Steel souls of Leningrad. Museum "Battle for Leningrad"

1
In the Leningrad region of Russia in the city of Vsevolozhsk there is a museum called "Battle for Leningrad". This building bears the name of Zinoviy Grigorievich Kolobanov, and time seems to have stopped in it. TO historical artifacts and equipment are treated very reverently here, because combat vehicles were also, in a sense, soldiers of the Second World War. It is about them that we will talk in a small cycle of stories "Steel Souls of Leningrad", created by the authors of the famous game World of Tanks.

The only transport highway that connected the besieged Leningrad with the country was the "Road of Life". Getting close to the city in another way was almost impossible. The military forces of the Red Army, incl. aviation and the fleet were in a tight ring. Hundreds of thousands of soldiers and two and a half million civilians were surrounded, and it was the route through Lake Ladoga that was their main hope for survival. And along with it, trucks and wheeled vehicles that delivered flour, cereals, meat, canned food and other types of food to people, thereby saving the population from imminent hunger. During the military blockade, simple vehicles played almost the main role in the support and defense of Leningrad. These were real steel soldiers who, although they did not go on the attack, saved and evacuated people, and, of course, died along with their drivers.




In the collection of the museum. Z.G. Kolobanov, you can see the equipment that regularly crossed the "Road of Life". First of all, this is the GAZ-AA, nicknamed the "one and a half", ZIS-5, and an ambulance bus based on the GAZ-AA. Another prominent representative of that period is a fuel truck that delivered high-octane aviation gasoline to the city. Before being in the museum, he spent decades at the bottom of Lake Ladoga. Even now you can see bullet marks on it, which have become eternal evidence of the courage of the man behind the wheel, who, even under fire, continued to do his job, risking death at any moment.

The stories of the drivers of that time are chilling. The war years led to the fact that heroism and courage became something ordinary, and saving someone else's life, risking your own, was the norm and even a duty. In the chronicles, one can often see water under the wheels of trucks on the Road of Life - in the spring, drivers drove on thin ice, realizing all the danger. With the beginning of the evacuation, buses appeared on the route, which took children out of the city. One of these machines was the ZIS-16, which fell through the ice. The driver managed to save almost all the guys, but in an attempt to pull out the smallest, he drowned with them.

Tractors also crossed the road across Lake Ladoga. Home-made sleds with property, and sometimes people, were attached to them. This is another example of how tracked vehicles involuntarily turned into military ones. The most massive models were "Stalinets" and "STZ", which often, together with their drivers, became fighters in the army. The very technology of tractor production was borrowed from the United States. The same "Stalinets" is a version of the American Caterpillar. Initially, car kits were purchased, and after acquiring a license, they began to be produced in the USSR. Gradually, Soviet engineers finalized the engine block and installed a diesel engine.

The list of tracked vehicles also includes the first Soviet tractor "Kommunar" of the Kharkov Locomotive Plant. It was also once created under license (German), but was later remade and brought to mind. Do not forget about the caterpillar tractor "Comintern". Although he had a military appointment, he passed his ordeals on Arctic expeditions. This machine was created exclusively for the armed forces, and it could well transport, for example, a gun crew and the required ammunition.

The collection of the Museum "Battle for Leningrad" has a tractor in which the things of its driver have been preserved. Apparently, he was a very careful man. Like a diligent owner, all the parts and spare parts were lubricated and laid out in their order. The belongings in the duffel bag were also folded very neatly. It is by such details that one can judge a person who at some point left a working tool and picked up a rifle.

Tractor drivers in the Red Army were valued not only for their willingness to defend their homeland. Principles of tractor control and a tank then they were no different. In those years, the motivation to fight among people was very strong, and the drivers themselves were eager to fight. However, before transferring to armored vehicles, it was necessary to leave someone to replace them. As a result, at some point, girls and teenagers could be observed behind the levers of collective farm tractors, who passed the exam and opened the way to the front for their loved ones.


One of the unusual exhibits of the museum is a field kitchen. What is valuable about her is that she really went through a difficult time. In fact, this is also a soldier who did his duty in the war. When the kitchen was discovered, there were several hundred rubber soles next to it. The searchers unsuccessfully tried to find a burial nearby, but later from the memories it turned out that the fighters had specially torn off their soles, and the shoes themselves were finely chopped, boiled and eaten for a long time. It sounds scary, but war is not only about tanks, guns and high-profile victories.

More stories from the Battle for Leningrad museum, as well as details about tanks and combat vehicles of that time, see the following series.

Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 0
    April 4 2022 16: 27
    and what kind of truck is in the first picture: before the war, we did not produce all-metal cabs for trucks ...

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned), Kirill Budanov (included to the Rosfinmonitoring list of terrorists and extremists)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Стальные души Ленинграда. Музей «Битва за Ленинград»

1
В Ленинградской области России в городе Всеволожск есть музей под названием «Битва за Ленинград». Это здание носит имя Зиновия Григорьевича Колобанова, а время в нем как будто остановилось. К историческим артефактам и технике здесь относятся очень трепетно, ведь боевые машины тоже в каком-то смысле были солдатами Второй мировой. Именно о них пойдет речь в небольшом цикле сюжетов «Стальные души Ленинграда», созданного авторами знаменитой игры World of Tanks.

Единственной транспортной магистралью, которая соединяла блокадный Ленинград со страной, была «Дорога жизни». Подобраться к городу по-другому было практически нереально. Военные силы Красной армии, в т.ч. авиация и флот находились в плотном кольце. Сотни тысяч солдат и два с половиной миллиона мирных жителей оказались в окружении, и именно маршрут через Ладожское озеро был их главной надеждой на выживание. А вместе с ним грузовики и колесные машины, которые доставляли людям муку, крупы, мясо, консервы и другие виды продовольствия, тем самым спасая население от неминуемого голода. Во время военной блокады простые машины играли едва ли не главную роль в поддержке и обороне Ленинграда. Это были настоящие стальные солдаты, которые хоть и не ходили в атаку, но спасали и эвакуировали людей, и, конечно, погибали вместе со своими водителями.




В коллекции музея им. З.Г. Колобанова можно увидеть технику, которая регулярно пересекала «Дорогу жизни». В первую очередь это ГАЗ-АА, получивший прозвище «полуторка», ЗИС-5, и санитарный автобус на базе ГАЗ-АА. Еще один яркий представитель того периода — бензовоз, который доставлял в город высокооктановый авиационный бензин. Перед тем, как оказаться в музее, он десятки лет провел на дне Ладожского озера. На нем и сейчас можно увидеть следы от пуль, которые стали вечным свидетельством мужества человека за рулем, который даже под обстрелом продолжал делать свою работу, рискуя погибнуть в любой момент.

Истории водителей того времени бросают в дрожь. Военные годы привели к тому, что героизм и отвага стали чем-то обыденным, а спасти чужую жизнь, рискуя своей, было нормой и даже обязанностью. В хрониках нередко можно увидеть воду под колесами грузовиков на «Дороге жизни» — весной водители ездили по тонкому льду, осознавая всю опасность. С началом эвакуации на маршруте появились автобусы, которые вывозили из города детей. Одной из таких машин был ЗИС-16, который провалился под лед. Водитель успел спасти почти всех ребят, но в попытке вытащить самых маленьких утонул вместе с ними.

Дорогу через Ладожское озеро пересекали и тракторы. К ним цепляли самодельные волокуши с имуществом, а иногда и людьми. Это очередной пример того, как гусеничная техника поневоле превращалась в военную. Самыми массовыми моделями были «Сталинец» и «СТЗ», которые зачастую вместе со своими водителями становились бойцами действующей армии. Сама технология производства тракторов была позаимствована у США. Тот же «Сталинец» — это версия американского Caterpillar. Изначально закупались машинокомплекты, а после приобретения лицензии их стали производить в СССР. Постепенно советские инженеры доработали моторный блок и установили дизельный двигатель.

В списке гусеничных машин значится и первый советский трактор «Коммунар» Харьковского паровозостроительного завода. Он также когда-то создавался по лицензии (немецкой), но позже был переделан и доведен до ума. Не стоит забывать и о гусеничном тягаче «Коминтерн». Хотя у него и было военное назначение, свои суровые испытания он проходил в арктических экспедициях. Эту машину создавали исключительно для вооруженных сил, и она вполне могла транспортировать, например, орудийный расчет и положенный боекомплект.

В коллекции музея «Битва за Ленинград» есть трактор, в котором сохранились вещи его механика-водителя. Судя по всему, это был очень аккуратный мужчина. Как у рачительного хозяина все детали и запчасти у него были смазаны и разложены в своем порядке. Имущество в вещмешке также было сложено очень аккуратно. Именно по таким деталям можно судить о человеке, который в какой-то момент оставил рабочий инструмент и взял в руки винтовку.

Трактористы в Красной армии ценились не только за готовность защищать Родину. Принципы управления трактором и танком тогда ничем не отличались. В те годы мотивация сражаться у людей была очень сильной, и механики-водители сами рвались в бой. Однако перед тем, как пересесть на бронированную технику, необходимо было оставить кого-то себе на смену. В итоге в какой-то момент за рычагами колхозных тракторов можно было наблюдать девушек и подростков, которые сдали экзамен и открыли путь на фронт своим близким.


Один из необычных экспонатов музея — полевая кухня. Ценно в ней то, что она действительно пережила тяжелое время. По сути, это тоже солдат, который выполнял свой долг на войне. Когда кухню обнаружили, рядом с ней было несколько сотен резиновых подошв. Искатели безуспешно пытались найти захоронение неподалеку, но позже из воспоминаний выяснилось, что свои подошвы бойцы отрывали специально, а саму обувь мелко нарезали, долго варили и ели. Это страшно звучит, но и война — это не только про танки, орудия и громкие победы.

Больше историй из музея «Битва за Ленинград», а также подробности о танках и боевых машинах того времени смотрите в следующих сериях.

Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 0
    4 апреля 2022
    а что за грузовичок на первом снимке: у нас до войны цельнометаллических кабин не выпускали для грузовиков...

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»