Military Review

Fraternal cemetery in Dobele, Latvia: shared memory

3
In the Latvian city of Dobele, a mass grave was restored, in which more than eight thousand Soviet soldiers who died during World War II were buried. The restoration of the monument was achieved by one of the veterans, and Russia allocated money for work. Local authorities have promised to look after the memorial.

Around the monument smells of incense - the fraternal cemetery in the Latvian town of Dobele has just been restored and decided to consecrate. Loud speeches were not planned: on the street it was dank, hiding under umbrellas, the veterans came just to look at the renewed monument, to put flowers. But they remember friends, former fellow soldiers, and it turns out all the same emotionally.

Friedrich Sigal, a veteran of the Great Patriotic War, said to the audience: "We must worship, remember and say a kind word to all these heroes who died in the battles for our Soviet homeland, including the city of Dobele."

Dobele city is located in 70 kilometers from the Latvian capital. There are a total of 11 thousands of residents there, and more than eight thousand Soviet soldiers, including the 15 heroes of the Soviet Union, rest in a fraternal cemetery. This is one of the largest fraternal graves in the republic.

Andrei Skachkov, Chargé d'affaires of the Russian Federation in Latvia, said: "The municipality showed not only wisdom, but also human understanding, and helped. I think this is normal. Besides, we have an intergovernmental agreement on the preservation of war graves with Latvia since the First and Second World Wars, therefore we are acting under an intergovernmental agreement. Everything is absolutely legal! "

Words of understanding may seem superfluous - this is a general war! But they are not accidental. A month ago, in another Latvian city, Bauska, they unveiled a monument to the former SS legionnaires who fought under the banner of the Wehrmacht. In Dobele to common stories reacted differently: in pure Latvian, thanks to everyone who helped with repairs., Russia allocated over 350 thousand dollars, there was simply no such money in the local budget. Here they promised to take care and remember. Agris Vilks, executive director of the municipality of the Dobele parish, said: “We must remember that these are someone’s husbands, fathers, sons who have lost their lives and their last refuge here. The natives and our places are buried here.”

Officials thank each other and one particular veteran. This is he - Yuri Ilich Zhitkov - called, wrote, asked. The lieutenant colonel of his stock got it. They clap him on the shoulder and ask: "Satisfied, Ilyich?" He is pleased. "Now I am walking through the streets, and everyone asks me:" How, in which way? Where did you get the money if they have a crisis, and we have such a gift? "This is our pride. The memory should remain and the younger generation," - said the veteran.

This is a gift not only for veterans, but also for relatives of those who considered their fathers and grandfathers missing. In the depths of the cemetery there is a small plate with the inscription: "Mikhail Pavlovich Nadutkin, died in January 1945 of the year." The place where the grandfather was buried, his granddaughter searched for many years. She knew only the approximate name of the village, but that village no longer exists. It was possible to establish that the colleagues of Mikhail Pavlovich were reburied in Dobele, but they forgot to indicate the name of Nadutkin in the lists. Now, a private individual mark of distinction - its own plate. New detail and on the monument - a star appeared on the belt of the Red Army, before it was not. And at the end of the list of all those who rest in the fraternal cemetery, several new names appeared. They were also searched, and finally found.

A few slabs at the end of the wall were left empty. They left it on purpose, as work with archival materials is ongoing. Search engines hope that, perhaps, someone else from the heroes buried here will be able to return the names.
Originator:
http://www.vesti.ru
3 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. mongoose
    mongoose 10 October 2012 10: 53
    +4
    good deed done! Eternal Memory to the Winners! To our grandfathers, great-grandfathers!
  2. wturmovik
    wturmovik 10 October 2012 12: 15
    +3
    I remember remember going to junior grades on May 9 to a fraternal cemetery in Jaundubulti, not far from the school where I studied.
    All the graves were launched, in some places the initials were not even visible ...
    And in the last 5 years, things have changed dramatically! Everything was put in order!
    Glory to the warriors of the winners! GLORY TO RUSSIA!!!
  3. Vanek
    Vanek 10 October 2012 13: 03
    +1
    In the Latvian city of Dobele, a mass grave was restored, in which more than eight thousand Soviet soldiers who died during the Great Patriotic War were buried.

    Well, that's nice, that's the glory of God. Rest in Peace!

    The restoration of the monument was made by one of the veterans

    hi Taking off my hat. I have no words.
  4. Mikado
    Mikado 10 October 2012 13: 34
    +2
    "Every day in the world is paid for by millions of Soviet people's lives."

Братское кладбище в латвийском Добеле: общая память

Братское кладбище в латвийском Добеле: общая памятьВ латвийском городе Добеле отреставрировали братскую могилу, в которой похоронены более восьми тысяч советских воинов, погибших во время Великой Отечественной войны. Восстановления памятника добился один из ветеранов, а деньги на работы выделила Россия. Местные власти пообещали ухаживать за мемориалом.

Вокруг памятника пахнет ладаном — братское кладбище в латвийском городке Добеле только что отреставрировали и решили освятить. Громких речей не планировали: на улице промозгло, укрывшись под зонтами, ветераны пришли просто посмотреть на обновленный монумент, положить цветы. Но они вспоминают о друзьях, о бывших однополчанах, и получается все равно эмоционально.

Ветеран Великой Отечественно войны Фридрих Сигаль говорит, обращаясь к собравшимся: "Мы должны поклониться, помнить и сказать доброе слово всем этим героям, которые погибли в боях за нашу советскую Родину, в том числе, и за город Добеле".


Город Добеле находится в 70 километрах от латвийской столицы. Жителей там – всего 11 тысяч, а на братском кладбище покоятся более восьми тысяч советских воинов, в том числе, 15 героев Советского Союза. Это одно из крупнейших братских захоронений в республике.

Временный поверенный в делах РФ в Латвии Андрей Скачков отметил: "Муниципалитет здесь проявил не только мудрость, но и человеческое понимание, и оказал содействие. Я думаю, что это нормально. К тому же, у нас с Латвией есть межправительственное соглашение о сохранении воинских захоронений времен Первой и Второй мировых войн, поэтому мы здесь действуем в рамках межправительственного соглашения. Все абсолютно законно!"

Слова о понимании могут показаться лишними – это же общая война! Но они не случайны. Месяц назад в другом латвийском городе – Бауске — открыли памятник бывшим легионерам СС, тем, что воевали под знаменами вермахта. В Добеле к общей истории отнеслись иначе: на чистом латышском языке благодарят всех, кто помог с ремонтом., Россия выделила более 350 тысяч долларов, в местном бюджете таких денег просто не было. Здесь пообещали ухаживать и помнить. Исполнительный директор муниципалитета Добельской волости Агрис Вилкс подчеркнул: "Нужно помнить, что это чьи-то мужья, отцы, сыновья, которые потеряли свои жизни, и их последнее пристанище здесь. Здесь похоронены уроженцы и наших мест".

Официальные лица благодарят друг друга и одного конкретного ветерана. Это он – Юрий Ильич Житков – звонил, писал, просил. Подполковник запаса своего добился. Его хлопают по плечу и спрашивают: "Доволен, Ильич?" Он доволен. "Сейчас иду по улицам, и меня все спрашивают: "Как, каким путем? Откуда ты взял деньги, если у них кризис, а у нас такой подарок?" Это гордость наша. Память должна остаться и молодому поколению", — уверен ветеран.

Это подарок не только для ветеранов, но и для родственников тех, кто считал своих отцов и дедов пропавшими без вести. В глубине кладбища находится небольшая плита с надписью: "Михаил Павлович Надуткин, погиб в январе 1945 года". Место, где похоронен дед, его внучка искала много лет. Она знала только приблизительное название поселка, но тот хутор больше не существует. Удалось установить, что сослуживцы Михаила Павловича были перезахоронены в Добеле, но имя Надуткина в списках указать забыли. Теперь у рядового отдельный знак отличия — своя плита. Новая деталь и на монументе — на поясе красноармейца появилась звезда, раньше ее не было. А в конце перечня всех тех, кто покоится на братском кладбище, появилось несколько новых фамилий. Их тоже искали, и, наконец, нашли.

Несколько плит в конце стены оставили пустыми. Оставили специально, так как работа с архивными материалами идет постоянно. Поисковики надеются, что, возможно, кому-то еще из погребенных здесь героев удастся вернуть имена.
Первоисточник: http://www.vesti.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. мангуст 10 октября 2012 10:53
    доброе дело, сделали! Вечная Память Победителям! Нашим дедам, прадедам!
    мангуст
  2. wturmovik 10 октября 2012 12:15
    Раньше помню ходили в младших классах на 9 мая на братское кладбище в Яундубулты, не далеко от школы где я учился.
    Все могилки были запущены, кое где даже не видно было инициалы...
    А в последние лет 5 дело кардинально изменилось! Всё привели в порядок!
    СЛАВА ВОИНАМ ПОБЕДИТЕЛЯМ! СЛАВА РОССИИ!!!
    wturmovik
  3. Ванёк 10 октября 2012 13:03
    В латвийском городе Добеле отреставрировали братскую могилу, в которой похоронены более восьми тысяч советских воинов, погибших во время Великой Отечественной войны.

    Ну вот и славненько, вот и слава Богу. Покойтесь с Миром!

    Восстановления памятника добился один из ветеранов

    hi Снимаю шляпу. Слов нет.
    Ванёк
  4. Mikado 10 октября 2012 13:34
    "Каждый день мира оплачен миллионами жизней советских людей."
    Mikado

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня