Military Review

Tank Evolution: Class Extinction

8
First French and German Tanks did not leave behind a clear idea of ​​a reliable car: the chassis of both those and others was defective, and they could not confidently move along the battlefield pitted with craters. At the same time, the British diamond-shaped tanks, created at the end of 1915, provided a steady line of development. Mark I and its "descendants" were made in the form of a parallelogram with caterpillars. This shape was created to increase cross-country ability. The tracks, sloped at the front, improved traction, helped to overcome wide trenches and get out of deep craters. However, the design of the "Marks" cannot be called perfect: the tracks were large and completely open to enemy fire, the tank itself was shaking mercilessly due to the lack of springs, and the engine inside the hull created hellish conditions for the crew. All this led to the fact that the diamond-shaped tanks were abandoned over time.


A new round of tank evolution began in France. In 1917, the Renault FT-17 was created there, which completely changed the idea of ​​how to build tanks. This is the first in stories An example of a classic layout: tracks on the sides of the hull, an insulated engine compartment and a rotating turret.


During World War I, tanks proved to be formidable weapons... They did a good job of destroying the enemy, but their mobility left much to be desired. Tracks at that time were of very poor quality, and transporting combat vehicles by truck was too expensive. The solution to all problems was the class of wheeled-tracked vehicles, which originated in the United States. The talented engineer W. Christie suggested using a combined propulsion system to save the resource of the tracks. As a result, his tanks could move both on tracks and on wheels and did not take long to switch from one to the other. From 1919 to 1937 W. Christie created several experimental machines, but none of them took root in America. They also worked on this type of technology in Poland, England, Czechoslovakia, Sweden and even in New Zealand, but things did not go further than prototypes.

A new stage in the development of wheeled-tracked tanks took place in the Soviet Union. They came up with a scheme that allows you to quickly and relatively cheaply transfer tank units over long distances on their own. Based on prototypes, Christie created a whole family of BT tanks. They were built in large series and took an active part in the hostilities. The list of useful qualities of these machines also included speed and maneuverability. According to the documents, they developed a speed on the highway up to 70 km / h, and on tracks they accelerated to 50 km / h.


They began to abandon the wheel-caterpillar track after the development of new methods of steel hardening, which significantly increased the strength of the tracks. In addition, a lot of anti-tank artillery appeared, because of which the vehicles urgently needed to increase their armor. Building a tank with anti-cannon armor on the basis of a complex propeller of a wheeled-tracked vehicle turned out to be not an easy task, and by the end of the 1930s, the time of fast-moving light vehicles was over.

At the same time, the last wedges, which were very popular, but not for long, also disappeared. The classic representative of this class is the British Carden-Loyd Mk VI, which has been produced since 1929. On its basis, other states developed their projects. As an example - the Soviet T-27.

Tankettes did not become the backbone of the armored forces for several reasons: low maneuverability, low power reserve, weak armor, and the absence of a rotating turret. These and other problems helped them quickly become part of history. Many of the tankettes survived their days as transporters of ammunition or light weapons.

In the history of tank building, there was a period of the reign of a very small but extremely effective class of equipment - multi-turret tanks. In theory, they were supposed to become "trench cleaners" and shoot along the enemy trench (in both directions) to destroy the entrenched infantry. This idea led to the creation of a family of multi-turret vehicles of various "weight categories". For example, the light British "Vickers 6-ton" in modification "A" carried two machine-gun turrets located next to each other and was considered a very worthy tank for its time. And although he was not appreciated at home, he regularly went for export and served in the armies of Poland, Finland and even China. Early models of the Soviet T-26 with two turrets and machine-gun armament were also developed on the basis of the Vickers.

Examples of the middle "weight category" are the American M1 Medium tank, the British Cruiser Mk. I, as well as the experienced 16-ton Vickers. From the latter, the Soviet T-28 was literally sketched. At that time, the goal of the command of different countries was to create machines armed with as many cannons and machine guns as possible. At the same time, the Germans built three heavy Neubaufahrzeugs. These tanks were not used in combat, but they looked very impressive in propaganda photos. However, even they did not reach the Soviet T-35, which had as many as 5 towers. This tank looked very powerful, but by the mid-1930s, due to the massive proliferation of anti-tank defenses, it became obsolete and became more ceremonial than combat.


Multi-turreted tanks, despite their formidableness, were distinguished by a mass of flaws: a complex design, huge weight (although the armor was thin), and also great problems with fire control. The last of this class of vehicles can be called the M3 Lee. It was developed in 1940 and armed with two guns - in the turret and in the sponson.

During World War II, a new type of armored vehicle appeared - assault self-propelled guns, designed to support the infantry. The first of them were created in Germany in 1940. Self-propelled guns were simpler and cheaper than tanks, and were armed with fairly powerful guns. Among their targets were not only enemy infantry, but also armored vehicles, as well as field fortifications. A typical representative of this class is the German StuG III. The chassis of the vehicle is the same as that of the Pz.Kpfw. III, instead of a turret - a conning tower, and as a weapon - a 75-mm cannon.


Assault self-propelled guns were used until the end of the war and played a prominent role on the battlefields. They disappeared in the 1950s along with the massive proliferation of new anti-tank weapons - guided anti-tank missiles, grenade launchers, etc.

In the post-war period, the world of tanks experienced a massive extinction of classes. There is only one left. Medium and heavy tanks have come together in one versatile type called the main battle tank. Such a vehicle combines the mobility of a medium tank with the armor and armament of a heavy one.

For more details on the evolution of tank classes, see the video from Wargaming.

Author:
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 12 October 2021 04: 35
    +2
    The first French and German tanks did not leave behind a clear idea of ​​a reliable vehicle: the suspension of both of them was defective, and they could not confidently move along the battlefield pitted with craters. At the same time, the British diamond-shaped tanks, created at the end of 1915, provided a steady line of development.
    recourse More than controversial. Too categorical. With all due respect to the Goblin, military equipment is not his ... hi
    1. aleks neym_2
      aleks neym_2 12 October 2021 05: 47
      +2
      All the first tanks, most likely, were self-propelled guns - they were attracted to the class of tanks by the ears, and Mendeleev's project is generally more like a mobile pillbox. The only exception is the Frenchman Renault (we do not take prototypes into account)
    2. Catfish
      Catfish 12 October 2021 11: 37
      +3
      .... the British diamond-shaped tanks, created in late 1915, gave a steady line of development.

      More than controversial.

      I agree with you, this "stable line" degenerated into only a few modifications of the same Mark I and after the war was safely scrapped.
      Mk VIII - this is where it all ended, from 1919 to 1920, a hundred cars were produced and put an end to it.
  2. Niko
    Niko 12 October 2021 08: 16
    +2
    You can read in the morning with coffee. However, any child knows that even now there is a huge variety of tracked combat vehicles (and not tracked vehicles either) that can be more or less referred to as "tanks", especially in the context of this material, and especially its title
  3. ja-ja-vw
    ja-ja-vw 12 October 2021 17: 58
    0
    Quote: Wargaming
    The first of them were created in Germany in 1940. Self-propelled guns were simpler and cheaper than tanks, and were armed with fairly powerful guns.

    French people.
    ACL 1931 \ ACL 135 by Ateliers et Chantiers de la Loire built earlier

    ARL 40 V39 (ARL 1940 V939 40) project started earlier
  4. 75 Sergey
    75 Sergey 13 October 2021 11: 28
    +1
    Well, the story is moving in a spiral.
    That the main thing, that light tanks are guaranteed to be destroyed by modern adequate means of destruction, so why build heavy ones?
    Although the Octopus is considered a self-propelled gun, it looks like a light tank, the main thing here is not to get caught.
  5. raif
    raif 14 October 2021 00: 16
    0
    article for a 12-year-old girl who suddenly decided to play WoT.
    completely undignified for this site. on the other hand, phrases like "the engine inside the hull" were amused - are there tanks, where the engine is outside or in a trolley attached to the back?
  6. tank64rus
    tank64rus 15 October 2021 16: 31
    0
    Everything returns to normal. Now there are light tanks, some of the MBT can be attributed to medium, and Armata to heavy.

Военное обозрение

Танковая эволюция: вымирание классов

8
Первые французские и немецкие танки не оставили после себя четкого представления о надежной машине: ходовая и тех, и других была с дефектами, и они не могли уверенно двигаться по изрытому воронками полю боя. В то же время британские ромбовидные танки, созданные в конце 1915 года, дали устойчивую линию развития. Mark I и его «потомки» были выполнены в виде параллелограмма с гусеницами. Такая форма создавалась для повышения проходимости. Гусеницы, скошенные спереди, улучшали сцепление с грунтом, помогали преодолевать широкие траншеи и выбираться из глубоких воронок. Впрочем, конструкцию «Марков» нельзя назвать совершенной: гусеничные ленты были большими и полностью открытыми для вражеского огня, сам танк нещадно трясло из-за отсутствия рессор, а двигатель внутри корпуса создавал адские условия для экипажа. Все это привело к тому, что от ромбовидных танков со временем отказались.


Новый виток танковой эволюции начался во Франции. В 1917 году там создали Renault FT-17, который полностью изменил представление о том, как нужно строить танки. Это первый в истории пример классической компоновки: гусеницы по бокам корпуса, изолированный моторный отсек и вращающаяся башня.


Во время Первой мировой войны танки зарекомендовали себя грозным оружием. Они хорошо справлялись с уничтожением врага, однако их мобильность оставляла желать лучшего. Гусеничные ленты в то время были очень плохого качества, а перевозка боевых машин на грузовиках обходилась слишком дорого. Решением всех проблем стал класс колесно-гусеничной техники, берущий свое начало в США. Талантливый инженер У. Кристи предложил использовать комбинированный движитель для экономии ресурса гусениц. В результате его танки могли двигаться как на гусеницах, так и на колесах и не требовали много времени для переключения с одного на другое. С 1919 по 1937 годы У. Кристи создал несколько опытных машин, но ни одна из них не прижилась в Америке. Над этим типом техники также работали в Польше, Англии, Чехословакии, Швеции и даже в Новой Зеландии, однако дальше опытных образцов дело не шло.

Новый этап развития колесно-гусеничных танков произошел в Советском Союзе. Там придумали схему, позволяющую быстро и относительно дешево перебрасывать танковые подразделения на большие расстояния своим ходом. На основе прототипов Кристи создали целое семейство танков БТ. Они строились крупными сериями и принимали активное участие в боевых действиях. В списке полезных качеств этих машин также были скорость и маневренность. По документам они развивали скорость по шоссе до 70 км/ч, а на гусеницах разгонялись до 50 км/ч.


От колесно-гусеничного хода начали отказываться после разработки новых методов закалки стали, которые в разы увеличивали прочность траков. Кроме того, появилось много противотанковой артиллерии, из-за которой машинам срочно потребовалось нарастить броню. Строить танк с противоснарядным бронированием на базе сложного движителя колесно-гусеничной машины оказалось задачей не из простых, и к концу 1930-х годов время стремительных легких машин закончилось.

Тогда же исчезли и последние танкетки, которые были очень популярны, но недолго. Классическим представителем этого класса можно назвать британскую Carden-Loyd Mk VI, которую выпускали с 1929 года. На ее основе другие государства разрабатывали свои проекты. Как пример — советская Т-27.

Танкетки не стали основой бронетанковых сил по нескольким причинам: низкая проходимость, малый запас хода, слабая броня, отсутствие вращающейся башни. Эти и другие проблемы помогли им быстро стать частью истории. Многие из танкеток доживали свой век в качестве транспортеров боеприпасов или легких орудий.

В истории танкостроения был период царствования очень небольшого, но крайне эффектного класса техники — многобашенных танков. В теории они должны были стать «чистильщиками окопов» и стрельбой вдоль траншеи врага (в обе стороны) уничтожать засевшую пехоту. Эта идея привела к созданию семейства многобашенных машин различных «весовых категорий». Например, легкий британский «Виккерс 6-тонный» в модификации «А» нес две расположенные рядом пулеметные башни и считался очень достойным танком для своего времени. И хотя на родине его не оценили, он исправно шел на экспорт и служил в армиях Польши, Финляндии и даже Китая. На основе «Виккерса» разрабатывались и ранние модели советского Т-26 с двумя башнями и пулеметным вооружением.

Примеры средней «весовой категории» — американский танк M1 Medium, британский Cruiser Mk. I, а также опытный «Виккерс 16-тонный». С последнего в буквальном смысле был срисован советский Т-28. В то время целью командования разных стран было создание машин, вооруженных как можно большим количеством пушек и пулеметов. Тогда же немцы построили три тяжелых Neubaufahrzeug. Эти танки не применялись в бою, но на пропагандистских фото смотрелись очень эффектно. Впрочем, даже они не дотягивали до советского Т-35, у которого было целых 5 башен. Этот танк выглядел очень мощно, но уже к середине 1930-х из-за массового распространения средств противотанковой обороны устарел и стал больше парадным, нежели боевым.


