Military Review

Flurry-1A - a project of the Soviet fighter GDP "from the tail"

7
In the second half of the 20 century, in the midst of technological progress, many young professionals who graduated from universities, coming in the directions of design teams, remained “overboard” of large-scale projects being developed. The young engineer R. Martiroson, who came to work at the P. Sukhoi design bureau and was left without a real business, organized an initiative group of young engineers that started developing and designing an airplane that was completely new to the Soviet Union. Group members - 10 engineers and designers. The new work of young specialists was recognized as relevant. A public design bureau was created, in which work was conducted during non-working hours.

The aircraft was designed according to the scheme “from the tail” - the implementation of the ideas of GDP, without using additional engines in the aircraft structure, the installation of which led to an increase in the total mass of the aircraft.

Flurry-1A - a project of the Soviet fighter GDP "from the tail"


"Squall-1A" was a plane of GDP with an X-shaped wing system and a front horizontal full-turn tail. Fairings with internal fuel tanks and shock absorbers are installed at the ends of the wing for landing on the tail. For the implementation of an unusual method of GDP and stabilization of the aircraft, we developed a control system for jet rudders installed in the automatic control unit and associated with the navigation system. The pilot of the aircraft received a rotating seat, which, when taking off / landing, allowed the pilot to be in a comfortable position. For the first time, for control of the aircraft were offered control knobs placed along the sides of the cabin.



When developing the Squall-1А aircraft, which has a fundamentally new type of take-off / landing, young specialists have invented new technical solutions, of which more than two dozen were recognized as inventions. All of them were subsequently widely used to create new aircraft and missiles.

This promise of the design bureau, having carried out a large number of calculations, having built several large-scale models that successfully proved themselves on the TsAGI blow-outs, turned to P. Sukhoi himself to be able to demonstrate the project and further work on it in the framework of the design bureau. P. Sukhoi was a strict but fair head, and the project of young specialists, worked out from and to interested in the head of the design bureau. However, as an experienced leader, who knew about the situation in the country, and in particular in the aviation industry, he advised young professionals to continue to develop on a voluntary basis. On the possibility of full-fledged work in the design bureau for this project, P.Suhoy told the children about the impracticability of their desire because of the lack of funding for new developments.

However, the young team was helped - to assist in financing the project, the 1 Central Committee Secretary of the Komsomol and a specialist from the adjacent design bureau S. Ilyushin arrived in the design office. They got acquainted with the project and gave it a high rating.

They were allocated funding for the development of conceptual design with the construction of a full-scale model of the aircraft. After submitting it to the specialists of the sectoral departments, submit the results of the STC of the Ministry of Aviation Industry

It took young talents only six months to complete the tasks. The project has given them invaluable experience, making independent decisions and collectively solving the most difficult technical tasks. They themselves communicated with representatives or heads of departments, factories and institutes.

The finished layout was highly appreciated by test pilots. They especially liked the performance of the cockpit and the original control of the aircraft. Throughout the creation of the project, the children were assisted by specialists from CIAM, TsAGI, LII, adjacent design bureaus, academies and institutes. Therefore, it is not surprising that by the deadline, the project, which received good feedback from representatives of the sectoral departments, was submitted to the Ministry of Scientific and Technical Experts.



The fate of the project "Flurry-XNUMHA"
August 1963 of the year. Developers "Flurry-1A" successfully defended the project on the NTS MAP. And although the discussion of the project was quite sharp, young specialists boldly defended their ideas.

It is a pity that it all happened at that time. Then the political will of the Soviet leaders "strangled" the aircraft industry and new aircraft projects. The top leadership of the Soviet Union found the creation of a new aircraft of the original project inexpedient, but the project itself was rated rather well. All the team - the developer "Squall-XNUMHA" was awarded certificates from the IAO and the Central Committee of the Komsomol.

Heritage
Participation in this project was not in vain for its developers - they became the inventors of new solutions, received awards and later became prominent specialists in the aircraft industry and have “grown”:
- R. Martirosov - chief designer;
- L. Blinov - Deputy General Designer;
- V. Babak - Project Manager Su-25;
- I.Emelyanov - chief designer and leader of one of the projects;
- V.Sopin, I.Andrianov - leading specialists and project managers.



Conclusion
Foreign counterparts of the original Soviet project:
- German project “FW-860”;
- German project “Me-X1-21”
- American project "Nutcracker".


Information sources:
http://p-ln.ru/rus/shkval/index.html
http://www.dogswar.ru/oryjeinaia-ekzotika/aviaciia/6370-proekt-istrebitelia-.html
http://wartime.org.ua/2869-proekt-vinischuvacha-vvp-shkval-1a-okb-suhogo-srsr.html
http://golota-ufa.narod.ru/49a.htm
Author:
7 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. understudy
    understudy 20 September 2012 09: 23
    +2
    If anyone has read The Burning Isle, the plane is just like one of the fantastic illustrations. Our ancestors and senior comrades have a lot to be proud of.
  2. vpm
    vpm 20 September 2012 09: 30
    +1
    Yes, there were working models from the tail - the Americans also worked with a similar airplane project for take-off / landing from a vertical platform: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kZcpg70Ewbw
    Probably the main drawback is that the piloting skills for take-off / landing should have been at a high level - obviously not for combat conditions, it’s also difficult to say about profitability. However, with current computing capabilities, I won’t be surprised if they return to the idea at some point.
    1. Bashkaus
      Bashkaus 21 September 2012 20: 44
      0
      And what, the idea, an aircraft carrier of the 21st century. planes like pencils are installed in the mines, so each plane occupies significantly less ship area, which allows you to place twice as many planes as the traditional scheme. The launch is like a rocket due to the standard pyrapatrons. First, we launch all the planes, then with pallitra we think how to put them back)))
    2. Lontus
      Lontus 23 January 2020 13: 54
      0
      Quote: vpm
      Probably the main drawback is that the piloting skills for take-off / landing should have been at a high level - obviously not for combat conditions

      At the current level of control systems, this is already a trivial task
      Quote: vpm
      However, with current computing capabilities, I won’t be surprised if they return to the idea at some point.

      Here, another thing is surprising - that they still have not returned.
      With current control systems, tailsitter is better than other VTOL schemes.
  3. Director
    Director 20 September 2012 10: 11
    0
    Yes, and, as always, the country's leadership chopped off a dream, And a magical pepelats could have turned out.
  4. Antonio58
    Antonio58 20 September 2012 10: 26
    +1
    Reminded ...

    And so, of course, I am amazed at the design ideas of Soviet engineers.
  5. Gemar
    Gemar 20 September 2012 15: 11
    +1
    Article Plus +
    Just a pity there is no TTX request
    I would like to compare them with similar projects of the West.
    And yet, the front end looks like a Chinese J-20.
    1. Konrad
      Konrad 20 September 2012 18: 16
      0
      Quote: Gamar
      Just a pity there is no TTX

      If they had built, then they would have been TTX.
    2. Bashkaus
      Bashkaus 21 September 2012 20: 57
      0
      our counterintelligence does not sleep

      "... Never before has Barthhalemus Korabeynikov been so meanly deceived, he himself could have deceived anyone, but now he has burned out at his best commercial enterprise, from which he expected big profits and a secure old age ..."

      - I have the lowest request for you, I’m the brother of Epolyte Matveech Vorobyaninov ...
      -Well, I have a headset in the name of your brother
      -Thank you.
      -ONE HUNDRED RUBLES! and ask for money in advance.
      - Nothing, if gold?
      -Nothing "I'll lend him a warrant for the General's Popova's headset"
      -All in one place?
      -All! a very good set, Gantsev work ...
  6. Kostyanich
    Kostyanich 20 September 2012 16: 05
    0
    I'm not an expert but I wonder how he would behave in the air
  7. studentmati
    studentmati 20 September 2012 23: 48
    +1
    Everything new is well forgotten old.
  8. mind1954
    mind1954 21 September 2012 05: 28
    +1
    Yes then, everyone went crazy on this vertical take-off!
    The USA had the X-15, while ours Garnaev flew the Turbolet, etc. !
    And then the British, silent glanders, to everyone's surprise,
    took, and demonstrated "Short," and everyone calmed down !!!

Шквал-1А – проект советского истребителя ВВП «с хвоста»

Во второй половине 20 века, в разгар технического прогресса, многие молодые специалисты, окончившие ВУЗы, приходя по направлениям в констукторские коллетивы, оставались «за бортом» разрабатываемых крупных проектов. Молодой инженер Р.Мартиросон, пришедший работать в конструкторское бюро П.Сухого и оставшийся без настоящего дела, организовал из молодых инженеров инициативную группу, которая занялась разработкой и проектированием совершенного нового для Советского Союза самолета. Состав группы – 10 инженеров и конструкторов. Новую работу молодых специалстов признали актуальной. Было создано общественное КБ, работы в котором велись в нерабочий час.

Самолет проектировали по схеме «с хвоста» - реализация идей ВВП, не применяя в конструкции самолета дополнительных двигателей, установка которых вела к возрастанию общей массы самолета.

Шквал-1А – проект советского истребителя ВВП «с хвоста»



«Шквал-1А» представлял собой самолет ВВП с Х-образным устройством крыла и переднем горизонтальным цельноповоротным оперением. На концах крыла установлены обтекатели с внутренними топливными баками и амортизаторами для осуществления посадки «на хвост». Для осуществления необычного способа ВВП и стабилизации самолета разработали систему управления струйными рулями, установленную в блоке автоматической системы управления и сопряженную с системой навигации. Пилот самолета получил повотное кресло, которое при взлете/посадке позволило пилоту находиться в удобном положении. Впервые, для управления самолетом были предложены ручки управления, размещенные по бортам кабины.

Шквал-1А – проект советского истребителя ВВП «с хвоста»


Молодые специалисты при разработке проекта самолета «Шквал-1А», имеющего принципиально новый тип взлета/посадки, изобретали новые технические решения, из которых больше двух десятков признали изобретениями. Все они впоследствии широко использовались при создании новых самолетов и ракет.

Данное обещственное КБ, проведя большое количество расчетов, построив несколько маштабных моделей, которые успешно себя зарекомендовали на продувках ЦАГИ, обратилось к самому П.Сухому для возможности демонстрации проекта и дальнейших работ по нему в рамках КБ. П.Сухой был строгим, но справедливым начальником, и проект молодых специалистов, отработанный от и до заитересовал руководителя КБ. Однако, как опытный руководитель, который знал о ситуации в стране, и в частности в отрасли авиастроения, он посоветовал молодым специалистам продолжать разработку на общественных началах. О возможности полноценных работ в КБ по данному проекту, П.Сухой сказал ребятам о невыполнимости их желания вледствие отсуствия финансирования новых разработок.

Однако молодому коллективу помогли – для оказания помощи в финансировании проекта, в конструкторское бюро прибыл 1-й секретарь Центрального Комитета ВЛКСМ и специалист из смежного конструкторского бюро С.Ильюшина. Они ознакомились с проектом и дали ему высокую оценку.

Им выделили финансирование на разработку эскизного проекта с построением полномасштабного макета самолета. После предоставления его специалистам отраслевых ведомств предоставить результаты НТС Министерства авиапромышленности.

Молодым талантам понадобилось всего полгода на выполнение поставленных задач. Проект дал им наработать бесценный опыт, принимать самостоятельные решения и коллективно решать самые сложные техзадачи. Они сами общались с представителями или руководителями ведомств, заводов и институтов.

Готовый макет был высоко оценен летчиками-испытателями. Особенно им понравилось выполнение кабины и оригинальное управление самолетом. На всем протяжение создания проекта ребятам помогали специалисты из ЦИАМ, ЦАГИ, ЛИИ, смежных КБ, академий и институтов. Поэтому неудивительно, что к назначенному сроку, проект, получивший хорошие отзывы от представителей отраслевых ведомств, был представлен в министерстве научным и техническим экспертам.

Шквал-1А – проект советского истребителя ВВП «с хвоста»


Судьба проекта «Шквал-1А»
Август 1963 года. Разработчики «Шквал-1А» успешно защитили проект на НТС МАП. И хотя обсуждение проекта было достаточно острым, молодые специалисты смело защищали свои идеи.

Жаль, что это все случилось в то время. Тогда политическая воля советских лидеров «душила» авиастроение и новые проекты летательных аппаратов. Высшее руководство Советского Союза сочло создание нового самолета оригинального проекта нецелесообразным, но сам проект оценило довольно хорошо. Всему коллективу – разработчику «Шквал-1А» вручили грамоты от МАП и центрального комитета ВЛКСМ.

Наследие
Участие в данном проекте не прошло даром для его разработчиков – они стали изобретателями новых решений, получили награды и в дальнейшем стали видными специалистами авиастроения и «доросли»:
- Р.Мартиросов - главный конструктор;
- Л. Блинов – зам генконструктора;
- В.Бабак - руководитель проекта Су-25;
- И.Емельянов – главный конструктор и руководитель одного из проектов;
- В.Сопин, И.Андрианов - ведущие спецы и руководители проектов.

Шквал-1А – проект советского истребителя ВВП «с хвоста»


Заключение
Зарубежные аналоги оригинального советского проекта:
- немецкий проект «FW-860»;
- немецкий проект «Me-X1-21»
- американский проект «Наткрекер».


Источники информации:
http://p-ln.ru/rus/shkval/index.html
http://www.dogswar.ru/oryjeinaia-ekzotika/aviaciia/6370-proekt-istrebitelia-.html
http://wartime.org.ua/2869-proekt-vinischuvacha-vvp-shkval-1a-okb-suhogo-srsr.html
http://golota-ufa.narod.ru/49a.htm
Автор: Роман Джерелейко


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 6
  1. Дублер 20 сентября 2012 09:23
    Если кто читал "Пылащий остров", самолет прям как одна из фантастических иллюстраций. Нашим предкам и старшим товарищам есть чем гордиться.
  2. vpm 20 сентября 2012 09:30
    Да, с хвоста были рабочие модели - американцы тоже работали с аналогичным проектом самолета для взлетов/посадки с вертикальной платформы: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kZcpg70Ewbw
    Главный наверное недостаток в том, что навыки пилотирования для взлета/посадки должны были быть на высоком уровне - явно не для боевых условий, насчет экономичности тоже сложно сказать. Впрочем, с нынешними вычислительными возможностями не удивлюсь если вернутся к идее в какой-то момент.
    vpm
    1. Башкаус 21 сентября 2012 20:44
      А что, идея, авианосец 21го века. самолеты как карандаши установленны в шахтах, таким образом каждый самолет занимает значительно меньше площади корабля, что позволяет разместить вдвое большее кол-во самолетов, чем традиционной схемы. Старт как у ракеты за счет штатны пирапатронов. Сначала запускаем все самолеты потом с паллитрой думаем как их посадить обратно)))
      Башкаус
  3. director 20 сентября 2012 10:11
    Да а , руководство страны как всегда зарубило мечту, А мог бы волшебный пепелац получится.
    director
  4. Antonio58 20 сентября 2012 10:26
    Напомнило...

    А так, конечно, поражаюсь конструкторской мысли советских инженеров.
    Antonio58
  5. Гэмэр 20 сентября 2012 15:11
    Статье плюс+
    Только жаль нет ТТХ request
    Хотелось бы сравнить с их с аналогичными проектами Запада.
    И еще, передняя часть чем-то на китайский Ж-20 смахивает.
    Гэмэр
    1. Konrad 20 сентября 2012 18:16
      Цитата: Гэмэр
      Только жаль нет ТТХ

      Если бы построили, тогда и были бы ТТХ.
      Konrad
    2. Башкаус 21 сентября 2012 20:57
      наша контрразведка не дремлет

      " ...Еще никогда Варфаламей Корабейников небыл так подло обманут, он сам мог обмануть кого угодно, но теперь прогарал на лучшем своем комерческом предприятии от которого ждал больших барышей и обеспеченной старости..."

      -У меня к вам нижайшая просьба, я брат Эполит Матвееча Воробьянинова...
      -Ну что ж, гарнитурчик на имя вашего брата у меня имеется
      -Благодарствую.
      -СТО РУБЛЕЙ! и деньги попрошу вперед.
      -Ничего, если золотыми?
      -Ничего "Всучу ка я ему ордер на гарнитур генеральши поповой"
      -Все в одном месте?
      -Все! очень хороший гарнитур, ганцевской работы...
      Башкаус
  6. костяныч 20 сентября 2012 16:05
    я не специалист но интересно как бы он повёл себя в воздухе
  7. studentmati 20 сентября 2012 23:48
    Всё новое - это хорошо забытое старое.
  8. mind1954 21 сентября 2012 05:28
    Да тогда, все с ума сходили по этому вертикальному взлёту !
    У США - Х-15, а у нас Гарнаев летал на "Турболёте" и т.п. !
    А потом англичане, тихой сапой, ко всеобщему удивлению,
    взяли, да и продемонстрировали "Шорт," и все успокоились !!!
    mind1954

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня