Military Review

Battle of the Mariana Islands. Rehearsal for the smash in Leyte Gulf

13
Decisive Marine Success aviation United States in the Philippine Sea, which brought victory in World War II closer. Read on for the new material from the creators of World of Warships!


The Pacific Ocean is the largest ocean on the planet. During World War II, these vast expanses of water and the thousands of islands scattered across them became a battlefield for the fleets of the Japanese Empire and the United States of America. It was here that the largest naval battles of World War II took place.

If in the early stages of the war the Imperial Navy won confident victories, then soon the initiative passed to the Americans. At the beginning of 1944, Japan could only defend itself. The imperial command continued to stubbornly believe that it could impose a general battle on the enemy and win. But in reality, this only delayed the inevitable defeat. The Americans were superior in numbers, technical support, and the level of training of the flight crew. The latter was especially lacking in Japan, since it was aviation that determined the principles of the war in the Pacific.

By the summer of 1944, the Japanese command had adopted Operational Plan A. The new line of defense was to pass through the central part of the Mariana Islands to Palau and south to New Guinea. The imperial admirals were well aware that the Mariana Archipelago, remote from the Japanese Islands, would become the base of the US strategic aviation. For the Americans, the seizure of these islands would make it possible to deploy squadrons of long-range bombers for subsequent attacks on enemy territory.


Map of the Mariana Islands and the Pacific Ocean, where the battle unfolded on June 19-20, 1944

To break through the Japanese defense line, the Americans sent the 5th Fleet under the command of Admiral Raymond Spruance. On June 11, carrier-based aircraft began to strike at Japanese positions on the islands. The 1st Air Fleet protecting them was partially destroyed. Already on June 15, two marine divisions landed on the island of Saipan - bloody battles for the island began. The Japanese command immediately reacted to this, on the same day ordering the commander of the First mobile fleet Vice Admiral Jisaburo Ozawa to attack and destroy enemy troops. However, the ships needed time to refuel, and the fleet was brought to full combat readiness only on the 19th.

The forces of the Imperial Navy consisted of 5 heavy and 4 light aircraft carriers, 5 battleships, 13 cruisers, 23 destroyers and 6 tankers. Air groups numbered up to 440 different carrier-based aircraft. At the same time, Ozawa received from Vice Admiral Kakuta false reports on the state of air groups based on the islands. When the forces of the aircraft carrier were preparing to strike the enemy, the coastal aviation practically ceased to exist. Thus, Ozawa was forced to rely only on his own strength.

Meanwhile, Admiral Spruence received a report on the movement of enemy naval forces on 15 June. Task Force 58 was sent under the command of Vice Admiral Mark Mitscher. It included 7 heavy and 8 light aircraft carriers, which carried up to 900 aircraft. The compound was covered by 7 battleships, 21 cruisers and 67 destroyers.

Admiral Ozawa correctly assumed that the American fleet would be located near the landing sites to cover the landing. Therefore, he had great freedom of action while on the high seas. On June 18, two of the Japanese reconnaissance aircraft spotted and positioned American units several times, but Ozawa did not decide to launch an attack until the next morning. This could have come as an unpleasant surprise for the Americans, since they had absolutely no expectation of attacks that day.

On the night of June 19, an exchange of messages took place between the headquarters of Spruance and Mitscher. The latter suggested that they come closer to the Japanese overnight and strike in the morning. Spruance, in turn, ordered the operation to continue to protect the huge amphibious fleet against Saipan.


Japanese aircraft carrier IJN Taiho

From 3 to 4 in the morning, Ozawa's formation lined up in battle formation. Mindful of the mistakes of past battles, the admiral ordered battleships and cruisers to raise 16 reconnaissance aircraft. At 05:15 the second group of scouts took off - 13 carrier-based aircraft and 1 seaplane. At 07:30, the scouts of the first group noticed one of the American formations, after which Ozawa ordered to prepare the air groups for departure. The first wave of 59 aircraft rose from the division of aircraft carriers of Admiral Obayashi. Basically, these were "Zero", equipped with 250-kg bombs. A little later, other Japanese aircraft carriers began to release their groups. By 9 o'clock in the morning, another 129 vehicles took off.

Around 10 am, radar operators from the American battleship Alabama made contact with multiple air targets. Admiral Mitscher ordered to double-check the data. As soon as confirmation came from the battleship Iowa, an alarm was declared throughout the compound. The dive bombers and torpedo bombers preparing for takeoff were lifted into the air to clear the take-off decks of the ships for the fighters. While the Japanese delayed the attack, the Americans managed to lift up to 30 Grumman F6F Hellcat into the air. They intercepted the first wave of Japanese. The planes that broke through were stopped by a wall of fire created by anti-aircraft gunners from the ships. During this attack, more than 40 Japanese aircraft were destroyed, while the Americans lost only 1 fighter. The battleship South Dakota was hit by a 250-kg bomb (50 casualties were killed and wounded), and a wounded plane crashed into Indiana, which did not cause much damage to the ship.

A larger second wave of Japanese aircraft attacked an hour later. But, as in the previous time, most of the attackers were met by American fighters. Significantly superior to the Japanese in flight skills and quality of technology, American pilots shot down one plane after another. A small group that managed to break through the interceptors came under heavy air defense fire from the battleships. Only 6 D4Y Judy and a few B6N Jill were able to reach the carriers, but the close explosions of their dropped bombs did little to no damage. 4 people were killed on American ships and several dozen more were wounded. The Japanese used a small decoy-targeting trick: special planes dropped dipole reflectors to create false targets for radars.


American aircraft carrier USS Bunker Hill during the battle on June 19, 1944

At 10 o'clock in the morning, Ozawa flew into the air for the third wave - 47 aircraft. They wandered for a long time over the endless expanses of the Pacific Ocean. Some of the pilots got involved in combat with American fighters, and 7 of them were shot down. The fourth wave, numbering 82 aircraft, was directed to the point where the American aircraft carriers were discovered by the scout. But its coordinates were transmitted incorrectly. According to the plan, the squadrons did not return to the aircraft carriers, but headed for the ground bases. Most of the fourth wave was detected by the radar of American ships stationed in the Guam region. And then it was intercepted by fighters pointed at them from aircraft carriers, who were on duty in the air, already during the landing approach. Only 9 aircraft managed to reach their airfields in Guam.

For the whole day, American aircraft did not attack Admiral Ozawa's compound. But the American submarines, which were on duty in the patrol areas established for them, had an excellent opportunity to solve everything on their own. Already at 9 am on June 19, the Albacore submarine was the first to open an account in this battle. Its commander spotted the Japanese squadron and launched an attack on the large aircraft carrier Taihō. A fan of 6 torpedoes was fired, of which only one hit the ship. Another torpedo was destroyed by the Zero pilot, who sent his fighter into it. It seemed that the aircraft carrier had collected a small amount of water and could safely move on. But this was affected by poor training of emergency teams. Gradually, gasoline vapors from the damaged tanks began to fill the hangar. From about 14:32, explosions were constantly occurring on board, and at 16:28 Taihō banked to the port side and sank. 28 officers and 632 sailors were killed, more than 1000 people were rescued.

At 10:52 am, another submarine, Cavalla, spotted a Japanese aircraft carrier with escort ships approaching it. It was Shōkaku. The submarine took a comfortable position and fired a volley of six torpedoes from a short distance - 3 of them hit the target. The damage to the ship turned out to be critical: fires blazed everywhere and aviation ammunition exploded. At 14 o'clock, the aircraft carrier sank. Escort ships rescued only 570 people out of nearly 1800 on board.

Ozawa decided to continue the attacks - on the 20th, the ships were supposed to take fuel, put in order the materiel of aviation and strike on June 21. Admiral Spruence received information about the location of the Imperial Navy at about 16 pm while refueling. Admiral Mitscher decided to attack, despite the late time - in this case, the returning aircraft would have to board the aircraft carriers already in the dark.

More than 200 American aircraft headed towards the target. For protection, the Japanese were able to deploy only 35 carrier-based fighters. While the fighters on both sides were engaged in aerial combat, the attack aircraft broke through to the squadron. Attacks began on various Japanese ships, primarily aircraft carriers. So, Hiyō got hit by 2 torpedoes, after which an explosion occurred on it, and the ship sank. Zuikaku received one direct bomb hit, and several more bombs went off near the aircraft carrier. His emergency teams were able to take control of the situation. The aircraft carriers Jun'yō, Ryūhō, Chiyoda, battleship Haruna were also damaged, and 2 tankers were sunk. After that, Admiral Ozawa ordered to inflict a night strike on the enemy by surface ships. But about 21 hours from the commander of the United Fleet, Admiral Toyoda, an order was received to withdraw.


Japanese aircraft carrier IJN Zuikaku with escort ships under attack by American aircraft, June 20, 1944

The Americans lost 20 aircraft during this battle. And when the sun went down, they had to solve the most difficult task - to land the returning aircraft on aircraft carriers. Many pilots did not have this kind of experience, so 80 cars were lost.

With this, the battle in the Philippine Sea, or the Battle of the Mariana Islands, ended. The unit of Admiral Ozawa, which was much inferior to the American in strength, initially had no chance of victory. In 2 days, the Imperial Navy suffered a crushing defeat. Out of 400 planes, the Japanese had no more than 50. Most of them were shot down by American fighters. Hence another unofficial name for this battle - "The Big Hunt for Turkeys on the Marianas".

3 aircraft carriers were lost, 4 more aircraft carriers and the battleship received damage of varying severity. More than 3000 people died in total. The losses of the American side were several times less: 123 aircraft, 80 of which fell on the night landing on aircraft carriers on June 20. The loss of life was 109 people.

The Battle of the Mariana Islands almost completely disabled Japanese aircraft carriers. Now the Imperial Navy was forced to go exclusively to the defensive. With the fall of Saipan and Guam, the Americans acquired long-range aviation bases, and raids on Japan became regular. It was a big step towards victory in the war, although it was even more than a year before it.

Learn how US carrier-based aircraft became the main strike force of the fleet destined to decide the outcome of the war in the Pacific. A documentary from Wargaming tells history its origin and development before and during the Second World War.

Author:
13 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, daily additional materials that do not get on the site: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Lech from Android.
    Lech from Android. 12 November 2021 05: 32
    +3
    Luck left the divine wind of the Japanese ... personal courage
    Japanese soldiers and officers are worth nothing without a skilful command. God turned his back on Japan. smile
    Having got involved in a war with a strong enemy, the Japanese emperor did not think about how to get out of it.
    Thank you for the fascinating article by the author. hi
    1. Catfish
      Catfish 12 November 2021 09: 19
      +3
      Yes, the emperor decided little there, everything was ruled by the prime minister, General Tojo Hideki.

      After the defeat at the island of Saipan in the summer of 1944, he was forced to resign.

      Charged by the International Military Tribunal on the following counts:
      the outbreak of wars and violation of international law;
      unleashing a war against the Republic of China;
      unleashing a war against the United States, the British Commonwealth, France, the Netherlands;
      issuing orders for the inhuman treatment of prisoners of war.
      Fully admitting his guilt, he was recognized as a war criminal of the highest category and sentenced to death on November 12, 1948. The verdict was carried out on December 23 of the same year.

      1. Krasnodar
        Krasnodar 12 November 2021 09: 36
        +4
        Greetings, Constantine! hi
        Thus, the emperor was spared from the gallows, everything was blamed on the prime minister.
        1. Catfish
          Catfish 12 November 2021 09: 40
          +2
          Hi Albert! smile

          What did Hirohito decide? Nothing, an icon, and nothing more. Zitspresident like Pound, although everything was done in his name, or in his name, but the war was led by other people.
          1. Krasnodar
            Krasnodar 12 November 2021 12: 21
            +1
            Let's just say - if I wanted to prevent war, it would not have happened. yes
            1. Catfish
              Catfish 12 November 2021 12: 22
              +2
              It’s impossible, the economy decided everything and they had nowhere to go. request
              1. Krasnodar
                Krasnodar 12 November 2021 12: 37
                +2
                Well, after the defeat, with American help, they got up, and not bad laughing
                They just decided to solve the problems of resource provision back in 1937 using samurai methods, so they would start with industrial and scientific and technological development, everything would be OK.
                1. Catfish
                  Catfish 12 November 2021 12: 54
                  +2
                  All the same, they would not have pulled against the American industrial power, the Yankees would not have stood still, then oil, where to fight there without it, and the staff with this, but problems.
                  And then, the Japs built aircraft carriers and battleships, but the mentality, as it was in the eighteenth century, has remained, so they fucked them in full, and would have fucked them in any case, with all their achievements, I mean exactly at that time ...
                  Yes, I would still be happy to see how they will fight the Chinese, they have not forgotten anything and have not forgiven them.
                  1. Trapperxnumx
                    Trapperxnumx 12 November 2021 14: 32
                    +3
                    Quote: Sea Cat
                    Yes, I would still be happy to see how they will fight the Chinese, they have not forgotten anything and have not forgiven them.

                    I would also)
                    If only Russia remained on the sidelines.
                  2. Krasnodar
                    Krasnodar 12 November 2021 15: 58
                    +1
                    Quote: Sea Cat
                    All the same, they would not have pulled against American industrial power, the Yankees would not have stood still, then oil, where to fight there without it, and the staff with this, but problems

                    The question is different - against the backdrop of WWII, they could well have stayed away from European events, having entered the war at the end on the right side. Instead, they started a war of their own.
                    1. Catfish
                      Catfish 13 November 2021 02: 45
                      +1
                      So they hoped that Britain would get bogged down in a war with Germany and would have no time for Singapore, but they would smash the American "drunks" in a moment. But ... they forgot about the "ravines". wink
                      1. Krasnodar
                        Krasnodar 13 November 2021 05: 07
                        +1
                        And then the American military bombed Japanese wood into the mud. yes Conclusion: peace to the world, to war - sepuku! fellow
                      2. Catfish
                        Catfish 13 November 2021 05: 27
                        +1
                        war - sepuku!


                        How was Lem there -sipulk. laughing

Военное обозрение

Сражение у Марианских островов. Репетиция разгрома в заливе Лейте

13
Решительный успех морской авиации США в Филиппинском море, приблизивший победу во Второй мировой войне. Читайте в новом материале от создателей World of Warships!


Тихий Океан — самый большой океан на планете. Во Вторую мировую войну эти бескрайние водные просторы и тысячи разбросанных по ним островов стали полем боя для флотов Японской империи и Соединённых Штатов Америки. Именно здесь состоялись крупнейшие морские сражения Второй мировой.

Если на первых этапах войны Императорский флот одерживал уверенные победы, то вскоре инициатива перешла к американцам. На начало 1944 года Япония могла только обороняться. Императорское командование продолжало упорно верить в то, что сможет навязать противнику генеральное сражение и победить. Но в действительности это лишь оттягивало неизбежное поражение. Американцы превосходили в численности, техническом обеспечении, уровне подготовки лётного состава. Последнего особенно не хватало Японии, так как именно авиация определила принципы войны на Тихом океане.

К лету 1944 года японское командование приняло «Оперативный план А». Новая линия обороны должна была проходить через центральную часть Марианских островов к Палау и на юг к Новой Гвинее. Императорские адмиралы прекрасно понимали, что удалённый от Японских островов Марианский архипелаг станет базой стратегической авиации США. Для американцев захват этих островов позволил бы разместить эскадрильи дальних бомбардировщиков для последующих ударов по территориям противника.


Карта Марианских островов и области Тихого океана, где развернулось сражение 19-20 июня 1944 года

Для прорыва японской линии обороны американцы выслали 5-й флот под командованием адмирала Рэймонда Спрюэнса. 11 июня палубная авиация начала наносить удары по позициям японцев на островах. Защищающий их 1-й воздушный флот был частично уничтожен. Уже 15 июня две дивизии морской пехоты высадились на остров Сайпан — начались кровопролитные бои за остров. Японское командование моментально отреагировало на это, в этот же день приказав командующему Первым мобильным флотом вице-адмиралу Дзисабуро Одзаве атаковать и уничтожить войска противника. Однако кораблям требовалось время на дозаправку, и флот был приведён в полную боеготовность только 19 числа.

Силы Императорского флота насчитывали 5 тяжёлых и 4 лёгких авианосца, 5 линкоров, 13 крейсеров, 23 эсминца и 6 танкеров. Авиагруппы насчитывали до 440 различных палубных самолётов. При этом Одзава получал от вице-адмирала Какуты недостоверные доклады о состоянии авиагрупп, базирующихся на островах. Когда силы авианосного соединения готовились ударить по противнику, береговая авиация практически прекратила своё существование. Таким образом, Одзава был вынужден полагаться только на свои силы.

Тем временем адмирал Спрюэнс получил доклад о передвижении морских сил противника уже 15 июня. Было выслано 58-е оперативное соединение под командованием вице-адмирала Марка Митшера. Оно включало в себя 7 тяжёлых и 8 лёгких авианосцев, на которых располагалось до 900 самолётов. Прикрытие соединения осуществляли 7 линкоров, 21 крейсер и 67 эсминцев.

Адмирал Одзава правильно предположил, что американский флот будет находиться неподалёку от мест высадки, чтоб прикрывать десант. Поэтому он имел большую свободу действий, находясь в открытом море. 18 июня два из японских самолётов-разведчиков несколько раз обнаруживали американские соединения и установили их местоположение, однако Одзава решил начать атаку только на следующее утро. Это могло бы стать неприятным сюрпризом для американцев, так как они совершенно не ждали атак в тот день.

В ночь на 19 июня состоялся обмен сообщениями между штабами Спрюэнса и Митшера. Последний предложил за ночь подойти к японцам поближе и с утра нанести удар. Спрюэнс, в свою очередь, приказал продолжать операцию по защите огромного десантного флота, проводящего операцию против Сайпана.


Японский авианосец IJN Taiho

С 3 до 4 утра соединение Одзавы построилось в боевой порядок. Памятуя об ошибках прошлых сражений, адмирал приказал линкорам и крейсерам поднять 16 самолётов-разведчиков. В 05:15 взлетела вторая группа разведчиков — 13 палубных самолётов и 1 гидросамолёт. В 07:30 разведчики первой группы заметили одно из американских соединений, после чего Одзава приказал готовить авиагруппы к вылету. С дивизии авианосцев адмирала Обаяси поднялась первая волна — 59 самолётов. В основном это были «Зеро», оснащённые 250-кг бомбами. Немногим позже начали выпускать свои группы и другие японские авианосцы. К 9 часам утра в воздух поднялось ещё 129 машин.

Где-то в 10 часов утра операторы РЛС с американского линкора Alabama установили контакт со множественными воздушными целями. Адмирал Митшер приказал перепроверить данные. Как только пришло подтверждение с линкора Iowa, по всему соединению была объявлена тревога. Готовившиеся ко взлёту пикировщики и торпедоносцы были подняты в воздух, чтобы освободить взлётные палубы кораблей для истребителей. Пока японцы медлили с атакой, американцы успели поднять в воздух до 30 Grumman F6F Hellcat. Они и перехватили первую волну японцев. Прорвавшиеся самолёты были остановлены стеной огня, которую создали зенитчики с кораблей. Во время этой атаки было уничтожено более 40 японских самолётов, американцы же потеряли только 1 истребитель. Линкор South Dakota получил попадание 250-кг бомбы (потери составили 50 человек убитыми и ранеными), а в Indiana врезался подбитый самолёт, что не причинило особого вреда кораблю.

Более многочисленная вторая волна японских самолётов атаковала спустя час. Но, как и в предыдущий раз, большая часть атакующих была встречена американскими истребителями. Существенно превосходя японцев в лётных навыках и качестве техники, американские пилоты сбивали один самолёт за другим. Небольшая группа, что сумела прорваться сквозь перехватчики, попала под шквальный огонь ПВО линкоров. Только 6 D4Y Judy и несколько B6N Jill смогли долететь до авианосцев, но близкие разрывы сброшенных ими бомб почти не нанесли урона. На американских кораблях были убиты 4 человека и ещё несколько десятков ранены. Японцы применили небольшую уловку с постановкой ложных целей: специальные самолёты сбрасывали дипольные отражатели для создания ложных целей радиолокаторам.


Американский авианосец USS Bunker Hill во время сражения 19 июня 1944 года

В 10 часов утра Одзава поднял в воздух уже третью волну — 47 самолётов. Они долго блуждали над бескрайними просторами Тихого океана. Некоторые из пилотов ввязались в бой с американскими истребителями, и 7 из них были сбиты. Четвёртая волна, насчитывающая 82 самолёта, была направлена в точку, где разведчиком были обнаружены американские авианосцы. Но её координаты были переданы неверно. Согласно плану, эскадрильи не стали возвращаться на авианосцы, а направились на наземные базы. Большая часть четвёртой волны была обнаружена РЛС американских кораблей, находившихся в районе Гуама. А затем перехвачена наведёнными на них истребителями с авианосцев, дежурившими в воздухе, уже при заходе на посадку. Достичь своих аэродромов на Гуаме удалось только 9 самолётам.

За весь день американская авиация так и не атаковала соединение адмирала Одзавы. Но американские подводные лодки, дежурившие в установленных для них районах патрулирования, получили прекрасную возможность решить всё своими силами. Уже в 9 утра 19 июня подлодка Albacore первой открыла счёт в этом сражении. Её командир заметил японскую эскадру и вышел в атаку на большой авианосец Taihō. Был выпущен веер из 6 торпед, из которых в корабль попала лишь одна. Ещё одну торпеду уничтожил пилот «Зеро», направив в неё свой истребитель. Казалось, что авианосец набрал небольшое количество воды и мог спокойно идти дальше. Но тут сказалось плохое обучение аварийных команд. Постепенно пары бензина из повреждённых цистерн стали наполнять ангар. Примерно с 14:32 на борту постоянно происходили взрывы, а в 16:28 Taihō накренился на левый борт и затонул. Погибли 28 офицеров и 632 матроса, были спасены более 1000 человек.

В 10:52 другая подводная лодка, Cavalla, обнаружила идущий на неё японский авианосец с кораблями эскорта. Это был Shōkaku. Подлодка заняла удобную позицию и дала залп шестью торпедами с малой дистанции — 3 из них попали в цель, Повреждения корабля оказались критическими: повсюду пылали пожары и рвались авиационные боеприпасы. В 14 часов авианосец затонул. Корабли сопровождения спасли только 570 человек из почти 1800 находившихся на борту.

Одзава принял решение продолжать атаки — 20 числа корабли должны были принять топливо, привести в порядок матчасть авиации и нанести удар 21 июня. Адмирал Спрюэнс получил данные о местонахождении Императорского флота около 16 часов, когда производил дозаправку. Адмирал Митшер принял решение атаковать, несмотря на позднее время — в этом случае возвращающимся самолётам пришлось бы садиться на авианосцы уже в темноте.

Более 200 американских самолётов направились к цели. Для защиты японцы смогли выставить только 35 палубных истребителей. Пока истребители обеих сторон вели воздушный бой, ударные самолёты прорвались к эскадре. Начались атаки на различные японские корабли, в первую очередь на авианосцы. Так, Hiyō получил попадания 2 торпед, после чего на нём произошёл взрыв, и корабль затонул. Zuikaku получил одно прямое попадание бомбы, и ещё несколько бомб взорвались рядом с авианосцем. Его аварийные команды смогли взять ситуацию под контроль. Пострадали также авианосцы Jun'yō, Ryūhō, Chiyoda, линкор Haruna, а 2 танкера были потоплены. После этого адмирал Одзава приказал нанести по противнику ночной удар надводными кораблями. Но около 21 часа от командующего Объединённым флотом адмирала Тойоды поступил приказ отходить.


Японский авианосец IJN Zuikaku с кораблями эскорта под атакой американской авиации, 20 июня 1944 года

Американцы за этот бой потеряли 20 самолётов. И когда солнце зашло, им предстояло решить труднейшую задачу — посадить возвращающиеся самолёты на авианосцы. Многие пилоты не имели подобного рода опыта, поэтому было потеряно 80 машин.

На этом сражение в Филиппинском море, или Сражение у Марианских островов, завершилось. Соединение адмирала Одзавы, сильно уступавшее американскому по силе, изначально не имело шансов на победу. За 2 дня Императорский флот потерпел сокрушительное поражение. Из 400 самолётов у японцев осталось не более 50. Большую часть из них сбили американские истребители. Отсюда пошло ещё одно неофициальное название этого сражения — «Большая охота за индюшками на Марианах».

Были потеряны 3 авианосца, ещё 4 авианосца и линкор получили повреждения разной степени тяжести. Всего погибли более 3000 человек. Потери американской стороны были в разы меньше: 123 самолёта, 80 из которых пришлись на ночную посадку на авианосцы 20 июня. Людские потери составили 109 человек.

Сражение у Марианских островов почти полностью вывело из строя японские авианосцы. Теперь Императорский флот был вынужден перейти исключительно к обороне. С падением Сайпана и Гуама у американцев появились аэродромы базирования дальней авиации, и налёты на Японию стали регулярными. Это был большой шаг на пути к победе в войне, хотя до неё было ещё больше года.

Узнайте, как палубная авиация США становилась главной ударной силой флота, которой было суждено решить исход войны на Тихом океане. Документальный фильм от компании Wargaming рассказывает историю её зарождения и развития до и во время Второй мировой войны.

Автор:
13 комментариев
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, ежедневно дополнительные материалы, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Леха с Андроида.
    Леха с Андроида. 12 ноября 2021 05:32
    +3
    Везение покинуло Божественный ветер японцев... личная храбрость
    японских солдат и офицеров без умелого командования ничего стоит. Бог отвернулся от Японии. smile
    Ввязавшись в войну с сильным противником японский император не подумал как из нее выйти.
    Благодарю за увлекательную статью автора. hi
    1. Морской Кот
      Морской Кот 12 ноября 2021 09:19
      +3
      Да император там мало что решал, всем рулил премьер-министр генерал Тодзио Хидэки.

      После поражения у острова Сайпан летом 1944 года был вынужден уйти в отставку.

      Обвинялся Международным военным трибуналом по пунктам:
      развязывание войн и нарушение международного права;
      развязывание войны против Китайской Республики;
      развязывание войны против США, Британского содружества, Франции, Нидерландов;
      отдача приказов о бесчеловечном обращении с военнопленными.
      Полностью признав свою вину, признан военным преступником высшей категории и приговорён к смертной казни 12 ноября 1948 года. Приговор приведён в исполнение 23 декабря того же года.

      1. Krasnodar
        Krasnodar 12 ноября 2021 09:36
        +4
        Приветствую, Константин! hi
        Таким образом, от виселицы был избавлен император, все свалили на премьера.
        1. Морской Кот
          Морской Кот 12 ноября 2021 09:40
          +2
          Привет, Альберт! smile

          А что решал Хирохито? Да ничего, икона, и не больше того. Зицпредседатель вроде Фунта, хотя всё делалось от его имени, или его именем, но войной руководили другие люди.
          1. Krasnodar
            Krasnodar 12 ноября 2021 12:21
            +1
            Скажем так - если бы захотел не допустить войны, ее бы и не было. yes
            1. Морской Кот
              Морской Кот 12 ноября 2021 12:22
              +2
              Никак невозможно, экономика решала всё и деваться им было некуда. request
              1. Krasnodar
                Krasnodar 12 ноября 2021 12:37
                +2
                Ну как, после разгрома, с американской помощью, приподнялись, причём неплохо laughing
                Просто решать проблемы ресурсного обеспечения они ещё в 1937-м решили самурайскими методами, вот начали бы с индустриального и научно-технического развития, было б все ОК.
                1. Морской Кот
                  Морской Кот 12 ноября 2021 12:54
                  +2
                  Всё равно не потянули бы против американской промышленной мощи, янки бы тоже не стояли на месте, потом нефть, куда там воевать без неё, а штатников с этим но проблем.
                  Да и потом, авианосцев и линкоров джапы понастроили, а менталитет как был в ХVIII веке, так и остался, вот и отымели их по полной программе, и отымели бы в любом случае, со всеми их достижениями, я имею в виду именно в то время.
                  Да я бы и сейчас с удовольствием посмотрел как они с китайцами воевать будут, те им ничего не забыли и не простили.
                  1. Trapper7
                    Trapper7 12 ноября 2021 14:32
                    +3
                    Цитата: Морской Кот
                    Да я бы и сейчас с удовольствием посмотрел как они с китайцами воевать будут, те им ничего не забыли и не простили.

                    Я бы тоже)
                    Лишь бы Россия в стороне осталась.
                  2. Krasnodar
                    Krasnodar 12 ноября 2021 15:58
                    +1
                    Цитата: Морской Кот
                    Всё равно не потянули бы против американской промышленной мощи, янки бы тоже не стояли на месте, потом нефть, куда там воевать без неё, а штатников с этим но проблем

                    Вопрос в другом - на фоне ВМВ они вполне могли остаться в стороне от европейских событий, войдя в войну под конец на правильной стороне. Вместо этого они начали войну собственную.
                    1. Морской Кот
                      Морской Кот 13 ноября 2021 02:45
                      +1
                      Так они и рассчитывали, что Британия увязнет в войне с Германией и ей будет не до Сингапура, а американских "пьяниц" они в момент разобьют. Но... забыли про "овраги". wink
                      1. Krasnodar
                        Krasnodar 13 ноября 2021 05:07
                        +1
                        А затем американская военщина вбомбила в грязь японскую деревещину. yes Вывод: миру мир, войне - сепуку! fellow
                      2. Морской Кот
                        Морской Кот 13 ноября 2021 05:27
                        +1
                        войне - сепуку!


                        Как там у Лема было --сипульки сипулявые. laughing