Многобашенные танки, несмотря на свою грозность, отличались массой изъянов: сложная конструкция, огромный вес (хотя броня была тонкой), а также большие проблемы с управлением огнем. Последним из этого класса техники можно назвать M3 Lee. Его разработали в 1940-м году и вооружили двумя орудиями — в башне и спонсоне.

В ходе Второй мировой появилась новая разновидность бронетанковой техники — штурмовые САУ, разработанные для поддержки пехоты. Первые из них создали в Германии в 1940-м году. Самоходки были проще и дешевле танков, а вооружались довольно мощными пушками. В числе их целей была не только пехота врага, но и бронетехника, а также полевые укрепления. Типичный представитель этого класса — немецкий StuG III. Шасси машины такое же, как у танка Pz.Kpfw. III, вместо башни — боевая рубка, а в качестве орудия — 75-мм пушка.


Штурмовые САУ применялись до конца войны и сыграли заметную роль на полях сражений. Они исчезли в 1950-х годах вместе с массовым распространением нового противотанкового оружия — управляемых противотанковых ракет, гранатометов и т.д.

В послевоенное время в мире танков произошло массовое вымирание классов. Остался лишь один. Средние и тяжелые танки объединились в одном универсальном типе под названием основной боевой танк. Такая машина сочетает в себе мобильность среднего танка с броней и вооружением тяжелого.

Больше подробностей об эволюции танковых классов смотрите в видео от компании Wargaming.

Автор:
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 12 октября 2021 04:35
    +2
    Первые французские и немецкие танки не оставили после себя четкого представления о надежной машине: ходовая и тех, и других была с дефектами, и они не могли уверенно двигаться по изрытому воронками полю боя. В то же время британские ромбовидные танки, созданные в конце 1915 года, дали устойчивую линию развития.
    recourse Более чем спорно. Слишком категорично. При всем уважении к Гоблину, боевая техника - не его... hi
    1. aleks neym_2
      aleks neym_2 12 октября 2021 05:47
      +2
      Все первые танки, скорее всего, представляли собой САУ - к классу танков притягивались за уши, а проект Менделеева то и вообще больше похож на передвижной дот. Единственное исключение - француз Рено (опытные образцы в счёт не берём)
    2. Морской Кот
      Морской Кот 12 октября 2021 11:37
      +3
      .... британские ромбовидные танки, созданные в конце 1915 года, дали устойчивую линию развития.

      Более чем спорно.

      Согласен с Вами, эта "устойчивая линия" выродилась лишь в несколько модификаций того же Mark I и после войны благополучно была сдана в утиль.
      Mk VIII -- вот на этой модели всё и закончилось, 1919 по 1920 годы выпустили сотню машин и поставили точку.
  2. Niko
    Niko 12 октября 2021 08:16
    +2
    Почитать с утра под кофе можно.Однако любой ребёнок знает что и сейчас существует огромное разнообразие боевых гусеничных машин(да и не гусеничных тоже) которые можно в той или иной степени отнести к "танкам" ,особенно в контексте этого материала, и особенно его заголовка
  3. ja-ja-vw
    ja-ja-vw 12 октября 2021 17:58
    0
    Цитата: Wargaming
    Первые из них создали в Германии в 1940-м году. Самоходки были проще и дешевле танков, а вооружались довольно мощными пушками.

    французы.
    ACL 1931 \ ACL 135 от Ateliers et Chantiers de la Loire построена раньше

    ARL 40 V39 (ARL 1940 V939 40) раньше начат проект
  4. 75Сергей
    75Сергей 13 октября 2021 11:28
    +1
    Ну история то движется по спирали.
    Что основной, что легкий танки гарантированно уничтожаются современными адекватными средствами поражения, так зачем строить тяжелые?
    Хоть "Спрут" и считается самоходкой, но что то он очень смахивает на легкий танк, тут главное не попадаться.
  5. раиф
    раиф 14 октября 2021 00:16
    0
    статья для 12-летней девочки, вдруг решившей поиграть в WoT.
    совершенно несолидно для данного сайта. зато повеселили фразы типа "двигатель внутри корпуса" - есть танки, где двигатель снаружи или в прицепленной сзади тележке?
  6. tank64rus
    tank64rus 15 октября 2021 16:31
    0
    Всё возвращается на круги своя. Сейчас уже есть лёгкие танки, часть ОБТ можно отнести к средним,а Армату к тяжёлым.