Military Review

Faddey Faddeevich Bellingshausen - "a skilled officer and a man of warm soul ..." The opening of the ice continent

3
Bellingshausen Faddey Faddeevich (1778-1852) was from Ezel Island (Estonia). He came from a family of Ostsee nobles. Known as a navigator, twice made a trip around the world. The main merit of the traveler, from early youth to his death, who was continuously at sea was the discovery of Antarctica, together with MP Lazarev.

Faddey Faddeevich Bellingshausen - "a skilled officer and a man of warm soul ..." The opening of the ice continent
Ivan Constantinovich Aivazovski. Ice Mountains in Antarctica 1870


Dreams of sailing originated in Faddey from childhood; about himself Bellingshausen said that he could not live without the sea, like a fish without water. After graduating from the Kronstadt Naval Cadet Corps, he becomes a midshipman. The first major voyage, in which a young officer took part, took place in 1796. Then, for the first time, Faddey felt the spirit of long-distance sea crossings and visited far England.

Bellingshausen was 25 years old when he was accepted into the crew for the first round-the-world voyage of Russian ships. He served on the ship "Hope". The expedition was commanded by Adam Johann von Krusenstern (more familiar - Ivan Krusenstern). Since Bellingshausen was passionately fond of science, on this journey he was entrusted with mapping. Later, all the maps compiled following the results of the expedition were included in the Atlas of the Journey Around the World compiled by Kruzenshtern. After successfully completing the journey, the Kruzenshtern team Bellingshausen conducts cartographic studies on the Black and Baltic Seas, compiles astronomical maps. Geography was his passion, he with great ecstasy wrote down and sketched everything new.

In the 20-s of the XIX century in Russia is preparing a new voyage around the world. Krusenstern recommends appointing Bellingshausen, an enterprising and skilful officer, as the head. And at the beginning of 1819, he heads the expedition. Its purpose was designated as “search for the sixth continent”. Together with Bellingshausen, the eminent explorer Mikhail Petrovich Lazarev participated in the voyage. And in June, 1819 from Kronstadt departed the sloops Mirny and Vostok and rushed to find the mysterious continent. Bellingshausen took command of the Vostok. At that time, he turned 40 years, and behind him was almost thirteen years of maritime experience.

Bellingshausen is heading for Rio de Janeiro. Further, its path lies to the south. The expedition explores Sandwich Islands, New Georgia Island, previously discovered by James Cook. By January, the ships arrive at the shores of an unknown southern continent covered with ice.

The date of the discovery of Antarctica is 16 in January 1820. It is on this day that the expedition approached the continent in the area of ​​the present Coast of Princess Martha. Seen land Bellingshausen called the icy continent. For the second time, sailors saw the January 21 shore. The huge glacial walls, which constantly fell into the water - January - the height of the Antarctic summer - did not allow them to land. During the summer, mariners explored the coastal shelf of Antarctica. They managed to cross the southern polar circle several times. The mainland was circled. In early February, during the bad weather, Bellingshausen came close to Princess Astrid Beach. Constant snowstorms and snow drifts did not allow us to consider the coast properly. By March, with a gradual decrease in air temperature and coastal waters, the accumulation of ice off the coast of Antarctica intensified, and swimming became difficult at first, and then simply impossible. The ships Bellingshausen headed for Australia.



However, this research was not completed, they continued in the Pacific Ocean. Bellingshausen studied the Tuamotu Archipelago, where the 29 islands were discovered. All of them were named after outstanding state and military leaders of Russia.

In September, 1820 resumed research on Antarctica. The shore of Alexander I was discovered, the island of Peter I got its name. After this, the expedition arrived at the South Shetland Islands. At this time, the discovery of a group of islands, which received the names of the battles of World War 1812 of the year and outstanding Russian navigators, was accomplished.

July ended 1821 of the year. The Bellingshausen expedition headed for Kronstadt. Behind heroic sailors, there were 50 thousand miles and 751 a day's journey. Conducted deep climatic and hydrographic studies, collected unique collections, valuable for zoology, ethnography and botany. Bellingsgausen carefully recorded all sorts of information in his diary - information about the customs of local peoples and everything that he and his team had seen, and submitted to the Admiralty a collection of his travel records with applications of various drawings and maps, the manuscript was published in 1831 year.

Bellingshausen became a real idol for many travelers and explorers. Comrades spoke of him as a bold and decisive man. In an extreme situation, a skilled sailor showed surprising composure. He knew his business very well and was distinguished by humanity - he had never used corporal punishment, he was attentive to his subordinates. The success of the expedition and the well-being of his subordinates were his priorities. However, he was inclined to take risks. So, Lazarev noted that Bellingshausen is exposing the ship to danger, maneuvering between ice fields by large passages. Bellingshausen also claimed that he was in a hurry because he thought only about not getting stuck with the team in the ice with the onset of spring.

After the discovery of North and South America and Australia, Antarctica was the final Great Geographical Discovery. Prior to this, no one seriously assumed that there was a whole continent waiting for discovery. After the voyage of the Russian discoverers Bellingshausen and Lazarev, there are no undiscovered large continents in the world.



For the greatest services to the Motherland, Bellingshausen receives first the title of Rear Admiral, then, in 1826, becomes the head flotilla The Mediterranean Sea. From 1839 he was appointed to the post of military governor of Kronstadt and the chief commander of the Kronstadt fleet, and by the end of his life he became an admiral and participated in the war with Turkey, leading a naval siege.

Bellingshausen is known for his considerable contribution to the construction of new harbors, ports, docks, and also for his concern for the personnel of the fleet. First of all, he took care of the sailors. On his initiative, the meat ration was significantly increased in the fleet. After the admiral's death, a document was found in which it was proposed to plant early-flowering trees in the harbors so that those leaving the sea could see the spring. To raise the cultural level of seafarers, he created a library in the port. Bellingshausen attached great importance to training, improved artillery shooting skills, passed on the skills of maneuvering to seamen responsible for navigation.

The great navigator died in 1852. They buried Bellingshausen in Kronstadt, where he was erected a monument in 18 years. The names of the great discoverer were islands in the Pacific and Atlantic oceans, the sea, a cape on Sakhalin Island, and an ice shelf in Antarctica. In 1968, the opening of the first Soviet research station on the West Coast of Antarctica took place at Cape Fildes. She also received the name Bellingshausen.

Based on materials:
http://www.peoples.ru
http://www.hrono.ru
http://www.kronstadt.ru
Shikman A.P. Figures of domestic stories. M, 1997
Author:
3 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. datur
    datur 20 September 2012 12: 50
    +1
    Great Russian - German origin !!!!!!!!
  2. Leisure
    Leisure 20 September 2012 15: 16
    +1
    A good article, I look forward to continuing about M. Lazarev
  3. vozn_ser
    vozn_ser 21 September 2012 00: 46
    0
    About Russia.

    O Russia - holy - Russia how many words of discord and insult in you.
    How Phoenix from centuries you are reborn from the ashes
    And through the ages you carry your faithful banner,
    And like in a hangover a hymn plays in the sky
    And deservedly to all Enemies you bring your collapse!
    But how are you Hades collecting tributes
    And through the barriers of suffering and resentment
    You're like a vulture eagle in a battlefield
    In all your talents you hide your gambit
    All troubles of sorrow of resentment and suffering
    They bring you a bloody spiral
    Those are all capable of only petty insurrections
    Your greatness is removed in the distance.
    And a string of torment, misery, transgressions
    Again you must carry Russia your "sinful" immaculate circle,
    And the warmth of all maternal impulses!
    All the bitter meetings, and all the unsuccessful partings
    I know there is no comparison
    Well, if your homeland took a triumph !!!
    I understood your idea
    Your flag with you raised the best and reliable friend.

    Sergey Voznesensky

Фаддей Фаддеевич Беллинсгаузен - «искусный офицер и человек теплой души…» Открытие ледяного континента

Беллинсгаузен Фаддей Фаддеевич (1778-1852 гг.) был родом с острова Эзель (Эстония). Происходил из семьи остзейских дворян. Известен как мореплаватель, дважды совершивший кругосветное путешествие. Основная заслуга путешественника, с ранней юности до самой смерти непрерывно находившегося в море – открытие Антарктиды совместно с М.П. Лазаревым.

Фаддей Фаддеевич Беллинсгаузен - «искусный офицер и человек теплой души…» Открытие ледяного континента
Иван Константинович Айвазовский. Ледяные горы в Антарктиде 1870


Мечты о плаваниях зародились в Фаддее с самого детства; о себе сам Беллинсгаузен говорил, что не может жить без моря, как рыба без воды. Закончив обучение в Кронштадтском морском кадетском корпусе, он становится гардемарином. Первое крупное плавание, в котором принял участие молодой офицер состоялось в 1796 г. Тогда Фаддей впервые почувствовал дух дальних морских переходов и побывал в далёкой Англии.


Беллинсгаузену было 25 лет, когда его приняли в команду для первого кругосветного путешествия российских судов. Он нёс службу на корабле «Надежда». Экспедицией командовал Адам Иоганн фон Крузенштерн (более привычное – Иван Крузенштерн). Поскольку Беллинсгаузен страстно увлекался науками, в этом путешествии ему было доверено составление карт. Позже все составленные по итогам экспедиции карты вошли в составленный Крузенштерном «Атлас к путешествию вокруг света». После успешного окончания путешествия в команде Крузенштерна Беллинсгаузен проводит картографические исследования на Черном и Балтийском морях, составляет астрономические карты. География была его страстью, он с огромным упоением записывал и зарисовывал всё новое.

В 20-х годах XIX века в России готовится новое кругосветное плавание. Крузенштерн рекомендует назначить руководителем «предприимчивого и искусного офицера» Беллинсгаузена. И в начале 1819 г. он возглавляет экспедицию. Цель ее была обозначена как «поиск шестого континента». Совместно с Беллинсгаузеном в плавании участвовал выдающийся мореплаватель Михаил Петрович Лазарев. И в июне 1819 г. из Кронштадта отбыли шлюпы «Мирный» и «Восток» и устремились на поиски таинственного материка. Беллинсгаузен принял командование «Востоком». На тот момент ему исполнилось 40 лет, а за плечами был почти тринадцатилетний морской опыт.

Беллинсгаузен идет курсом к Рио-де-Жанейро. Далее его путь лежит на юг. Экспедиция исследует Сандвичевы острова, остров Новая Георгия, ранее открытый Джеймсом Куком. К январю корабли прибывают к берегам неизвестного южного материка, покрытого льдами.

Датой открытия Антарктиды считается 16 января 1820 г. Именно в этот день экспедиция подошла к континенту в районе теперешнего Берега Принцессы Марты. увиденную землю Беллинсгаузен назвал Ледяным материком. Вторично моряки увидели берег 21 января. Высадиться не позволяли огромные ледниковые стены, которые постоянно обрушались в воду – январь – разгар антарктического лета. В течение лета мореплаватели исследовали прибрежный шельф Антарктиды. Южный полярный круг им удалось пересечь несколько раз. Материк был обойдён по кругу. В начале февраля во время непогоды Беллинсгаузен вплотную подошёл к Берегу Принцессы Астрид. Постоянные метели и снежные заносы не давали рассмотреть побережье как следует. К марту, с постепенным понижением температуры воздуха и прибрежных вод, усилилось скопление льдов у берегов Антарктиды, и плавание стало вначале затруднительным, а затем и просто невозможным. Корабли Беллинсгаузена взяли курс на Австралию.

Фаддей Фаддеевич Беллинсгаузен - «искусный офицер и человек теплой души…» Открытие ледяного континента


Однако на этом исследования не были завершены, они продолжились в Тихом Океане. Беллинсгаузен изучил архипелаг Туамоту, где были открыты 29 островов. Все они получили названия в честь выдающихся государственных и военных деятелей России.

В сентябре 1820 г. возобновлены исследования Антарктиды. Открыт Берег Александра I, получил свое название остров Петра I. После этого экспедиция прибыла к Южным Шетландским островам. В это время совершилось открытие группы островов, которые получили названия битв Отечественной войны 1812 года и выдающихся российских мореплавателей.

Заканчивался июль 1821 года. Экспедиция Беллинсгаузена взяла курс на Кронштадт. За плечами у героических моряков было 50 тыс. миль и 751 день пути. Проведены глубокие климатические и гидрографические исследования, собраны уникальные коллекции, ценные для зоологии, этнографии и ботаники. Беллинсгаузен тщательно заносил в свой дневник всевозможные сведения – информацию об обычаях местных народов и обо всём, что довелось увидеть ему и его команде, и предоставил в Адмиралтейство сборник своих записей о путешествии с приложениями самых разных рисунков и карт, рукопись вышла в 1831 году.

Беллинсгаузен стал настоящим кумиром для многих путешественников и исследователей. Товарищи отзывались о нём, как о человеке смелом и решительном. В экстремальной ситуации бывалый моряк проявлял удивительное хладнокровие. Он прекрасно знал свое дело и отличался гуманностью – ни разу не применял телесных наказаний, с заботой относился к подчинённым. Успех экспедиции и благополучие подчиненных были его приоритетами. Вместе с тем, он был склонен к риску. Так, Лазарев отмечал, что Беллинсгаузен подвергает судно опасности, маневрируя между ледяными полями большими ходами. Беллинсгаузен же утверждал, что в такое время торопился потому, что думал только о том, чтобы не застрять с командой во льдах с наступлением весны.

После открытия Северной и Южной Америки и Австралии Антарктида явилась завершающим Великим географическим открытием. До этого никто всерьёз не предполагал, что существует целый материк, ждущий открытия. После плавания русских первооткрывателей Беллинсгаузена и Лазарева неоткрытых крупных континентов в мире не осталось.

Фаддей Фаддеевич Беллинсгаузен - «искусный офицер и человек теплой души…» Открытие ледяного континента


За величайшие заслуги перед Родиной Беллинсгаузен получает сначала звание контр-адмирала, затем, 1826 году, становится во главе флотилии Средиземного моря. С 1839 г. назначается на пост военного губернатора Кронштадта и главного командира Кронштадтского флота, а к концу жизни становится адмиралом и участвует в войне с Турцией, возглавляя морскую осаду.

Беллинсгаузен известен за немалый вклад в строительство новых гаваней, портов, доков, а также за заботу о личном составе флота. В первую очередь, он заботился о матросах. По его инициативе на флоте был значительно увеличен мясной паек. После смерти адмирала был найден документ, в котором предлагалось сажать в гаванях деревья с ранним цветением, чтобы уходящие в море могли видеть весну. Для повышения культурного уровня моряков создал в порту библиотеку. Огромное значение Беллинсгаузен придавал тренировкам, улучшал навыки артиллерийской стрельбы, передавал морякам, ответственным за судовождение, навыки маневрирования.

Умер великий мореплаватель в 1852 году. Похоронили Беллинсгаузена в Кронштадте, где через 18 лет ему был воздвигнут памятник. Имя великого первооткрывателя получили острова в Тихом и Атлантическом океанах, море, мыс на острове Сахалин, шельфовый ледник в Антарктиде. В 1968 году на мысе Файлдс состоялось открытие первой советской научной станции на Западном побережье Антарктиды. Она также получила имя Беллинсгаузена.

Подготовлено по материалам:
http://www.peoples.ru
http://www.hrono.ru
http://www.kronstadt.ru
Шикман А.П. Деятели отечественной истории. М, 1997 г.
Автор: Вениамин Ключ


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. datur 20 сентября 2012 12:50
    Великий Русский -Немецкого происхождения!!!!!!!!
  2. Lazer 20 сентября 2012 15:16
    Хорошая статья, жду продолжение о Лазареве М. П.
  3. vozn_ser 21 сентября 2012 00:46
    О Русь.

    О Русь - святая - Русь сколь много в тебе слов раздоров и обид.
    Как Феникс из веков ты возрождаешься из пепла
    И сквозь века несешь свой верный стяг,
    И как в похмелье гимн играет в небо,
    И по заслугам всем Врагам несешь свой крах!
    Но как Аид Ты собираешь дани
    И сквозь преград страданий и обид
    Ты как орел-стервятник в поле брани,
    Во всех в талантах прячешь свой гамбит
    Все беды горести обиды и страданья
    Несут Тебе кровавую спираль
    Те все способен кто лишь к мелочным восстаниям
    Твое величье отстраняют в даль.
    И вереницу мук, страданий, прегрешений
    Опять должна нести ты Русь свой "грешный" непорочный круг,
    И теплоту всех материнских побуждений!
    Всех горьких встреч, и всех, не сбывшихся разлук
    Я знаю – нет тому всему сравнений
    Уж если Родина твоя взяла триумф!!!
    Твою идею понял,
    Твой флаг с тобою поднял лучший и надежный друг.

    Сергей Вознесенский
    vozn_ser

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня