Military Review

In the US press: Russia has already achieved victory and influence in the Middle East

25

Foreign Policy, a major American publication, published an article on Russian activity in the Middle East. Observer Anatol Lieven writes that today in North America and in some European countries a stamp has taken root that Russia is trying to either recreate the USSR, or expand its influence even more, "destroying the status quo in the world." Lieven writes that such a dogma is actively supported in the United States, a number of Eastern European countries, and some countries that were previously republics of the Soviet Union.


At the same time, as a columnist for an American magazine specializing in aspects of foreign policy notes, there are also those regions of the world where this dogma is treated with at least bewilderment. Among such regions is the Middle East.

According to Anatol Lieven, for a long time in a number of states of the Middle East (Iraq, Syria, Libya, Iran, Yemen) the United States of America was perceived as the main violator and instigator of armed conflicts. Therefore, for many regional countries, Russia's return to the Middle East as one of the key players evokes positive emotions.

The American author cites several excerpts from an interview with Vladimir Putin over the years. For example, the words that Saddam Hussein could not exactly be called a democratic ruler, but after he was gone, Iraq plunged into real chaos, large terrorist groups began to emerge in the country that threaten not only Iraq itself, but the whole world ... Also cited is the statement of the President of Russia about Muammar Gaddafi. Vladimir Putin once noted that the reprisal against Gaddafi after the NATO invasion of Libya turned the once prosperous country into a stronghold of terrorism, a source of tension, a territory of constant strife, from which flows of refugees poured into Europe.

In Foreign Policy, the author notes that it is difficult to disagree with Putin on this. And these words of Putin are being paid attention to throughout the Middle East, rightly believing that Russia's position is to take into account regional interests, local cultures, and the peculiarities of political life. The destruction of the balance, as the United States is used to doing, is not part of the circle of Russian interests, which is what makes many countries in the Middle East sympathetic.

In addition, it is noted that the number of countries that have become loyal to Russia can now include even those that previously, to put it mildly, did not feel sympathy for Moscow - for example, Saudi Arabia, Israel.

It is pointed out that Russia's policy resonates with the Middle Eastern states due to the fact that Russia does not go ahead, but tries to take into account the interests of each of the states in the region.

The US press believes that Russia has already achieved a great victory and enormous influence in the Middle East. But the United States itself has squandered its influence in the region to some extent, losing confidence even in countries that have been considered its allies for decades.
Photos used:
Russian President's website
25 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vasily Onischuk
    Vasily Onischuk 1 December 2021 18: 17
    +13
    So the Americans themselves are in the Middle East and have shit. We walked through the region like an elephant through a china shop, now they are surprised that the countries there are drawn to Russia. It’s just that Russia didn’t change regimes there, didn’t suit interventions and didn’t bomb everyone in a row.
    1. Civil
      Civil 2 December 2021 07: 33
      -5
      In the US press: Russia has already achieved victory and influence in the Middle East

      Of course, already caravans with gold, diamonds, brocade, euros, dollars, reached from all over the Middle East, reached Russia. And then what's the point of influencing something.
    2. Vladimir Mashkov
      Vladimir Mashkov 2 December 2021 19: 42
      -3
      It's strange ... It's strange that the Americans assess the situation much more objectively than many Russian so-called "patriots". Including VO. smile
  2. rusich
    rusich 1 December 2021 18: 17
    +2
    Where will the democratic foot of the USA or NATO go? There comes chaos and devastation, terrorism flourishes, death to civilians
    1. fif21
      fif21 1 December 2021 18: 39
      -10
      Quote: rusich
      Where will the democratic foot of the USA or NATO go? There is chaos and devastation,

      In confirmation of your words. The Taliban attacked the Iranian border, capturing several checkpoints. hi
  3. Andrey R2R
    Andrey R2R 1 December 2021 18: 26
    0
    Russia, like many countries, needs a balance - bipolar, multipolar on the drum, but balance!
  4. pavlov viahislav
    pavlov viahislav 1 December 2021 18: 33
    -18
    What's the use of this influence for us? Russia is now a capitalist power. Bulk export of our goods to the Middle East? Concessions? At least the purchase of our weapons in marketable quantities? Where is all this? The question is, of course, rhetorical.
  5. tihonmarine
    tihonmarine 1 December 2021 18: 37
    0
    Russia is trying either to recreate the USSR, or to expand its influence even more, "destroying the current status quo in the world"

    What the American "status quo" is, all the countries of the Middle East have experienced for themselves, so you need to take offense at yourself.
  6. Bradley
    Bradley 1 December 2021 18: 45
    -3
    According to Anatol Lieven, for a long time in a number of states of the Middle East (Iraq, Syria, Libya, Iran, Yemen) the United States of America was perceived as the main violator and instigator of armed conflicts.

    Of course, in recent years, conflicts in the BV have been unleashed by the United States. But Syria also has a stigma in the cannon, since in the last century it was Syria that unleashed wars in the BV. Well, also Egypt.

    In addition, it is noted that the number of countries that have become loyal to Russia can now include even those that previously, to put it mildly, did not feel sympathy for Moscow - for example, Saudi Arabia, Israel.

    There is no sympathy, however, as well as antipathy. CA and Israel will be with the United States, it is trite because it is profitable.
  7. Vladimir61
    Vladimir61 1 December 2021 18: 52
    +1
    If this is all that was in the source article, then this Anatole Lieven is not a sin to shake his hand tightly!
  8. Prisoner
    Prisoner 1 December 2021 19: 05
    -1
    Russia in the Middle is wielding a scalpel and cautiously, while the United States has been poking around and trying to poke around with an ax to the right and to the left.
  9. Fisherman
    Fisherman 1 December 2021 19: 08
    -3
    Yankees hired estooons for the press? News from the past decade?
    1. Clear
      Clear 1 December 2021 21: 24
      0
      Quote: Fisherman
      Yankees hired estooons for the press? News from the past decade?

      So the Yankees have plundered the Middle East for decades.
  10. Alex013
    Alex013 1 December 2021 19: 23
    -1
    About news about the East and not only the Middle. "Taliban fighters * fought Iranian border guards and seized the checkpoint, Afghan Aamaj News reported."
  11. boris ivanov
    boris ivanov 1 December 2021 21: 26
    +9
    A holy place is never empty..
  12. The comment was deleted.
  13. Teador
    Teador 1 December 2021 22: 17
    -2
    Yes, that's just until now, everyone who fought there and are still fighting. And the Americans, as they kept all the oil and gas, and do not keep anything has changed. Even those ARABIAN COUNTRIES THAT BOUGHT WEAPONS FROM RUSSIA NOW BUY FROM NATO COUNTRIES
  14. tarakan
    tarakan 1 December 2021 23: 25
    -1
    Information flashed that the Iranians clashed with the Taliban, who is in the subject?
    1. riwas
      riwas 2 December 2021 08: 24
      +2
      Information flashed that the Iranians clashed with the Taliban, who is in the subject?

      "A local dispute has erupted between Afghan and Iranian border guards in the border area of ​​the Kang district of Nimroz province in Afghanistan, and the situation is now under control," Taliban spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid tweeted.
      In turn, the Iranian news agency "Fars" stated that the cause of the armed conflict on the Iranian-Afghan border was "a dispute over agricultural land."
      "Contrary to rumors, none of Iran's border points were captured and there were no casualties among the border guards. The attackers attacked over a dispute over agricultural land along the border, which provoked a strong reaction from border guards," Fars said in a statement.
      https://www.interfax.ru/world/806141
  15. Serg Kam
    Serg Kam 1 December 2021 23: 26
    +2
    a Jew is on the subway and reads an Arab newspaper. another Jew who happened to be in the same carriage notices this oddity and very upset asks the first: "Moshe, have you lost your mind? Why are you reading an Arab newspaper?" Moshe replies - "I used to read Jewish newspapers, and what do they write there? Jews are persecuted, Israel is attacked, Jews disappear due to assimilation and mixed marriages, Jews live in poverty. So I switched to Arab newspapers, and what do they write?" Jews own all the banks, Jews control newspapers, Jews are rich and powerful, Jews rule the world. This is better news. "
  16. Vladimir Vladimirovich Vorontsov
    Vladimir Vladimirovich Vorontsov 2 December 2021 04: 07
    0
    It is pointed out that Russia's policy resonates with the Middle Eastern states due to the fact that Russia does not go ahead, but tries to take into account the interests of each of the states in the region.

    ***
    "East is a delicate matter"...
    ***
  17. KCA
    KCA 2 December 2021 05: 30
    0
    If an American with the surname Lieven talked about Putin's successes in BV, it's good, it's not just that Netanyahu kissed Putin on the gums almost once a month, oh, just don't tell me that Lieven is a Negro, otherwise he will get sick
    1. The comment was deleted.
      1. KCA
        KCA 2 December 2021 08: 51
        +2
        Oh, how, but he is generally from the Balts, well, or the Livonian ukrov, although the surname is not Polish, from the cross?
  18. Bshkaus
    Bshkaus 2 December 2021 09: 50
    -4
    Once they promised us not to raise the retirement age, and they also said that if you reign for more than two terms, you can go crazy, and also ...

Военное обозрение

В прессе США: Россия уже добилась победы и влияния на Ближнем Востоке

25

В крупном американском издании Foreign Policy вышел материал, который посвящён российской активности на Ближнем Востоке. Обозреватель Анатоль Ливен пишет, что на сегодняшний день в Северной Америке и в отдельных странах Европы укоренился штамп о том, что Россия пытается то ли воссоздать СССР, то ли развернуть ещё большее своё влияние, «разрушая сложившийся в мире статус-кво». Ливен пишет, что такую догму активно поддерживают в США, ряде стран Восточной Европы, некоторых странах, которые ранее являлись республиками в составе Советского Союза.


При этом, как отмечает, обозреватель американского журнала, специализирующегося на аспектах внешней политики, существуют и те регионы мира, где к этому догмату относятся как минимум с недоумением. Среди таких регионов – Ближний Восток.

По словам Анатоля Ливена, долгое время в целом ряде государств Ближнего Востока (Ирак, Сирия, Ливия, Иран, Йемен) главным нарушителем и поджигателем вооружённых конфликтов воспринимались Соединённые Штаты Америки. Поэтому для многих региональных стран возвращение России на Ближний Восток как одного из ключевых игроков вызывает позитивные эмоции.

Американский автор приводит несколько выдержек из интервью Владимира Путина разных лет. Например, слова о том, что Саддама Хусейна точно нельзя было назвать демократическим правителем, однако после того, как его не стало, Ирак погрузился в настоящий хаос, в стране стали возникать крупные террористические группировки, которые угрожают не только самому Ираку, но и всему миру. Также приводится заявление президента России о Муаммаре Каддафи. Владимир Путин в своё время отмечал, что расправа с Каддафи после натовского вторжения в Ливию превратила некогда благополучную страну в оплот терроризма, источник напряжённости, территорию постоянных усобиц, из которой в Европу хлынули потоки беженцев.

В издании Foreign Policy автор отмечает, что с Путиным в этом сложно не согласиться. И на эти слова Путина обращают внимание по всему Ближнему Востоку, справедливо полагая, что позиция России состоит в учёте региональных интересов, местных культур, особенностей ведения политической жизни. Разрушение баланса, как это привыкли делать США, не входит в круг российских интересов, что и вызывает у многих стран Ближнего Востока симпатию.

Дополнительно отмечается, что к числу стран, которые лояльно стали относиться к России теперь можно причислить даже те, которые ранее, мягко говоря, не испытывали к Москве симпатий – например, Саудовская Аравия, Израиль.

Указывается на то, что политика России находит отклик у ближневосточных государств в связи с тем, что Россия не идёт напролом, а старается учитывать интересы каждого из государств региона.

В прессе США считают, что Россия уже добилась большой победы и огромного влияния на Ближнем Востоке. А вот сами США влияние в регионе в некоторой степени растратили, доверие теряя даже в странах, которые десятилетиями считались их союзниками.
Использованы фотографии:
сайт президента России
25 комментариев
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, ежедневно дополнительные материалы, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Василий Онищук
    Василий Онищук 1 декабря 2021 18:17
    +13
    Так сами же американцы на Ближнем востоке и обгадились. Прошлись по региону, как слон по посудной лавке, теперь удивляются, что тамошние страны к России потянулись. Да просто Россия там режимы не меняла, интервенции не устраивала и не бомбила всех подряд.
    1. Гражданский
      Гражданский 2 декабря 2021 07:33
      -5
      В прессе США: Россия уже добилась победы и влияния на Ближнем Востоке

      Конечно, уже караваны с золотом, бриллиантами, парчей, еврами, долларами, потянулись со всего Ближнего Востока, потянулись в Россию. А то какой смысл на что-то влиять.
    2. Владимир Машков
      Владимир Машков 2 декабря 2021 19:42
      -3
      Странно... Странно то, что американцы оценивают ситуацию значительно более объективно, чем многие российские так называемые "патриоты". В том числе и на ВО. smile
  2. rusich
    rusich 1 декабря 2021 18:17
    +2
    Куда ступит демократическая нога США или Нато. Там наступает хаос и разруха, процветает терроризм, смерть мирному населению
    1. fif21
      fif21 1 декабря 2021 18:39
      -10
      Цитата: rusich
      Куда ступит демократическая нога США или Нато. Там наступает хаос и разруха,

      В подтверждении Ваших слов. Талибы атаковали границу Ирана , захватив несколько КПП. hi
  3. Андрей R2R
    Андрей R2R 1 декабря 2021 18:26
    0
    России как и многим странам нужен баланс - двухполярный, многополярный по барабану но баланс !
  4. pavlov viahislav
    pavlov viahislav 1 декабря 2021 18:33
    -18
    Толку нам от этого влияния? Россия сейчас капиталистическая держава. Массовый экспорт на Ближний Восток наших товаров? Концессии? Хотя бы закупки нашего оружия в товарных количествах? Где всё это? Вопрос, понятно, риторический.
  5. tihonmarine
    tihonmarine 1 декабря 2021 18:37
    0
    Россия пытается то ли воссоздать СССР, то ли развернуть ещё большее своё влияние, «разрушая сложившийся в мире статус-кво»

    Что такое американское "статус-кво", все страны Ближнего Востока испытали на себе, так что обижаться нужно на себя.
  6. Bradley
    Bradley 1 декабря 2021 18:45
    -3
    По словам Анатоля Ливена, долгое время в целом ряде государств Ближнего Востока (Ирак, Сирия, Ливия, Иран, Йемен) главным нарушителем и поджигателем вооружённых конфликтов воспринимались Соединённые Штаты Америки

    Безусловно, в последнее время конфликты на БВ развязывают США. Но и у Сирии рыльцо в пушку, так как в прошлом веке именно Сирия развязывала войны на БВ. Ну и Египет еще.

    Дополнительно отмечается, что к числу стран, которые лояльно стали относиться к России теперь можно причислить даже те, которые ранее, мягко говоря, не испытывали к Москве симпатий – например, Саудовская Аравия, Израиль.

    Симпатии нет, впрочем, как и антипатии. СА и Израиль будут с США, банально потому, что это выгодно.
  7. Владимир61
    Владимир61 1 декабря 2021 18:52
    +1
    Если это все, что было в статье-источнике, то этому Анатоль Ливен не грех и руку крепко пожать!
  8. Пленник
    Пленник 1 декабря 2021 19:05
    -1
    Россия на Ближнем орудует скальпелем и осторожно, в то время, как США шуровали и пытаются шуровать топором направо и налево.
  9. Fisherman
    Fisherman 1 декабря 2021 19:08
    -3
    Янки в прессу наняли эстооонцев? Новости прошлого десятилетия?
    1. Ясная
      Ясная 1 декабря 2021 21:24
      0
      Цитата: Fisherman
      Янки в прессу наняли эстооонцев? Новости прошлого десятилетия?

      Так янки десятилетия и грабят Ближний восток.
  10. Alex013
    Alex013 1 декабря 2021 19:23
    -1
    Насчет новостей про Восток и не только Ближний. "Боевики "Талибана"* вступили в бой с иранскими пограничниками и захватили КПП, сообщило афганское агентство Aamaj News" ...интересно во что перейдет
  11. boris ivanov
    boris ivanov 1 декабря 2021 21:26
    +9
    свято место пусто не бывает..
  12. Комментарий был удален.
  13. Teador
    Teador 1 декабря 2021 22:17
    -2
    Да вот только досих пор все кто там воевал так и воюют .а Мериканцы как держали всю нефть и газ так и держут не чего не изменилось .даже ТЕ АРАБСКИЕ СТРАНЫ КАТОРЫЕ ПОКУПАЛИ ОРУЖИЕ У РОССИИ ТЕПЕРЬ ПОКУПАЮТ У СТРАН НАТО
  14. tarakan
    tarakan 1 декабря 2021 23:25
    -1
    Промелькнула информация,что иранцы с талибами схлестнулись,кто в теме?
    1. riwas
      riwas 2 декабря 2021 08:24
      +2
      Промелькнула информация,что иранцы с талибами схлестнулись,кто в теме?

      "В приграничной зоне района Канг провинции Нимроз в Афганистане между афганскими и иранскими пограничниками разгорелся местный спор, и теперь ситуация находится под контролем", - написал в твиттере официальный представитель талибов Забихулла Муджахид.
      В свою очередь, иранское информационное агентство "Fars" заявило, что причиной вооруженного конфликта на границе Ирана с Афганистаном был "спор из-за сельскохозяйственных угодий".
      "Вопреки слухам, ни один из пограничных пунктов Ирана не был захвачен, и среди пограничников обошлось без жертв. Злоумышленники напали из-за спора из-за сельскохозяйственных угодий вдоль границы, что вызвало резкую реакцию пограничников", - говорится в сообщении "Fars".
      https://www.interfax.ru/world/806141
  15. SergKam
    SergKam 1 декабря 2021 23:26
    +2
    еврей едет в метро, и читает арабскую газету. другой еврей, оказавшийся в том же вагоне замечает эту странность и очень расстроенный спрашивает первого: "Моше, ты сошёл с ума? Чего ради ты читаешь арабскую газету?" Моше отвечает - "Я раньше читал еврейские газеты, и чего там пишут? Евреев преследуют, на Израиль нападают, евреи исчезают из-за ассимиляции и смешанных браков, евреи живут в нищите. Поэтому я перешёл на арабские газеты, и чего же они пишут? Евреи владеют всеми банками, евреи контроллируют газеты, евреи богаты и сильны, евреи правят миром. Вот эти новости получше."
  16. Владимир Владимирович Воронцов
    0
    Указывается на то, что политика России находит отклик у ближневосточных государств в связи с тем, что Россия не идёт напролом, а старается учитывать интересы каждого из государств региона.

    ***
    «Восток - дело тонкое»...
    ***
  17. KCA
    KCA 2 декабря 2021 05:30
    0
    Если американец с фамилией Ливен заговорил об успехах Путина на БВ, это хорошо, не просто так Нетаньяху в дёсна целовал Путина чуть не раз в месяц, ой, только не скажите мне что что Ливен негр, а то поплохеет
    1. Комментарий был удален.
      1. KCA
        KCA 2 декабря 2021 08:51
        +2
        О как, да он вообще из прибалтов оказывается, ну или укров ливонских, хотя фамилия не польская, из выкрестов?
  18. Бшкаус
    Бшкаус 2 декабря 2021 09:50
    -4
    Однажды нам обещали не поднимать пенсионный возраст, а еще говорили что если править больше, чем два срока, можно сойти сума, а еще...