучаствуют в создании универсальных пусковых установок для своих и американских атомных подводных лодок. Возможно, в самом ближайшем будущем станет известно и о подобном подходе к разработке самих перспективных ракет, но по этому вопросу пока нет официальной информации.

Анонсированный проект новой подводной лодки с баллистическими ракетами интересен сразу по нескольким причинам. Во-первых, создание подобной военной техники всегда привлекает внимание. Во-вторых, программа «Ohio Replacement» должна привести к полной замене имеющихся лодок типа «Огайо», которые в настоящее время являются единственными американскими субмаринами с баллистическими ракетами. Наконец, предполагаемые сроки эксплуатации новых подводных кораблей выглядят неоднозначно, что тоже подогревает интерес общественности. С учетом американской практики освещения и рекламы подобных проектов, в самое ближайшее время стоит ожидать новые сообщения, причем не обязательно позитивные. Вполне может оказаться, что из-за сложности поставленных задач новые ПЛАРБ и ракеты к ним будут созданы со значительным отставанием от первоначально поставленных сроков.


По материалам сайтов:
http://navy.mil/
http://vz.ru/
http://fas.org/
http://globalsecurity.org/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 9
  1. Гражданский 11 сентября 2012 09:09
    Кроме того, новые универсальные пусковые шахты станут основой вооружения не только американских подлодок. Английский перспективный проект Successor тоже получит эту аппаратуру, которая, как ожидается, будет сообща разрабатываться США и Великобританией.


    давно пора объезжать все договоры по ограничению вооружений как условный противник, например помочь Белоруси разработать ракеты средней дальности и предоставить в аренду боеголовки к ним.
    1. Tirpitz 11 сентября 2012 09:19
      Не в аренду - это не серьезно. Надо заключить договор о размещении тактического ЯО. Они ведь в ОДКБ входят.
      Tirpitz
  2. саша 19871987 11 сентября 2012 09:29
    точно точно,в мнение вышеупомянутого человека есть доля истины
  3. cucun 11 сентября 2012 11:03
    Может теперь "либерастам" будет понятнее для чего необходима программа перевооружения? Хотя вряд ли....
  4. Tirpitz 11 сентября 2012 11:48
    США Опять хотят в отрыв уйти. Как только в РФ планируют принять на вооружение США принимается за разработку более современного.
    Tirpitz
  5. Redpartyzan 11 сентября 2012 13:03
    В этом и заключается гонка вооружений. Попытаюсь вас успокоить. Наши проекты 955 и 885 весьма и весьма перспективны и лодки уже вводятся в строй. Нет призрачной даты 2021 год. И что самое главное борей и ясень ну ни в чем не уступают огайо и вирджинии и в чем то даже превосходят. Главное чтобы программу выполнили и лодки вступали в строй вовремя.
    Redpartyzan
    1. Diesel 11 сентября 2012 13:37
      Цитата: Redpartyzan
      борей и ясень ну ни в чем не уступают огайо и вирджинии


      А на основе каких данных вы сделали эти выводы? Поделитесь... Например Булава на бореях не впечатляет what
      Diesel
      1. Diesel 11 сентября 2012 17:15
        Кто минусы лепит втихаря своего мнения нет чтоли? Тоже мне герои..... Если поставили так напишите за что.... За правду? Я же не исключаю что борей и ясень не хуже,а возможно даже лучше,но пока их даже в состав флота не приняли,а кричали вообще что примем аж в 2009 году и лодок у нас будет по 8 штук каждой к 2015 году,разве нет?
        Diesel
        1. bulgurkhan 11 сентября 2012 21:34
          А здесь некоторым не нужны технические данные и объективная картина.Им бы супостата облаять.
          bulgurkhan
          1. gor 11 сентября 2012 22:40
            не облаять,а облеять)))))))))
            gor
            1. BeTeP 12 сентября 2012 11:04
              я бы тоже послушал внимательней особенно про ясень... борей вроде летать все таки начал, но все равно не впечатляет... Кто бы взялся сравнить борей и тридент 2 - было бы очень интересно почитать... особенно касательно забрасываемого веса в условиях договоров СНВ
              BeTeP
  6. gregor6549 11 сентября 2012 16:34
    Ну как же. Борей, Ясень, Булава звучат так грозно и поэтично. Как там ? "Я спросил у ясеня, а он мне булавой..." Высокие и чистые эмоции, в натуре. Еще бы технический анализ присутствовал...
  7. AlexMH 11 сентября 2012 20:28
    Вряд ли эти лодки будут построены в планируемом количестве. Программа очень амбициозная и затратная, а американский бюджет уже вынужден был отказаться от ряда передовых разработок, типа летающего лазера и новой машины морской пехоты. В преддверии же кризиса принимать такую масштабную кораблестроительную программу - это скорее пропагандистский трюк. Собственно, скорее они будут до последнего (с финансовой точки зрения) цепляться за работы по ПРО, а "Огайо" - достаточно современные лодки, тем более в отсутствии активного противодействия - кругом океан, плавай где хочешь, не как нашим, которым еще противолодочный рубеж проходить на Севере.
    AlexMH
  8. maxiv1979 12 сентября 2012 13:59
    да, амерам торопится пока некуда, угрозы их подводным ракетоносцам нет и пока не предвидется, еще очень долго Огайо могут плавать с D5.
    maxiv1979

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня