Military Review

The United States has not yet made a decision to waive sanctions against India for the purchase of the S-400 air defense system from Russia

20

As you know, the contract for the purchase by India of the Russian S-400 anti-aircraft missile systems was signed by Moscow and New Delhi back in 2018. Since India did not abandon its plans to acquire a Russian air defense system, the United States was very worried: the situation is not easy for Washington. Following Turkey, another important US partner is going to buy the S-400 air defense system from Russia.


But the United States cannot put pressure on India either. This is one of the few countries that, in terms of its potential, can somehow help the United States in its confrontation with China in the Asia-Pacific region. Therefore, the representative of the US State Department, Ned Price, commenting on this issue, immediately dwelled on the importance of a strategic partnership with India. Price specifically noted that in recent years, the United States has been stepping up defense cooperation with India. However, Price noted, the importance of cooperation with India does not override those clauses of US law that provide for purchase sanctions. weapons from potential adversaries of the United States (CAATSA package).

Despite the fact that a number of senators and congressmen are already asking US President Joe Biden to lift sanctions on India, stressing the importance of cooperation with this country, the White House has been hesitating. And this is understandable. If Washington lifts the sanctions, it will demonstrate that the United States has surrendered and its own legislation does not matter before the importance of strategic ties. This approach will open the way for many other countries of the world to purchase the S-400 from Russia. Following Turkey and India, other partners and allies of the United States, such as Pakistan, may also go to buy the S-400.

As the State Department spokesman noted, the United States continues consultations with India on the purchase of the S-400. However, these consultations are unlikely to result in India's withdrawal from the contract. Therefore, despite the imposed sanctions on the position of the White House, Washington will have to backtrack here too: choosing between a strategic partnership with New Delhi and resentment over the purchase of the S-400, the United States will still be forced to choose the former. However, as they say in the State Department: the United States has not made a decision to waive sanctions against India for the purchase of the S-400 air defense system from Russia.

As far as India is concerned, it will certainly benefit from it. New Delhi is now in an advantageous position, taking advantage of the advantages of a strategic partner of the United States in the Asia-Pacific region and maintaining friendly relations with Russia, being one of the largest buyers of Russian weapons and military technology.
Author:
Photos used:
Twitter / Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
20 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, daily additional materials that do not get on the site: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Mitroha
    Mitroha 24 November 2021 11: 12
    0
    Multi-vector India .... Powerless USA ... The world is changing
    1. NDR-791
      NDR-791 24 November 2021 11: 17
      0
      Quote: Mitroha
      Multi-vector India ....

      And no less multi-vector states wassat "We seem to have to hit India with a sickle on the hammer, but if they stand up for our democracy against China, then we will look at which article from CAATSA we can cover our eyes."
    2. knn54
      knn54 24 November 2021 11: 31
      0
      While there is time, India urgently needs to take the necessary measures to (in the event of sanctions) withdraw the country's banks from the "dollar blow"
      In this case, the calculation can be carried out in addition to the ruble and rupee, for example, and
      in Singapore dollars.
      ... By forcing India to abandon the supply of Russian weapons, the United States is striking a blow to the country's defenses, which runs counter to the declared goal of turning India into a strong player in Asia.
    3. svp67
      svp67 24 November 2021 12: 50
      0
      Quote: Mitroha
      Multi-vector India .... Powerless USA ... The world is changing

      ?????? Was India different before, or what? But no, she was generally the leader of the countries of "NON-UNION", read multi-vector.
      I would not call the US position impotence. They do their best ...
  2. Hunter 2
    Hunter 2 24 November 2021 11: 13
    +2
    Mattress covers with Turkey, and earlier with Greece (for the purchase of C300) - could not do anything lol Now decide to try your "impotence" on the Indians ... It's funny! what
    1. Anatole Klim
      Anatole Klim 24 November 2021 11: 36
      +4
      Quote: Hunter 2
      and earlier with Greece (for the purchase of C300) - they could not do anything

      Let me clarify, Greece never bought the S-300, bought the S-300 Cyprus, which never entered NATO, but under pressure from the Americans and Turks, then in 1999 they had normal relations, Cyprus transferred the S-300 to Greece, and for free, that's how the Greeks got the S-300, by the way, the Greeks also have an American Patriot hi
      1. Hunter 2
        Hunter 2 24 November 2021 11: 41
        +2
        Quote: Anatole Klim

