Military Review

Feat border guards in Afghanistan

9
On the southern borders of the large Russian Empire, it has been restless since Central Asia became part of the Russian state. And this was due to the fact that the territories inhabited by wild Afghan tribes became the scene of a clash of interests between England and Russia.


The rivalry between Britain and Russia for Asian domination in the XIX - early XX-th included in history under the name "Big Game", it did not end in the XX century. With the adoption of independence by Afghanistan, the influence of England in this region decreased, however, contradictions within the country itself intensified.

In 1978, as a result of the revolution, the People’s Democratic Party came to power in Afghanistan, proclaiming a republic and taking a course toward reforming the country. This led to an escalation of the conflict between the new leadership and the Islamic opposition.

Of course, everything that happened in Afghanistan could not help but trouble the Soviet leadership, and in order to reduce the increasing destabilization in this region, it was decided to introduce Soviet troops into Afghanistan.

So began the Soviet-Afghan war.

Soldiers of military service from the Border Troops


The fighting in Afghanistan was carried out not just by the army, but the KGB special forces units and internal and border troops were involved.

I would like to tell you about the actions of the border guards in this article.

For the border troops of the USSR on the Afghan territory, a special zone of responsibility was established with a depth of 200 kilometers at the junction of three borders - the USSR, the PRC and Afghanistan. In fact, these were the border areas of the Afghan provinces adjacent to the USSR.

At the same time, the border guard service was conducted from two sides of the state border, since practically all Afghan border posts were routed by opposition militants (who rightly considered the USSR as an ally of the PDPA).

In the spring of 1980, the first major military operation was conducted under the leadership of Colonel VN, Chief of Staff of the Central Asian Border District (SAPO). Kharicheva. The essence of the operation was the stripping of the rebels of the border strip of the northern part of the mountain Badakhshan (the operation entered into a military history called "Mountain-80"). Units of the Moscow, Pyanj, and Khorog border detachments on 30-ti BTR and BMP, under the cover of X-NUMX Mi-11 helicopters, together with the paratroopers, cleared several areas and eliminated militant groups, led by a certain A. Vakhoba. The stripping area reached 8 kilometers over more than 10 kilometers: all villages in the area of ​​this zone were cleared of the Mujahideen. Upon completion of the operation, new border garrisons were set up in some localities.

Later, in just one year, such significant operations as Balamurgab, Winter 80, Spring 80, Summer 80, Autumn 80, Ruslan and some others were carried out.

In order to cover the borders of Afghanistan with China and Pakistan, garrison units were deployed from Murgab to the Eastern Border District. This helped to filter the caravan corridor between states, with the help of which militants often transported weapon or ammunition.
By 1981, the Soviet troops managed to gain a foothold in a number of settlements: Kalai-Kouf, Rustaq, Hairatan, Sher Khan, Haun, Yangikala, Chahi-Ab, Nusai, as well as in the Small Afghan Pamir. Covering important vital facilities in the villages, controlling the routes of possible movement of militants and cargo with weapons, the border guards maintained close ties with the Afghan KhAD (AGSA) and tsarandoy (the Afghan secret services and the police, respectively), and also helped the Afghan border guards with food, medicine and ammunition.

During the period from 1981 to 1986, the Soviet border units conducted more than 800 operations, some of which were coordinated with other troops, including parts of the armed forces of Afghanistan. Moreover, in the mountainous parts of this country, due to the specifics of the mountainous area, convenient for the subversive activities of the Mujahideen, military actions were conducted almost constantly. Typical examples of military operations in the high-mountain part of Afghanistan include the Marmol operation in January-February, 1984, the Tashkurgan operation, 1985, conducted under the leadership of the new chief of troops of the KSAP, Major General V.I. Shlyakhtina.

In the spring of 1986, units of the Eastern Border District, together with a separate 860 motorized rifle regiment, conducted one of the major operations for the entire period of hostilities outside the territories belonging to the border guard area of ​​responsibility - the Varduj Valley. The result of the operation was the liberation from the militants of a vast territory, and the free road was Paharak-Hasravi. In parallel with this operation, the special units of the frontier guards carried out purposeful ideological work among the fluctuating groups of mojaheds, and this strategy yielded certain results: only for 1985 a year, about two thousand people switched to the side of the Afghan government, of which five national battalions were formed.

After some relative lull in 1986, the Soviet border guards were forced to re-organize several serious operations (for example, on October 2, the attack on the long-fledging Imamsakhib group on the city of Pyanj was broken off).

In the third period of the hostilities in Afghanistan (1988-1989), the border guards helped to ensure the safe withdrawal of the 40 Army from the country.
Also during this time, the special units of the border troops conducted 50 armed operations, about two and a half thousand raids and sorties, put out about four thousand ambushes.

In the ten years of fighting in Afghanistan, tens of thousands of border guards have passed. At least, the fact that not one border guard was captured by the Mujahideen during all these years, the 518 people of them died directly in the battle during special operations speaks about the dedication and high morale of these people.

Many soldiers were awarded orders and medals, many border guards received the title Hero of the Soviet Union. Among them: Lieutenant Colonel V.I. Ukhabov, (posthumously) and F.S. Shagaleev, A.P. Bogdanov (posthumously) and I.P. Barsukov, captains A.A. Lukashov and V.F. Popkov, warrant officer V.D. Kapshuk, Army General V.A. Sailors.

These and other names of the border guards who selflessly served for the good of the Motherland and defended the Soviet state from the attacks of the Asian barbarians, will forever be remembered by grateful descendants.
The war in the first person. Afghanistan (Belarus) 2011 year

The press center of the State Border Committee prepared the documentary film “The war from the first person” for the Memorial Day of Soldiers-Internationalists.
The film tells about the tasks that solved the units of the border troops in Afghanistan.

The main and only storytellers are the direct participants of those events. Border activities in Afghanistan have been banned for a long time and deliberately diverted from public attention. Today, information was opened in an open format that border guard units were the first to enter Afghanistan and the last to leave ...

This is the first open look at closed topics, at what has always remained behind the scenes. The time has come to pay tribute to those guys who honorably fulfilled their tasks in defense of the USSR state border.

Author:
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. olifus
    olifus 15 October 2012 08: 55
    16
    I served urgently in the 90s in the FPS, we had several officers and warrant officers who ran through the mountains of Afgan, excellent men who did not shy away from sitting at the same table with soldiers, not like those who "did not smell gunpowder", I still remember yours.
  2. Suvorov000
    Suvorov000 15 October 2012 11: 48
    +5
    Ohhhh, about an officer who sat down at the table with a soldier, it's better not to say it, we have that not an officer: "at five minutes lieutenant" then the general will already cut him by the leg and His Majesty the Prince of All Russia, he knows everything he knows all the nonsense, one he is so great and not repeated, and then more, like our deputy. directions from oneself poses. We are sitting celebrating our birthday, all the officers, so there is no need to show yourself: “I don’t drink with my subordinates,” he lifts up his nose and leaves, five minutes later the head of the personnel service with the rank of general comes in, looks at how we drink and asks: feast ", we answer the birthday, we celebrate, we invite him to the table, he sits down, pronounces a communal toast, drinks a snack, congratulates him again and calmly leaves. In the morning: from the deputy. directions: "and you drank there for a long time, who will work", general: "Well, how are you there yesterday, everything is fine without incident, well, fine, now let's men go to work"
    1. Region71
      Region71 15 October 2012 22: 11
      +5
      Don't do that about all the officers. They are people, and people are different.
  3. borisst64
    borisst64 15 October 2012 13: 28
    +7
    He drank only with conscripts after their demobilization, they often came to visit and even spent the night at home. Well, with contractors in unofficial times, you can say regularly, the team celebrated the holidays, well, birthdays are understandable ..
  4. ALPETSEM
    ALPETSEM 15 October 2012 18: 48
    +7
    Our foreman of the outpost was the senior warrant officer Bondar Konstantin Sergeevich, during the Soviet era he served in the Takhtabazar border detachment and as part of the MMG visited the river, a wonderful person, although he strictly asked for his service and did not let him relax, but everyone respected him. From the service in Afghanistan, he had a small quirk in terms of logistical support - he was obsessed with the preparation of firewood, he sent most of those who were not employed in the squad to prepare firewood, he gave ration reinforced to lumberjacks, and when the head of the outpost, looking at the mountain of logs, asked: "Sergeevich , but maybe that's enough ", he replied:" The stock in ... ooo is not e ... t, it is better to stay than not enough. "
  5. Kortik
    Kortik 15 October 2012 21: 32
    +5
    Glory to the border guards! I am proud that I myself served in the border guards. It’s true in the marine, but I know the specifics of the greens and by the nature of the service they are in close contact, since they worked together.
    1. Drednout
      Drednout 15 October 2012 23: 47
      +4
      Well, on the border with the DRA, sailors - border guards, too, were after all. And the service was carried out quite worthily.
  6. rarik63
    rarik63 15 October 2012 22: 02
    +6
    He served in the Kara-Kalinsky Production Association in 81-84, and under the nickname Uhabov we had the beginning of MMG. This article did not mention the Cap Turulov, but many guys remained alive thanks to him and such OFFICERS as he. They are worthy of monuments in life. Honor and glory to them alive and dead!
  7. Shilovr
    Shilovr 15 October 2012 23: 00
    +4
    Glory to the heroes !!!!
  8. sasanic
    sasanic 21 December 2012 01: 13
    0
    sorry for the guys

Подвиг пограничников в Афгане

На южных границах большой Российской империи было неспокойно с тех самых пор, как Средняя Азия вошла в состав русского государства. И связано это было с тем, что территории, населённые дикими афганскими племенами, стали ареной столкновения интересов Англии и России.

Соперничество между Британией и Россией за азиатское господство в XIX – начале XX-го вошло в историю под названием «Большой игры», не закончилось оно и в XX веке. С принятием Афганистаном независимости, влияние Англии в этом регионе уменьшилось, однако, усилились противоречия внутри самой этой страны.

В 1978 году в результате революции к власти в Афганистане пришла Народно-Демократическая Партия, провозгласившая республику и взявшая курс на реформирование страны. Это привело к эскалации конфликта между новым руководством и исламской оппозицией.


Разумеется, всё происходившее в Афганистане не могло не беспокоить советское руководство, и чтобы снизить увеличивающуюся дестабилизацию в этом регионе, – было принято решение о введении в Афганистан советских войск.

Так началась советско-афганская война.

Подвиг пограничников в Афгане
Солдаты срочной службы из погранвойск


Боевые действия в Афганистане велись силами не просто действующей армии, были задействованы подразделения спецназа КГБ, внутренние и пограничные войска.

О действиях пограничниках и хотелось бы рассказать в этой статье.

Для погранвойск СССР на афганской территории была установлена специальная зона ответственности глубиной в 200 километров на стыке трёх границ – СССР, КНР и Афганистана. Фактически это были приграничные территории близлежащих к СССР афганских провинций.

Служба пограничников при этом велась с двух сторон государственной границы, поскольку практически все афганские погранпосты были разгромлены боевиками-оппозиционерами (справедливо считавшими СССР союзником НДПА).

Весной 1980 года была проведена первая крупная военная операция под руководством начальника штаба Среднеазиатского пограничного округа (САПО) полковника В.Н. Харичева. Суть операции заключалась в зачистке от мятежников приграничной полосы северной части горного Бадахшана (операция вошла в военную историю под названием «Горы-80»). Подразделения Московского, Пянджского, Хорогского погранотрядов на 30-ти БТР и БМП, под прикрытием 11 вертолетов Ми-8, совместно с десантниками провели чистку нескольких районов и ликвидацию групп боевиков, которыми руководил некий А. Вахоба. Область зачистки доходила до 10 километров на протяжении более 150 километров: от моджахедов были очищены все кишлаки в области этой зоны. По завершению операции в некоторых населенных пунктах были выставлены новые пограничные гарнизоны.

В дальнейшем, только в течение одного года были проведены такие значительные операции, как «Баламургаб», «Зима 80», «Весна 80», Лето 80», «Осень 80», «Руслан» и некоторые другие.

С целью прикрытия границ Афганистана с Китаем и Пакистаном были выставлены гарнизонные подразделения от Мургабского до Восточного пограничного округа. Это помогало фильтровать коридор караванов между государствами, с помощью которых боевики нередко провозили оружие или боеприпасы.
К 1981 году советские войска сумели закрепиться в ряде населённых пунктов: Калай-Куф, Рустак, Хайратон, Шерхан, Хаун, Янгикала, Чахи-Аб, Нусай, а также на Малом афганском Памире. Прикрывая важные объекты жизнедеятельности в кишлаках, контролируя маршруты возможного перемещения боевиков и грузов с оружием, пограничники поддерживали тесные связи с афганскими ХАД (АГСА) и царандоя (афганской спецслужбы и милиции соответственно), а также помогали афганским пограничникам с продовольствием, медикаментами и боеприпасами.

В период с 1981 по 1986 год советские пограничные спецподразделения провели более 800 операций, некоторые из них были согласованы с другими войсками, в том числе и с частями вооружённых сил Афганистана. Причём в горных частях этой страны в силу специфики горной местности, удобной для подрывной деятельности моджахедов, военные действия велись практически постоянно. Типичными примерами военных действий в высокогорной части Афганистана можно назвать проведение Мармольской операции в январе-феврале 1984 года, Ташкурганской операции 1985 года, проведённой под руководством нового начальника войск КСАПО генерал-майора В.И. Шляхтина.

Весной 1986 года подразделения Восточного пограничного округа вместе с отдельным 860-м мотострелковым полком провели одну из крупных операций за весь период боевых действий за пределами территорий, относящихся к зоне ответственности пограничников - Вардуджской долине. Результатом операции стало освобождение от боевиков обширной территории, стала свободной дорога Пахарак-Хасрави. Параллельно этой операции спецподразделения пограничников проводили целенаправленную идеологическую работу среди колеблющихся группировок моджахедов, и эта стратегия приносила определённые плоды: только за 1985 год на сторону правительства Афганистана перешло около двух тысяч человек, из которых было сформировано пять национальных батальонов.

После некоторого относительного затишья в 1986 году советские пограничники были вынуждены вновь организовать несколько серьёзных операций (например, 2 октября 1987 года была сорвана атака давно досаждавшей имамсахибской группировки на город Пяндж).

В третий период боевых действий в Афганистане (1988-1989 года) пограничники помогали обеспечить безопасный вывод из страны частей 40-й армии.
Также за это время спецподразделения погранвойск провели 50 вооружённых операций, около двух с половиной тысяч рейдов и вылазок, выставили около четырёх тысяч засад.

За десять лет ведения боевых действий в Афганистане прошло несколько десятков тысяч воинов-пограничников. О самоотверженности и высоком моральном духе этих людей говорит хотя бы тот факт, что за все эти годы ни один пограничник не был взят моджахедами в плен, при этом 518 человек из них погибли непосредственно в бою при проведении спецопераций.

Множество воинов были награждены орденами и медалями, немало пограничников получило звания Героев Советского Союза. Среди них: подполковник В.И. Ухабов, (посмертно) и Ф.С. Шагалеев, майоры А.П. Богданов (посмертно) и И.П. Барсуков, капитаны А.А. Лукашов и В.Ф. Попков, прапорщик В.Д. Капшук, генерал армии В.А. Матросов.

Эти и другие имена героев-пограничников, беззаветно служивших на благо Родины и защищавших советское государство от набегов азиатских варваров, навсегда останутся в памяти благодарных потомков.
Автор: Филипп Хорват


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Война от первого лица. Афганистан (Беларусь) 2011 год

К Дню памяти воинов-интернационалистов пресс-центр Госпогранкомитета подготовил документальный фильм «Война от первого лица».
Фильм рассказывает о задачах, которые решали подразделения пограничных войск на территории Афганистана.

Главными и единственными рассказчиками являются непосредственные участники тех событий. Пограничная деятельность в Афганистане была долгое время под запретом и умышленно уводилась от внимания общественности. Сегодня в открытом формате прозвучала информация о том, что подразделения пограничных войск первыми вошли в Афганистан и последними его покинули…

Это первый открытый взгляд на закрытые темы, на то, что всегда оставалось за кадром. Пришло время отдать должное тем ребятам, которые с честью выполнили свои задачи по защите Государственной границы СССР.

Читайте также
Комментарии 9
  1. olifus 15 октября 2012 08:55
    Служил я срочную в 90-е в ФПС, было у нас несколько офицеров и прапорщиков побегавших по горам Афгана, отличные мужики, не чурающиеся сесть за один стол с солдатами, не чета тем, которые "пороха не нюхали", до сих пор вспоминаю с уважением.
    olifus
  2. Суворов000 15 октября 2012 11:48
    Ооооо по поводу офицера севшего за стол с солдатом это лучше не говорить, у нас что не офицер : "без пяти минут лейтенант" то уже генерал едрить его за ногу и его величество князь всея руси, все он знает все он умеет все бестолочи, один он такой великий и не повтаримый, а дальше больше, как у нас зам. направления из себя корчит. Сидим празднуем день рожденья, все офицеры, так нет жешь себя показать нужно: "Я с подчиненными не пью" задрав в верх нос уходит, через пять минут заходит начальник службы кадров в звании генерал, смотрит как мы пьем и спрашивает: "по поводу чего застолье", отвечаем день рожденье празднуем, приглашаем к столу его, он присаживается произносит сокроментальный тост выпивает закусывает еще раз поздравляет и спокойно уходит.На утро: от зам. направления : "и долго вы пили там, работать кто будет", генерал : "Ну как вы там вчера, все хорошо без происшествий, ну и прекрасно, теперь давайте мужики идите работайте"
    Суворов000
    1. Регион71 15 октября 2012 22:11
      Не надо так про всех офицеров.Они люди,а люди разные.
      Регион71
  3. borisst64 15 октября 2012 13:28
    Со срочниками солдатами выпивал тлько после их дембеля, они нередко в гости приезжали и даже дома у меня ночевали. Ну а с контрактниками в неслужебное время можно сказать регулярно, праздники коллективом отмечали, ну и дни рождения понятно..
    borisst64
  4. ALPETSEM 15 октября 2012 18:48
    У нас старшиной заставы был старший прапорщик Бондарь Константин Сергеевич, во времена СССР он служил в Тахтабазарском погранотряде и в составе ммг побывал и за речкой, человек замечательный, хоть за службу строго спрашивал и особо расслабляться не давал, но уважали его все. Вот со службы в Афгане остался у него небольшой бзик в плане тылового обеспечения-был помешан на заготовке дров, большую часть не занятых в наряде отправлял на заготовку дров, паек усиленный лесорубам выдавал, а когда начальник заставы, глядя на гору бревен спрашивал: "Сергеевич, а может хватит", тот отвечал: "Запас в ...опу не е...т, пусть лучше останеться чем не хватит".
  5. Kortik 15 октября 2012 21:32
    Слава погранцам! Я горд тем, что сам служил в погранцах. Правда в морских, но специфику зеленых знаю и по роду службы тесно соприкасался,так как вместе работали.
    Kortik
    1. Drednout 15 октября 2012 23:47
      Ну и на границе с ДРА моряки - пограничники тоже ведь были. И службу несли вполне достойно.
  6. rarik63 15 октября 2012 22:02
    Служил в Кара-Калинском ПО в 81-84 года, под-ник Ухабов у нас был нач ММГа. В этой статье не упоминали о кап-не Турулове, но очень многие ребята остались живы благодаря ему и таким ОФИЦЕРАМ, как он. Они достойны памятников при жизни. Честь и слава им живым и мёртвым!
    rarik63
  7. Shilovr 15 октября 2012 23:00
    Слава героям !!!!
    Shilovr
  8. sasanic 21 декабря 2012 01:13
    жалко ребят
    sasanic

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня