Military Review

The Battle of Manila Bay: How Did the Spanish Squadron Sink?

6
History knows many cases when countries located on different continents declared war on each other. If the opponents are separated by oceans, and the distances are measured in thousands of kilometers, the entire responsibility falls on the navy.


So, in 1898, a war broke out between Spain and the United States. The reason for it was an explosion on the armored cruiser Maine during a mission to resolve the conflict in Cuba. The main theaters of military operations were Cuba itself and the Philippines.

Although the latter did not receive much attention, a notable naval battle took place there. In it, the Americans managed to win a decisive victory, destroying the enemy squadron with minimal losses.


Commodore Dewey's flagship - armored cruiser Olympia

Due to the great distance from the metropolis, neither Spain nor the United States kept large military formations in the western Pacific. The Spanish fleet consisted of 12 ships, of which only 7 were ready for sea battle. The flagship was Reina Cristina: a cruiser with no armor, but with the most powerful artillery in the squadron - 6 160mm guns. In addition to him, there were 3 more armored cruisers Castilla, Don Juan de Austria and Don Antonio de Ulloa, and 2 small armored cruisers Isla de Luzon and Isla de Cuba. Of the 5 gunboats, only the Marques del Duero remained operational, while the rest were removed from their weapons to strengthen the coastal batteries. The command was carried out by Rear Admiral Patricio Montejo-Passarón.

The American squadron closest to the Philippines under the command of Commodore George Dewey was at that time in Hong Kong. It included the armored cruisers Olympia, Baltimore, Boston and Raleigh, as well as the seaworthy gunboats Concord and Petrel. The first 3 cruisers were armed with 203-mm main battery guns, which already gave an advantage over the Spaniards. The rest of the ships had 152-mm artillery on board. Despite the clear superiority in firepower and speed, the American squadron also had its weaknesses: due to the remoteness from its bases, the supply and maintenance of ships was greatly hampered. In addition, the cruisers were not suitable for fighting well-fortified coastal forts, since they did not have strong armor. Nevertheless, Commodore Dewey was ready to immediately go to sea and attack the Spaniards in Manila.

With the declaration of war, both sides took action. The American squadron headed for Manila, and the Spaniards prepared to meet them. Admiral Montejo led his ships to Cavite, which was protected by just a couple of artillery batteries. The admiral understood that it would not be possible to save the squadron, and tried to minimize losses.


Painting "Battle of Cavite"

On the evening of April 30, Commodore Dewey's squadron approached Manila. Under cover of darkness, the ships entered the bay at low speed. After midnight they were spotted from one of the coastal batteries. The opponents exchanged several volleys, but to no avail. Towards dawn, the Americans approached Manila. Quickly determining that there were only merchant ships in the harbor, Dewey headed for Cavite, where the Spanish squadron was located. At about 5 a.m. on May 1, both squadrons established visual contact. The Spaniards opened fire from the utmost distance, while the Americans responded only 20 minutes later. Lined up, the ships were ready to engage.

The signal to open fire was a shot from a 203 mm gun from Olympia. A little later, the rest of the artillery joined him. After a couple of miles, the American squadron made a U-turn and was now firing from the other side. In total, the Dewey ships made 5 such maneuvers, gradually reducing the distance to a mile. Don Juan de Austria was forced to withdraw from the battle, and the Americans concentrated their fire on the largest Spanish ships. Castilla was soon incapacitated. The cruiser, which had lost control, was already engulfed in fire when it was turned towards the Americans by the side from which the guns were removed. The ship's crew transferred to the departing Don Juan. The flagship of the Spaniards, Reina Cristina, moved towards the enemies. But the ship underwent a hurricane of shelling, which caused monstrous damage: the wheelhouse and the captain's bridge were demolished, fires blazed everywhere, and among the gun servants there were many killed and wounded. At about 7:30 am, Dewey ordered a ceasefire following a report on the depletion of ammunition. There was silence for a while.

Admiral Montejo left the sinking flagship. He moved to the Isla de Cuba and began to prepare the remaining ships in the ranks for a new battle. In turn, Dewey, realizing that the report on the depleted ammunition was erroneous, decided to finally destroy the Spanish squadron. He divided his ships as follows: gunboats went south for reconnaissance, the cruiser Raleigh was to enter the bay, Olympia and Boston covered him, and Baltimore went out to intercept the merchant ship.

The cruiser Don Antonio de Ulloa became the first target of the Americans. Despite attempts to shoot back, the Spanish ship was soon finished off and abandoned by the team. Meanwhile, the Baltimore came under fire from coastal batteries. One of the shells hit the ship, knocking out the gun and wounding 9 people. Having quickly identified the "blind zone" of the fort, the Americans began to bombard it.

Soon the gunboat Petrel found the rest of the enemy squadron beyond the peninsula. Seeing no other way, Admiral Montejo ordered all ships to open the kingstones. Although Isla de Luzon and Isla de Cuba could still continue the battle, the Spanish commander feared that the rest of the ships would come after the gunboat. American sailors boarded the half-submerged Spanish ships and set them on fire. In the afternoon, Commodore Dewey issued an ultimatum to the Spaniards, to which they responded by raising a white flag, thereby ending the battle.


Armored cruiser Olympia in perpetual mooring in Philadelphia

The result of this battle was the complete destruction of the Spanish squadron in the Philippines. According to various estimates, from 60 to 160 people died on the Spanish ships (most of the losses fell on the flagship Reina Cristina), over 200 people were injured. American ships received 19 hits, of which only one, to the cruiser Baltimore, did any damage. During the battle, not a single sailor was killed, 9 people were wounded.

Strategically American victory fleet did not bring any significant immediate results. It was not possible to capture Manila without large amphibious forces. However, this event greatly raised the morale of the American troops and gave confidence in a quick end to the war in favor of the United States. Among other things, the American fleet thus declared that it was ready to compete with the leading maritime powers. Commodore Dewey was promoted to Rear Admiral. Its flagship, the armored cruiser Olympia, was later turned into a museum ship, and to this day it recalls this glorious page in the history of the American navy.

Learn more about another US museum ship, the USS Slater, in this documentary from Wargaming. Happy viewing!

Author:
6 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, daily additional materials that do not get on the site: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Dart2027
    Dart2027 18 October 2021 19: 37
    +5
    Among other things, the American fleet thus declared that it was ready to compete with the leading maritime powers.

    The then Spain is the leading maritime power? Seriously?
  2. Undecim
    Undecim 18 October 2021 21: 30
    +5
    Not a single sailor died during the battle

    Chief Engineer USS McCulloch died of a heart attack during the battle.
    1. 27091965
      27091965 18 October 2021 22: 42
      +3
      I see someone is not "breathing evenly" to you.

      Thanks to the author for the article, but honestly I expected more.
      1. Undecim
        Undecim 18 October 2021 22: 52
        +4
        I see someone is not breathing evenly towards you.

        This is a classic. Soloink Logician.
  3. Trapperxnumx
    Trapperxnumx 19 October 2021 10: 59
    +4
    When you start just getting to know the naval battles of the Spanish-American War, the first thing that catches your eye is the payroll of the fleet and "on paper" it looks really good.
    However, it is enough to take a closer look and ....
    Spanish ships at that time were eerie and tears of despair, not a fleet, although the crews were great - they did their duty.
  4. Catfish
    Catfish 19 October 2021 13: 52
    +2
    The reason for the war was the explosion on the armored cruiser Maine during a mission to resolve the conflict in Cuba.


    Armored cruiser Maine, eng. USS Maine, ACR-1
    Displacement 6789 t,
    Armament: 2x2 - 254 mm / 30
    6x1 - 152 mm / 30, 7 - 57 mm, 8 - 37 mm
    Mine and torpedo armament: 4x1 - 356 mm TA
    Travel speed: 16,4 - 17 knots

    After the disaster. 266 sailors were killed.

Военное обозрение

Сражение в Манильской бухте: как потопили испанскую эскадру?

6
История знает немало случаев, когда страны, расположенные на разных континентах, объявляли друг другу войну. Если противников разделяют океаны, а расстояния измеряются тысячами километров, вся ответственность ложится на военно-морской флот.


Так, в 1898 году между Испанией и США началась война. Поводом к ней стал взрыв на броненосном крейсере Maine во время миссии по урегулированию конфликта на Кубе. Основными театрами боевых действий стали сама Куба и Филиппины.

Хоть последним и не уделялось много внимания, там произошло примечательное морское сражение. В нём американцам удалось одержать решительную победу, уничтожив эскадру противника с минимальными потерями.


Флагман коммодора Дьюи — бронепалубный крейсер Olympia

В силу большой удалённости от метрополии ни Испания, ни США не держали в западной части Тихого океана крупных боевых соединений. Испанский флот насчитывал 12 кораблей, из которых только 7 были готовы к морскому бою. Флагманом являлся Reina Cristina: крейсер, не имевший брони, но с самой мощной артиллерией в эскадре — 6 160-мм орудий. Помимо него присутствовали ещё 3 безбронных крейсера Castilla, Don Juan de Austria и Don Antonio de Ulloa, и 2 малых бронепалубных крейсера Isla de Luzon и Isla de Cuba. Из 5 канонерских лодок только Marques del Duero оставался боеспособным, с остальных же сняли вооружение для укрепления береговых батарей. Командование осуществлял контр-адмирал Патрисио Монтехо-Пассарон.

Ближайшая к Филиппинам американская эскадра под командованием коммодора Джорджа Дьюи находилась на тот момент в Гонконге. В неё входили бронепалубные крейсеры Olympia, Baltimore, Boston и Raleigh, а также мореходные канонерские лодки Concord и Petrel. Первые 3 крейсера были вооружены 203-мм орудиями главного калибра, что уже давало преимущество перед испанцами. Остальные корабли имели на борту 152-мм артиллерию. Несмотря на явное превосходство в огневой мощи и скорости, американская эскадра имела и свои слабости: из-за удалённости от своих баз снабжение и обслуживание кораблей было сильно затруднено. К тому же крейсеры не подходили для борьбы с хорошо укреплёнными береговыми фортами, так как не обладали сильной бронёй. Тем не менее коммодор Дьюи был готов немедленно выйти в море и атаковать испанцев в Маниле.

С объявлением войны обе стороны начали действовать. Американская эскадра направилась к Маниле, а испанцы готовились их встречать. Адмирал Монтехо отвёл свои корабли к Кавите, которую защищала всего пара артиллерийских батарей. Адмирал понимал, что сохранить эскадру не получится, и старался минимизировать потери.


Картина «Битва при Кавите»

Вечером 30 апреля эскадра коммодора Дьюи подошла к Маниле. Под покровом темноты корабли малым ходом зашли в бухту. После полуночи их заметили с одной из береговых батарей. Противники обменялись несколькими залпами, но безрезультатно. Ближе к рассвету американцы подошли к Маниле. Быстро определив, что в гавани только торговые суда, Дьюи направился к Кавите, где и находилась испанская эскадра. Примерно в 5 утра 1 мая обе эскадры установили визуальный контакт. Испанцы открыли огонь с предельной дистанции, американцы же ответили только через 20 минут. Выстроившись в линию, корабли были готовы вступить в бой.

Сигналом к открытию огня стал выстрел 203-мм орудия с Olympia. Чуть позже к нему присоединилась и остальная артиллерия. Пройдя пару миль, американская эскадра сделала разворот и теперь вела огонь с другого борта. Всего корабли Дьюи совершили 5 подобных манёвров, постепенно сократив дистанцию до мили. Don Juan de Austria был вынужден выйти из боя, а американцы сосредоточили огонь на самых крупных испанских кораблях. Вскоре была выведена из строя Castilla. Потерявший управление крейсер уже был охвачен огнём, когда его развернуло к американцам бортом, с которого были сняты орудия. Экипаж корабля перешёл на отходивший Don Juan. Флагман испанцев, Reina Cristina, двинулся навстречу врагам. Но корабль подвергся ураганному обстрелу, который нанес чудовищные повреждения: были снесены рубка и капитанский мостик, повсюду пылали пожары, среди орудийной прислуги имелось множество убитых и раненых. Примерно в 7:30 Дьюи отдал приказ о прекращении огня после рапорта об исчерпании боезапаса. На некоторое время наступила тишина.

Адмирал Монтехо покинул тонущий флагман. Он перешёл на Isla de Cuba и приступил к подготовке оставшихся в строю кораблей к новой схватке. В свою очередь Дьюи, поняв, что рапорт о закончившихся боеприпасах оказался ошибочным, решил окончательно уничтожить испанскую эскадру. Он разделил свои корабли следующим образом: канонерские лодки отправились в южном направлении на разведку, крейсер Raleigh должен был войти в бухту, Olympia и Boston прикрывали его, а Baltimore вышел на перехват торгового судна.

Крейсер Don Antonio de Ulloa стал первой целью американцев. Несмотря на попытки отстреливаться, испанский корабль вскоре был добит и покинут командой. Тем временем Baltimore угодил под огонь береговых батарей. Один из снарядов попал в корабль, выведя из строя орудие и ранив 9 человек. Быстро определив «мёртвую зону» форта, американцы начали его бомбардировку.

Вскоре канонерская лодка Petrel обнаружила оставшуюся часть эскадры противника за полуостровом. Не видя другого пути, адмирал Монтехо приказал всем кораблям открыть кингстоны. Хотя Isla de Luzon и Isla de Cuba ещё могли продолжить бой, испанский командир опасался, что вслед за канонеркой придут остальные корабли. Американские матросы высадились на полузатопленные испанские корабли и подожгли их. После полудня коммодор Дьюи выставил ультиматум испанцам, на что те ответили поднятием белого флага, тем самым завершив сражение.


Бронепалубный крейсер Olympia на вечной стоянке в Филадельфии

Результатом данного боя стало полное уничтожение испанской эскадры на Филиппинах. По разным оценкам, на испанских кораблях погибло от 60 до 160 человек (большая часть потерь пришлась на флагман Reina Cristina), свыше 200 человек получили ранения. Американские корабли получили 19 попаданий, из которых только одно, в крейсер Baltimore, нанесло какой-либо урон. За время боя не погибло ни одного матроса, 9 человек были ранены.

Стратегически победа американского флота не принесла каких-либо весомых сиюминутных результатов. Без крупных десантных сил захватить Манилу не представлялось возможным. Однако это событие чрезвычайно сильно подняло боевой дух американских войск и дало уверенность в быстром окончании войны в пользу США. Помимо прочего, американский флот таким образом заявил, что готов состязаться с ведущими морскими державами. Коммодор Дьюи был повышен до контр-адмирала. Его флагман — бронепалубный крейсер Olympia — был впоследствии превращён в корабль-музей, и он по сей день напоминает об этой славной странице в истории американского флота.

Узнайте больше про ещё один корабль-музей США — USS Slater — в документальном фильме от компании Wargaming. Приятного просмотра!

Автор:
6 комментариев
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, ежедневно дополнительные материалы, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Dart2027
    Dart2027 18 октября 2021 19:37
    +5
    Помимо прочего, американский флот таким образом заявил, что готов состязаться с ведущими морскими державами.

    Тогдашняя Испания это ведущая морская держава? Серьезно?
  2. Undecim
    Undecim 18 октября 2021 21:30
    +5
    За время боя не погибло ни одного матроса

    Старший механик USS McCulloch во время боя умер от инфаркта.
    1. 27091965i
      27091965i 18 октября 2021 22:42
      +3
      Смотрю кто то к Вам не "ровно дышит".

      Спасибо автору за статью,но если честно ждал большего.
      1. Undecim
        Undecim 18 октября 2021 22:52
        +4
        Смотрю кто то к Вам не ровно дышит.

        Это классика. Солоинк Логик.
  3. Trapper7
    Trapper7 19 октября 2021 10:59
    +4
    Когда начинаешь только знакомится с морскими битвами Испано-американской войны, то первое, что бросается в глаза - это списочный состав флота и "на бумаге" он выглядит действительно неплохо.
    Однако достаточно взглянуть хотя бы чуть-чуть внимательнее и....
    Испанские корабли в то время - это жуть жуткая и слезы отчаяния, а не флот, хотя экипажи молодцы - свой долг выполнили.
  4. Морской Кот
    Морской Кот 19 октября 2021 13:52
    +2
    Поводом к войне стал взрыв на броненосном крейсере Maine во время миссии по урегулированию конфликта на Кубе.


    Броненосный крейсер «Мэн», англ. USS Maine, ACR-1
    Водоизмещение 6789 т,
    Вооружение: 2х2 — 254-мм/30
    6х1 — 152-мм/30, 7 — 57-мм, 8 — 37-мм
    Минно-торпедное вооружение: 4х1 — 356-мм ТА
    Скорость хода: 16,4 — 17 узлов

    После катастрофы. Погибло 266 моряков.