        Let me clarify, Greece has never bought the S-300, bought the S-300 from Cyprus, hi

        hi Quite right! But ... in my opinion, the purchases of Cyprus (at least without the approval of Greece) are simply unrealistic ...
    2. Murmur 55
      Murmur 55 24 November 2021 11: 42
      0
      How many times have they scared the DPRK ?! But for some reason, they did not reach real actions, they are probably afraid of something.
  3. SKVichyakow
    SKVichyakow 24 November 2021 11: 14
    +2
    It's good when there is a break in the pattern of their actions. Their brain tearing plays into our hands.
  4. paul3390
    paul3390 24 November 2021 11: 17
    0
    In such a scenario, if you strongly object to purchases from Russia, you must offer some alternative, equal in price and quality. What can the USA - Patriot give ?? And there is absolutely no way without India's long-range air defense - there are enemies on all borders ...
    1. Rusticolus
      Rusticolus 24 November 2021 12: 45
      0
      some alternative should be offered
      ameroimpotent has only one alternative - sanctions.
  5. Sergey Averchenkov
    Sergey Averchenkov 24 November 2021 11: 21
    0
    I sometimes think ... Americans are full or only partial ... And I also wonder are they completely as dumb as their films show? Beautiful films, but dumb. Watch any American movie - the standard scheme is hero, bed, victory. Look at the documentaries - they repeat the same thing ten times ... is it they drummed in like that? If there is someone from the USA here, explain why this is so.
    1. Murmur 55
      Murmur 55 24 November 2021 11: 46
      +1
      Well, I don’t quite agree, the Americans are not as stupid as they seem, according to the principle of a drop and wears away a stone, they gradually put the necessary information into their heads.
  6. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 24 November 2021 11: 35
    0
    The United States has not yet made a decision on the waiver of sanctions against India
    But they will most likely not be introduced, and if they are decided, then they are exclusively not influencing anything (verbiage). Waving a sanctions baton, the Americans and India have driven themselves into a trap - and you cannot show your weakness, and you don’t want to spoil trade relations. there is a lot of money at stake.
  7. Murmur 55
    Murmur 55 24 November 2021 11: 39
    -1
    It is high time for the United States to rename the US Sanctioned States, they have already gotten out of themselves as a "world policeman". But in truth, they could become a superpower.
  8. Andobor
    Andobor 24 November 2021 12: 04
    0
    If sanctions are announced, they will lose the market and the leverage on China,
    will not announce - everyone will send them, which already often happens,
    - he cheered up the hegemos.
  9. d1975
    d1975 24 November 2021 12: 13
    0
    C -400 ceases to be a weapon, but becomes a very powerful tool in the geopolitical game. The USA here, in my opinion, outplayed themselves. It remains to guess now what the Indians will throw out, with C -57 they have already messed up mom do not worry, but what about this program? Someone knows how to play chess well. hi
  10. svp67
    svp67 24 November 2021 12: 47
    0
    And the shtatovtsy fellows ... once and "hung" India on the "hook" ...
  11. sen
    sen 24 November 2021 14: 39
    +1
    other partners and allies of the United States, for example, the same Pakistan.

    Pakistan is more of an ally of China than of the United States.
  12. eehnie
    eehnie 24 November 2021 18: 04
    +1
    Calling India an ally of the United States is just Western wishful thinking.

    The United States' sweetest dream is to see a war between China and India in which they can remain neutral in order to remain the world's first economic power and continue to dominate.

    But only the English-speaking world and Israel are interested in this.

    (Automatic translation from English)

    To call India ally of the United States is only Western wishful thinking.

    The sweetest dream of the United States is to see a war between China and India, in which they can stay neutral, in order to remain the first economic power in the world and continue domination.

    But only the Anglo world and Israel are interested on it.

Военное обозрение

США ещё не приняли решения об отказе от санкций против Индии за покупку ЗРК С-400 у России

20

Как известно, контракт на покупку Индией российских зенитных ракетных комплексов С-400 был подписан Москвой и Нью-Дели еще в 2018 году. Поскольку от своих планов по приобретению российской системы ПВО Индия не отказалась, в США очень сильно обеспокоились: ситуация не из легких для Вашингтона. Вслед за Турцией еще один важный партнер США собирается купить ЗРК С-400 у России.


Но и основательно давить на Индию США не могут. Это одна из немногих стран, которая по своему потенциалу хоть как то может помочь США в противостоянии с Китаем в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Поэтому представитель Государственного департамента США Нед Прайс, дав комментарий по данному вопросу, сразу же остановился и на проблеме важности стратегического партнерства с Индией. Прайс специально отметил, что в последние годы США наращивают оборонное сотрудничество с Индией. Однако, отметил Прайс, важность сотрудничества с Индией не отменяет те пункты американского законодательства, которые предусматривают санкции за покупку оружия у потенциальных противников США (пакет CAATSA).

Несмотря на то, что ряд сенаторов и конгрессменов уже просят президента США Джо Байдена снять санкции с Индии, подчеркивая важность сотрудничества с этой страной, Белый дом пока медлит. И это можно понять. Если Вашингтон снимет санкции, то это продемонстрирует, что США сдались и их собственное законодательство ничего не значит перед важностью стратегических связей. Такой подход откроет путь и многим другим странам мира к покупке у России С-400. Вслед за Турцией и Индией на покупку С-400 могут пойти и другие партнеры и союзники США, например тот же Пакистан.

Как отметил представитель Госдепа, США продолжают консультации с Индией по вопросу о покупке С-400. Однако маловероятно, что эти консультации приведут к отказу Индии от контракта. Поэтому, несмотря на введенные санкции и на позицию Белого дома, Вашингтону и здесь придется дать задний ход: выбирая между стратегическим партнерством с Нью-Дели и обидой за покупку С-400, США все же будут вынуждены выбрать первое. Однако, как говорят в Госдепе: США не приняли решения об отказе от санкций против Индии за покупку ЗРК С-400 у России.

Что касается Индии, то она, безусловно, получит свою выгоду. Нью-Дели сейчас занимает выигрышную позицию, пользуясь преимуществами стратегического партнера США в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе и сохраняя дружественные отношения с Россией, будучи одним из крупнейших покупателей российского вооружения и военных технологий.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Твиттер/Минобороны РФ
20 комментариев
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, регулярно дополнительные сведения о спецоперации на Украине, большое количество информации, видеоролики, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_official

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Mitroha
    Mitroha 24 ноября 2021 11:12
    0
    Многовекторная Индия.... Бессильные США...Мир меняется
    1. НДР-791
      НДР-791 24 ноября 2021 11:17
      0
      Цитата: Mitroha
      Многовекторная Индия....

      И не менее многовекторные штаты wassat "Мы вроде как должны серпом по молоту индию ударить, но если они против китая стоят за нашу демократию, то мы посмотрим на какую статейку СAATSA можно глазки прикрыть"
    2. knn54
      knn54 24 ноября 2021 11:31
      0
      Пока есть время Индии надо срочно принять необходимые меры, что бы (в случае санкций)вывести банки страны из-под "долларового удара"
      При этом расчет вести кроме в рубля и рупии можно,например, и
      в сингапурском долларе..
      . Вынуждая Индию отказаться от поставок российского оружия, США наносят удар по обороноспособности страны, что входит в противоречие с декларируемой целью превратить Индию в сильного игрока в Азии.
    3. svp67
      svp67 24 ноября 2021 12:50
      0
      Цитата: Mitroha
      Многовекторная Индия.... Бессильные США...Мир меняется

      ?????? А ранее Индия иной была, что ли? Так нет, она вообще была лидером стран "НЕПРИСОЕДИНЕНИЯ", читай многовекторных.
      Я бы не назвал позицию США бессилием. Они делаю все, что могут ...
  2. Охотовед 2
    Охотовед 2 24 ноября 2021 11:13
    +2
    Матрасники с Турцией, а ранее с Грецией (за покупку С300) - ничего сделать не смогли lol Теперь на Индусов реши свою «импотенцию» примерить... Забавно! what
    1. Анатоль Клим
      Анатоль Клим 24 ноября 2021 11:36
      +4
      Цитата: Охотовед 2
      а ранее с Грецией (за покупку С300) - ничего сделать не смогли

      Позволю себе уточнить, Греция никогда не покупала С-300, закупил С-300 Кипр, который никогда в НАТО не входил, но под давлением американцев и турок, тогда в 1999 г. у них были нормальные отношения, Кипр передал С-300 Греции, причём бесплатно, вот так у греков появился С-300, кстати у греков есть и американский Patriot hi
      1. Охотовед 2
        Охотовед 2 24 ноября 2021 11:41
        +2
        Цитата: Анатоль Клим

        Позволю себе уточнить, Греция никогда не покупала С-300, закупил С-300 Кипр, hi

        hi Совершенно верно! Но... на Мой взгляд покупки Кипра ( как минимум без одобрением Греции) Просто нереальны...
    2. Ропот 55
      Ропот 55 24 ноября 2021 11:42
      0
      Они КНДР сколько раз пугали?! Но почему-то до реальных действий не дошли, чего-то наверное боятся.
  3. S.K.Vichyakow
    S.K.Vichyakow 24 ноября 2021 11:14
    +2
    Это хорошо, когда идёт разрыв шаблона их действий. Их разрыв мозга нам на руку.
  4. paul3390
    paul3390 24 ноября 2021 11:17
    0
    При таких раскладах - если резко возражаешь против закупок у России, надо предложить какую-то альтернативу, равную по цене и качеству. Что могут дать США - Патриот?? А совсем без дальней ПВО Индии никак - по всем границам враги..
    1. Rusticolus
      Rusticolus 24 ноября 2021 12:45
      0
      надо предложить какую-то альтернативу
      у амероимпотентов только одна альтернатива - санкции.
  5. Сергей Аверченков
    Сергей Аверченков 24 ноября 2021 11:21
    0
    Я иногда думаю... Американцы полные или только частичные... И еще мне интересно они полностью такие тупые как показывают их фильмы? Красивые фильмы, но тупые. Посмотрите любой американский фильм - стандартная схема - герой, постель, победа. Документальные фильмы посмотрите - там по десять раз повторяют одно и то же... это они так вдалбливают? Если здесь есть кто-то из США объясните почему так.
    1. Ропот 55
      Ропот 55 24 ноября 2021 11:46
      +1
      Ну не совсем согласен, американцы не такие тупые как кажется, по принципу капля и камень точит они постепенно закладывает нужную инфу в головы.
  6. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 24 ноября 2021 11:35
    0
    США ещё не приняли решения об отказе от санкций против Индии
    Но и вводить скорее всего не будут, а если и решаться то исключительно не влияющие ни на что (словоблудные). Размахивая санкционной дубинкой американцы с Индией загнали себя в ловушку - и нельзя показать свою слабость, и торговые отношения портить не хочется, т.к. на кону маячат большие деньги.
  7. Ропот 55
    Ропот 55 24 ноября 2021 11:39
    -1
    Соединенные штаты давно пора переименовать в Санкционные штаты Америки, достали уже, карежут из себя "мирового полицейского". А ведь и в правду могли стать сверх-державой.
  8. Andobor
    Andobor 24 ноября 2021 12:04
    0
    Объявят санкции - потеряют рынок и рычаг давления на Китай,
    не объявят - все их посылать будут, что уже часто и происходит,
    - раскорячило гегемошу.
  9. d1975
    d1975 24 ноября 2021 12:13
    0
    С -400 перестаёт быть оружием,а становится очень сильным инструментом в геополитической игре . США тут по моему мнению сами себя переиграли . Остаётся гадать теперь ,что выкинут индусы , с С -57 они уже намутили мама не горюй ,а что с этой программой ? Кто то хорошо умеет играть в шахматы . hi
  10. svp67
    svp67 24 ноября 2021 12:47
    0
    И штатовцы молодцы...раз и "подвесили" Индию на "крючке"...
  11. sen
    sen 24 ноября 2021 14:39
    +1
    другие партнеры и союзники США, например тот же Пакистан.

    Пакистан больше союзник Китая, чем США.
  12. eehnie
    eehnie 24 ноября 2021 18:04
    +1
    Называть Индию союзником Соединенных Штатов - это всего лишь западное принятие желаемого за действительное.

    Самая сладкая мечта Соединенных Штатов - увидеть войну между Китаем и Индией, в которой они смогут оставаться нейтральными, чтобы оставаться первой экономической державой в мире и продолжать доминировать.

    Но в этом заинтересованы только англоязычный мир и Израиль.

    (Автоматический перевод с английского)

    To call India ally of the United States is only Western wishful thinking.

    The sweetest dream of the United States is to see a war between China and India, in which they can stay neutral, in order to remain the first economic power in the world and continue domination.

    But only the Anglo world and Israel are interested on it.