Military Review

The strangest tanks: Strv-103

9
What are the designers capable of having received carte blanche? Flying equipment, Tanks with four tracks, military robots are just the tip of the engineering iceberg. We present the project "The Strangest Fighting Vehicles of the World" from the creators of the legendary game World of Tanks. The rubric tells about the amazing, daring and failed decisions of tank engineers. The protagonist of this issue is the Swedish Strv-103.


After the Second World War, Sweden considered the invasion of the USSR as its main threat. The country was preparing exclusively to repel the attack of the Soviet troops, but there was not enough budget for a large-scale purchase of foreign tanks. As a result, the command made a bet not on the quantity, but on the quality of its equipment. Sweden continued to create a fleet of combat vehicles on its own, and the designers were given the task of developing a fundamentally new tank. One of the main requirements was ease of development, so that soldiers could quickly learn how to control. Thus began work on the Strv-103.

Unlike countries specializing in the creation of wide-profile machines, the Scandinavians concentrated on a few basic parameters - good security and improved maneuverability. At that time, technology did not allow most tanks to shoot accurately on the move, and in order to aim and make an accurate shot, they had to stop. The Swedish engineers could not improve the stabilization system either. Instead, they first abandoned the idea of ​​firing on the move, and then offered to remove the turret and mount the gun directly on the hull. As a result, the profile was lowered (1.9 meters), and the tank itself became more compact.


To increase the security of the Strv-103 and keep a relatively small mass, the designers placed the frontal armor plate at a very large slope. Its thickness was only 40 mm, but the rational arrangement made it possible to effectively repel enemy projectiles. In addition, the machine was equipped with lattice anti-cumulative screens. They were used for the first time, and information about them was kept secret until 1992.

However, the tank became a legend thanks to the combined power apparatus and internal layout. The engine compartment housed both the classic Rolls-Royce diesel engine and the Boeing gas turbine. They could work both autonomously and together, so the car turned out to be very fast. Moving even in reverse, she developed a speed of 50 km / h.

A rigidly fixed gun passed along the axis of the entire hull, and the loading mechanism was in the stern. To aim at the target horizontally, it was necessary to change the position of the tank each time. With vertical guidance, an improved hydraulic suspension came into play. Thanks to its high maneuverability, the Strv-103 turned on the spot almost as quickly as the turret of conventional tanks, which allowed it to operate effectively even on the offensive.


The tank was armed with a powerful 105 mm Bofors L7 cannon, which was developed for British vehicles. At that time, she was considered one of the best in the world. However, the Swedes lengthened it from 56 calibers to 62. The modernization increased the muzzle velocity of the projectile, and also improved armor penetration, which was already enough to destroy even promising Soviet armored vehicles.

The crew of the car consisted of three people: commander, driver and radio operator. The control devices for the commander and driver were duplicated. This made the Strv-103 a unique tank that could be controlled and fired by one person at the same time.

Another feature of the Swedish car was the boost system. It was a high rubberized case that rose from the sides. Thanks to him, Strv-103 could swim across water obstacles. At the same time, the driver was on the edge of the structure and controlled the tank with the help of cables.


Unusual technical solutions made Strv-103 a national treasure. It was constantly upgraded, equipped with modern surveillance systems and dynamic armor. Designers experimented with weapons and ballistic computers. However, the car never showed itself on the battlefield, and in 1997 went on a well-deserved rest.

For more details about the crazy Swede, see the video from Wargaming.

Author:
9 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. your1970
    your1970 26 January 2022 06: 59
    +3
    Well, they completed their task - the "terribly terrible USSR" did not attack .... belay fellow
    They already did this and that - but he still didn’t attack .... he probably disdained repeat ...
    However, the ITS a school of tank building is always good for industry ...
  2. Errr
    Errr 26 January 2022 09: 15
    +3
    - Yes, this is the coolest tank!
    - And why?
    - Yes, because he is reckless in nature !!! laughing
  3. svp67
    svp67 26 January 2022 12: 00
    +6
    Of course, this is not a tank, it is rather an assault or anti-tank self-propelled gun, but the car is certainly interesting. I can’t guarantee for sure, but at one time there was talk among us that the reason for the rapid removal of these “tanks” from service and re-equipment on the Leo-2 was fire tests of this tank as opposed to our T-72B and T-80U. According to their results, it turned out that even when ricocheting from the armor of this "tank", the shell of the Russian 125-mm cannon simply broke through the armor of the "Bitch", causing severe damage to the inside of the vehicle with armor fragments. But the return shot could not penetrate the armor of Soviet vehicles in the frontal projection
    1. Yarhann
      Yarhann 27 January 2022 20: 07
      0
      the impossibility of maneuvering combat, that is, the active support of motorized riflemen in attack or defense, is the main reason. such a cart is only suitable for positioning to enter a position under the cover of fog, shoot a couple of times into silence and dump quickly. How it can actively fight in defense or offensive, I have no idea. The Germans suffered this nonsense at the end of the war when the Yagtiger was released - the bucket is cool but can only fight in the direction of the front
  4. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 26 January 2022 12: 14
    +5
    Well, the Swedes are big fans of experimenting! They love this business and therefore they have done a lot of experienced (and, moreover, very interesting, original ...) samples of armored vehicles!

    From the UDES 03 series... not the only one!
    After the Strv 103, there was an interesting Strv 2000 tank with an additional 40mm autocannon...

    In the forties of the last century, self-propelled guns with recoilless guns were tested ...
    In the second half of the last century, an experimental tank gun was installed "on the ZhMV" ...!
    1. Catfish
      Catfish 28 January 2022 16: 52
      +1
      Swedes are big fans of experimenting


      "-- I want to make excrement."



      Hi Vladimir! hi
      1. Nikolaevich I
        Nikolaevich I 29 January 2022 11: 43
        +1
        Hello, Kostya! And it was a good series! He was the first of his kind! Too bad it hasn't been shown in a long time!
        1. Catfish
          Catfish 29 January 2022 11: 49
          +1
          So it is on the network, come in and watch "free and in good quality".))
          There I periodically review the "Magnificent Seven" of 1961 in our dubbing, it's nice, yet we have a better sense of humor than the Americans.
          I recently rewatched "Normandy-Niemen" - a wonderful film.
          1. Nikolaevich I
            Nikolaevich I 29 January 2022 12: 39
            +1
            I remember about the "network" ... but I feel sorry for the "people" too! Recently I came across several videos on YouTube showing the results of surveys of young people, middle-aged people, etc. , about the history of our country ... Often there was a terrible impression! And so ... at least in an "artistic" form, something would be perceived! And about myself ... I often choose films for myself, make a list ... but there is no time to watch!
  5. The comment was deleted.

Самые странные танки: Strv-103

9
На что способны конструкторы, получившие карт-бланш? Летающая техника, танки с четырьмя гусеницами, военные роботы — это лишь верхушка айсберга инженерной мысли. Представляем проект «Самые странные боевые машины мира» от создателей легендарной игры World of Tanks. Рубрика рассказывает об удивительных, смелых и провальных решениях танковых инженеров. Главный герой этого выпуска — шведский Strv-103.

После Второй мировой войны Швеция считала своей основной угрозой вторжение СССР. Страна готовилась исключительно к отражению нападения советских войск, однако на проведение масштабной закупки иностранных танков не хватало бюджета. В итоге командование сделало ставку не на количество, а на качество своей техники. Швеция продолжила создавать парк боевых машин собственными силами, а конструкторы получили задачу разработать принципиально новый танк. Одним из основных требований стала простота освоения, чтобы солдаты могли быстро обучиться управлению. Так начались работы над Strv-103.



В отличие от стран, специализирующихся на создании широкопрофильных машин, скандинавы сконцентрировались на нескольких основных параметрах — хорошей защищенности и улучшенной маневренности. В то время технологии не позволяли большинству танков точно стрелять на ходу, а чтобы прицелиться и сделать точный выстрел приходилось останавливаться. Улучшить систему стабилизации не могли и шведские инженеры. Вместо этого они сначала отказались от идеи ведения огня в движении, а затем предложили убрать башню и установить орудие прямо на корпусе. В результате профиль удалось сделать ниже (1.9 метра), а сам танк стал более компактным.


Чтобы повысить защищенность Strv-103 и сохранить относительно небольшую массу, конструкторы расположили лобовую бронеплиту под очень большим наклоном. Ее толщина была всего 40 мм, однако рациональное расположение позволяло эффективно отбивать вражеские снаряды. Кроме того, машина оснащалась решетчатыми противокумулятивными экранами. Их использовали впервые, и информация о них хранилась в тайне до 1992 года.

Однако легендой танк стал благодаря комбинированному силовому аппарату и внутренней компоновке. В моторном отсеке размещался и классический дизельный двигатель Rolls-Royce, и газотурбинный Boeing. Работать они могли как автономно, так и совместно, поэтому машина получилась очень быстрой. Двигаясь даже задним ходом, она развивала скорость 50 км/ч.

По оси всего корпуса проходило жестко закрепленное орудие, а механизм заряжания находился в корме. Для наведения на цель по горизонтали нужно было каждый раз менять положение танка. При вертикальном наведении в дело вступала усовершенствованная гидроподвеска. Благодаря высокой маневренности Strv-103 разворачивался на месте практически так же быстро, как и башня у обычных танков, что позволяло ему эффективно действовать даже в наступлении.


Танк вооружался мощной 105-мм пушкой «Bofors» L7, которая разрабатывалась для техники Британии. На тот момент она считалась одной из лучших в мире. Тем не менее, шведы удлинили ее с 56 калибров до 62. Модернизация повысила начальную скорость полета снаряда, а также улучшила бронепробиваемость, которой уже хватало для поражения даже перспективной советской бронетехники.

Экипаж машины состоял из трех человек: командира, механика-водителя и радиста. Приборы управления для командира и мехвода дублировались. Это делало Strv-103 уникальным танком, которым мог управлять и при этом вести огонь один человек.

Еще одной особенностью шведской машины стала система форсирования. Она представляла собой высокий прорезиненный чехол, который поднимался с бортов. Благодаря ему Strv-103 мог пересекать водные препятствия вплавь. При этом мехвод находился на краю конструкции и управлял танком с помощью тросов.


Необычные технические решения сделали Strv-103 национальным достоянием. Его постоянно модернизировали, оснащали современными системами наблюдения и динамической броней. Конструкторы экспериментировали с вооружением и баллистическими компьютерами. Впрочем, машина так и не показала себя на полях сражений, а в 1997 году отправилась на заслуженный отдых.

Больше подробностей о безбашенном шведе смотрите в видео от компании Wargaming.

Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. +3
    26 января 2022
    Ну задачу свою они выполнили - "страшно- жуткий СССР" не напал.... belay fellow
    Уж они и так и эдак - а он все не нападал....брезговал наверное feel ...
    Впрочем, СВОЯ школа танкостроения - это всегда хорошо для промышленности...
  2. +3
    26 января 2022
    - Да это же самый крутой танк!
    - А почему?
    - Да потому, что он в натуре безбашенный!!! laughing
  3. +6
    26 января 2022
    Конечно же это не танк, это скорей штурмовое или противотанковое САУ, но машина конечно интересное. Не могу точно гарантировать, но в свое время у нас ходили разговоры, что причиной быстрого снятия этих "танков" с вооружения и перевооружения на Лео-2 послужили огневые испытания этого танка в противовес нашим Т-72Б и Т-80У. По их итогу оказалось, что даже уходя на рикошет от брони этого "танка", снаряд русской 125-мм пушки просто проламывал броню "Стервы" нанося осколками брони сильнейшие повреждения внутри машины. А вот ответный выстрел не мог пробить броню советских машин в лобовой проекции
    1. 0
      27 января 2022
      невозможность маневрового боя то есть активной поддержки мотострелков в атаке или обороне - вот главная причина . такая телега годна только для позиционки выйти на позицию под покровом тумана , пальнуть пару раз в тишину и свалить побыстрее . Как это может активно воевать в защите или наступлении я не сильно представляю . Немцы этой ерундой перестрадали в конце войны когда Ягтигра выпустили - ведро прикольное но воевать может только в сторону переда
  4. +5
    26 января 2022
    Ну,шведы-большие любители экспериментировать !Любят они это дело и потому наделали немало опытных (и ,причём, весьма интересных,оригинальных...) образцов бронетехники !

    Из серии UDES 03...не единственной !
    После Strv 103 был интересный танк Strv 2000 с дополнительной 40-мм автопушкой...

    В сороковые годы прошлого века испытывали самоходки с безоткатными орудиями...
    Во второй половине прошедшего столетия устанавливали опытную танковую пушку "на ЖМВ"...!
    1. +1
      28 января 2022
      шведы-большие любители экспериментировать


      "-- Хочу сделать экскремент."



      Привет, Владимир! hi
      1. +1
        29 января 2022
        Здравия желаю,Костя! А ведь хороший был сериал ! В своем роде он был первым ! Жаль, что его давно не показывают !
        1. +1
          29 января 2022
          Так он в сети есть, заходи и смотри "бесплатно и в хорошем качестве".))
          Я там периодически пересматриваю "Великолепную семёрку" 1961 года в нашем дубляже, приятно, всё же у нас с чувством юмора получше чем у американцев.
          Недавно вот пересмотрел "Нормандия-Неман" -- прекрасный фильм.
          1. +1
            29 января 2022
            Про "сеть"-то я помню...но мне и за "народ" обидно ! Недавно попалось мне на Ютубе несколько видеороликов ,где показываются результаты опросов молодёжи,людей среднего возраста и т.д. ,об истории нашей страны... Часто возникало жуткое впечатление ! А так...хотя бы в "художественной" форме что-то бы воспринимали ! А про себя... частенько подбираю себе фильмы,составляю список...а смотреть некогда !
  5. Комментарий был удален.

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»