Military Review

US tame icebergs to combat Russian submarines

15
With the help of the new project, the American employees of the research agency DARPA (USA) decided to sort out the Russian submarines on duty. It is reported that the Americans had the idea to equip icebergs with special sensors in order to create a cheap network capable of tracking the movements of submarines of foreign countries (including Russian ones). US experts from DARPA are confident that the iceberg system will help to map the routes of submarines of a potential enemy in the world's oceans, reports Snews.ru.

US tame icebergs to combat Russian submarines


Today, the melting of the Arctic ice occurs with great activity, and this means that the Arctic Ocean may soon become a place of serious military and commercial activity. At the same time, constantly breaking off chunks of ice, its crash and other factors that contribute to melting can hide submarines that can carry ballistic missiles on board with great efficiency.

This is what makes the Pentagon today use the Arctic ice to monitor the situation in the polar region. On floating icebergs, Americans want to install magnetic and acoustic sensors, which will help, according to the DARPA, to detect foreign submarines. In addition, icebergs can travel about 6-10 km per day, which raises them to the status of low-speed patrol vehicles.

This program is called AAA Assured Arctic Awareness. It is quite likely that it is very capable of helping the US Navy in tracking the submarines of Russia and China, and it is these states in the US that they consider potential adversaries in terms of conducting activities in the Arctic. Today, we can assume that the AAA program will help the Americans to get ahead in terms of detecting ballistic missile submarines, and if so, this can lead to an imbalance of power parity. Today, no missile defense system can effectively fight against missiles fired from an enemy submarine, and if the Americans learn the locations of the boats, and hence the locations of launches, they will give them an extra head start.

However, one should not think that the AAA project is a novelty. Over his version of the Americans began to wrestle in the early nineties, when they wanted to completely eliminate the possibility of a rocket attack from the waters of the Arctic Ocean. However, that program dealt exclusively with spy buoys. Now, as you can see, the scope has become much more significant.
15 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. vylvyn
    vylvyn 25 September 2012 08: 43
    0
    Quote - "Today it can be considered that the AAA program will help the Americans to get ahead in terms of detecting ballistic missile submarines."

    Maybe it will help, but maybe not. After the shock from our submarine off its shores, the Americans completely lost their heads - they are ready to clutch at any ideas, even crazy ones.
    1. tronin.maxim
      tronin.maxim 25 September 2012 19: 16
      +1
      Yes! Dangerous disease! That's just how to treat her!
      1. Kir
        Kir 25 September 2012 21: 42
        0
        METHOD FORMERLY KNOWN BY IT'S CUTTING OFF !!! In general, there was a proposal to turn the Icebergs over! But seriously, we must do everything in order to make us again, if not respected, so banal to be afraid! What about utopianism or reality, hmm? money or a distraction from something more real, or both of them together! some SDIs that were worth it!
  2. Serafim_dark
    Serafim_dark 25 September 2012 08: 46
    0
    Here amers get hung up ...
  3. Victor
    Victor 25 September 2012 09: 09
    +4
    And yet all the seals, deer and bears need to fasten the sensors to their tails, they also migrate, and penguins would not be forgotten.
    Whatever the American child would entertain, if only he would be given candy (money for the military-industrial complex). Another SOI, only under water. laughing
    1. Wedmak
      Wedmak 25 September 2012 09: 45
      +1
      It is better, on our part, to convince the same seals and bears that these sensors adversely affect their environment. And teach them how to find and break. I think it will be fun. smile
    2. Tirpitz
      Tirpitz 25 September 2012 12: 32
      +1
      They have already taught dolphins to patrol the necessary water area. The USSR also laughed at this with sarcasm like you do now, until in Vietnam the dolphins killed two Soviet underwater saboteurs. Honor was immediately reduced, and the USSR also began to study the capabilities of these animals.

      Repeated to taming marine mammals and using them for military purposes, people returned half a century later, during the Vietnam War.

      This time the Americans achieved tremendous success. Along with seals and sea lions, they began to attract dolphins to the underwater work. Their first baptism of fire was the patrol of the largest US naval base in Vietnam - Cam Ranh. By 1970, six animals trained at the San Diego base participated in Operation Quick Search. The inhabitants of the sea helped catch over 50 swimmers, saboteurs who were trying to attach magnetic mines to the sides of American ships. Moreover, according to the military, there were cases when sea lions independently destroyed swimmers with knives or needles with poison fixed to their noses. According to the stories of the former Special Forces of the Black Sea Fleet, at that time two Soviet scuba diver-bombers were killed.

  4. itr
    itr 25 September 2012 09: 30
    +1
    Sensors are as old as the world
    And here is how they are going to manage an iceberg or maybe they will go the wrong way
    1. Tirpitz
      Tirpitz 25 September 2012 12: 28
      0
      And why should they manage. They go with the flow, and no matter where he goes, the main thing is that the sensor transmits information.
  5. Rus_87
    Rus_87 25 September 2012 09: 45
    -2
    The Americans were like morons, so they remained ... They have an economy crashing at their seams, a multi-billion-dollar public debt (one of the largest on the planet), unemployment is rising, and they are again starving like Star Wars ... Poor things ... they wouldn’t tear themselves navel ... We must somehow tune them so that they put their sensors on icebergs more intensely, and also, as it was written above, on all seals, deer, fish, etc., let their economy be driven up, and we should not get used to such things, once again, our scientists will come up with some kind of penny stray, and all their billions on icebergs down the drain will be laughing drinks
    1. Delta
      Delta 25 September 2012 15: 53
      +4
      the first mistake is to underestimate the enemy. Such a capricious mood was very expensive for the states.
  6. not good
    not good 25 September 2012 10: 54
    +2
    During the Cold War, to prevent the passage of the Soviet Arctic submarines from the Arctic Ocean, a project was proposed to close the Arctic Straits. The idea was this: an ice floe was fixed along the fairway, several through holes were drilled through the ice floe through which a pipe structure was run through which the antifreeze pumped thereby forming the underwater part of the artificial iceberg and locking the strait. And on the AAA project, he immediately introduced the mobile groups of Aleutian anti-submariners who wore dog sleds along the endless ice fields of the Arctic and, by binding to the satellite, drill ice, install anti-submarine sensors and integrate everything into a single network laughing
    In general, these p ..... s are such entertainers ... of a fair wind to them in their hunchbacked back. W ... poo them on the collar, and not our submarines. soldier
  7. Isk1984
    Isk1984 25 September 2012 11: 16
    +3
    Not DARPA is a serious organization, all the military innovations of recent years hail from there, the cream of the USA and the far from it are not hamburger eaters, they are not engaged in nonsense ... The USA remains an opponent ...
  8. forma2
    forma2 25 September 2012 12: 27
    0
    Such an initiative should be punished.
    It is necessary to prevent the cursed Yankees from doing what they want in the oceans (these are not their territorial waters, you can’t do anything to ensure your own safety neglecting the safety of others (the world's oceans) it does not serve to ensure the individual protection of any country.
    We need to take this matter under international control in international instances, to pin down any attempts to implement our ideas.
  9. Check
    Check 25 September 2012 13: 41
    0
    For me, DARPA is a feeder for cutters
  10. strannik595
    strannik595 25 September 2012 16: 40
    0
    and we need to train flocks of Russian migratory birds so that the decks of aircraft carriers are crap so that no plane can fly up ......... the forces of nature at the service of the Ministry of Defense! laughing
  11. strannik595
    strannik595 25 September 2012 16: 50
    +2
    and we need to tame flocks of Russian migratory birds, so that the decks of aircraft carriers are crippled so that no plane can fly up ......... the forces of nature to serve the Ministry of Defense! laughing
  12. Andrei
    Andrei 25 September 2012 21: 08
    0
    It seems that the amers, despite everything, still consider our fleet to be dangerous - and this cannot but rejoice. Too actively they began to build their defense system (in particular against missiles) under various pretexts and sometimes openly speaking for what purposes .. I do not like it
  13. Honory
    Honory 12 September 2015 13: 28
    0
    Yes, Americans are still those tricks.

США приручают айсберги для борьбы с российскими подводными лодками

С помощью нового проекта решили разобраться американские сотрудники исследовательского агентства DARPA (США) с дежурством российских подводных лодок. Сообщается, что у американцев появилась идея оснащать айсберги специальными датчиками, чтобы создать дешевую сеть, способную следить за перемещениями субмарин иностранных государств (в том числе и российских). Американские эксперты из DARPA уверены, что айсберговая система поможет составлять карты маршрутов подводных лодок потенциального противника в мировом океане, сообщает Сnews.ru.

США приручают айсберги для борьбы с российскими подводными лодками


Сегодня таяние арктических льдов происходит с большой активностью, а это означает, что Северный Ледовитый океан уже в скором времени может превратиться в место серьезной военной и коммерческой активности. В то же время постоянно откалывающиеся куски льда, его треск и прочие сопутствующие таянию факторы могут с большой эффективностью скрывать субмарины, которые способные на своем борту нести баллистические ракеты.


Именно это и вынуждает сегодня Пентагон воспользоваться льдами Арктики, чтобы отслеживать обстановку в полярном регионе. На плавучие айсберги американцы хотят установить магнитные и акустические датчики, которые и помогут, по замыслу DARPA, обнаруживать иностранные подводные суда. Кроме того, айсберги могут преодолевать в сутки около 6-10 км, что возводит их в статус тихоходных патрульных средств.

Эта программа получила название ААА Assured Arctic Awareness. Вполне вероятно, что она очень даже способна помочь американским ВМС в плане отслеживания подлодок России и Китая, а именно эти государства в США считают потенциальными противниками в плане ведения деятельности в Арктике. Сегодня можно считать, что программа ААА поможет американцам вырваться вперед в плане обнаружения подлодок с баллистическими ракетами, а если так, то это способно привести к дисбалансу паритета сил. Сегодня ни одна система ПРО не может эффективно бороться против ракет, пущенных с подводной лодки противника, а если американцы научатся местоположения лодок, а значит, и места пусков определять, то это даст им дополнительную фору.

Однако не стоит думать, что проект ААА – это новинка. Над его версией американцы начали ломать головы еще в начале девяностых, когда захотели полностью исключить возможность ракетной атаки из вод Северного Ледовитого океана. Однако та программа касалась исключительно буев-шпионов. Теперь, как видно, размах стал куда более значительным.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 15
  1. vylvyn 25 сентября 2012 08:43
    Цитата - "Сегодня можно считать, что программа ААА поможет американцам вырваться вперед в плане обнаружения подлодок с баллистическими ракетами"

    Может поможет, а может и нет. После шока от нашей подлодки у своих берегов америкосы совсем голову потеряли - готовы хвататься за любые идеи, даже бредовые.
    vylvyn
    1. tronin.maxim 25 сентября 2012 19:16
      Да! Опасная болезнь! Вот только чем ее лечить!
      1. Kir 25 сентября 2012 21:42
        СПОСОБ ДАВНО ИЗВЕСТНЫЙ ОТСЕЧЕНИЕМ ОНОЙ!!!А вообще появилось предложение перевербовать Айсбергов!А если серьёзно то надо всё делать для того, что-бы Нас стали вновь если не уважать, так банально бояться!Ф насчёт утопичности или реальности, хм?скорее всего освоение денег либо отвлечение внимания от чего-то более реального, либо и то и другое вместе!одни СОИ, чего стоили!
        Kir
  2. Serafim_Dark 25 сентября 2012 08:46
    Вот амеры изголяются...
  3. Виктор 25 сентября 2012 09:09
    А ещё надо всем тюленям, оленям и медведям датчики на хвосты нацепить, они тоже мигрируют, пингвинов не забыть бы.
    Чем бы американское дитя не тешилось, лишь бы ему конфетку дали (деньги на ВПК). Очередная СОИ, только под водой. laughing
    1. Wedmak 25 сентября 2012 09:45
      Лучше,с нашей стороны, убедить тех же тюленей и медведей, что эти датчики плохо влияют на их окружающую среду. И научить их находить и ломать. Думаю, будет весело. smile
    2. Tirpitz 25 сентября 2012 12:32
      Дельфинов они уже научили патрулировать нужную акваторию. В СССр тоже над этим смеялись с сарказмом как Вы сейчас, пока во Вьетнаме дельфины не убили двух советских подводных диверсантов. Гонору сразу поубавилось и в СССР тоже принялись изучать возможности этих животных.

      Повторно к приручению морских млекопитающих и использованию их в военных целях люди вернулись полвека спустя, во время Вьетнамской войны.

      На этот раз колоссальных успехов достигли американцы. Наряду с тюленями и морскими львами они стали привлекать к подводной работе дельфинов. Первым их боевым крещением стало патрулирование крупнейшей военно-морской базы США во Вьетнаме – Камрани. К 1970 году в операции «Быстрый поиск» участвовало шесть животных, обученных на базе Сан-Диего. Обитатели моря помогли поймать свыше 50 пловцов-диверсантов, пытавшихся прикрепить к бортам американских кораблей магнитные мины. Причем, как утверждали военные, бывали случаи, когда морские львы самостоятельно уничтожали пловцов при помощи закрепленных на носу ножей или игл с ядом. По рассказам бывших спецназовцев Черноморского флота, в то время погибли два советских аквалангиста-подрывника.

      Tirpitz
  4. itr 25 сентября 2012 09:30
    Датчики старо как мир
    А вот как они айсбергом управлять собрались а может не в ту сторону пойдут
    itr
    1. Tirpitz 25 сентября 2012 12:28
      А зачем им управлять. Они плывут по течению, и не важно куда он пойдет, главное чтоб датчик информацию передавал.
      Tirpitz
  5. Rus_87 25 сентября 2012 09:45
    Американцы как были придурками, так ими и остались...У них экономика по швам трещит, госдолг многомиллиардный(один из крупнейших на планете), безработица повышается, а они опять типа Звездных войн забабахивают...Бедняжки...не надорвали бы себе пуп...Надо их както подначить, чтоб они поусиленнее свои датчики на айсберги ставили, а еще, как писалось выше на всех тюленей, оленей, рыб и т.д.,пусть свою экономику загоняют, а нам не привыкать к подобным штукам, в очередной раз какую нибудь копеешную приблуду наши ученые придумают, и все их миллиарды на айсберги коту под хвост будут laughing drinks
    1. Delta 25 сентября 2012 15:53
      первейшая ошибка - недооценка противника. Очень дорого стоило государствам такое шапкозакидательское настроение.
  6. негоро 25 сентября 2012 10:54
    Во времена холодной войны,для предотвращения прохода со стороны Северного Ледовитого океана советских АПЛ,был предложен проект закрытия арктических проливов.Идея была такая:по фарватеру фиксировалась льдина,в льдине бурилось несколько сквозных лунок через которые в опускалась конструкция из труб по которым насосом гонялся антифриз,тем самым формируя подводную часть искусственного айсберга и запирая пролив.А по поводу проекта ААА,сразу представил мобильные группы Алеутских противолодочников,которые носятся на собачьих упряжках по бескрайним ледовым полям арктики и по привязке к спутнику бурят коловоротами лёд,устанавливают противолодочные датчики и объеденяют всё в единую сеть laughing
    А вообще то эти п.....ы такие затейники...попутного ветра им в горбатую спину.З...пу им на воротник,а не наши субмарины. soldier
    негоро
  7. Isk1984 25 сентября 2012 11:16
    Не ДАРПА это серъезная организация, все военные иновации последних лет родом оттуда, там сливки США и далего не гамбургероеды, они ерундой не занимаются... США остаются опаныс противником...
  8. forma2 25 сентября 2012 12:27
    Такая инициатива должна быть наказана.
    Надо воспрепятствовать клятым янке творить в мировом океане что хотят (это не их территориальные воды , нельзя ничего творить для обеспечения собственной безопасности принебрегая безопасностью других (мировой океан общий) он не служит для обеспечения индивидуальной защи ты какой-то страны.
    Нужно это дело взять на международный контроль в международных инстанциях, присекать любые попытки реализации своих задумов.
  9. Чек 25 сентября 2012 13:41
    По мне так ДАРПА это кормушка для распильщиков
  10. strannik595 25 сентября 2012 16:40
    а нам надо приучать стаи российских перелетных птиц, чтоб так загадили палубы авианосцев, дабы ни один самолет взлететь не смог.........силы природы на службу Минобороны! laughing
  11. strannik595 25 сентября 2012 16:50
    а нам надо приручать стаи российских перелетных птиц, чтоб так загадили палубы авианосцев, дабы ни один самолет взлететь не смог.........силы природы на службу Минобороны! laughing
  12. Андрей 25 сентября 2012 21:08
    Похоже амеры несмотря ни на что до сих пор считают наш флот опасным- а это не может не радовать. Слишком уж они активно стали выстраивать свою систему защиты( в частности от ракет) под разными предлогами а иногда открыто говоря для каких целей .. не нравится мне это
  13. Gonoriy 12 сентября 2015 13:28
    Да америкашки еще те хитрецы.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня