Military Review

Preparation and takeoff of a C-2 Greyhound turboprop aircraft from the deck of a US Navy aircraft carrier using a catapult

12

On American aircraft carriers for deck takeoff aviation catapults of various modifications are used. The modern version is catapults with the so-called digital control. Upgraded versions of such catapults make it possible to treat the on-board electronics of an aircraft carrier more “carefully”. Their initial versions often sinned in that the inclusion of an electromagnetic catapult led to problems with the electronic “stuffing” of the ship.


Catapults allow various means of aviation to rise into the air from the deck of an aircraft carrier. Usually we are talking about jet fighters. However, these same devices make it possible to take off from aircraft carriers and turboprop aircraft. For example, we are talking about the American deck aircraft C-2 Greyhound with folding wings. These aircraft have been produced since the 1960s. Their usual purpose is the delivery of goods to the deck of an aircraft carrier. The carrying capacity of the "transporter" is about 4,5 tons. The volume of fuel tanks is about 7000 liters.

In the presented frames, you can see how the C-2 Greyhound transport aircraft is preparing for takeoff. The launch block of the catapult is activated. Wings are switched to the "Raised and locked" mode. Next, the control is adjusted - lining up along the central axis of the catapult. Information is transmitted to the officer on deck so that he gestures to the pilot for his further actions.

Next, the aircraft is brought to the starting point on the deck. The final check of pairing with the catapult device is being carried out. It is being raised. At this point, it is still blocked. Moreover, its operation can occur at any time. Pilots make a final check of the instrument panel. As soon as it is ready, the aircraft with acceleration begins to literally rush along the deck to gain the speed necessary for takeoff. A few seconds later, the turboprop transporter takes off from the deck of an aircraft carrier.

Photos used:
YouTube/Rob Roy
12 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. OgnennyiKotik
    OgnennyiKotik 2 February 2022 17: 07
    +2
    Already go to the History section. C-2s are being replaced by V-22 Osprey convertiplanes.
  2. Amateur
    Amateur 2 February 2022 17: 12
    0
    And what's the news?
    Turboprop aircraft have been taking off from aircraft carriers since the Korean War.
    1. Volodin
      Volodin 2 February 2022 17: 20
      0
      Quote: Amateur
      And what's the news?

      It remains only to find out who said it was news. It seems to be written in Russian in white - section Video))
  3. Avior
    Avior 2 February 2022 17: 34
    +2
    The modern version is catapults with the so-called digital control. Upgraded versions of such catapults make it possible to treat the on-board electronics of an aircraft carrier more “carefully”. Their initial versions often sinned in that the inclusion of an electromagnetic catapult led to problems with the electronic “stuffing” of the ship.

    Actually, judging by the video, this is not an electromagnetic, but a steam catapult.
  4. Tomcat_Tomcat
    Tomcat_Tomcat 3 February 2022 00: 05
    -1
    A Greyhound of the C-2A(R) version is shown, with the latest improvements made on the E-2C Hawkeye AWACS ("Greyhound" was made on the basis of the Hawkeye) - new motors, eight-bladed propellers with saber-shaped blades, etc.
    The translation of the article, alas, leaves much to be desired.
    1. Volodin
      Volodin 3 February 2022 07: 00
      0
      If you find the "original article", please let me know...
      1. Tomcat_Tomcat
        Tomcat_Tomcat 3 February 2022 09: 17
        -1
        I'm not interested, but you can do it yourself) Do you want to say that you can immediately write in Russian with such a clumsy language? This happens when Google translated, but then the translation was not cleaned up due to ignorance of the specifics of the topic (terminology, etc.)
        1. Volodin
          Volodin 3 February 2022 10: 21
          -1
          Well, if you're not interested, then thanks for the comment...
      2. kig
        kig 4 February 2022 04: 54
        +1
        Quote: Volodin
        If you find the "original article", please let me know...

        Apparently, this is not an article, but only a video with explanations. The author is a former pilot, known on YouTube as RobRoy, and he did not film it himself (he was just piloting an airplane), but his friend.
        Although there is an article with the same title and the same video
        https://theaviationist.com/2022/01/19/c-2-cat-launch-video/
  5. Galleon
    Galleon 4 February 2022 14: 29
    +1
    Taking off from an aircraft carrier is always impressive. Is always. Regardless of the nationality of technology. Thank you for the video.
    1. agond
      agond 9 March 2022 17: 28
      0
      How hard he takes off.
      1. Galleon
        Galleon 9 March 2022 17: 32
        +1
        Of course, it's hard. 1) Truck - i.e. the ratio of engine power to takeoff weight is not sporty. 2) extremely short GDP. Hawkeyes also have a hard time taking off. 3) The lifting force depends on the strength of the headwind. It may have taken off in calm conditions.

Подготовка и взлёт турбовинтового самолёта C-2 Greyhound с палубы авианосца ВМС США с помощью катапульты

12

На американских авианосцах для взлёта палубной авиации используются катапульты различных модификаций. Современный вариант – катапульты с так называемым цифровым управлением. Модернизированные версии таких катапульт позволяют «бережнее» относиться к бортовой электронике авианесущего корабля. Первоначальные их варианты зачастую грешили тем, что включение электромагнитной катапульты приводило к проблемам именно с электронной «начинкой» корабля.

Катапульты позволяют подниматься в воздух с палубы авианосца различным средствам авиации. Обычно речь идёт о реактивных истребителях. Однако эти же устройства позволяют взлетать с борта авианесущих кораблей и турбовинтовым самолётам. Например, речь идёт об американских палубных самолётах C-2 Greyhound со складывающимися крыльями. Такие самолёты производятся с 1960-х годов. Обычное их предназначение – доставка грузов на палубу авианосца. Грузоподъёмность «транспортника» при этом составляет около 4,5 тонн. Объём топливных баков – около 7000 л.



На представленных кадрах можно видеть, как транспортный самолёт C-2 Greyhound готовится к взлёту. Активируется пусковой блок катапульты. Крылья переводятся в режим «Поднято и заблокировано». Далее проводится регулировка управления – выстраивание по центральной оси действия катапульты. Передаётся информация офицеру на палубе, чтобы он жестами указывал лётчику на его дальнейшие действия.

Далее самолёт подводится к стартовой точке на палубе. Проводится окончательная проверка сопряжения с устройством катапульты. Происходит её взведение. В этот момент она всё ещё заблокирована. При этом её срабатывание может произойти в любой момент. Лётчики производят финальную проверку панели приборов. По мере готовности, самолёт с ускорением начинает буквально нестись по палубе для набора необходимой для взлёта скорости. Через несколько секунд турбовинтовой транспортник осуществляет взлёт с палубы авианосца.

  • YouTube/Rob Roy
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

12 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. +2
    2 февраля 2022
    Уже переходят в раздел История. С-2 меняют на конвертопланы V-22 Osprey.
  2. 0
    2 февраля 2022
    А новость то в чем?
    Турбовинтовые самолеты взлетают с авианосцев со времен корейской войны.
    1. 0
      2 февраля 2022
      Цитата: Дилетант
      А новость то в чем?

      Осталось только выяснить, кто сказал, что это новость. Вроде русским по белому написано - раздел Видео))
  3. +2
    2 февраля 2022
    Современный вариант – катапульты с так называемым цифровым управлением. Модернизированные версии таких катапульт позволяют «бережнее» относиться к бортовой электронике авианесущего корабля. Первоначальные их варианты зачастую грешили тем, что включение электромагнитной катапульты приводило к проблемам именно с электронной «начинкой» корабля.

    Вообще-то, судя по видео, это не электромагнитная, а паровая катапульта.
  4. -1
    3 февраля 2022
    Показан "Грейхаунд" версии C-2A(R), с последними улучшениями, проведенными на ДРЛО E-2C "Хокай" ("Грейхаунд" делали на базе "Хокая") - новые моторы, восьмилопастные винты с саблевидными лопастями и т.д.
    Перевод статьи, увы, оставляет желать лучшего.
    1. 0
      3 февраля 2022
      Если найдёте "оригинал статьи", дайте, пожалуйста, знать...
      1. -1
        3 февраля 2022
        Мне это не интересно, а вы сможете сами) Хотите сказать, что таким корявым языком можно сразу написать по-русски? Так бывает, когда переводил Гугл, но перевод потом не почистили в виду незнания специфики темы (терминология и прочее)
        1. -1
          3 февраля 2022
          Ну если вам это не интересно, тогда спасибо за комментарий...
      2. kig
        +1
        4 февраля 2022
        Цитата: Володин
        Если найдёте "оригинал статьи", дайте, пожалуйста, знать...

        Судя по всему, это не статья, а лишь видео с пояснениями. Автор - бывший летчик, известный в ютюбе как RobRoy, причем снимал не он сам (он как раз пилотировал самоле), а его приятель.
        Хотя есть и статья с таким же названием и тем же самым видео
        https://theaviationist.com/2022/01/19/c-2-cat-launch-video/
  5. +1
    4 февраля 2022
    Взлет самолета с авианосца всегда впечатляет. Всегда. Независимо от национальной принадлежности техники. Спасибо за видео.
    1. 0
      9 марта 2022
      Как то он тяжело взлетает.
      1. +1
        9 марта 2022
        Конечно, тяжело.1) Грузовик - т.е. соотношение мощности двигателя к взлетной массе не спортивное. 2) крайне короткая ВВП. "Хокаи" тоже тяжело взлетают. 3) От силы встречного ветра зависит подъемная сила. Возможно, взлетал в условиях штиля.

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»