Military Review

Walking trucks for the American army

34

Walking Truck from General Electric. Source: wikimedia.org


Vietnam as a challenge


The United States, embroiled in wars in Southeast Asia, has learned at least two lessons. The first is to win in such conditions without using weapons mass destruction cannot be won. And the second lesson is that extremely difficult terrain requires extraordinary solutions. Wheeled and even tracked vehicles in the jungles of Vietnam were far from always suitable, and this, in turn, limited the mobility of the army. Engineering thought, coupled with an almost unlimited military budget, gave birth to real monsters in the United States. Such as LeTourneau's Transphibian Tactical Crusher - a giant 95 ton tractor built in just two copies in 1967. The machine in Vietnam, like a combine, grinded trees, bushes, leveled hummocks, and created a more or less level road for infantry and traditional equipment. However, the difficulties with the transportation of the "crusher" put an end to the further development of the idea. A more elegant solution was required. And they found it in bionics, that is, in imitation of natural "engineering" solutions. The idea of ​​scaling the locomotion of walking movement to the Pentagon's transport equipment was a very good idea. It was supposed to use a pedipulator or a mechanical analogue of a human (animal) limb as a mover. And this is not without reason - millions of years of evolution have shown that it is precisely this option of moving over a complex surface that is most effective. Where a wheel or a caterpillar has to overcome an obstacle, the pedipulator will simply step over it. True, on a flat and solid road, all the advantages of a walker melted away - cars and Tanks moved much faster and spent less energy on it. But the Americans in Vietnam needed a walking technique for extreme off-road conditions, so they were ready to put up with low speed.

Walking trucks for the American army
Army Landwalker 1964 / Source: wikimedia.org

One of the first models, albeit painted on a poster, was the 1964 Army Landwalker, presented at the World's Fair in New York. The engineers' imagination ran wild - they equipped the hut on four legs with two manipulators, apparently for the evacuation of the wounded. However, such a technique did not have real prospects, simply because the technical possibilities of implementation were absent in principle. The developments obtained earlier in a special laboratory of the famous Detroit arsenal showed not the most promising prospects for pedipulators. At the same time, the American army had a demand for extremely passable vehicles, and this had to be reckoned with.

Ralph Mosher and his trucks


General Electric (GE) engineer Ralph Mosher can be considered one of the pioneers of military robotics. Almost everything that we now see in conceptual prototypes and working models in the 60s and 70s was implemented by Mosher. Of course, with varying degrees of success. In the mid-50s, under his leadership, the first prototypes of remotely controlled manipulators were created. The work was carried out under the auspices of the GE Department of Nuclear Power Plants. The machines were supposed to replace humans in the territory of radioactive contamination or simply in the work with hazardous substances. Mosher managed to create surprisingly sensitive manipulators for his time. So, in 1956, his Yes-Man Teleoperator robot could help a girl put on / take off her coat. Naturally, there was no question of any automation - the system was remotely controlled by the operator. The engineer was able to equip his development with a force feedback system, which made it possible to more accurately control the manipulator. A couple of years later - in 1958 - Mosher will create a real industrial GE Handyman with several degrees of freedom. The device was described with the following epithets:
"A pair of clawed hands, sensitive enough to pack eggs, strong enough to crush golf balls, and nimble enough to light a match."




Yes-Man Teleoperator. Source: cyberneticzoo.com









GE Handyman. Source: cyberneticzoo.com

In 1964, the designer offered everyone interested and, above all, the American military, the concept of a two-legged transporter, the place of which was, most likely, only in a science fiction film. The general name GE Pedipulator hid a whole family of sketches, one of which became a real model. The bipedal mechanical creature, very similar to the house of Baba Yaga, with a height of 5,5 meters, was only a declaration of the author's intentions - the device lacked a motor and transmission. With this, the iron giant could not perform any useful work, except for moving one or two people off-road. The military did not like the idea. Firstly, the device turned out to be very noticeable. Secondly, it was potentially very unstable - there was no way to create a progressive stabilization system at that time. And, thirdly, the lack of a cargo platform seriously limited the military functionality of the Mosher vehicle. Even two manipulators, which the engineer proposed to integrate into the structure, did not help, which made the apparatus look like a predatory dinosaur. Interestingly, in the Soviet Union, futurists also allowed themselves to get carried away with bipedal pedipulators - in 1974, in one of the popular scientific magazines (presumably "Tekhnika Molodoi"), an image of a machine appeared that looked very similar to Mosher's dead-end concepts. In the Soviet interpretation, motion control was carried out through a neural interface.


Soviet fantasies about bipedal robots. Source: cyberneticzoo.com






Thus, Mosher saw a solution to the problem of the patency of military vehicles. Source: cyberneticzoo.com

The experience with two-legged walking machines was incorporated into the development of the Walking Truck vehicle in 1969. The development still has a couple of several names - Cybernetic Anthropomorphous Machine and Quadruped Transporter. With a great degree of confidence, the car is called the grandfather of the modern Spot robot dog from Boston Dynamics. The Mosher project received extensive funding from DARPA and TARDEC (US Army Armored Directorate). By the way, the military themselves were not able to bring to mind their own project of a walking truck under the long name - ATAC 4-legged vehicle. The project did not advance further than primitive wooden models, and it was decided to focus efforts on the idea of ​​Mosher. He suggested moving the driver's cab to the center of the truck's base, leaving little room for the cargo platform. However, this time it came to developing a working prototype.




The US military has also been working on a walking truck. It didn't work out very well. Source: cyberneticzoo.com

The Walking Truck was a 1,3 tonne four-legged transporter capable of carrying approximately 270 kg of payload along with the operator. The power plant was a 90-horsepower gasoline engine, which theoretically was supposed to accelerate the car to 55 km / h. But this is in theory, but in practice it was limited to 8 km / h. Even this speed was achieved with great reservations. It's all about the hydraulic system, requiring at least 250 liters of oil, which simply had nowhere to place, so the truck moved on a leash from several oil hoses. And the pressure in the "hydraulics" varied from 163 to 220 atmospheres.
















Walking Truck at various stages of development. Source: cyberneticzoo.com

There were also difficulties with the stability of the 4,5-meter iron mule. When Mosher's car was taken out for a walk in the fresh air, it was equipped with anti-rollover bars. This, of course, did not add any maneuverability or carrying capacity to the truck.

But the greatest difficulties awaited the operator of this amazing four-legged machine. A person had to simultaneously manipulate all limbs in order to simply put the foot of the Walking Truck on a step. At the same time, the iron horse constantly vibrated, rustled, staggered, threatening to overturn. In general, after half an hour of such work, the operator's vestibular apparatus failed.

All these difficulties were started only in order to freely walk on shallow water bodies, push light jeeps out of the mud and climb steep bumps with varying success (if the Walking Truck does not turn over). As a result, the Pentagon, assessing the potential for creating iron horses, refused further funding. And the civilian sector did not need such delights at all.
Now a unique example of a walking truck can be found in the exposition of the American Museum of Military Transport.
Author:
34 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, daily additional materials that do not get on the site: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vladimir_2U
    Vladimir_2U 8 December 2021 05: 32
    +12
    It looks like the loader from "Aliens" was more realistic than all these handicrafts. lol
    1. Uncle lee
      Uncle lee 8 December 2021 05: 50
      +12
      The magazine "Tekhnika-Molozhi" is straightforward for 50 years ... what
      1. The leader of the Redskins
        The leader of the Redskins 8 December 2021 07: 25
        +7
        Join.
        The illustrations gave off something so childish. Certainly, I saw some of them as a child. Maybe in my father’s magazines? "Technology for Youth" or "Science and Life"?
        Thanks to the author. Informative.
        1. mat-vey
          mat-vey 8 December 2021 17: 25
          +1
          Even in "Young Technician" there were such articles ...
      2. Ashes of Claes
        Ashes of Claes 8 December 2021 14: 33
        +7
        Quote: Uncle Lee
        The magazine "Tekhnika-Molozhi" is straightforward for 50 years ..

        so the cover of TM) Why did the author cut the bottom - it's not clear.
        1. Ashes of Claes
          Ashes of Claes 8 December 2021 14: 45
          +8
          in, by the way, another one:

          ))
      3. Aviator_
        Aviator_ 8 December 2021 21: 44
        +2
        Quite right, This is "Youth Technique", but not the 50s, but the beginning of the 70s. Artist Robert Avotin.
    2. Lech from Android.
      Lech from Android. 8 December 2021 05: 51
      +7
      Lucas smacks of Star Wars ... what progress has come ... and then put a stretch with a land mine and no legs ... will not run far.
      But the fantasies of the inventors can be envied ... to the feet made by nature in an evolutionary way, they really are still oh, how far away.
      There is no better creator than nature itself.
      1. Crowe
        Crowe 8 December 2021 06: 02
        +13
        But the fantasies of inventors can be envied ...
        Once upon a time people thought that a person could never fly ..
        At first, the new theory is proclaimed absurd. Then they accept it, but they say that it does not represent anything special and is as clear as day. Finally, she is recognized as so important that her former opponents begin to claim that they themselves discovered it. William james
        1. Lech from Android.
          Lech from Android. 8 December 2021 06: 16
          +3
          Thought becomes a material force when it takes over the masses.
          If all the destructive energy of mankind were to be directed to creative deeds, we would have long ago mastered the Moon and Mars ... but alas, the armed struggle for a better place in the sun retards the development of mankind ... a small handful of people enjoy all the benefits of civilization ... the rest is destined for the fate of a half-impoverished existence ... they can only dream.
      2. Kote Pan Kokhanka
        Kote Pan Kokhanka 8 December 2021 12: 07
        +5
        It was supposed to use a pedipulator or a mechanical analogue of a human (animal) limb as a mover. And this is not without reason - millions of years of evolution have shown that it is precisely this option of moving over a complex surface that is most effective.

        I don’t know, as a neophyte, I think that the most effective move for military needs is the analogue of the scales of a snake or a worm.
        Any "paw" will always be a high target with a high specific ground pressure. The "crawler" is devoid of these shortcomings, but in essence it represents the movement itself, which implies insane complexity.
        So, perhaps, it is more effective to create an exoskeleton for a soldier to carry everything with him. And the rest should be delivered by air using "drones", and in the dimensions of a "backpack", or individual carriers of ammunition (similar to human or canine dimensions).
        Well, somewhere like that.
        And yes, thanks to Eugene for the raised topic, although to be honest I would like to read something from the history of motor transport, and not these miraculous Yudo "mehvars".
        1. Evgeny Fedorov
          8 December 2021 12: 20
          +10
          Vladislav, when I came across Walking Truck on the Internet, I immediately decided that VO readers should certainly learn about this car. The 50-60s were generally rich in such "innovations". The timing was interesting. Now, there is nothing of the kind worthy of attention. And about the history of military vehicles will certainly be.
          1. Kote Pan Kokhanka
            Kote Pan Kokhanka 8 December 2021 14: 49
            +3
            And about the history of military vehicles will certainly be.

            Thank you very much from the bottom of my heart!
        2. ja-ja-vw
          ja-ja-vw 8 December 2021 18: 28
          -1
          Crawling, scaly ones have always become prey for flying ones.
          Shl. + Review "below the plinth"
          1. Kote Pan Kokhanka
            Kote Pan Kokhanka 8 December 2021 19: 33
            0
            Quote: ja-ja-vw
            Crawling, scaly ones have always become prey for flying ones.
            Shl. + Review "below the plinth"

            Read the article, we are talking about a military "truck" for extreme conditions. His task is to deliver the cargo from point "A" to point "B". Best unmanned and unobtrusive.
            1. ja-ja-vw
              ja-ja-vw 8 December 2021 22: 40
              -1
              I read
              I replied not to the article, but to
              , as a neophyte, I think that the most effective for military needs [moving is an analogue of snake or worm scales


              Best drone and imperceptibly

              The key is underlined.
              "Cargo" of 220 kg certainly impressed, for many $ million.
              And they don't need to "get" the cargo whole?
              And for scaly ones with a view "right up to the radio horizon line"?
              However: I do not insist, scaly, so scaly.
    3. Ashes of Claes
      Ashes of Claes 8 December 2021 14: 30
      +5
      Quote: Vladimir_2U
      It looks like the loader from "Aliens" was more realistic than all these handicrafts. lol

      Exactly, I immediately recall the scene of how Helen Ripley bought the queen of aliens. yes
  2. Free wind
    Free wind 8 December 2021 06: 43
    +6
    We played the same with this. They wanted to make a six-legged, sort of like a pair of hydraulic legs made and tested.
  3. Alien From
    Alien From 8 December 2021 10: 29
    +4
    Thanks to the author! I always enjoy studying his materials. hi
  4. ycuce234-san
    ycuce234-san 8 December 2021 10: 42
    +3
    All these difficulties were started only in order to freely walk on shallow water bodies, push light jeeps out of the mud and climb steep bumps with varying success (if the Walking Truck does not turn over). As a result, the Pentagon, assessing the potential for creating iron horses, refused further funding. And the civilian sector did not need such delights at all.
    Now a unique example of a walking truck can be found in the exposition of the American Museum of Military Transport.


    In fact, Vietnam is a jungle swamp, which means that such a technique for the Pentagon could have been easier to do (using the technologies of that time). There are pontoon-caterpillar excavators and, by analogy, it is possible to make "sea-river-swamp" bog conveyors on pontoon chassis filled with polyurethane foam. Replace the bucket with a tree cutter and a dozer blade for bushes. There is also such a technique as augers.



    1. ja-ja-vw
      ja-ja-vw 8 December 2021 18: 30
      -1
      There are completely different swamps, not ours. And vegetation. From the word at all.
      Visit Vietnam: they make excursions on the TRAIL. Step aside: you freak out
      1. ycuce234-san
        ycuce234-san 8 December 2021 19: 37
        0
        They look like a specific biotope "mangrove jungle" there. That is, dense forests grow in swamps (and not bryozoans), only that true mangroves grow in semi-salty water. Therefore, it is necessary to go there on caterpillar pontoons and with a hydraulic manipulator with hydraulic shears for felling trees. You need a swamp bulldozer. It is also possible on the auger.
        But it is better to have a bulldozer on a floating auger chassis with a high edge of the auger due to the need for good traction with the soil, and trucks on tracked pontoons. In general, amphibious caterpillar tracks were successfully used there and are still used in the form of amphibious tanks.
        1. ja-ja-vw
          ja-ja-vw 8 December 2021 22: 42
          0
          Others.
          If it were so, they would not have invented step-steps.
          The Americans of WW2 joint stock company had a lot of experience, they wrote themselves: the bulldozer won the war with Japan.
          Quickly preparing la gdp and navy docks while they hopped around the islands.
          1. ycuce234-san
            ycuce234-san 8 December 2021 23: 11
            0
            Well, it didn't cost them anything to go back to more realistic options. The fact that the walker was still unsuitable for swamps was understood very quickly.
            Today walkers already perform well in dry forests and on steep slopes.
  5. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek 8 December 2021 13: 15
    +2
    And we see many solutions now in cars from Boston Dinamex.
  6. Ashes of Claes
    Ashes of Claes 8 December 2021 15: 32
    +4
    Wheeled and even tracked vehicles in the jungles of Vietnam did not always fit ... A more elegant solution was required.

    it's true. And the Vietcong decided that the elephant in the jungle is quite graceful))
  7. Illanatol
    Illanatol 9 December 2021 08: 49
    +1
    "The Empire Strikes Back!"
    I was wondering who Lucas was mocking in his "Star" saga. It is now clear.
    1. Nexcom
      Nexcom 9 December 2021 12: 21
      0
      I also have associations with the Ymper Shagohod. smile
      IMHO, this is not Lucas joking, it is Yankesian design engineers who seem to draw their inspiration from there. So we are waiting for the Imperial Space Cruiser and the Death Star soon. lol
  8. Tochilka
    Tochilka 10 December 2021 06: 19
    0
    The article, photos, comments are great! It's a pleasure to read. Thanks to the author.

Военное обозрение

Шагающие грузовики для американской армии

34

Walking Truck от General Electric. Источник: wikimedia.org


Вьетнам как вызов


Соединенные Штаты, ввязавшиеся в войны в Юго-Восточной Азии, вынесли, как минимум, два урока. Первый – победу в таких условиях без применения оружия массового поражения не одержать. И второй урок – чрезвычайно труднопроходимая местность требует чрезвычайных решений. Колесная и даже гусеничная техника в джунглях Вьетнама подходили далеко не всегда, а это, в свою очередь, ограничивало мобильность армии. Инженерная мысль вкупе с почти неограниченным военным бюджетом рождали в США настоящих монстров. Таких как Transphibian Tactical Crusher от фирмы ЛеТурно – гигантский 95-тонный трактор, построенный всего в двух экземплярах в 1967 году. Машина во Вьетнаме как комбайн перемалывала деревья, кустарники, выравнивала кочки, и создавал более-менее ровную дорогу для пехоты и традиционной техники. Однако сложности с транспортировкой «дробилки» поставила крест на дальнейшем развитии идеи. Требовалось более изящное решение. И нашли его в бионике, то есть в подражании природным «инженерным» решениям. Очень неплохо подходила идея масштабировать локомоцию шагающего движения на транспортную технику Пентагона. В качестве движителя предполагалось использовать педипулятор или механический аналог человеческой (животной) конечности. И это неспроста – миллионы лет эволюции показали, что именно такой вариант перемещения по сложной поверхности наиболее эффективен. Там, где колесу или гусенице приходится преодолевать препятствие, педипулятор просто его перешагнет. Правда, на ровной и твердой дороге все преимущества шагохода таяли – автомобили и танки двигались гораздо быстрее и тратили на это меньше энергии. Но американцам во Вьетнаме требовалась шагающая техника для экстремального бездорожья, поэтому мириться с тихоходностью они были готовы.

Шагающие грузовики для американской армии
Army Landwalker 1964 года/ Источник: wikimedia.org

Одной из первых моделей, пусть и нарисованной на плакате, стал санитарный Army Landwalker 1964 года, представленный на Всемирной выставке в Нью-Йорке. Фантазия у инженеров разгулялась не на шутку – они оснастили избушку на четырех ножках двумя манипуляторами, очевидно, для эвакуации раненых. Однако реальных перспектив подобная техника не имели, просто потому, что технические возможности реализации отсутствовали в принципе. Наработки, полученные ранее в специальной лаборатории знаменитого Детройтского арсенала, показали не самые радужные перспективы у педипуляторов. В тоже время, запрос на экстремально проходимые транспортные средства у американской армии существовал, и с этим приходилось считаться.

Ральф Мошер и его грузовики


Инженера компании General Electric (GE) Ральфа Мошера можно считать одним из пионеров военной робототехнике. Практически все, что мы сейчас видим в концептуальных прототипах и действующих моделях в 60-70-х годах было реализовано Мошером. Конечно, с разной степенью успешности. В середине 50-х годом под его руководством создаются первые прототипы дистанционно управляемых манипуляторов. Работы шли под эгидой Департамента ядерных силовых установок GE. Машины должны были заменить человека на территории радиоактивного заражения или просто в работе с опасными веществами. Мошеру для своего времени удалось создать удивительно чуткие манипуляторы. Так, в 1956 году его робот Yes-Man Teleoperator мог помочь девушке одеть/снять пальто. Естественно, ни о какой автоматизации речь не шла – система дистанционно управлялась оператором. Инженер сумел оснастить свою разработку системой обратной связи по усилию, что позволило точнее управлять манипулятором. Спустя пару лет - в 1958 году – Мошер создаст настоящий промышленный манипулятор GE Handyman с несколькими степенями свободы. Описывали устройство следующими эпитетами:
«Пара рук с клешнями, достаточно чувствительная, чтобы упаковать яйца, достаточно сильная, чтобы раздавить мячи для гольфа, и достаточно ловкая, чтобы зажечь спичку».




Yes-Man Teleoperator. Источник: cyberneticzoo.com









GE Handyman. Источник: cyberneticzoo.com

1964 году конструктор предложил всем заинтересованным и, прежде всего, американским военным концепт двуногого транспортера, место которому, было, скорее всего, только в фантастическом фильме. Под общим именем GE Pedipulator скрывалось целое семейство эскизов, из которых один стал реальным макетом. Двуногое механическое существо, очень похожее на домик Бабы Яги, высотой 5,5 метров было лишь декларацией намерений автора – у устройства отсутствовали мотор и трансмиссия. При этой никакой полезной работы, кроме перемещения по бездорожью одного-двух человек, железный гигант совершать не мог. Военным идея не понравилась. Во-первых, аппарат получился очень заметным. Во-вторых, потенциально очень неустойчивым – прогрессивной системы стабилизации «избушки на курьих ножках» тогда было не создать. И, в-третьих, отсутствие грузовой платформы серьезно ограничивало армейский функционал машины Мошера. Не помогли даже два манипулятора, который инженер предлагал интегрировать в конструкцию, отчего аппарат становился похож на хищного динозавра. Интересно, что в Советском Союзе футурологи также позволили себе увлечься двуногими педипуляторами – в 1974 году в одном из научно-популярных журналов (предположительно «Техника молодежи») появилось изображение машины, очень похожей на тупиковые концепты Мошера. В советском прочтении управление движением осуществлялось через нейронный интерфейс.


Советские фантазии на тему двуногих роботов. Источник: cyberneticzoo.com






Таким образом Мошер видел решение проблемы проходимости военного транспорта. Источник: cyberneticzoo.com

Опыт с двуногими шагающими машинам был учтен в разработке транспортного средства Walking Truck в 1969 году. У разработки сохранилось еще пара несколько названий - Cybernetic Anthropomorphous Machine и Quadruped Transporter. Машину с большой долей уверенности назвать дедушкой современно робота-собаки Spot от Boston Dynamics. Проект Мошера получил широкое финансирование от DARPA и TARDEC (Автобронетанковое управление армии США). Кстати, сами военные так и не смогли довести до ума собственный проект шагающего грузовика под длинным именем – ATAC 4-legged vehicle. Проект дальше примитивных деревянных макетов не продвинулся и усилия решено было сфокусировать на идее Мошера. Он предложил сместить кабину водителя в центр базы грузовика, отчего место для грузовой платформы осталось не так много. Однако в этот раз дело дошло до разработки действующего прототипа.




Американские военные также работали над шагающим грузовиком. Получилось не очень. Источник: cyberneticzoo.com

Walking Truck представлял собой 1,3-тонный четырехногий транспортер, способный брать на борт около 270 кг полезной нагрузки вместе с оператором. Силовой установкой служил 90-сильный бензиновый мотор, который теоретически должен был разогнать машину до 55 км/ч. Но это в теории, а на практике дело ограничилось 8 км/ч. Даже такая скорость достигалась с большими оговорками. Все дело в гидравлической системе, требующей не менее 250 литров масла, которое просто негде было разместить, поэтому грузовик перемещался на привязи из нескольких масляных шлангов. А давление в «гидравлике» варьировалось от 163 до 220 атмосфер.
















Walking Truck на различных этапах разработки. Источник: cyberneticzoo.com

Сложности были и с устойчивостью 4,5-метрового железного мула. Когда машину Мошера вывели на прогулку на свежий воздух, то оснастили брусьями от опрокидывания. Это, естественно, не добавляло грузовику ни маневренности, ни грузоподъемности.

Но самые большие сложности ждали оператора этой удивительной четырехногой машины. Человеку приходилось одновременно манипулировать всеми конечностями, чтобы просто поставить ногу Walking Truck на ступеньку. При этом железный конь постоянно вибрировал, шумел, шатался, грозя опрокидыванием. В общем, через полчаса такой работы вестибулярный аппарат оператора отказывал.

Все эти сложности затевались только для того, чтобы беспрепятственно ходить по неглубоким водоемам, выталкивать из грязи легкие джипы и с переменным успехом взбираться на крутые кочки (если Walking Truck не перевернется). В итоге Пентагон, оценив потенциальную возможность создания железных коней, отказался от дальнейшего финансирования. А гражданскому сектору подобные изыски были совсем не нужны.
Сейчас уникальный экземпляр шагающего грузовика можно встретить в экспозиции американского Музея военного транспорта.
Автор:
34 комментария
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, ежедневно дополнительные материалы, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Владимир_2У
    Владимир_2У 8 декабря 2021 05:32
    +12
    Похоже погрузчик из "Чужих" реалистичнее всех этих поделок был. lol
    1. Uncle Lee
      Uncle Lee 8 декабря 2021 05:50
      +12
      Прям журнал "Техника-моложежи" за 50 годы... what
      1. Вождь краснокожих
        Вождь краснокожих 8 декабря 2021 07:25
        +7
        Присоединяюсь.
        От иллюстраций чем то таким детским повеяло. Однозначно, некоторые из них я видал в детстве. Может, в журналах у отца? "Техника молодёжи" или "Наука и жизнь"?
        А автору спасибо. Познавательно.
        1. mat-vey
          mat-vey 8 декабря 2021 17:25
          +1
          Ещё в "Юный Техник" такие статьи были ...
      2. Пепел Клааса
        Пепел Клааса 8 декабря 2021 14:33
        +7
        Цитата: Uncle Lee
        Прям журнал "Техника-моложежи" за 50 годы..

        так обложка ТМ) Зачем автор низ обрезал - не понятно.
        1. Пепел Клааса
          Пепел Клааса 8 декабря 2021 14:45
          +8
          во, кстати, ещё одна:

          ))
      3. Авиатор_
        Авиатор_ 8 декабря 2021 21:44
        +2
        Совершенно верно, Это "Техника Молодёжи", только не 50-е, а начало 70-х. Художник Роберт Авотин.
    2. Леха с Андроида.
      Леха с Андроида. 8 декабря 2021 05:51
      +7
      Звездными войнами Лукаса попахивает... до чего дошел прогресс... а так растяжку с фугасом поставить и нет ноги... далеко не убежит.
      Но фантазии изобретателей можно позавидовать... до ног сделанных природой эволюционным путем им правда еще ой как далеко.
      Лучшего творца чем сама природа на свете нет.
      1. Кроу
        Кроу 8 декабря 2021 06:02
        +13
        Но фантазии изобретателей можно позавидовать...
        Когда-то люди думали, что человек никогда не сможет летать..
        На первых порах новая теория провозглашается нелепой. 3атем её принимают, но говорят, что она не представляет собой ничего особенного и ясна как божий день. Наконец она признается настолько важной, что её бывшие противники начинают утверждать, будто они сами открыли её. Уильям Джеймс
        1. Леха с Андроида.
          Леха с Андроида. 8 декабря 2021 06:16
          +3
          Мысль становится материальной силой когда она овладевает массами.
          Если всю разрушительную энергию человечества направить на созидательные дела мы бы давно бы уже осваивали Луну и Марс... но увы вооруженная борьба за лучшее место под солнцем задерживает развитие человечества... небольшая кучка людей пользуется всеми благами цивилизации... остальным уготована участь полунищего существования... им остается только мечтать.
      2. Коте пане Коханка
        Коте пане Коханка 8 декабря 2021 12:07
        +5
        В качестве движителя предполагалось использовать педипулятор или механический аналог человеческой (животной) конечности. И это неспроста – миллионы лет эволюции показали, что именно такой вариант перемещения по сложной поверхности наиболее эффективен.

        Не знаю, я как неофит считаю, что самый эффективный для военных нужд движетесь - это аналог чешуек змеи или червя.
        Любой «лаповой» будет всегда высокой мишенью имеющей высокое удельное давление на грунт. «Ползоход» этих недостатков лишён, но он по сути сам по себе представляет движетесь, что предполагает безумную сложность.
        Так что, возможно - эффективнее создание экзоскелета для солдата, чтоб все свое носить с собой. А остальное доставлять по воздуху с помощью «дронов», причём в габаритах «рюкзака», либо индивидуальных подносчиков боеприпасов (сходных с человеческими или собачьими размерами).
        Ну где-то так.
        И да Евгению спасибо за поднятую тему, хотя если честно хочется почитать, что либо из истории автотранспорта, а не этих чудо-юдо «мехваров».
        1. Евгений Федоров
          8 декабря 2021 12:20
          +10
          Владислав, я когда на Walking Truck в сети наткнулся, сразу решил, что читатели ВО непременно должны узнать об этой машине. 50-60-е годы вообще были богаты на подобные "инновации". Время было интересно. Сейчас из достойных внимание новинок ничего такого нет. А про историю военного автотранспорта обязательно будет.
          1. Коте пане Коханка
            Коте пане Коханка 8 декабря 2021 14:49
            +3
            А про историю военного автотранспорта обязательно будет.

            От всей души спасибо огромное!
        2. ja-ja-vw
          ja-ja-vw 8 декабря 2021 18:28
          -1
          Ползущие, чешуйчатые всегда становились добычей для летающих.
          Зы.+ обзор "ниже плинтуса"
          1. Коте пане Коханка
            Коте пане Коханка 8 декабря 2021 19:33
            0
            Цитата: ja-ja-vw
            Ползущие, чешуйчатые всегда становились добычей для летающих.
            Зы.+ обзор "ниже плинтуса"

            Читайте статью, речь идёт о военном «грузовике» для экстримальнотяжелых условий. Его задача доставить груз из пункта «А» до пункта «Б». Лучше всего в беспилотном режиме и незаметно.
            1. ja-ja-vw
              ja-ja-vw 8 декабря 2021 22:40
              -1
              Я читал
              Ответил не на статью, а на
              , я как неофит считаю, что самый эффективный для военных нужд [движетесь - это аналог чешуек змеи или червя


              Лучше всего в беспилотном режиме и незаметно

              Ключевое подчёркнуто.
              "Груз" в 220 кг конечно впечатлил, за много $ миллионов.
              А грузы им не надо "добраться" целыми?
              А у чешуйчатых с обзором "аж до лининии радиогоризонта"?
              Впрочем: не настаиваю, чешуйчатые, так чешуйчатые.
    3. Пепел Клааса
      Пепел Клааса 8 декабря 2021 14:30
      +5
      Цитата: Владимир_2У
      Похоже погрузчик из "Чужих" реалистичнее всех этих поделок был. lol

      Точняк, сразу вспоминается сцена, как Элен Рипли королеву чужих укотропупила. yes
  2. Вольный ветер
    Вольный ветер 8 декабря 2021 06:43
    +6
    У нас то же с этим игрались. Хотели сделать шестиногого, вроде как пару ног гидравлических сделали и испытывали.
  3. Alien From
    Alien From 8 декабря 2021 10:29
    +4
    Спасибо автору! Всегда с удовольствием изучаю его материалы hi
  4. ycuce234-san
    ycuce234-san 8 декабря 2021 10:42
    +3
    Все эти сложности затевались только для того, чтобы беспрепятственно ходить по неглубоким водоемам, выталкивать из грязи легкие джипы и с переменным успехом взбираться на крутые кочки (если Walking Truck не перевернется). В итоге Пентагон, оценив потенциальную возможность создания железных коней, отказался от дальнейшего финансирования. А гражданскому сектору подобные изыски были совсем не нужны.
    Сейчас уникальный экземпляр шагающего грузовика можно встретить в экспозиции американского Музея военного транспорта.


    На самом деле Вьетнам - это джунгли-болота а значит такую технику для Пентагона можно было и проще сделать (на технологиях того времени). Существуют экскаваторы на понтонно-гусеничном ходу и по аналогии можно сделать болотные транспортёры "море-река-болот" на понтонных, заполненных пенополуританом, шасси. Вместо ковша поставить резак для деревьев и бульдозерный отвал для кустов. Ещё есть такая техника как шнекоходы.



    1. ja-ja-vw
      ja-ja-vw 8 декабря 2021 18:30
      -1
      Там совсем другие болота, не наши. И растительность. От слова совсем.
      Побывайте во Вьетнаме: они на ТРОПУ экскурсии делают. Отойдёшь в сторону: офигееешь
      1. ycuce234-san
        ycuce234-san 8 декабря 2021 19:37
        0
        Они там похожи на специфический биотоп "мангровые джунгли". То есть на болотах растут густые леса (а не мшанники), только лишь что истинные мангры растут в полусоленой воде. Поэтому туда надо и ехать на гусеничных понтонах и с гидроманипулятором с гидроножницами для валки деревьев. Бульдозер болотный нужен. Можно и на шнекоходе.
        Но лучше бульдозер иметь на плавающем шнековом шасси с высоким ребром шнека из за необходимости в хорошем сцеплении с почвой а грузовые машины на гусеничных понтонах. Вообще плавающие гусеничники там успешно применялись и применяются до сих пор в виде плавающих танков.
        1. ja-ja-vw
          ja-ja-vw 8 декабря 2021 22:42
          0
          Другие.
          Если бы было так, не изобретали бы шагозоды.
          Американцы ао 2МВ имели большой опыт, сами писали : войну с Японией выиграл бульдозер.
          Быстро готовил ввп для ла и причалы для вмс, пока они прыгали по островам.
          1. ycuce234-san
            ycuce234-san 8 декабря 2021 23:11
            0
            Ну, им ничего не стоило вернуться к более реалистичным вариантам. То, что шагоход пока еще негоден для болот поняли очень быстро.
            Сегодня шагоходы уже неплохо себя показывают в сухих лесах и на крутых склонах.
  5. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek 8 декабря 2021 13:15
    +2
    А многие решения мы видим сейчас в машинах от "Бостон дайнамекс"
  6. Пепел Клааса
    Пепел Клааса 8 декабря 2021 15:32
    +4
    Колесная и даже гусеничная техника в джунглях Вьетнама подходили далеко не всегда...Требовалось более изящное решение.

    это да. И Вьетконг решил, что слон в джунглях вполне изящен))
  7. Illanatol
    Illanatol 9 декабря 2021 08:49
    +1
    "Империя наносит ответный удар!"
    Я то думал, над кем Лукас простебался в своей "Звездной" саге. Теперь ясно.
    1. Nexcom
      Nexcom 9 декабря 2021 12:21
      0
      У меня тоже ассоциации с Ымперскими Шагоходами. smile
      ИМХО, это не Лукас стебался, это янкесовские инженеры-конструкторы похоже черпают свое вдохновение оттуда. Так что скоро ждем Ымперский Космокрейсер и Звезду Смерти. lol
  8. Tochilka
    Tochilka 10 декабря 2021 06:19
    0
    Статья, фото, комментарии - отличные! Читать одно удовольствие. Благодарность автору.