Military Review

Improving 120 mm Mortars

8
Improving 120 mm Mortars

The US Marine Corps ordered the first 42 120-mm mortars PERM (Precision Extended Range Munition - precision extended range ammunition). They have a firing range of about 17 kilometers and a built-in guidance system that ensures accuracy of hitting about 20 meters. Several companies will present their versions of PERM and, as a result of the competition that will last for 2 years, the most reliable among them will be chosen. This is part of the efforts of the Marine Corps to develop improved 120-mm mortars.

Three years ago, after six years of developing and shuffling various papers, the US Marine Corps finally ordered the first twenty models of the EFSS (expeditionary fire support system). Earlier in the 2009, six systems were handed over to the marine infantry battalion for testing (each of which consisted of two vehicles, one 120-mm mortar, a trailer with ammunition and other equipment).

The goal of the EFSS was to create a new lightweight, self-propelled artillery system. Initially, the developers combined existing commercial vehicles, the Supacat HMT (High Mobile Transport), with an 120-mm mortar system. The off-road HMT with the wheel formula 4х4 weighs seven tons and has a payload capacity of 3.2 tons. It is equipped with an engine in 180 horsepower, and the 4x4 drive is optimized for traveling over rough terrain. The cabin was specially modified to accommodate five armed crew members.



There were significant delays in the project related to the HMT transportability test on the MV-22 and CH-53E. The MV-22 convertible turned out to be too narrow for the HMT and most other available vehicles. Marines had to choose another vehicle ITV (Internally Transportable Jeep). It is a modified version of the Growler car - a jeep, usually selling for about $ 8000. However, after all the changes made, it cost the marines $ 100000 for each ITV. In principle, the Growler is a modification of the old (replaced by the Hummer in 1980-x) M-151 Jeep.

The mortar weighs 818 kg and is mounted on a computer-controlled carriage. The firing range of conventional 120-mm shells is 8.2 kilometers or 17 kilometers with mines with a jet accelerator. This is smaller than the 155 mm howitzer, but the Marines believe that if necessary aviation and missiles will be able to hit targets at a greater distance. Charging the mortar from the breech provides a high rate of fire, the fire control system receives data directly from advanced observers and quickly directs a 120 mm mortar at the target. EFSS is able to hit the target within minutes after the receipt of the order. The system allows you to shoot 20 shells in two minutes and uses a fire control system equipped with GPS, which ensures accuracy comparable to any other artillery system.



120-mm mortar ammunition weighs about half the size of 155-mm projectiles. This difference is compensated by a higher rate of fire and the use of several types of cluster munitions. For example, one such mine will destroy most of the armored vehicles and kill or injure most enemy personnel in the square of 100x100 meters. Each of the 32 ammunition of this mine pierces 100-mm armor, thus striking armored vehicles with thin upper armor.

Marines preferred 120-mm mortar 155-mm howitzer, because the mortar is easier, faster, more mobile, and using the appropriate ammunition is as destructive as large howitzers.
Originator:
http://www.strategypage.com/htmw/htart/articles/20120904.aspx
8 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Prohor
    Prohor 14 September 2012 09: 15
    0
    I honestly don’t understand - why does the US need such a weapon?
    In addition to Russian air defense, no one can resist the Americans in the air, but why would the marine corps accurately destroy targets 17 km from themselves, when an airplane can fly in and destroy anything at least at 17, at least 170, and at least 1700 km from this same infantry ?
    1. Andrey_K
      Andrey_K 14 September 2012 10: 50
      +2
      The following concept of military operations is obvious: small special forces in jeeps travel around the country and control a large territory with small forces.
      The military forces are sparse and mobile and it is difficult to cover them with one volley strike, but they themselves can cause significant damage.

      And the planes will not be in time everywhere, if there is a full-scale war, and the enemy uses similar tactics (crushes and disperses his forces), then it may be necessary to hit thousands of targets per day, and planes can only carry out dozens of flights.
      And, by the way, if the enemy still has air defense systems intact, this may be an early stage strategy - casting a large number of such units so that they train and destroy air defense, but after that the bombing will begin.
      1. curious
        curious 14 September 2012 11: 52
        0
        In a conventional mortar, guided ammunition comes as a complement to conventional. But to increase the accuracy and improve the characteristics of conventional mines, it would be worthwhile to pay attention to us
  2. Sasha 19871987
    Sasha 19871987 14 September 2012 09: 47
    0
    so then prokhor is right
  3. vastorg
    vastorg 14 September 2012 11: 54
    +1
    laughing a new word in military science under state control in the air artillery and mortars in particular are not needed)))
    1. Prohor
      Prohor 14 September 2012 12: 56
      -1
      Precision and extremely expensive ammunition - not needed.
  4. vastorg
    vastorg 14 September 2012 13: 26
    0
    Well, why are they .. immediately it is necessary to use omp and business then http://vz.ru/news/2012/9/14/598130.html
    “On September 13, 2012 at 5 a.m. when the command was transferred to the mortar commander, the platoon commander mixed up the main direction of fire, which led to a change in the direction of fire by 20 meters. As a result, a gap of three 800 mm occurred. mortar mines in the territory of boarding school No. 120 in Buinaksk. ”
    1. Prohor
      Prohor 14 September 2012 15: 03
      0
      And a high-precision mine at such a woodpecker - flew into the window of the school, I would! laughing
    2. Kibb
      Kibb 14 September 2012 15: 50
      0
      "Daredevil" in Afghanistan they say flew straight into the caves
  5. AlexxxNik
    AlexxxNik 14 September 2012 18: 12
    +2
    if I understand correctly, then this is a low-budget non-s, it’s obvious that the crisis among the Amers has played out in earnest
  6. ALEXXX1983
    ALEXXX1983 24 October 2012 21: 07
    0
    HMT 4x4 cross-country vehicle weighs seven tons ...

    ... a bit too much for a small unarmored (yes armor - even no doors) car with an engine of 180 mares wassat

Совершенствование 120-мм минометов

Совершенствование 120-мм минометов

Корпус морской пехоты США заказал первые 42 120-мм миномета PERM (Precision Extended Range Munition - точные боеприпасы увеличенной дальности). Они обладают дальностью стрельбы около 17 километров и встроенной системой наведения обеспечивающей точность попадания около 20 метров. Несколько компаний представят свои версии PERM и в результате конкурса который продлится в течение 2 лет будет выбрана самая надежная среди них. Это является частью усилий морской пехоты по созданию улучшенных 120-мм минометов.

Три года назад, после шести лет разработок и перетасовок различных бумаг корпус морской пехоты США наконец заказал первые двадцать моделей EFSS (экспедиционная система огневой поддержки). Ранее в 2009 году артиллерийскому батальону морской пехоты для проведения испытаний были переданы шесть систем (каждая из которых состояла из двух автомобилей, одного 120-мм миномета, прицепа с боеприпасами и другого оборудования).

Целю EFSS было создать новую легкую, самоходную артиллерийскую систему. Изначально разработчики сочетали существующие коммерческие транспортные средства, Supacat HMT (Высоко Мобильный Транспорт) с 120-мм минометной системой. Автомобиль повышенной проходимости HMT с колесной формулой 4х4 весит семь тонн и обладает грузоподьемностью в 3.2 тонны. Он оснащен двигателем в 180 лошадиных сил, а 4x4 привод оптимизирован для передвижения по пересеченной местности. Кабина была специально изменена, чтобы вместить пятерых вооруженных членов экипажа.


Совершенствование 120-мм минометов


В проекте были значительные задержки, связанные с проверкой транспортабельности HMT на MV-22 и CH-53E. Конвертоплан MV-22 оказался слишком узким для HMT и большинства других доступных транспортных средств. Морским пехотинцам пришлось выбрать другое транспортное средство ITV (Internally Transportable Jeep). Он представляет из себя модифицированную версию автомобиля Growler - джипа, обычно продающегося по цене около $8000. Однако после всех внесенных изменений он обошелся морпехам в $100000 за каждый ITV. В принципе, Growler представляет из себя модификацию старого (замененного на Hummer в 1980-х годах) автомобиля М-151 Jeep.

Миномет весит 818 кг и устанавливается на контролируемый компьютером лафет. Дальность стрельбы обычными 120-мм снарядами составляет 8.2 километров или 17 километров минами с реактивным ускорителем. Это меньше, чем у 155-мм гаубицы, но морские пехотинцы полагают, что при необходимости авиация и ракеты смогут поражать цели на большей дистанции. Заряжение миномета с казенной части обеспечивает высокую скорострельность, система управления огнем получает данные непосредственно от передовых наблюдателей и быстро наводит 120-мм миномет на цель. EFSS способна поразить цель в течение считанных минут после поступления приказа. Система позволяет выстрелить 20 снарядов за две минуты и использует систему управления огнем, оснащенную GPS, что обеспечивает точность, сопоставимую с любой другой артиллерийской системой.

Совершенствование 120-мм минометов


120-мм минометные боеприпасы весят примерно вдвое меньше 155-мм снарядов. Эта разница компенсируется более высоким темпом стрельбы и использованием нескольких типов кассетных боеприпасов. К примеру, одна такая мина уничтожит большинство бронетехники и убьет или ранит большинство живой силы противника в квадрате 100x100 метров. Каждый из 32 боеприпасов этой мины пробивает 100-мм броню, таким образом поражая бронетехнику с тонкой верхней броней.

Морские пехотинцы предпочли 120-мм миномет 155-мм гаубице, потому что миномет легче, скорострельнее, мобильнее и при использовании соответствующих боеприпасов настолько же разрушителен, как и большие гаубицы.

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 8
  1. Прохор 14 сентября 2012 09:15
    Я, если честно, не пойму - зачем США подобное оружие?
    Кроме ПВО России никто не может противостоять американцам в воздухе, а зачем морской пехоте высокоточно уничтожать цели в 17 км от себя, когда может прилететь самолёт и уничтожить всё что угодно хоть в 17, хоть в 170, да хоть в 1700 км от этой самой пехоты?
    Прохор
    1. Андрей_К 14 сентября 2012 10:50
      Очевидна, следующая концепция боевых действий: небольшие отряды спецназа на джипах разъезжают по стране и небольшими силами контролируют большую территорию.
      Военные силы разрежены и мобильны и их трудно накрыть одним залповым ударом, зато они сами могут наносить существенный ущерб.

      А самолеты везде не успеют, если идет полномасштабная война, и противник применяет похожую тактику (дробит и рассредотачивает свои силы) то в день ,возможно, потребуется поражать тысячи целей, а самолеты могут осуществить только десятки вылетов.
      И ,к стати, если у противника еще целы комплексы ПВО, это может быть стратегия раннего этапа - заброс большого количества вот таких подразделений, чтоб они поездили и поуничтожали ПВО, а вот после этого уже пойдут бомбардировки.
      1. любопытный 14 сентября 2012 11:52
        В обычном миномёте, управляемые боеприпасы идут в качестве дополнения к обычным. А вот на повышение точности и улучшение характеристик обычных мин, стоило-бы обратить внимание и нам
        любопытный
  2. саша 19871987 14 сентября 2012 09:47
    так то прохор прав
  3. vastorg 14 сентября 2012 11:54
    laughing новое слово в военной науке при господсве в воздухе артиллерия и миномёты в частности не нужны )))
    vastorg
    1. Прохор 14 сентября 2012 12:56
      Высокоточные и чрезвычайно дорогие боеприпасы - не нужны.
      Прохор
  4. vastorg 14 сентября 2012 13:26
    Ну да зачем они ..сразу надо омп применять и делов то http://vz.ru/news/2012/9/14/598130.html
    «13 сентября 2012 года в 5 часов 20 минут при передаче команды командиру миномета командир взвода перепутал основное направление огня, что привело к изменению направления стрельбы на 800 метров. В результате произошел разрыв трех 120 мм. минометных мин на территории школы-интерната № 3 в Буйнакске».
    vastorg
    1. Прохор 14 сентября 2012 15:03
      А высокоточная мина у такого дятла - в форточку школы залетела-бы! laughing
      Прохор
    2. Kibb 14 сентября 2012 15:50
      "Смельчак" в Афгане говорят прямо в пещеры влетал
      Kibb
  5. AlexxxNik 14 сентября 2012 18:12
    если я правильно понял, то это малобюджетная нона-с, видно кризис у амеров не на шутку разыгрался
  6. ALEXXX1983 24 октября 2012 21:07
    Автомобиль повышенной проходимости HMT с колесной формулой 4х4 весит семь тонн...

    ...многовато для небольшого небронированого (да что брони - даже дверей нет) автомобиля с движком в 180 кобыл wassat

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня