Military Review

Strangest Tanks: Object 279: Apocalypse Warrior or Flying Saucer

3
What are the designers capable of having received carte blanche? Flying equipment, Tanks with four tracks, military robots are just the tip of the engineering iceberg. We present the project "The Strangest Fighting Vehicles of the World" from the creators of the legendary game World of Tanks. The rubric tells about the amazing, daring and failed decisions of tank engineers. The protagonist of this issue is the Soviet heavy tank Object 279.


In 1955, the development of a new generation of heavy tanks began in the USSR. These machines were supposed to replace the legendary but technically obsolete IS-2, IS-3, IS-4 and T-10. It was supposed to receive four new tanks. In Chelyabinsk, a 55-ton Object 770 was being developed, and in Leningrad, in the design bureau of the Kirov Plant, work was in full swing on Objects 277, 278 and 279. The latter was the brainchild of designer Lev Troyanov and the design bureau of Joseph Kotin and was very different from his "brothers".

The 60-ton Object 279 was like a 11-meter flying saucer with a flattened turret, capable of moving at speeds up to 55 km/h. The choice of an unusual hull shape was well justified. In those years, neither dynamic protection nor multi-layer combined armor existed yet, and cumulative shells effectively pierced strong steel sheets, located even at large angles. An increase in the thickness of the armor overloaded the tanks and affected their mobility, so the designers went to the trick, placing the armor plates at the most acute angles. The embodiment of this idea was the Object 279.


Despite the "alien" appearance, the layout of the machine was classic. The hull consisted of four cast armored elements welded together, and a flattened turret with uniform armor became the standard in terms of protection. In front and on the sides there were anti-cumulative screens. They were installed in the form of a bent "shell" and provided the tank with invulnerability to any guns known at that time. The protection indicators of the Object 279 exceeded the armor of the heavy T-10 almost twice, and the T-34 - 5 times. Thanks to casting and variable armor technologies, the designers did not exceed the weight limit of 60 tons, but ensured the armor thickness was up to 300 mm.

As the main weapon, the Soviet "heavy" received a 130-mm M-65 cannon. Also, the vehicle was equipped with a 14,5 mm Vladimirov machine gun, a semi-automatic loading mechanism, a mechanized ammo rack and a stereoscopic sight. Another distinguishing feature is the chassis. A four-track propulsion unit was installed on the tank. On each side, 6 dual non-rubber rollers and 3 supporting rollers were built in, the drive wheel was located at the back. Thanks to an extraordinary suspension solution, Object 279 has become an armed armored all-terrain vehicle capable of going ahead in poor terrain, swamps, high snowdrifts, and even nuclear winter. The specific gravity on the ground was 0,6 kg/cm, the same as for light tanks.

The crew of the tank consisted of 4 people. The places of the commander, gunner and loader were in the tower, and the driver was sitting in the center of the front of the hull. Like many other Soviet vehicles, the Object 279 was notable for not the most comfortable conditions for the crew, but at the same time, a relatively low silhouette, corresponding even to modern standards.


Due to the threat of nuclear weapons special attention was paid to the protection of the crew. Since the second half of the 1950s, the development of anti-nuclear defense systems began. It included both a lining and a mechanism for creating excess pressure, excluding the possibility of poisoned air getting inside. In theory, the crew could remain in service for a long time and even move through the epicenters of the explosions.

The main disadvantages of the tank include expensive production and absolute sluggishness. The presence of four tracks led to the fact that enormous efforts were required to turn the car, and the crew was constantly faced with breakdowns. However, constructive solutions and design developments were subsequently used in tanks of the next generations. The Object 279 itself was developed and improved for so long that it eventually ceased to compete with medium tanks that appeared in the USSR in the late 1950s and early 1960s. The unique machine remained a prototype.

For more details about Object 279, see the video from Wargaming.

Author:
3 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, daily additional materials that do not get on the site: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. El Chuvachino
    El Chuvachino 14 January 2022 15: 05
    -4
    I will give an account with this tank and other rewards hi A total of almost 100 cars in most tops or prema + a few small things.
    1. Dainis
      Dainis 19 January 2022 12: 20
      0
      What all. nadaela?
      1. El Chuvachino
        El Chuvachino 19 January 2022 14: 20
        -1
        It's been lying for a long time

Военное обозрение

Самые странные танки: Объект 279: воин Апокалипсиса или летающая тарелка

3
На что способны конструкторы, получившие карт-бланш? Летающая техника, танки с четырьмя гусеницами, военные роботы — это лишь верхушка айсберга инженерной мысли. Представляем проект «Самые странные боевые машины мира» от создателей легендарной игры World of Tanks. Рубрика рассказывает об удивительных, смелых и провальных решениях танковых инженеров. Главный герой этого выпуска — советский тяжелый танк Объект 279.


В 1955 году в СССР началась разработка тяжелых танков нового поколения. Эти машины должны были заменить легендарные, но технически устаревшие ИС-2, ИС-3, ИС-4 и Т-10. Предполагалось получить четыре новых танка. В Челябинске разрабатывали 55-тонный Объект 770, а в Ленинграде в КБ Кировского завода кипела работа над Объектами 277, 278 и 279. Последний был детищем конструктора Льва Троянова и конструкторского бюро Жозефа Котина и очень отличался от своих «собратьев».

60-тонный Объект 279 походил на 11-метровую летающую тарелку со сплюснутой башней, способную двигаться со скоростью до 55 км/ч. Выбор необычной формы корпуса был вполне обоснован. В те годы еще не существовало ни динамической защиты, ни многослойной комбинированной брони, а кумулятивные снаряды эффективно пробивали прочные стальные листы, расположенные даже под большими углами. Увеличение толщины брони перегружало танки и влияло на их подвижность, поэтому конструкторы шли на хитрость, располагая бронелисты под максимально острыми углами. Воплощением этой идеи и стал Объект 279.


Несмотря на «инопланетный» внешний вид, компоновка машины была классической. Корпус состоял из четырех литых бронированных элементов, соединенных сваркой, а сплюснутая башня с равномерной броней стала эталоном в вопросе защиты. В передней части и по бокам были противокумулятивные экраны. Они устанавливались в форме загнутого «панциря» и обеспечивали танку неуязвимость к любым известным на тот момент орудиям. Показатели защищенности Объекта 279 превосходили броню тяжелого Т-10 почти вдвое, а Т-34 — в 5 раз. Благодаря литью и технологиям переменной брони, конструкторы не превысили лимит массы в 60 тонн, но обеспечили толщину брони до 300 мм.

В качестве основного орудия советский «тяж» получил 130-мм пушку М-65. Также машина оснащалась 14,5-мм пулеметом Владимирова, полуавтоматическим механизмом заряжания, механизированной боеукладкой и стереоскпическим прицелом. Еще одна отличительная черта — ходовая часть. На танк устанавливался четырехгусеничный движитель. С каждой стороны встраивались по 6 сдвоенных необрезиненных катков и по 3 поддерживающих ролика, ведущее колесо располагалось сзади. Благодаря неординарному решению ходовой, Объект 279 стал вооруженным бронированным вездеходом, способным идти напролом в условиях плохой проходимости, болот, высоких сугробов и даже ядерной зимы. Удельный вес на грунт составлял 0,6 кг/см, так же как у и легких танков.

Экипаж танка состоял из 4 человек. Места командира, наводчика и заряжающего находились в башне, а мехвод сидел в центре передней части корпуса. Как и многие другие советские машины, Объект 279 отличался не самыми комфортными условиями для экипажа, но в то же время относительно низким силуэтом, соответствующим даже современным стандартам.


В связи с угрозой применения ядерного оружия отдельное внимание уделялось защите экипажа. Со второй половины 1950-х годов началась разработка систем противоатомной защиты. Она включала как подбой, так и механизм создания избыточного давления, исключающий возможность попадания внутрь отравленного воздуха. В теории экипаж мог оставаться в строю в течение длительного времени и даже двигаться через эпицентры взрывов.

К главным минусам танка можно отнести дорогое производство и абсолютную неповоротливость. Наличие четырех гусениц привело к тому, что для поворота машины требовались колоссальные усилия, а экипаж постоянно сталкивался с поломками. Впрочем, конструктивные решения и конструкторские разработки впоследствии использовались в танках следующих поколений. Сам же Объект 279 так долго разрабатывался и улучшался, что в итоге перестал выдерживать конкуренцию со средними танками, появившимися в СССР в конце 1950-х – начале 1960-х. Уникальная машина так и осталась опытным образцом.

Больше подробностей об Объекте 279 смотрите в видео от компании Wargaming.

Автор:
3 комментария
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, ежедневно дополнительные материалы, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Эль Чувачино
    Эль Чувачино 14 января 2022 15:05
    -4
    Отдам аккаунт с этим танком и другими наградными hi Всего почти 100 машин в большинстве топы или премы + немного мелочевки.
    1. Dainis
      Dainis 19 января 2022 12:20
      0
      Что всё. надаела?
      1. Эль Чувачино
        Эль Чувачино 19 января 2022 14:20
        -1
        Давно уже лежит