Military Review

Pentagon: Lasers are weapons of the future, but this won't always be the case

16

Ultra-shortwave pulsed lasers, emitting a trillion watts in one quadrillion of a second, are today a technology too early for military use. Lasers are weapon the future, but it won't always be that way. Sooner or later, the introduction of laser weapons into the troops in a full-fledged version will take place.


This opinion was expressed by Joe Shepard, vice president of innovation in directional energy of the American company Booz Allen Hamilton, in his article published by Breaking Defense magazine.

There is an old joke in US defense circles that laser weapons are the technology of the future, and will always be so. But today the Pentagon is trying to translate the dream of the possibilities of directed energy into reality. At the same time, according to Shepard, he may be investing money in the wrong direction of research in which he should.

Much of the Pentagon's current research on directed energy weapons concerns CW lasers, which use a relatively low power beam to burn optical sensors or cause other material damage over time. But the military is increasingly interested in ultra-shortwave pulsed lasers (USPLs), very powerful beams fired in a tiny fraction of a second, so to speak, capable of vaporizing a small area of ​​a target's surface or destroying its electronics instantly.

It is vital to maintain the US leadership as the first country to effectively deploy USPL technology on the ground will have a clear military advantage

Shepard says.

In his opinion, the embodiment of this principle in real weapons systems is possible in about 10-15 years.

According to plans announced last year by the Pentagon, work on a powerful continuous wave laser weapon is in full swing. The United States intends to install it on aircraft from 2022 and on ground vehicles from 2023.
Photos used:
https://www.lockheedmartin.com/
16 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Shurik70
    Shurik70 22 October 2021 13: 08
    +2
    the first country to effectively apply USPL technology on the ground will have a clear military advantage

    But it won't always be this way
    1. Finches
      Finches 22 October 2021 13: 15
      +4
      "Garin, Garin," he repeated with a heartbreaking reproach. "I gave him the idea of ​​a hyperboloid. I gave him the idea of ​​an Olivine belt ..."
      1. Cube123
        Cube123 22 October 2021 15: 30
        +3
        Quote: Finches
        "Garin, Garin," he repeated with a heartbreaking reproach. "I gave him the idea of ​​a hyperboloid. I gave him the idea of ​​an Olivine belt ..."

        Alexei Tolstoy had at least a reasonable idea.

        And here is absolute nonsense:
        emitting a trillion watts in one quadrillionth of a second

        As a result, energy is only one thousandth of a Joule. It's not enough even to light a match wassat A flashlight bulb emits the same energy in two thousandths of a second. And a laser from a DVD player in a fifth of a second. And he only needs to burst balloons at a distance of no more than a couple of centimeters.
  2. Karos
    Karos 22 October 2021 13: 10
    -1
    The mirrors are enough to reflect the full power of the laser, though where the beam will go is not predictable.
    1. Cananecat
      Cananecat 22 October 2021 13: 19
      0
      Quote: Karos
      Grabs a mirror to reflect the full power of the laser

      An ordinary mirror may not fit, we are talking not so much about a beam of light as about a short burst of plasma, and these are very high temperatures.
    2. Mole13
      Mole13 22 October 2021 13: 31
      -1
      Yeah, but add a mirror to the "Warrior" kit and the problem is solved.
    3. vadimtt
      vadimtt 22 October 2021 14: 06
      +2
      What mirror are you talking about? Already starting from a miserable megawatt per 1mm2, mirrors do not exist in principle. And we are talking about petawatts wassat By the way, this is another problem of such a weapon - because of its super-luminosity, the beam hits in two diametrically opposite directions, this must be taken into account wassat In the meantime, capacitor banks (and not simple ones, but very tricky ones) will occupy the football field - there will be no weapons. laughing And such experimental installations have been a dime a dozen for a long time. Everyone wants to get thermonuclear fusion not only in the cooperative Itera, but everyone in their own laser laboratory, separately from everyone, so to speak. bully
  3. rocket757
    rocket757 22 October 2021 13: 16
    +2
    Pentagon: Lasers are weapons of the future, but this won't always be the case
    Does anyone argue with this? Although they supplement that will be used for specific tasks, and not everywhere.
  4. datura23
    datura23 22 October 2021 13: 22
    -1
    Mirrors are the armor of the future, but it will never be
  5. Aleksandr97
    Aleksandr97 22 October 2021 13: 26
    0
    The problem of the use of lasers in combat is not a banal increase in the radiation power, this is half the trouble, quite a trouble with the systems of concentration and control of the energy beam. The American laser Boeing was closed essentially due to the "disposable" guidance system.
  6. mojohed2012
    mojohed2012 22 October 2021 13: 41
    +1
    Lasers in the course of scientific research do not in any way pull against the hypersonic missiles of the Russian Federation in metal and the operation of the Russian Armed Forces. This is a shift in focus from the failures of the United States in hyper to secondary prerequisites for a possible hypothetical obtaining in the distant future of laser weapons of acceptable power and characteristics.
  7. kytx
    kytx 22 October 2021 13: 46
    +1
    In space, it is possible and will be
  8. sergo1914
    sergo1914 22 October 2021 16: 15
    0
    ... Lasers are the weapon of the future, but it won't always be so


