Military Review

SU-152 and their appearance in the battle of Kursk

24
SU-152 and their appearance in the battle of Kursk

The German operation "Citadel" is one of the last operations of Hitlerite Germany, connected with an attempt to contain the counter-offensive of Soviet troops on the territory of the USSR. The Wehrmacht concentrated huge forces in the Kursk Bulge area, hoping that the defeat in the Battle of Stalingrad was "an annoying misunderstanding." In Germany itself, the authorities actually forbade to say that Paulus's army on the Volga surrendered, like the field marshal himself, who became the first German in this rank in stories, who decided to take such a step. Propaganda claimed that German troops fought almost to the last soldier.


The stake was made on an offensive operation in the Kursk Bulge area in the hope that the Soviet troops would still be broken. In Berlin, they believed that the strength of the German weapons... However, Soviet engineers were not going to silently look at how the German sphere of armored vehicles was improving. As a result, the SU-152 appeared in the Soviet troops.

And the battle of Kursk became the first baptism of fire for the SU-152 self-propelled artillery mounts. Of course, one cannot say that these self-propelled guns, which entered service in 1943, played a key role in the battles near Kursk, but the fact of the appearance of this 45-ton armored vehicle with powerful weapons cannot be underestimated either. The fact is that for the German troops the appearance of such equipment in the Red Army was largely a revelation.

About the Soviet self-propelled guns SU-152 is described in the materials of the TK "Zvezda" - in the program "Not a fact":

Photos used:
Wikipedia / Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-154-1964-28 / Dreyer / CC-BY-SA 3.0
24 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. SaLaR
    SaLaR 29 December 2021 17: 00
    +8
    How did it happen good
  2. Snail N9
    Snail N9 29 December 2021 17: 06
    +15
    Pershavin has a series of books "St. John's Wort ...". He writes military fiction based on the stories of veterans, so what he describes in his books is close to real events. In his books about self-propelled guns, both the strengths and weaknesses of this armored vehicle, as well as the features of its use, are well described. I advise you to read it, it is quite interesting.
    1. tihonmarine
      tihonmarine 29 December 2021 18: 00
      +11
      Quote: Snail N9
      Pershavin has a series of books "St. John's Wort ...".

      He writes well, I asked my father "So how?" , he said "Well, almost like mine."
      1. Snail N9
        Snail N9 29 December 2021 18: 52
        +5
        Yes, I agree. I especially like the fact that in his books he manages to convey precisely the life and attitudes of the military at that time, with all the nuances. Difficult relations must be said, because different people, different positions, different official positions, etc. Well, about technology only in terms of its operation and use without embellishment and humiliation, what was on that and fought. Unfortunately, it was the policy of the widespread exaltation of our technology and the ban on a sound analysis of what the Germans had, played a cruel joke. Until the very end of the war, many commanders did not understand the purpose of SPGs and how they should be used correctly, taking into account their characteristics.
        1. ivan2022
          ivan2022 1 January 2022 20: 56
          -4
          Quote: Snail N9
          Unfortunately, it was the policy of the widespread exaltation of our technology and the ban on a sound analysis of what the Germans had, played a cruel joke.

          Very interesting. But it is even more interesting to know your sources. For example, our tankers, until the end of the Second World War, did not know from what distance the "Tiger" penetrates the armor of the T-34? The point is that "sound analysis" occurs in the head, and no one tried to forbid thinking even in the Soviet army. Or were there official orders not to think? It is even more interesting to find out that the Germans had a policy of extolling Soviet technology, and not their own? Or maybe this is the way it should be - "sensibly extol" only the technique of the enemy? In my opinion, our historians and filmmakers have been doing just this for more than half a century .. But I don’t see what is "common" here .....
        2. ivan2022
          ivan2022 1 January 2022 21: 04
          -4
          Quote: Snail N9
          a ban on sound analysis of what the Germans had. Until the very end of the war, many commanders did not understand the purpose of SPGs and how they should be used correctly, taking into account their characteristics.

          And what, only the Germans had SPGs?
          But the "ban on sound analysis" is really cool!
          I didn’t know that the military even thought with the permission of their superiors, but they themselves couldn’t. However .. very, very likely .... for example, one of the commentators has already admitted that although our Army shot the Congress of the People. deputies in October 1993, but "they did not break the oath", since there was no special order from the authorities to carry it out ....
    2. billybones
      billybones 17 January 2022 16: 07
      0
      Pershanin V.N. Died 2020. Excellent military prose. Used stories of veterans. He also has a trilogy about a tankman. And about those who fought on the KV-2, on the SU-76.
  3. Dkuznecov
    Dkuznecov 29 December 2021 23: 59
    +5
    There seems to be an article, but in fact it is not.
    There is a link to bla-bla-bla, which is material for
    I don’t consider studying and analyzing. To speak is not to roll bags.
    The SU-152 gun is being examined by a Wehrmacht officer.
    One of the V soldiers has an SS "old soldier" patch.
    All I can say.
  4. riwas
    riwas 30 December 2021 06: 27
    +6
    My father fought in the T-34, but he said that the SU-152 was in great demand in urban battles.
  5. 75 Sergey
    75 Sergey 30 December 2021 08: 40
    +7
    Chukchi reader.
    I don't like movies.
  6. Engineer
    Engineer 30 December 2021 11: 00
    +4
    They began to be called St. John's wort in Soviet films and later literature even before Pershavin, and he simply picked up this banner. At the end of the war, the BS-3 anti-tank gun began to enter the troops, so it bore this proud name.
  7. Kostadinov
    Kostadinov 30 December 2021 11: 50
    +2
    Again (once again) a senseless comparison of tanks as an anti-tank weapon.
    Tanks with tanks do not fight except by mistake - the main principle in this war.
  8. ism_ek
    ism_ek 31 December 2021 09: 32
    +1
    As always, nothing is said about the most massive Soviet self-propelled gun SU-76 .... And they were released almost 10 times more than the SU-152 (ISU-152)
    1. Avarron
      Avarron 31 December 2021 15: 18
      +1
      Well, maybe because the plot is about the SU-152?
      1. Snail N9
        Snail N9 1 January 2022 18: 08
        -2
        The same Pershavin has books about the Su-76 self-propelled guns. Moreover, his book about the battles near Moscow even mentions such a tank as the T-60 and how they fought on it, and, what is most interesting, they fought quite successfully with the competent use of the advantages of this machine - low weight, size and maneuverability.
  9. decimalegio
    decimalegio 31 December 2021 21: 21
    +1
    Happy new year to all of you
  10. Archon
    Archon 31 December 2021 23: 47
    +5
    I ask you to introduce a rule for video: put all material in printed form under the video.
    Or, on the main page on the images, indicate what is in the video link, so as not to click on the link.
    It is convenient to watch the video only for a limited number of people who have the time and opportunity to watch the video.
  11. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek 1 January 2022 22: 40
    +1
    152 mm is not optimal for firing ... ... we put something that could penetrate heavy tanks, there was no other. The other is Su100 and Su122. Especially 100 ka ... ..
  12. kig
    kig 8 January 2022 06: 15
    0
    As many as two SU-152 regiments with a total of 24 vehicles took part in the battle of Kursk - how could they have a significant impact?
  13. billybones
    billybones 17 January 2022 16: 13
    0
    There is an interesting book. Priklonsky Electron "Diary of a self-propelled gunner".
  14. Illanatol
    Illanatol 26 January 2022 09: 05
    0
    Quote: Kostadinov
    Again (once again) a senseless comparison of tanks as an anti-tank weapon.
    Tanks with tanks do not fight except by mistake - the main principle in this war.


    Alas, these "mistakes" became the main principle of that war, from its middle, at least.
    Heavy German tanks T-5 and T-6 were created as an anti-tank weapon, a means of combating the Soviet T-34s. This was in contrast to Soviet heavy tanks, such as the IS-2, which was also designed to support infantry in breakthroughs of fortified defenses, destroying enemy pillboxes.
  15. Illanatol
    Illanatol 26 January 2022 09: 06
    0
    Quote: Zaurbek
    152 mm is not optimal for firing ... ... we put something that could penetrate heavy tanks, there was no other. The other is Su100 and Su122. Especially 100 ka ... ..


    152 mm well destroys pillboxes. Some versatility is sometimes out of place.
  16. Illanatol
    Illanatol 26 January 2022 09: 10
    0
    Quote: ivan2022
    It is even more interesting to know that the Germans had a policy of exalting Soviet technology, and not their own? Or maybe it's supposed to be "sensibly exalted" only the equipment of the enemy?


    So you have to somehow justify your mistakes and failures. And then there will be doubts about the competence and military skill ... and so - it was the enemy’s technique that was better, so we merged. Claims against the manufacturers of the native fatherland, who failed to provide the unfortunate defenders of the Reich with excellent equipment in their unequal struggle with the armored hordes of the Bolsheviks.
  17. The comment was deleted.
  18. The comment was deleted.
  19. pafegosoff
    pafegosoff 19 February 2022 08: 33
    0
    And how many of them were serviceable vehicles for one and a half thousand German tanks?

Военное обозрение

СУ-152 и их появление в сражении под Курском

20
СУ-152 и их появление в сражении под Курском

Немецкая операция «Цитадель» относится к числу последних операций гитлеровской Германии, связанных с попыткой сдержать контрнаступление советских войск на территории СССР. Огромные силы Вермахт сосредотачивал в районе Курской дуги, надеясь на то, что поражение в Сталинградской битве было «досадным недоразумением». В самой Германии власти фактически запрещали говорить о том, что армия Паулюса на Волге сдалась, как и сам фельдмаршал, ставший первым немцем в таком звании в истории, который решил пойти на такой шаг. Пропаганда заявляла, что немецкие войска боролись чуть ли не до последнего своего солдата.


Ставка делалась на наступательную операцию в районе Курской дуги в надежде на то, что советские войска всё же будут сломлены. В Берлине считали, что поможет в этом сила немецкого оружия. Однако и советские инженеры не собирались молча взирать на то, как совершенствуется немецкая сфера бронетехники. В итоге в советских войсках появилась СУ-152.

И сражение под Курском стала первым боевым крещением для самоходных артиллерийских установок СУ-152. Безусловно, нельзя говорить о том, что эти самоходки, вошедшие в строй в 1943 году, сыграли ключевое значение в боях под Курском, но и недооценивать факт появления этой 45-тонной бронированной техники с мощным вооружением тоже нельзя. Факт и в том, что для немецких войск появление такой техники у РККА стало во многом откровением.

О советских самоходках СУ-152 рассказывается в материалах ТК «Звезда» - в программе «Не факт»:

Использованы фотографии:
Википедия/Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-154-1964-28/Dreyer/CC-BY-SA 3.0
20 комментариев
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, ежедневно дополнительные материалы, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. SaLaR
    SaLaR 29 декабря 2021 17:00
    +8
    Как то так получилось good
  2. Улиточник N9
    Улиточник N9 29 декабря 2021 17:06
    +15
    У Першавина есть серия книг "Зверобои.... ". Военную беллетристику он пишет опираясь на рассказы ветеранов, поэтому то что он описывает в своих книгах- близко к реальным событиям. В его книгах о самоходчиках хорошо описаны как сильные, так и слабые стороны этой бронетехники, а так же особенности её применения. Советую почитать, достаточно интересно.
    1. tihonmarine
      tihonmarine 29 декабря 2021 18:00
      +11
      Цитата: Улиточник N9
      У Першавина есть серия книг "Зверобои.... ".

      Неплохо пишет, я у отца спросил "Ну и как ?" , он сказал "Ну почти как у меня было."
      1. Улиточник N9
        Улиточник N9 29 декабря 2021 18:52
        +5
        Да, согласен. Особо мне нравится то, что ему удаётся в своих книгах передать именно быт и отношения военнослужащих в то время, со всеми нюансами. Непростые отношения надо сказать, ибо разные люди, разные должности, разное служебное положение и пр. Ну и о технике только в плане её эксплуатации и применения без прикрас и уничижения- что было на том и воевали. К сожалению злую шутку сыграла именно политика повсеместного превозношения нашей техники и запрет на здравый анализ того, что было у немцев. Многие командиры до самого конца войны так и не понимали предназначение самоходных установок и то, как их надо правильно использовать, учитывая их особенности.
        1. иван2022
          иван2022 1 января 2022 20:56
          -4
          Цитата: Улиточник N9
          К сожалению злую шутку сыграла именно политика повсеместного превозношения нашей техники и запрет на здравый анализ того, что было у немцев.

          Очень интересно. Но ещё более интересно узнать Ваши источники. Например- наши танкисты , что- до конца ВОВ так и не знали, с какого расстояния "Тигр" пробивает броню Т- 34 ? Дело ещё в том, что "здравый анализ" происходит в голове, а запретить думать вроде бы даже в Советской армии никто не пытался. Или всё же были официальные распоряжения " не думать" ? Ещё интереснее узнать, а что у немцев была политика превозношения советской техники, а не своей ? Или может это так положено- "здраво превозносить" только технику врага ? По- моему наши историки и кинематографисты уже более полувека только этим и занимаются.. Но не вижу, что здесь "здравого".....
        2. иван2022
          иван2022 1 января 2022 21:04
          -4
          Цитата: Улиточник N9
          запрет на здравый анализ того, что было у немцев. Многие командиры до самого конца войны так и не понимали предназначение самоходных установок и то, как их надо правильно использовать, учитывая их особенности.

          А что ,самоходные установки были только у немцев ?
          Но "запрет на здравый анализ"- совсем круто !
          Не знал, что военные даже думают с разрешения начальства, а сами - не могут. Впрочем.. очень, очень может быть.... например, один из комментаторов уже признался, что хотя наша Армия и расстреляла Съезд нар. депутатов в октябре 1993, но "присягу не нарушали", поскольку не было особого приказа начальства её исполнять....
    2. billybones
      billybones 17 января 2022 16:07
      0
      Першанин В.Н. Умер в 2020. Отличная военная проза. Использовал рассказы ветеранов. Есть у него и трилогия о танкисте. И о воевавших на КВ-2, на СУ-76.
  3. DKuznecov
    DKuznecov 29 декабря 2021 23:59
    +5
    Статья вроде есть, а по факту ее и нет.
    Есть ссылка на bla-bla-bla, которое материалом для
    изучения и анализа не считаю. Говорить - не мешки ворочать.
    Орудие СУ-152 осматривает офицер вермахта.
    У одного из солдат V - нашивка "старого бойца" СС.
    Все что могу сказать.
  4. riwas
    riwas 30 декабря 2021 06:27
    +6
    Отец воевал на Т-34, но рассказывал, что в городских боях СУ-152 была очень востребована.
  5. 75Сергей
    75Сергей 30 декабря 2021 08:40
    +7
    Чукча читатель.
    Не люблю кино.
  6. Инжeнeр
    Инжeнeр 30 декабря 2021 11:00
    +4
    Зверобоями их стали называть в советских фильмах и поздней литературе еще до Першавина, а он просто подхватил это знамя. В конце войны в войска начал поступать противотанковая пушка БС-3, вот она и носила это гордое имя.
  7. Костадинов
    Костадинов 30 декабря 2021 11:50
    +2
    Снова (в которий раз) безсмисленое сравнение танков как противотанковое средство.
    Танки с танками не воюют кроме по ошибке - основний принцип в етой войне.
  8. ism_ek
    ism_ek 31 декабря 2021 09:32
    +1
    Как всегда ничего не сказано о самой массовой советской самоходке СУ-76.... А выпущено их было почти в 10 раз больше чем СУ-152 (ИСУ-152)
    1. Avarron
      Avarron 31 декабря 2021 15:18
      +1
      Ну может быть потому, что сюжет именно о СУ-152?
      1. Улиточник N9
        Улиточник N9 1 января 2022 18:08
        -2
        У того же Першавина есть книги именно о самоходках су-76. Мало того, в его книге о боях под Москвой упоминается даже такой танк как Т-60 и как на нём воевали, причём, что самое интересное, воевали вполне успешно при грамотном использовании преимуществ этой машины- малого веса, размеров и манёвренности.
  9. Decimalegio
    Decimalegio 31 декабря 2021 21:21
    +1
    С новым годом всех вас
  10. Архонт
    Архонт 31 декабря 2021 23:47
    +5
    Прошу ввести правило для видео: под видео помещать весь материал в печатном виде.
    Или на главной странице на изображениях указывать, что в ссылке видео, чтобы не нажимать на ссылку.
    Видео удобно просматривать только ограниченному количеству людей, у кого есть время и возможность смотреть видео.
  11. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek 1 января 2022 22:40
    +1
    152 мм не оптимален для пт стрельбы…… поставили то, что могло пробить тяжелые танки, другог не было. Другое это Су100 и су122. Особенно 100 ка…..
  12. kig
    kig 8 января 2022 06:15
    0
    В сражении под Курском участвовало целых два полка СУ-152 общим числом 24 машины - как они могли оказать существенное влияние?
  13. billybones
    billybones 17 января 2022 16:13
    0
    Есть интересная книга. Приклонский Электрон "Дневник самоходчика".