Military Review

US approves Patriot missile upgrade deal with Taiwan

9

On Monday, February 7, the Pentagon reported on the conclusion of a $100 million contract with Taiwan. As part of the agreement, it is expected to provide support, maintenance and modernization of the Patriot missile defense system located on the island. The US Defense and Security Cooperation Agency (DSCA) said in a statement that Congress received notice of the deal after approval by the US State Department. The initiator of the contract was the authorities of Taiwan, who applied to the State Department through their embassy in Washington.


According to the DSCA statement, the upgrade of the Patriot system "will help improve the security of the recipient", and will also help maintain political stability and military balance in the Asia-Pacific region. The importance of the contract in the context of ensuring the national interests of the United States is also emphasized. Taiwan's foreign ministry said it welcomed the US decision.

A statement from the Taiwanese diplomatic department said that this contract is very important against the backdrop of military expansion and provocations from the PRC, so Taiwan will maintain national security with the help of partners. The decision to acquire new missile systems was made back in 2019, during a Taiwanese-American meeting in the administration of then US President Donald Trump.

Although the United States does not have formal diplomatic relations with Taiwan, Washington has allied relations with the island and is concerned with the issue of ensuring its security. Now Taiwan is very actively working towards modernizing and strengthening its armed forces. The main task of this modernization is to make it as costly as possible for China to attack the island.

American defense giants Raytheon Technologies and Lockheed Martin will act as the main contractors for the maintenance and modernization of the missile defense system. Taipei hopes that the modernization of missile defense will cool down Beijing, whose planes regularly violate the airspace of the island republic.
Author:
Photos used:
Twitter / US Army
9 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. pyagomail.com
    pyagomail.com 8 February 2022 10: 26
    0
    Americans pull the tiger's whiskers.
    1. rocket757
      rocket757 8 February 2022 10: 56
      +1
      Come on .... the striped ones explain, to all sorts of different things, what is the most important thing in this world .... i.e. their InterEs are the most important in the world!
  2. Split
    Split 8 February 2022 10: 36
    +1
    Yeah, we agreed on missile defense, which is not ground-to-air ... but ground-to-air laughing
  3. rocket757
    rocket757 8 February 2022 10: 54
    0
    US approves Patriot missile upgrade deal with Taiwan
    . Malas!!! And then the Chinese neighbors sho there huddle, huddle, in their desires to eat fish and ...., it is clear that they really, really want to trade with the striped ones.
    The striped ones and their wards are able to explain in a multi-vector way that such a position is uncomfortable and harmful in all respects!
    1. Flooding
      Flooding 8 February 2022 11: 04
      +1
      Quote: rocket757
      Malas!!! And then the Chinese neighbors sho there, bustle, bustle, in their desires to eat fish and ...., it’s clear that they really, really want to trade with the striped ones


      The largest gains in Russia's exports to the US in 2020 compared to 2019 were recorded for the following product groups:

      Natural or cultured pearls, precious or semi-precious stones, precious metals, metals clad with precious metals and articles thereof; bijouterie; coins (TN VED code 71) - an increase of USD 673.
      1. rocket757
        rocket757 8 February 2022 11: 41
        +1
        The striped ones buy from us what they need. Directly or through third parties ... but in general, trade between countries is not great.
        Is this good or bad?
        As for me, and figs on them, there is a buyer for our goods, if done well, with high quality.
  4. APASUS
    APASUS 8 February 2022 11: 05
    +1
    Play off one people and make money - business, nothing personal!
  5. eehnie
    eehnie 8 February 2022 18: 30
    0
    These United States military deployments to Taiwan are no different from any Russian military assistance to the Donetsk and Lugansk Republics. In fact, the political status of Taiwan and the Donetsk and Lugansk Republics is exactly the same.

    (Automatically translated from English. Below is the original commentary in English)

    These military transfers of the United States to Taiwan are not different than any military help of Russia to the Republics of Donetsk and Lugansk. Actually the political status of Taiwan and the Republics of Donetsk and Lugansk is exactly the same.
  6. Vladimir Mashkov
    Vladimir Mashkov 9 February 2022 15: 41
    0
    And it won't help Taiwan much when the time comes... lol

Военное обозрение

США одобрили сделку по модернизации ракет Patriot с Тайванем

9

В понедельник 7 февраля Пентагон отчитался о заключении контракта на 100 млн долларов с Тайванем. В рамках соглашения предполагается обеспечить поддержку, обслуживание и модернизацию системы противоракетной обороны Patriot, размещающейся на острове. В заявлении Агентства по сотрудничеству в области безопасности и обороны США (DSCA) сообщается о том, что Конгресс получил уведомление о сделке после одобрения ее Государственным департаментом США. Инициатором контракта выступили власти Тайваня, обратившиеся в Госдеп через свое посольство в Вашингтоне.


Как утверждается в заявлении DSCA, модернизация системы Patriot «поможет повысить безопасность получателя», а также будет способствовать поддержанию политической стабильности и военного баланса в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Также подчеркивается важность контракта в контексте обеспечения национальных интересов США. Министерство иностранных дел Тайваня заявило, что приветствует решение США.

В заявлении тайваньского дипломатического ведомства сообщается, что этот контракт очень важен на фоне военной экспансии и провокаций со стороны КНР, поэтому Тайвань будет поддерживать национальную безопасность с помощью партнеров. Решение о приобретении новых ракетных комплексов было принято еще в 2019 году, во время тайваньско-американской встречи в администрации тогдашнего президента США Дональда Трампа.

Несмотря на то, что у США нет официальных дипломатических отношений с Тайванем, Вашингтон имеет союзные отношения с островом и занимается вопросом обеспечения его безопасности. Сейчас Тайвань очень активно работает в направлении модернизации и укрепления своих вооруженных сил. Главная задача этой модернизации – сделать так, чтобы нападение на остров как можно дороже обошлось Китаю.

В роли основных подрядчиков работ по обслуживанию и модернизации системы противоракетной обороны будут выступать американские оборонные гиганты Raytheon Technologies и Lockheed Martin. В Тайбэе рассчитывают, что модернизация противоракетной обороны несколько остудит Пекин, чьи самолеты регулярно нарушают воздушное пространство островной республики.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
Twitter / U.S. Army
9 комментариев
Объявление

Подписывайтесь на наш Телеграм-канал, регулярно дополнительные сведения о спецоперации на Украине, большое количество информации, видеоролики, то что не попадает на сайт: https://t.me/topwar_official

Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. pyagomail.ru
    pyagomail.ru 8 февраля 2022 10:26
    0
    американцы дергают тигра за усы.
    1. rocket757
      rocket757 8 февраля 2022 10:56
      +1
      Да ладно .... полосатые объясняют, всяким разным, что в этом мире самое важное .... т.е. их интЭрЭсы самые важные в мире!
  2. Split
    Split 8 февраля 2022 10:36
    +1
    Угу, договорились на ПРО которая не земля-воздух... а земля-самолет laughing
  3. rocket757
    rocket757 8 февраля 2022 10:54
    0
    США одобрили сделку по модернизации ракет Patriot с Тайванем
    . Маласы!!! А то китайские соседи шо то там юлят, юлят, в своих желаниях и рыбку съесть и .... , понятно, что торговать с полосатыми им очень, очень, хочется.
    Полосатые и их подопечные, умеют многовекторным объяснить, что поза такая, неудобная и вредная, во всех отношениях!
    1. Наводлом
      Наводлом 8 февраля 2022 11:04
      +1
      Цитата: rocket757
      Маласы!!! А то китайские соседи шо то там юлят, юлят, в своих желаниях и рыбку съесть и .... , понятно, что торговать с полосатыми им очень, очень, хочется


      Наибольший прирост экспорта России в США в 2020 году по сравнению с 2019 годом зафиксирован по следующим товарным группам:

      Жемчуг природный или культивированный, драгоценные или полудрагоценные камни, драгоценные металлы, металлы, плакированные драгоценными металлами, и изделия из них; бижутерия; монеты (код ТН ВЭД 71) - рост на 673 435 289 долл. США.
      1. rocket757
        rocket757 8 февраля 2022 11:41
        +1
        Полосатые покупают у нас, то что им нужно. Напрямую или через третьи руки ... но в общем и целом, товарооборот между странами не велик.
        Хорошо, это или плохо?
        Как по мне, так и фиг на них, на наши товары покупатель найдется, коль сделано хорошо, качественно.
  4. APASUS
    APASUS 8 февраля 2022 11:05
    +1
    Стравить один народ и заработать денег - бизнес ,ничего личного !
  5. eehnie
    eehnie 8 февраля 2022 18:30
    0
    Эти военные переброски Соединенных Штатов на Тайвань ничем не отличаются от любой военной помощи России Донецкой и Луганской Республикам. На самом деле политический статус Тайваня и Донецкой и Луганской Республик совершенно одинаков.

    (Автоматический перевод с английского. Ниже приведен оригинальный комментарий на английском языке)

    These military transfers of the United States to Taiwan are not different than any military help of Russia to the Republics of Donetsk and Lugansk. Actually the political status of Taiwan and the Republics of Donetsk and Lugansk is exactly the same.
  6. Владимир Машков
    Владимир Машков 9 февраля 2022 15:41
    0
    И Тайваню это мало чем поможет, когда придёт время... lol