    It will be different in the future.
  9. Klingon
    Klingon 22 October 2021 17: 09
    -2
    Quote: Aleksandr97
    The problem of the use of lasers in combat is not a banal increase in the radiation power, this is half the trouble, quite a trouble with the systems of concentration and control of the energy beam. The American laser Boeing was closed essentially due to the "disposable" guidance system.

    Not at all because of this, but because it is a bulky chemical laser. Oxygen-iodine or whatever it was, as far as the reagent is enough and will emit.
  10. lvov_aleksey
    lvov_aleksey 22 October 2021 19: 20
    +1
    Quote: vadimtt
    What mirror are you talking about? Already starting from a miserable megawatt per 1mm2, mirrors do not exist in principle. And we are talking about petawatts wassat By the way, this is another problem of such a weapon - because of its super-luminosity, the beam hits in two diametrically opposite directions, this must be taken into account wassat In the meantime, capacitor banks (and not simple ones, but very tricky ones) will occupy the football field - there will be no weapons. laughing And such experimental installations have been a dime a dozen for a long time. Everyone wants to get thermonuclear fusion not only in the cooperative Itera, but everyone in their own laser laboratory, separately from everyone, so to speak. bully

    As far as I know the theory of a laser, no one can solve the problem with precipitation so far - everything is beautiful in a vacuum.
  11. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 22 October 2021 20: 32
    +1
    I want a proton blaster! (Not to be confused with a protein bar!) ...

Военное обозрение

Пентагон: Лазеры – это оружие будущего, но так будет не всегда

16

Ультракоротковолновые импульсные лазеры, излучающие триллион ватт за одну квадриллионную долю секунды, сегодня являются технологией, слишком ранней для военного использования. Лазеры – это оружие будущего, но так будет не всегда. Рано или поздно внедрение лазерного оружия в войска в полноценном варианте состоится.


Такое мнение высказал вице-президент по инновациям в области направленной энергетики американской компании Booz Allen Hamilton Джо Шепард в своей статье, опубликованной журналом Breaking Defense.

В оборонных кругах США ходит старая шутка, что лазерное оружие – это технология будущего, и так будет всегда. Но сегодня мечту о возможностях направленной энергии Пентагон пытается воплотить в реальность. При этом, по мнению Шепарда, он, возможно, вкладывает деньги не в то направление исследований, в которое следует.

Большая часть текущих исследований Пентагона в области оружия с направленной энергией касается лазеров непрерывной волны, использующих относительно маломощный луч для сжигания оптических датчиков или постепенного нанесения другого материального ущерба. Но военные все больше интересуются ультракоротковолновыми импульсными лазерами (USPL), очень мощными лучами, так сказать, выстреливаемыми в течение крошечной доли секунды и способными испарить небольшой участок поверхности цели или разрушить ее электронику мгновенно.

Жизненно важно сохранить лидерство США, поскольку первая страна, которая эффективно применит технологию USPL на местах, будет обладать явным военным преимуществом

- считает Шепард.

По его мнению, воплощение данного принципа в реальных системах вооружений возможно примерно через 10-15 лет.

Согласно озвученным в прошлом году Пентагоном планам, работы над мощным лазерным оружием непрерывной волны идут полным ходом. Соединенные Штаты намерены устанавливать его на самолеты с 2022 года, а на наземную технику – с 2023-го.
Использованы фотографии:
https://www.lockheedmartin.com/
16 комментариев
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, ежедневно дополнительные материалы, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Shurik70
    Shurik70 22 октября 2021 13:08
    +2
    первая страна, которая эффективно применит технологию USPL на местах, будет обладать явным военным преимуществом

    Но так будет не всегда
    1. Зяблицев
      Зяблицев 22 октября 2021 13:15
      +4
      "Гарин, Гарин, – повторил он с душераздирающей укоризной. – Я дал ему идею гиперболоида. Я навел его на мысль об Оливиновом поясе..."
      1. Кубик123
        Кубик123 22 октября 2021 15:30
        +3
        Цитата: Зяблицев
        "Гарин, Гарин, – повторил он с душераздирающей укоризной. – Я дал ему идею гиперболоида. Я навел его на мысль об Оливиновом поясе..."

        У Алексея Толстого хотя-бы разумная мысль была.

        А тут абсолютный бред:
        излучающие триллион ватт за одну квадриллионную долю секунды

        В результате - энергия всего одна тысячная доля Джоуля. Не хватит даже спичку поджечь wassat Лампочка от карманного фонарика излучает такую же энергию за две тысячных доли секунды. А лазер от DVD плеера за пятую долю секунды. И хватает его только надувные шарики лопать на расстояниях не дальше пары сантиметров.
  2. Karos
    Karos 22 октября 2021 13:10
    -1
    Хватает зеркала что бы отразить всю мощь лазера, правда куда луч пойдет не предугадать.
    1. Canecat
      Canecat 22 октября 2021 13:19
      0
      Цитата: Karos
      Хватает зеркала что бы отразить всю мощь лазера

      Обычное зеркало может не подойти, речь идет не столько о луче света, сколько о коротком выбросе плазмы, а это очень высокие температуры.
    2. Крот13
      Крот13 22 октября 2021 13:31
      -1
      Ага, а в комплект "Ратник" добавить зеркальце и проблема решена.
    3. vadimtt
      vadimtt 22 октября 2021 14:06
      +2
      Какое зеркало, вы о чем? Уже начиная с жалкого мегаватта на 1мм2 не существует зеркал в принципе. А речь идет о петаваттах wassat Кстати, в этом кроется еще одна проблема такого оружия - из-за его суперсветимости луч бьет в двух диаметрально противоположных направлениях, это нужно учитывать wassat Ну а пока батареи конденсаторов (и не простых, а очень даже хитрых) будут занимать футбольное поле - никакого именно оружия не будет laughing А экспериментальных установок таких давно пруд пруди. Все хотят термояд получить не только в кооперативном Итере, но и каждый в своей лазерной лаборатории, отдельно ото всех, так сказать bully
  3. rocket757
    rocket757 22 октября 2021 13:16
    +2
    Пентагон: Лазеры – это оружие будущего, но так будет не всегда
    Разве с этим кто то спорит? Хотя и дополняют, что будет использовано для выполнения конкретных задач, а не везде, где попало.
  4. datura23
    datura23 22 октября 2021 13:22
    -1
    Зеркала это броня будущего , но этого не будет никогда
  5. Александр97
    Александр97 22 октября 2021 13:26
    0
    Проблема боевого применения лазеров не в банальном наращивании мощности излучения, это полбеды, совсем беда с системами концентрации и управления пучком энергии. Американский лазерный боинг закрыли по сути из-за "одноразовости" системы наведения.
  6. mojohed2012
    mojohed2012 22 октября 2021 13:41
    +1
    Лазеры в ходе научных изысканий никак не тянут против гиперзвуковых ракет РФ в металле и эксплуатации ВС РФ. Это смещение внимания с неудач США в гипере на второстепенные предпосылки возможно гипотетического получения в далеком будущем лазерного оружия приемлемой мощности и характеристик.
  7. kytx
    kytx 22 октября 2021 13:46
    +1
    В космосе возможно и будет
  8. sergo1914
    sergo1914 22 октября 2021 16:15
    0
    . Лазеры – это оружие будущего, но так будет не всегда


    В будущем будет по другому.
  9. Klingon
    Klingon 22 октября 2021 17:09
    -2
    Цитата: Александр97
    Проблема боевого применения лазеров не в банальном наращивании мощности излучения, это полбеды, совсем беда с системами концентрации и управления пучком энергии. Американский лазерный боинг закрыли по сути из-за "одноразовости" системы наведения.

    Вовсе не из за этого а потому что это громоздкий химический лазер. Кислородно-йодный или какой он там был, насколько реактива хватит столько и будет излучать.
  10. lvov_aleksey
    lvov_aleksey 22 октября 2021 19:20
    +1
    Цитата: vadimtt
    Какое зеркало, вы о чем? Уже начиная с жалкого мегаватта на 1мм2 не существует зеркал в принципе. А речь идет о петаваттах wassat Кстати, в этом кроется еще одна проблема такого оружия - из-за его суперсветимости луч бьет в двух диаметрально противоположных направлениях, это нужно учитывать wassat Ну а пока батареи конденсаторов (и не простых, а очень даже хитрых) будут занимать футбольное поле - никакого именно оружия не будет laughing А экспериментальных установок таких давно пруд пруди. Все хотят термояд получить не только в кооперативном Итере, но и каждый в своей лазерной лаборатории, отдельно ото всех, так сказать bully

    насколько я знаю теорию лазера, пока никто не может решить проблему с осадками - в вакууме все красиво.
  11. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 22 октября 2021 20:32
    +1
    Хочу протонный бластер! (Не путать с протеиновым батончиком!)...