Military Review

How did the century of tanks begin

8
World War I was a scrapping of eras. She changed the map of Europe, claimed the lives of 10 million, turned the usual ideas about the world, and the world itself. AT stories this great war was also marked by the fact that it was during this period that two fundamentally new types were used for the first time in the conduct of hostilities weapons - chemical and tank. The new weapon turned all military theory and practice upside down, making the customs of war even more cruel, and the man’s ability to destroy his own kind even more terrifying.

At the very height of the war, in the winter of 1916, the headquarters of the Entente's armies began preparations for a joint campaign to finally take control of the strategic initiative and lead the war to a victorious conclusion. It was decided to conduct operations to use the maximum of available forces and means, including those at the implementation stage. The main objective of the planned attack was the seizure of German communications centers and the transfer of the combat zone to the coast of France. The Somme River was chosen as the site of a major joint combat operation in England and France. The terrain conditions were unfavorable for maneuvers — too hilly and uneven, but the Allies hoped that numerical superiority over the enemy would allow them to overcome negative factors. To ensure the success of the operation, 6 cavalry and 32 infantry divisions were engaged. Fire support provided 2,2 thousand guns, 1,2 thousand mortars, 300 aircraft. For the first time it was planned to use a new type of heavy ground weapons - tanks.

The operation began on July 1 and continued until November 18 1916. The Germans were well prepared, and the success of the Allies was ambiguous. The British attack was repulsed, but the French in two days took several settlements and two positions. But the German army under the command of K. von Bülow in the shortest possible time was able to organize the defense and pulled up additional reserves.

By September 12, the Allies broke through the German position, but they didn’t have enough strength to develop the offensive. Then came to the aid of previously unused type of weapons. Exactly 97 years ago, 15 September 1916, the British launched the first tank attack in the history of mankind. For lack of experience, the crews of cars were still poorly prepared. The tanks themselves were non-maneuverable, bulky and slow moving. Night marches to the front were 49 machines, of which only 32 could advance to their starting positions. In support of the attack, only 18 tanks took part; the rest, despite their formidable appearance, could not overcome natural obstacles. But this number also had a decisive influence on the development of hostilities. Thanks to tank support, the British troops at the front of a length of 10 km advanced inland 4-5 km. The operation took only 5 hours, and the British manpower losses were much lower compared to other operations.

How did the century of tanks begin
"Little Willie"


During the attack, the British used the Mk.1 tanks, an experimental model of which was released a year earlier, in the 1915 year. The creators called it "Little Willie". After a series of tests, the car was declared ready for combat. The first operating models of this tank came out in the 1916 year, at the same time the British command began to carry out an order for similar machines on 100. The tank Mk.1 was produced in two modifications: “Male” (the “male” version of the tank had a machine gun and two 57-mm guns) and “Female” (the “female” version was equipped with machine-gun armament). The thickness of the armor was 6-10 mm, it withstood fragments and bullets, but the direct hit of the projectile was destructive for it. The 30 car weighed in weight, the length was 10 m, the travel speed was 6 km / h, it could overcome trenches and wire barriers. The crew included a 8 man, in the same building with them was the engine. The temperature in the womb of the iron beast reached 50 degrees. The crew's equipment included a gas mask, as the crew lost consciousness from lack of oxygen and exhaust gases.

The next major use of tanks by British troops was 20 in November 1917 in the area of ​​Cambrai. It was the first mass tank attack.

Mk.1


The 3 tank corps, equipped with 476 armored vehicles, took part in it. According to the plan of the operation, it was supposed, after breaking through the German defenses, to take Cambrai and go to Belgium. Early in the morning the tank corps struck the German positions. The sudden attack of a huge number of armored vehicles worked like a weapon of demoralization. The stunned adversary practically did not resist - the defenders had neither the skills to fight with tanks, nor the appropriate weapons, and most importantly - were put into a state of shock. Tanks made a truly frightening impression on the Germans, causing animal horror and panic. Toward the evening of November 20, the tanks, accompanied by infantry, advanced inland into 10 km and rushed towards Cambrai. More than 8, thousands of prisoners, 100 guns and several hundred machine guns were captured. But later there was a clear inconsistency in the actions of the infantry and tanks, and the British offensive stopped, and by November 29 stopped completely. On November 30, the German command organized a counter-offensive and soon the lost lands were returned. Then the British entered into battle 73 tank. The tanks attacked in groups of 3 machines located in a triangle, followed by infantry in three lines: the first captured the trench, the second destroyed the enemy's living force, the third provided the rear.

The first tank battle with the use of combat vehicles on both sides occurred only at the end of the war, 24 on April 1918. It was a clash between the British tanks Mk.1 and the German tanks A7V near the village of Viller-Bretonne. Artillery and infantry in this battle did not participate. Thanks to the higher maneuverability of the tanks and the coherence of the crew’s work, the British got out of the battle winners.

A7V


The order for the production of military vehicles in Germany was received by Josef Vollmer. The tanks had to meet a number of requirements: a reliable engine, minimized noise, the ability to replenish ammunition for 6 hours, a small silhouette, good sealing, quick replacement of the engine.

The tank designed by Volmer was called the LK-I (“light tank”), while the heavier LK-II tanks were also ready for release. It was supposed to make a third of tanks with machine-gun equipment, and the rest - with a cannon. They did not immediately take part in the hostilities - the war ended before the tanks were assembled. There was a paradox - Germany, which had the ability to make tanks that were not inferior to the enemy, slowed down their production due to the lack of flexibility of the industrial system. If she had a sufficient number of light combat vehicles, then it is unknown how the war would turn.

LK-I


In the battles of the First World War, the tank clearly demonstrated its capabilities. In addition to significant physical damage, he introduced psychological confusion into the ranks of the defending side. It was clear that the enormous potential of the combat vehicle had yet to be revealed.
Author:
8 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Civil
    Civil 15 September 2012 15: 27
    +3
    need a photo of the terrible french tank

  2. The centurion
    The centurion 15 September 2012 16: 07
    +8
    World War I was very different in character from previous and subsequent. The 3-4 decades before the World War in weaponry were characterized primarily by the fact that in their development, defense weapons sharply went ahead compared to offensive weapons. On the battlefield, a rapid-fire magazine rifle, a quick-fire rifled breech-loading gun and, of course, a machine gun began to dominate. Under these conditions, any attempt by the troops to advance turned into a catastrophe such as the defeat of the Russian army in the Masovian swamps or a meat grinder like Verdun. For many years, war has become maneuverable, trench, positional. But the military people found the same solutions. Tanks, armored cars, armored trains, bombers appeared, mortars began to be used in large quantities. The theory of deep operation was developed, in the German version the theory of blitzkrieg. In the Russian army, this work was led by the inspector general of the cavalry, Prince Erdeli. Two shock armies began to form, one for the Western and the other for the Southwestern fronts. In the Russian version, Erdely called them horse-mechanized groups. Dozens of armored trains, thousands of armored cars and airplanes were built for them, several hundred thousand uniforms, leather for pilots, armored detachments and armored trains were sewn, special uniforms for cavalrymen with red trousers for the 1 army and blue for the 2 army, stockpiles of ammunition and ammunition. All this wealth was stored in special warehouses along the Moscow-Minsk and Moscow-Kiev highways. The offensive was planned for the summer of 1917. At the beginning of this year, the best cavalry officers and techies were recalled from the front and at military schools they began to be taught to conduct war in a new way. In both capitals, dozens of training centers for the training of crews were created, tens of thousands of competent workers and engineers were mobilized there, having removed their reservation. But they did not want to fight, and anti-war propaganda completed the job. In fact, the soldiers of the training regiments and the workers armed with Kerensky to defend the revolution from front-line soldiers then made the October Revolution. Hitherto unprecedented losses and several years of the Great Trench Seat led to the demoralization of the existing armies and ultimately ended in the collapse of 4's powerful Empires: the Russian, Austro-Hungarian, German and Ottoman. And despite the victory, in addition to them, they broke down completely and the 2 colonial empires began to fall: British and French. But the property and weapons accumulated for the Russian shock armies were not in vain. Leather and Mausers were very fond of the Chekists and commissars, and the cavalry uniform went for the uniforms of the 1 and 2 cavalry armies and red commanders and became known as Budennovskaya. Against the background of this geopolitical catastrophe of the beginning of the 20 century, His Majesty the Tank was born.
  3. beech
    beech 15 September 2012 17: 23
    0
    there is no offer of perfection !!!
  4. Sasha 19871987
    Sasha 19871987 15 September 2012 17: 25
    0
    a terrible war ... the price of life fell to nowhere below, and the killings went on an industrial scale, for which thanks to the industrial boom (((
  5. Brother Sarych
    Brother Sarych 15 September 2012 17: 32
    +3
    But what did the author not put a photo of the Renault tank, who lived to the next war?
  6. ICT
    ICT 15 September 2012 18: 45
    +6
    communication "commander where to go then" lol
    1. Ksr
      Ksr 29 December 2012 21: 48
      0
      This is definitely not a photo montage ?!
  7. datur
    datur 15 September 2012 20: 20
    +2
    in general, the Germans very quickly found a way to deal with the Aglitz tanks - and very successfully! yes
  8. iSpoiler
    iSpoiler 16 September 2012 06: 50
    -2
    although virtual, but his ..))))
    relay on the wiki ..)))))

Как начинался век танков

Первая Мировая война была сломом эпох. Она изменила карту Европы, унесла жизни 10 млн. чел., перевернула привычные представления о мире, да и сам мир. В истории эта великая война отмечена еще и тем, что именно в этот период при ведении боевых действий впервые использовались два принципиально новых вида оружия – химическое и танковое. Новое оружие перевернуло всю военную теорию и практику, сделав обычаи войны ещё более жестокими, а возможности человека по истреблению себе подобных ещё более ужасающими.

В самый разгар войны, зимой 1916 г. штабы армий Антанты приступили к подготовке совместной кампании, призванной окончательно взять стратегическую инициативу в свои руки и вести войну к победоносному завершению. Было принято решение для ведения операций использовать максимум имеющихся сил и средств, в том числе и находящихся на стадии внедрения. Главной задачей планируемого наступления объявлялся захват немецких узлов связи и перенос зоны боевых действий на побережье Франции. Местом крупной совместной боевой операции Англии и Франции была выбрана р.Сомма. Условия местности были неблагоприятны для маневров – слишком холмистая и неровная, но союзники рассчитывали, что численное превосходство над противником позволит им преодолеть отрицательные факторы. Для обеспечения успеха операции было привлечено 6 кавалерийских и 32 пехотных дивизии. Огневую поддержку обеспечивали 2,2 тыс. орудий, 1,2 тыс. минометов, 300 самолетов. Впервые планировалось применить новый вид тяжелого сухопутного вооружения – танки.

Операция началась 1 июля и продолжалась до 18 ноября 1916 г. Немцы оказались хорошо подготовлены, и успех союзников был неоднозначным. Атака англичан была отбита, французы же за два дня взяли несколько населенных пунктов и две позиции. Но германская армия под командованием К. фон Бюлова в кратчайшие сроки смогла организовать оборону и подтянула дополнительные резервы.


К 12 сентября союзники прорвали позицию немцев, но на то, чтобы развить наступление, сил уже не хватило. Тогда на помощь пришел ранее не использовавшийся вид вооружения. Ровно 97 лет назад, 15 сентября 1916 года, британцы провели первую в истории человечества танковую атаку. За недостатком опыта экипажи машин были еще слабо подготовлены. Сами танки были неманевренны, громоздки и тихоходны. Ночным маршем к фронту выступили 49 машин, из них только 32 смогли выдвинуться на исходные позиции. В поддержке атаки участие приняли только 18 танков, остальные, несмотря на грозный внешний вид, не смогли преодолеть природных препятствий. Но и это количество оказало решающее влияние на развитие боевых действий. Благодаря танковой поддержке английские войска на фронте длиной в 10 км продвинулись вглубь на 4-5 км. На операцию ушло всего 5 часов, а потери живой силы англичан были гораздо ниже, по сравнению с другими операциями.

Как начинался век танков
«Little Willie»


При проведении атаки британцы использовали танки Mk.1, экспериментальная модель которого была выпущена годом ранее, в 1915 году. Создатели назвали его «Little Willie». После ряда испытаний машина была признана готовой к боевым действиям. Первые действующие образцы этого танка вышли в 1916 году, одновременно с этим начал осуществляться заказ британского командования на 100 аналогичных машин. Танк Mk.1 производился в двух модификациях: «Male» («мужской» вариант танка имел пулемет и две 57-мм пушки) и «Female» («женский» вариант был оснащен пулеметным вооружением). Толщина брони составила 6-10 мм, она выдерживала осколки и пули, но прямое попадание снаряда было для нее разрушительно. Весила машина 30 т, длиной была 10 м, скорость передвижения – 6 км/ч, мог преодолевать траншеи и проволочные заграждения. В состав экипажа входило 8 человек, в одном корпусе с ними находился и двигатель. Температура во чреве железного зверя достигала 50 градусов. В снаряжение экипажа входил противогаз, так как экипаж терял сознание от недостатка кислорода и выхлопных газов.

Следующее крупное применение танков британскими войсками состоялось 20 ноября 1917 г. в районе г. Камбре. Это была первая массовая танковая атака.

Как начинался век танков
Mk.1


В ней принял участие 3-й танковый корпус, оснащенный 476 бронированными машинами. По плану операции предполагалось, прорвав германскую оборону, взять Камбре и выйти в Бельгию. Рано утром танковый корпус ударил по германским позициям. Внезапная атака огромного количества бронированных машин сработала, как оружие деморализации. Ошеломленный противник практически не оказывал сопротивления – обороняющиеся не имели ни навыков борьбы с танками, ни соответствующего вооружения, а главное – были повержены в состояние шока. Танки производили на немцев поистине устрашающее впечатление, вызывая животный ужас и панику. Ближе к вечеру 20 ноября танки, сопровождаемые пехотой, продвинулись вглубь фронта на 10 км и устремились к Камбре. Было захвачено более 8 тыс. пленных, 100 орудий и несколько сотен пулеметов. Но позже стала явной несогласованность в действиях пехоты и танков, и британское наступление приостановилось, а к 29 ноября остановилось полностью. 30 ноября германское командование организовало контрнаступление и вскоре утраченные земли были возвращены. Тогда англичане ввели в бой 73 танка. Танки наступали группами по 3 машины, расположенными треугольником, за ними тремя линиями следовала пехота: первая захватывала окоп, вторая уничтожала живую силу противника, третья обеспечивала тыл.

Первое танковое сражение с использованием боевых машин с обеих сторон произошло лишь под конец войны, 24 апреля 1918 г. Это было столкновение между английскими танками Mk.1 и германскими танками A7V под деревней Виллер-Бретонне. Артиллерия и пехота в этом бою участия не принимали. Благодаря более высокой маневренности танков и слаженности работы экипажа англичане вышли из боя победителями.

Как начинался век танков
A7V


Заказ на производство боевых машин в Германии получил Йозеф Фольмер. Танки должны были отвечать ряду требований: надежный двигатель, сведенный к минимуму шум, возможность пополнения боекомплекта в течение 6 часов, небольшой силуэт, хорошая герметизация, быстрая замена двигателя.

Разработанный Фольмером танк получил название LK-I («легкий танк»), в то же время были готовы к выпуску и более тяжелые танки LK-II. Предполагалось сделать треть танков с пулеметным оснащением, а остальные – с пушечным. Поучаствовать в боевых действиях им довелось не сразу – война закончилась раньше, чем танки были собраны. Вышел парадокс – Германия, которая имела возможность делать танки, не уступавшие противнику, затормозила их производство по причине недостаточной гибкости промышленной системы. Если бы у нее было достаточное количество легких боевых машин, то неизвестно, как развернулся бы ход войны.

Как начинался век танков
LK-I


В битвах Первой Мировой войны танк наглядно продемонстрировал свои возможности. Кроме значительного физического ущерба, он вносил психологическое смятение в ряды обороняющейся стороны. Было ясно, что огромному потенциалу боевой машины еще только предстоит раскрыться.
Автор: Вениамин Ключ


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 8
  1. Гражданский 15 сентября 2012 15:27
    надо фото страшного французского танка

  2. Сотник 15 сентября 2012 16:07
    Первая мировая война сильно отличалась по своему характеру от предыдущих и последующих. 3-4 десятилетия перед Мировой войной в оружейном деле характеризовались прежде всего тем, что в своём развитии оружие обороны резко ушло вперёд по сравнению с оружием наступления. На поле боя стали господствовать скорострельная магазинная винтовка, скорострельная нарезная казнозарядная пушка и конечно пулемёт. В этих условиях всякая попытка войск наступать превращалась в катастрофу типа разгрома русской армии в Мазовецких болотах или мясорубку типа Вердена. Война на долгие годы стала маломаневренной, окопной, позиционной. Но военные люди нашли таки решения. Появились танки, броневики, бронепоезда, бомбардировщики, массово стали применяться миномёты. Была разработана теория глубокой операции, в немецком варианте теория блицкрига. В русской армии эту работу возглавлял генерал-инспектор кавалерии князь Эрдели. Начали формироваться две ударные армии, одна для Западного, другая для Юго-западного фронтов. В русском варианте их Эрдели называл конно-механизированными группами. Для них были построены десятки бронепоездов, тысячи броневиков и аэропланов, пошиты несколько сот тысяч единиц обмундирования, кожаного для лётчиков, бронеотрядов и бронепоездов, специальное обмундирование для кавалеристов с красными для 1 армии и синими для 2 армии шароварами, запасено огромное количество вооружения и боеприпасов. Всё это богатство хранилось в специальных складах вдоль железнодорожных магистралей Москва-Минск и Москва-Киев. Наступление планировалось на лето 1917 года. В начале этого года лучшие офицеры-кавалеристы и технари были отозваны с фронта и при военных училищах их начали обучать ведению войны по-новому. В обеих столицах были созданы десятки учебных центров по подготовке экипажей, туда мобилизовали десятки тысяч грамотных рабочих и инженеров, сняв с них бронь. Но они не желали воевать, а антивоенная пропаганда довершила дело. По сути дела солдаты учебных полков и вооружённые Керенским для защиты революции от фронтовиков рабочие и совершили потом Октябрьский переворот. Невиданные доселе потери и несколько лет Великого окопного сидения привело и к деморализации действующих армий и в конечном итоге закончилось крушением 4-х могучих Империй: Российской, Австровенгерской, Германской и Османской. Да и несмотря на победу, кроме них капитально надломились и начали валиться ещё 2 колониальные империи: Британская и Французская. Но накопленное для русских ударных армий имущество и вооружение не пропало даром. Кожанки и маузеры очень полюбились чекистам и комиссарам, а кавалерийская форма пошла на обмундирование 1 и 2 Конной армий и красных командиров и стала называться будённовской. На фоне этой геополитической катастрофы начала 20 века и родился Его Величество Танк.
  3. бук 15 сентября 2012 17:23
    нет предлу совершенству!!!
    бук
  4. саша 19871987 15 сентября 2012 17:25
    страшная война... цена жизни упала до ниже некуда,а убийства перешли в промышленные масштабы,за что и спасибо промышленному буму(((
  5. Братец Сарыч 15 сентября 2012 17:32
    А что же автор не поместил фото танка Рено, дожившего аж до следующей войны?
    Братец Сарыч
  6. TIT 15 сентября 2012 18:45
    связь "командир куда ехать то " lol
    TIT
    1. K.S.R. 29 декабря 2012 21:48
      Это точно не фотомонтаж?!
      K.S.R.
  7. datur 15 сентября 2012 20:20
    вообще то немцы оченьбыстро нашли способ бороться с аглицкими танками -причем очень успешно! yes
  8. iSpoiler 16 сентября 2012 06:50
    хоть и виртуальный, зато свой..))))
    реля на вике..)))))
    iSpoiler

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня