Military Review

"Didn't strike!" or how the armor of tanks changed

11
In modern tanks about 60% of the mass is armor. It is a mix of steel and ceramic, reinforced with reactive armor, which neutralizes cumulative and kinetic ammunition. There is also an active defense that knocks down enemy shells while still approaching. The armor is created with the expectation that it will be fired at from the same weapons as on the tank. All systems are constantly being improved, but this was not always the case.


The first tanks were developed to overcome trenches, trenches and suppress machine guns, so the infantry was their opponent. The designers could afford to put the armor just at right angles. Its thickness was the same from any angle - a tank that crossed the line of trenches could be fired at from all sides. Until the mid-1930s, this was quite enough, because no one had a decent artillery response by that time.

The situation changed by the start of the Spanish Civil War. Anti-tank guns of 20-37 mm caliber easily destroyed any Italian, Soviet and German armored vehicles of that time, and thus marked the beginning of a new round of competition between armor and shells.


The tanks began to be made "thicker". When assembling the hulls, engineers abandoned rivets and bolts in favor of welding and casting. Even the composition of the armor steel has changed. The French were the pioneers among the "thick-skinned" machines with rational angles of inclination of the armor, but for us the Soviet T-34 was the symbol of a new era. It was designed according to the rules that became decisive for the tank building school of the USSR: the most dense arrangement of nodes, a low silhouette and rational angles of inclination of the armor.

The Great Patriotic War pitted two schools of tank building - Soviet and German, and their rivalry brought the armoring of equipment to a completely new level. Initially, the "strongest" tank in the Wehrmacht was the Panzerkampfwagen IV Ausf. F. The hull forehead was protected by 50 mm of steel, sides and stern - 30 and 22 mm, respectively. The Red Army considered the KV-1 to be a heavyweight. Its booking can be called uniform - 75 mm in the frontal projection and along the sides, as well as 70 mm in the rear. It was difficult to pierce this car even in the stern, therefore, during the war, its armor was often cut off. Despite this, she perfectly performed combat missions. The advantage at the start of the race allowed the USSR to focus on production technologies in which clear successes were noticeable. Assembly record of one T-34 - half an hour!


In 1943, the Germans brought their armored response to serial production - the Tiger and Panther tanks. Their creation indicated that Germany was no longer counting on a blitzkrieg strategy. The mobility and power reserve of these vehicles did not allow them to go on raids on the rear, but the firepower made it possible to penetrate the T-34 and KV-1 from long distances. When designing new tanks, German designers tried to create invulnerable equipment that could go to the battlefield and destroy everyone. The armor of the Tiger and Panther was almost impenetrable for the enemy, but the vehicles were very heavy.

The last creation of the engineers of fascist Germany was the Tiger II. It is considered by some to be the most powerful tank of the Second World War. The front of the vehicle hull was a 150-mm armor plate, the sides and stern were protected by 82 mm of steel. All this was located at rational angles, and for greater strength, the body parts were connected into a spike. The Red Army, in turn, ended the war with the IS-2 tank: 120, 90 and 60 mm steel in the forehead, sides and stern, respectively. It could withstand a shot from a German 88 mm anti-tank gun. However, it is difficult to judge which of the vehicles had the best protection. Although the armor of the "King Tiger" was thicker in the frontal projection, it often cracked when hit by shells.


For more details on booking combat vehicles, see the video from Wargaming.

Author:
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Nafanya from the sofa
    Nafanya from the sofa 11 September 2021 08: 59
    +5
    The armor of the Tiger and Panther was almost impenetrable for the enemy, but the vehicles were very heavy.

    Will the paper endure everything and the people grab everything?
    1. Niko
      Niko 11 September 2021 12: 49
      +6
      "The record of assembling one T-34 in half an hour" is also strong, what does the author mean by assembling? But by the way, there are many "authors" on VO who do not distinguish computer games from reality
      1. Machito
        Machito 12 September 2021 09: 52
        +3
        Didn't strike. Ahaha laughing lol
        Article from World of Tanks. laughing lol
        The USSR ended the war with the T-44 and IS-3, which, although they did not get to the front, were serially adopted by tank units. The USSR won the tank arms race during WWII not only against opponents, but also against the allies.
  2. Undecim
    Undecim 11 September 2021 13: 27
    +8
    Assembly record of one T-34 - half an hour!

    Why is this informational rubbish on the site? A site that positions itself as a serious resource cannot post such information ... content.
    1. Undecim
      Undecim 11 September 2021 14: 04
      +3
      Judging by the minus, such ... content has already found its consumers.
    2. Niko
      Niko 11 September 2021 19: 34
      +2
      Quote: Undecim
      Assembly record of one T-34 - half an hour!

      Why is this informational rubbish on the site? A site that positions itself as a serious resource cannot post such information ... content.

      I can imagine how today's children will imagine this war - according to the speed of creating an avatar in computer games like "wave of tans", they will judge the industry of the 2nd world, and the mention of freezing boys at the machines, falling asleep but trying to "give the norm" will be bad form.
      1. Intruder
        Intruder 12 September 2021 11: 46
        0
        will judge the industry of the time of the 2nd world, and the mention of the freezing boys at the machines, falling asleep but trying to "give the rate" would be bad form.
        This is exactly how, in 120-150 years, on video hosting all sorts of alternative people will argue about the robots of ancient civilizations, in the industry of the Second World War, which, using atmospheric electricity with fuel-free generators, could assemble a medium tank in less than 30 minutes, in some kind of ancient a country that disappeared at the end of the 20th century. lol
    3. Intruder
      Intruder 12 September 2021 11: 41
      +1
      A site that positions itself as a serious resource cannot post such information ... content.
      The media business is such that it sometimes surprises content consumers! wink
    4. IS-80_RVGK2
      IS-80_RVGK2 12 September 2021 23: 02
      0
      This is capitalismus, bro. People who run the resource also want to buy a Bentley and a villa in Italy.
      1. Undecim
        Undecim 13 September 2021 08: 18
        +1
        With this approach, there is only enough for a used Kalina and a temporary hut in Khatsapetovka.
  3. mark1
    mark1 12 September 2021 16: 49
    +2
    , therefore, during the war, her armor was often CUT OFF.

    This is a powerful statement! I sympathize with the poor fellows who did this ...

Военное обозрение

«Не пробил!» или как менялась броня танков

11
В современных танках около 60% массы приходится на броню. Это микс из стали и керамики, усиленной динамической защитой, которая нейтрализует кумулятивные и кинетические боеприпасы. Также есть активная защита, которая сбивает снаряды противника еще на подлете. Броню создают с расчетом на то, что по ней будут стрелять из таких же орудий, как на танке. Все системы постоянно совершенствуются, но так было далеко не всегда.


Первые танки разрабатывались для преодоления окопов, траншей и подавления пулеметов, поэтому их противником была пехота. Конструкторы могли себе позволить ставить броню просто под прямыми углами. Ее толщина была одинаковой с любого ракурса — в танк, преодолевающий линию траншей, могли стрелять со всех сторон. До середины 1930-х годов этого вполне хватало, ведь достойного артиллерийского ответа к тому времени ни у кого не было.

Ситуация изменилась к началу гражданской войны в Испании. Противотанковые пушки калибра 20–37 мм без труда уничтожали любую итальянскую, советскую и немецкую бронетехнику того времени, и тем самым положили начало новому витку соревнования брони и снарядов.


Танки начали делать «толще». При сборке корпусов инженеры отказывались от заклепок и болтов в пользу сварки и литья. Изменился даже состав броневой стали. Пионерами среди «толстокожих» машин с рациональными углами наклона брони стали французы, но для нас символом новой эры был советский Т-34. Его сконструировали по правилам, которые стали определяющими для школы танкостроения СССР: максимально плотная компоновка узлов, низкий силуэт и рациональные углы наклона брони.

Великая Отечественной война столкнула две школы танкостроения — советскую и немецкую, а их соперничество вывело бронирование техники на совершенно новый уровень. Изначально самым «крепким» танком вермахта был Panzerkampfwagen IV Ausf. F. Лоб корпуса защищали 50 мм стали, борта и корму — 30 и 22 мм соответственно. У Красной Армии тяжеловесом считался КВ-1. Его бронирование можно назвать равномерным — 75 мм во фронтальной проекции и по бортам, а также 70 мм в задней части. Эту машину с трудом пробивали даже в корму, поэтому в ходе войны ей нередко срезали броню. Несмотря на это она прекрасно выполняла боевые задачи. Преимущество на старте гонки позволило СССР сосредоточиться на технологиях производства, в которых были заметны явные успехи. Рекорд сборки одного Т-34 — полчаса!


В 1943 году немцы довели до серийного производства свой бронированный ответ — танки «Тигр» и «Пантера». Их создание указывало на то, что Германия уже не рассчитывает на стратегию блицкрига. Подвижность и запас хода этих машин не позволяли ходить в рейды по тылам, однако огневая мощь позволяла пробивать Т-34 и КВ-1 с дальних дистанций. При проектировании новых танков немецкие конструкторы пытались создать неуязвимую технику, которая могла выехать на поле боя и всех уничтожить. Броня у Tiger и Panther была практически непробиваемой для противника, однако машины были очень тяжелыми.

Последним творением инженеров фашистской Германии стал Tiger II. Некоторые считают его самым мощным танком Второй мировой войны. Лоб корпуса машины представляла 150-мм бронеплита, борта и корму защищали 82 мм стали. Все это было расположено под рациональными углами, а для большей прочности детали корпуса соединялись в шип. Красная Армия, в свою очередь, заканчивала войну с танком ИС-2: 120, 90 и 60 мм стали во лбу, бортах и корме соответственно. Он мог выдержать выстрел немецкой противотанковой пушки калибра 88 мм. Впрочем, судить о том, какая из машин обладала лучшей защитой, сложно. Хотя броня «Королевского Тигра» во фронтальной проекции была толще, она нередко трескалась при попадании снарядов.


Больше подробностей о бронировании боевых машин смотрите в видео от компании Wargaming.

Автор:
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Нафаня из дивана
    Нафаня из дивана 11 сентября 2021 08:59
    +5
    Броня у Tiger и Panther была практически непробиваемой для противника, однако машины были очень тяжелыми.

    Бумага все стерпит и пипла всё схавает?
    1. Niko
      Niko 11 сентября 2021 12:49
      +6
      "Рекорд сборки одного т-34 -полчаса" - тоже сильно,это что же подразумевает автор под сборкой? А впрочем на ВО стало много "авторов "не отличающих компьютерные игры от реальности
      1. Бородач
        Бородач 12 сентября 2021 09:52
        +3
        Не пробил. Ахаха laughing lol
        Статья из World of Tanks. laughing lol
        СССР заканчивал войну с Т-44 и ИС-3, которые, хоть и не попали на фронт, но серийно поступали на вооружение танковых частей. СССР выиграл гонку танковых вооружений во время ВМВ не только у противников, но и у союзников.
  2. Undecim
    Undecim 11 сентября 2021 13:27
    +8
    Рекорд сборки одного Т-34 — полчаса!

    Зачем на сайте этот информационный мусор? Сайт, позиционирующий себя, как серьезный ресурс, не может размещать подобное информационное ... содержание.
    1. Undecim
      Undecim 11 сентября 2021 14:04
      +3
      Судя по минусу, подобное ... содержание уже нашло своих потребителей.
    2. Niko
      Niko 11 сентября 2021 19:34
      +2
      Цитата: Undecim
      Рекорд сборки одного Т-34 — полчаса!

      Зачем на сайте этот информационный мусор? Сайт, позиционирующий себя, как серьезный ресурс, не может размещать подобное информационное ... содержание.

      Представляю как будут представлять себе эту войну сегодняшние дети-по скорости создания аватара в компьютерных играх типа "волд оф тэнкс" будут судить о промышленности времени 2й мировой, а упоминание о замерзающих мальчиках у станков ,засыпающих но пытающихся "дать норму" будет плохим тоном.
      1. Intruder
        Intruder 12 сентября 2021 11:46
        0
        будут судить о промышленности времени 2й мировой, а упоминание о замерзающих мальчиках у станков ,засыпающих но пытающихся "дать норму" будет плохим тоном.
        Именно так, через 120-150 лет, на видеохостингах всякие альтернативщики будут спорить о роботах древних цивилизаций, в промышленности Второй мировой войны, которые используя атмосферное электричество с бестопливными генераторами, могли менее чем за 30 минут собрать средний танк, в какой-то там древней стране, которая исчезла еще, в конце 20 века. lol
    3. Intruder
      Intruder 12 сентября 2021 11:41
      +1
      Сайт, позиционирующий себя, как серьезный ресурс, не может размещать подобное информационное ... содержание.
      Медиа-бизнес он таков, что порой вызывает удивление у потребителей контента! wink
    4. IS-80_RVGK2
      IS-80_RVGK2 12 сентября 2021 23:02
      0
      Это капитализмус, бро. Люди в чьём ведении ресурс тоже хотят купить себе Бентли и виллу в Италии.
      1. Undecim
        Undecim 13 сентября 2021 08:18
        +1
        С таким подходом хватит только на Калину б/у и времянку в Хацапетовке.
  3. mark1
    mark1 12 сентября 2021 16:49
    +2
    , поэтому в ходе войны ей нередко СРЕЗАЛИ броню.

    Вот это сильное заявление! Сочувствую бедолагам, которые этим занимались...