Military Review

L. M. Dovator - the legendary leader of the Cossack cavalry

14
It's an amazing thing, but even in the age of steel technology and large hulking military machines, such troops successfully fought on the fronts, the practice of which, it would seem, should have been a thing of the past. Thus, during the years of the Great Patriotic War, cavalry troops remained, and not only survived, but also successfully fought, led by their heroic commanders. One of these commanders was Lev Dovator.
Lev Dovator was born in 1903 in a poor peasant family living in a small village in the Vitebsk province.

L. M. Dovator - the legendary leader of the Cossack cavalry
The cavalrymen of the 2 Guards Cavalry Corps of the 16 Army of the Western Front, in the center with a map in their hands, the commander of the Guard Corps, Major General Lev M. Dovator


From early childhood, Lev got used to hard work as a laborer, having grown up a bit, worked at the Vitebsk factory.

Of course, like any peasant who had seen nothing but poverty and endless monotonous work since childhood, Dovator met the news of the October revolution with undisguised joy. He helped organize the committees of the poor in his native village, he studied at the provincial party school.

Lev Dovator joined the Red Army as a volunteer in the 1924 year, and served for some time as a warehouse manager in the 7 Cavalry Division of the Western Military District, stationed in Minsk.

After graduating from the Moscow Military Chemical Courses in 1925, Dovator was already serving as chemical commander in the 7 Cavalry Division.

Dovator’s perseverance in comprehending military affairs, however, had no limits: in 1926, he graduated from the Leningrad-Borisoglebsk cavalry school of the Red Army commanding staff.

All 30-ies Dovator advances through the military cavalry career, however, continues to professional training: in 1939, he graduated with honors from the Military Academy. MV Frunze and was assigned to the chief of staff of the Special Cavalry Brigade in Moscow. Before the war, Lev Dovator was appointed chief of staff of the 36 Cavalry Division of BOVO.

General Dovator. 1947. Oil Moiseenko Evsey Evseevich


Dovator had to meet the war in a hospital hospital, and only a week after the start of the war the doctors decided to discharge him: Lev Mikhailovich, barely able to say goodbye to his family, went to the disposal of the headquarters of the Western Front (as his native division was surrounded, and to break through to it was not no opportunity).

Already in July of this first year of the war, Dovator was awarded the Order of the Red Banner for distinctions in battles at the Solovyov crossing.

In August 1941, Lev Dovator led the Separate Cavalry Group on the Western Front, consisting of several Cossack regiments (composed of Don, Kuban and Terek Cossacks). From the very first battles, Dovator proved to be an excellent commander who not only skillfully organized daring attacks of courage, but also treated his military wards with fatherly love, trying not to risk the lives of courageous Cossacks as much as possible. Under the command of Lev Mikhailovich this equestrian unit managed to break through to the rear of the Germans, striking enemy communications, smashing headquarters, destroying warehouses and military transports of the enemy.

This truly fantastic raid of the Soviet cavalrymen into the German rear continued for about two weeks: the Cossacks, who went 100 kilometers deep, destroyed more than two thousand soldiers and officers, 9 tanks, about two hundred cars, they captured many trophies. For combat feats during this operation, Leo Dovator received the rank of Major General and the Order of Lenin.

In the autumn of 1941, the 3 Cavalry Corps was formed as a part of the 16 Army KK Rokossovsky (a little later it was renamed 2 Guards) on the basis of a dovator group. The corps led defensive battles on the White-Rzhev line, covering the approaches to Moscow from the Volokolamsk direction.
On December 11, the corps of General Dovator was redeployed to the Kubinka area and, pursuing the retreating German units, went out to the Ruza River.

Unfortunately, courage and courage of the cavalry commander played a cruel, fatal “joke” with Dovator ...

In December, 1941, the vanguard of the 2 Guards Cavalry Corps, was located in the area of ​​the village of Palashkino, where large forces of German troops were stationed at that time. Lev Dovator decides to place a campus headquarters in front of the village, while he decides to inspect the fighting positions of the German units on the other side of the river personally, and then the Germans opened heavy fire at the cluster of people they noticed ... There were no chances for surviving in the open space of Dovator ...

On the same day, December 21 1941, Lev Mikhailovich Dovator was awarded the "For courage and heroism shown in the battles with the German fascist invaders" posthumous title of the Hero of the Soviet Union.

The memory of this Soviet hero was immortalized by a monument in the city of Ruz, an obelisk on the shore of the Ruza reservoir (in the place where he died), and ordinary people remember Dovator thanks to the many streets named after him in the large space of the former USSR.
Author:
14 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Nagaibak
    Nagaibak 20 October 2012 09: 15
    0
    The dovator died in 1941. Who is pictured in such a chic uniform, and even with the orders of Suvorov and Kutuzov?

    I’m looking, isn’t Abakumov himself? Like he is.
  2. omsbon
    omsbon 20 October 2012 11: 12
    0
    "Kazaken", "Dovator" [/ b] - almost every German on the Eastern Front knew these words.
  3. omsbon
    omsbon 20 October 2012 11: 14
    +2
    The name Dovatora was known to almost every German on the Eastern Front!
    1. Lucky
      Lucky 23 October 2012 16: 25
      +1
      Eternal glory to the hero, the Cossack!
  4. Nagaibak
    Nagaibak 20 October 2012 11: 24
    +4
    It would be hard for us without the 1st and 2nd Guards cavalry corps in 41 !!! To the donor, as a person who died for the homeland, GLORY !!!
  5. datur
    datur 20 October 2012 13: 56
    0
    Oh, we would have this grandfather !!! warrior-Slav !!!!!!!!!
    1. The centurion
      The centurion 20 October 2012 16: 43
      +2
      Quote: datur
      warrior-Slav !!!!!!!!!

      Actually, he seems to be a Jew. I wonder what the anti-Semites say?
      1. Nagaibak
        Nagaibak 20 October 2012 17: 01
        +6
        The centurion "Actually, he seems to be a Jew. I wonder what the anti-Semites will say?"
        Where they write - a Jew. And where is Belarus. I think it makes no difference, he's done !!! After him, Pliev seemed to command the corps, so he was generally Ossetian !!! Also a heroic man !!!
      2. Brother Sarych
        Brother Sarych 20 October 2012 19: 55
        +1
        Is it written in Wiki that a Belarusian would be a Jew? What would change? Not a Cossack - for sure, but the Hero is definitely ...
        1. Nick
          Nick 23 February 2016 16: 12
          0
          Quote: Brother Sarych
          Is it written in Wiki that a Belarusian would be a Jew? What would change? Not a Cossack - for sure, but the Hero is definitely ...

          Kaza is not a nationality; Cossack is an estate - a peasant warrior.
      3. Insurgent
        Insurgent 20 October 2012 23: 28
        0
        In general, he was a Belarusian, you can look through, look for a biography
  6. max73
    max73 20 October 2012 17: 40
    +4
    The fact that the author remembered a brave cavalry general is a plus, of course! .... and the author of the article himself is a minus! the impression is that the article, in a quick way, "on the knee", as they say, was made .... I will explain my position: 1. The author writes: "In August 1941, Lev Dovator leads the Separate Cavalry Group on the Western Front, which consisted of several Cossack regiments (the composition included the Don, Kuban and Terek Cossacks). "And where are the numbered names of the units ??? these were the 50th and 53rd Cavalry Divisions, formed (copyright) in the Stavropol and Kuban regions. 2. The blunder is as follows: "In the fall of 1941, on the basis of the pre-vator group, the 3rd Cavalry Corps was formed as part of the 16th Army of K. K. Rokossovsky (a little later it was renamed the 2nd Guards). -Rzhev, covering the approaches to Moscow from the Volokolamsk direction. ".... the author, do you look at the map where Bely and Rzhev are and where Rokossovsky's 16th army was during the fighting on the Mozhaisk defense line and later? a baaaalshaya inconsistency ... and more ... in Dovator's corps, besides Tertsy and Kuban, there were divisions formed in the Orenburg region and Central Asia ... being on reconnaissance in one of these divisions, namely the 20th cavalry colonel Tavliev, and L.M. died Dovator ..
  7. tambourine 2012
    tambourine 2012 20 October 2012 18: 28
    +2
    yes somehow and more you could write about this outstanding person
  8. 77bor1973
    77bor1973 20 October 2012 22: 33
    0
    In addition to everything, he was a stuntman in the film "Alexander Nevsky"!
  9. Jeglov
    Jeglov 20 October 2012 22: 45
    +1
    Everlasting memory!
    Glory to heroes!
    Actually, he seems to be a Jew. I wonder what the anti-Semites say?

    It is a pity they will not be able to condemn the nationality of Lev Mikhailovich with the Cossacks from his corps. Given that they revered him as a father. And they were harsh men
    1. Aaron Zawi
      Aaron Zawi 21 October 2012 22: 58
      0
      Jeglov I would be very proud to consider Lev Dovator a fellow tribesman, but Colonel Sverdlov, who was engaged in a serious study of the participation of Jews in the Great Patriotic War, could not find confirmation of the Jewish origin of Dovator.
  10. Karlsonn
    Karlsonn 23 October 2012 19: 30
    0
    I’ll also insert five cents:
    ... It is an amazing thing, but even in the age of steel technology and large clumsy military vehicles, such troops successfully fought on the fronts, the practice of which, it would seem, should have long been a thing of the past. So, during the years of World War II, cavalry troops were preserved ...
    There is nothing surprising in this. The realities of the Eastern Front were such that at the beginning of the war the number of cavalry units both here and among the Germans only increased: we have - 4 corps and 13 divisions at the beginning of the war, and Germans respectively - 7 division at the beginning of the war (plus cavalry units in the infantry divisions of the first wave) and 1 divisions at the end (plus horse regiments in all army groups, separate regiments as part of the SS divisions, the combined German-Hungarian corps, etc.). The cavalry was, as it were, motorized infantry, the tactics of use were similar, and in strategic terms even had advantages over motorized infantry. Therefore, to be surprised at the cavalry is groundless.

Л. М. Доватор – легендарный предводитель казачьих кавалеристов

Удивительное дело, но даже в век стальной техники и больших неповоротливых военных машин, успешно сражались на фронтах такие войска, практика применения которых, казалось бы, давно уже должна была отойти в прошлое. Так, в годы Великой Отечественной сохранялись кавалерийские войска, и не только сохранялись, но и успешно воевали, предводительствуемые своими героическими командирами. Одним из таких командиров был Лев Михайлович Доватор.
Лев Доватор родился в 1903 году в бедной крестьянской семье, жившей в небольшом селе Витебской губернии.

Л. М. Доватор – легендарный предводитель  казачьих кавалеристов
Кавалеристы 2-го гвардейского кавалерийского корпуса 16-й армии Западного фронта, в центре с картой в руках-командир корпуса гвардии генерал-майор Лев Михайлович Доватор


С самого раннего детства Лев привык к тяжёлой батрацкой работе, чуть повзрослев, работал на витебской фабрике.


Разумеется, как и всякий крестьянин, не видевший с детства ничего кроме бедности и бесконечной однообразной работы, Доватор встретил весть об Октябрьской революции с нескрываемой радостью. Он помогал организовывать комитеты бедноты в родном селе, учился в губернской партийной школе.

В Красную Армию Лев Доватор добровольцем вступает в 1924 году, и некоторое время служит, заведуя складом в 7-й кавалерийской дивизии Западного военного округа, дислоцировавшейся в Минске.

Окончив в 1925 году московские Военно-химические курсы, Доватор проходил службу уже командиром химвзвода в 7-й кавалерийской дивизии.

Упорству Доватора в постижении военного дела, однако, не было пределов: в 1926 году он заканчивает Ленинградско-Борисоглебскую кавалерийскую школу командирского состава РККА.

Все 30-е годы Доватор продвигается по военно-кавалерийской служебной лестнице, однако, продолжает и профессиональное обучение: в 1939 году он с отличием заканчивает Военную Академию им. М. В. Фрунзе и получает назначение в начальники штаба Особой кавалерийской бригады в Москве. Перед самой войной Лев Доватор назначается начальником штаба 36-й кавалерийской дивизии БОВО.

Л. М. Доватор – легендарный предводитель  казачьих кавалеристов
Генерал Доватор. 1947. Масло Моисеенко Евсей Евсеевич


Войну Доватору пришлось встречать в больничном госпитале, и только через неделю после начала войны врачи решились его выписать: Лев Михайлович, едва успев попрощаться с семьёй, отправился в распоряжение штаба Западного фронта (поскольку его родная дивизия попала в окружение, и прорваться к ней не было никакой возможности).

Уже в июле этого первого года войны Доватор был награждён орденом Красного Знамени за отличия в боях на Соловьёвой переправе.

В августе 1941 года Лев Доватор возглавляет Отдельную кавалерийскую группу на Западном фронте, состоявшую из нескольких казачьих полков (в состав входили донские, кубанские и терские казаки). Уже с первых боёв Доватор показал себя отличным командиром, который не только умело организовывал дерзкие по смелости атаки, но и с отеческой любовью относился к своим военным подопечным, стараясь по возможности не рисковать жизнями мужественных казаков. Под командованием Льва Михайловича это конное соединение сумело прорваться в тыл к немцам, поражая вражеские коммуникации, громя штабы, уничтожая склады и военные обозы неприятеля.

Около двух недель продолжался этот поистине фантастический рейд советских кавалеристов в немецкий тыл: углубившиеся на 100 километров казаки уничтожили более чем две тысячи солдат и офицеров, 9 танков, около двухсот машин, ими было захвачено множество трофеев. За боевые подвиги при выполнении этой операции Лев Доватор получил звание генерал-майора и орден Ленина.

Осенью 1941 года на базе доваторской группы формируется 3-й Кавалерийский корпус в составе 16-й армии К. К. Рокоссовского (чуть позже он был переименован во 2-й Гвардейский). Корпус вёл оборонительные бои на линии Белый-Ржев, прикрывая подступы к Москве с волоколамского направления.
11 декабря корпус генерала Доватора был переброшен в район Кубинки и, преследуя отступающие немецкие части, вышел к реке Рузе.

К сожалению, смелость и отвага кавалерийского командира сыграла с Доватором жестокую, роковую «шутку»…

В декабре 1941 года авангард 2-го Гвардейского кавалерийского корпуса находился в районе деревни Палашкино, где в это время располагались крупные силы немецких войск. Лев Доватор решает разместить напротив деревни походный штаб корпуса, при этом он решает осмотреть боевые позиции немецких частей по ту сторону реки лично, и тут немцы открыли по замеченному ими скоплению людей шквальный огонь… Выжить, находившемуся на открытом пространстве Доватору, шансов не было никаких…

В тот же день, 21 декабря 1941 года Лев Михайлович Доватор был награждён «За мужество и героизм, проявленные в боях с немецко-фашистскими захватчиками» посмертным званием Героя Советского Союза.

Память об этом советском герое была увековечена памятником в городе Руза, обелиском на берегу Рузского водохранилища (в месте, где он погиб), а простые люди помнят о Доваторе благодаря множеству названных в честь него улиц на большом пространстве бывшего СССР.
Автор: Филипп Хорват


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 14
  1. Нагайбак 20 октября 2012 09:15
    Доватор погиб в 1941 году. Кто на фото в таком шикарном мундире, да еще с орденами Суворова и Кутузова?

    Смотрю, уж не сам Абакумов это? Точно он.
  2. omsbon 20 октября 2012 11:12
    " Казакен", " Доватор"[/b] - эти слова знал практически каждый немец на Восточном фронте.
  3. omsbon 20 октября 2012 11:14
    Имя Доватора было известно практически каждому немцу на Восточном фронте !
    1. Везучий 23 октября 2012 16:25
      Вечная слава герою, казаку!
      Везучий
  4. Нагайбак 20 октября 2012 11:24
    Нам было бы тяжко без 1 и 2 гвардейских кав.корпусов в 41 году!!! Доватору как человеку погибшему за Родину -СЛАВА!!!
  5. datur 20 октября 2012 13:56
    эх нам бы этого деда!!! воин -славянин!!!!!!!!!
    1. Сотник 20 октября 2012 16:43
      Цитата: datur
      воин -славянин!!!!!!!!!

      Вообще-то он вроде бы еврей. Интересно, а что скажут антисемиты?
      1. Нагайбак 20 октября 2012 17:01
        Сотник"Вообще-то он вроде бы еврей. Интересно, а что скажут антисемиты?"
        Где пишут - еврей. А где белорус.Думаю без разницы-он молодец!!! После него командовал корпусом кажись Плиев так тот вообще осетин!!! Тоже геройский мужик!!!
      2. Братец Сарыч 20 октября 2012 19:55
        В Вики написано, что белорус, а и был бы евреем? Что бы изменилось? Не казак - точно, но Герой однозначно...
        Братец Сарыч
        1. Nick 23 февраля 2016 16:12
          Цитата: Братец Сарыч
          В Вики написано, что белорус, а и был бы евреем? Что бы изменилось? Не казак - точно, но Герой однозначно...

          Каза не национальность, казак это сословие - воин-крестьянин.
      3. Инсургент 20 октября 2012 23:28
        Вообщето он был белорус можете полистать ,поискать биографию
        Инсургент
  6. max73 20 октября 2012 17:40
    То, что автор вспомнил отважного кавалерийского генерала - плюс, конечно!....а самому автору статьи - минус! такое впечатление, что статья, по-быстрому, "на коленке", что называется ,сделана....поясню свою позицию: 1.автор пишет :".В августе 1941 года Лев Доватор возглавляет Отдельную кавалерийскую группу на Западном фронте, состоявшую из нескольких казачьих полков (в состав входили донские, кубанские и терские казаки)."а где номерные названия частей??? это были 50-я и 53-я кавдивизии, сформированные(автор прав) на Ставрополье и Кубани. 2. ляп следующий :"Осенью 1941 года на базе доваторской группы формируется 3-й Кавалерийский корпус в составе 16-й армии К. К. Рокоссовского (чуть позже он был переименован во 2-й Гвардейский). Корпус вёл оборонительные бои на линии Белый-Ржев, прикрывая подступы к Москве с волоколамского направления."....автор, вы посмотрите на карте, где г.Белый и г.Ржев и где была 16-я армия Рокоссовского во время боёв на Можайской линии обороны и позднее? нестыковочка баааальшая получается...и ещё.. в корпусе Доватора, кроме терцев и кубанцев, были дивизии, сформированные в Оренбуржье и Средней Азии...находясь на рекогносцировке в одной из этих дивизий, а именно 20-й кавалерийской полковника Тавлиева, и погиб Л.М. Доватор..
  7. бубен 2012 20 октября 2012 18:28
    да как то и по больше можно было написать об этом выдающемся человеке
  8. 77bor1973 20 октября 2012 22:33
    В добавок ко всему был каскадёром в фильме " Александр Невский"!
    77bor1973
  9. Jeglov 20 октября 2012 22:45
    Вечная память!
    Героям слава!
    Вообще-то он вроде бы еврей. Интересно, а что скажут антисемиты?

    Жаль они не смогут осудить национальность Льва Михайловича с казаками из его корпуса. Учитывая, что они его как отца почитали. А мужики они суровые были
    Jeglov
    1. Арон Заави 21 октября 2012 22:58
      Jeglov Я был бы очень горд считать Льва Доватора соплеменником, но полковник Свердлов занимавшийся серьезным изучением участия евреев в ВОВ не смог найти подтверждения еврейского происхождения Доватора.
  10. Karlsonn 23 октября 2012 19:30
    Вставлю и я пять копеек:
    ...Удивительное дело, но даже в век стальной техники и больших неповоротливых военных машин, успешно сражались на фронтах такие войска, практика применения которых, казалось бы, давно уже должна была отойти в прошлое. Так, в годы Великой Отечественной сохранялись кавалерийские войска,...
    Ничего удивительного в этом нет. Реалии Восточного фронта были таковыми, что входе войны число кавалерийских частей как у нас так и у немцев только увеличивалось: у нас - 4 корпуса и 13 дивизий на начало войны и 7 корпусов в конце, у немцев соответственно - 1 дивизия на начало войны (плюс кавалерийские подразделения в пехотных дивизиях первой волны) и 5 дивизий в конце (плюс конные полки во всех группах армий, отдельные полки в составе дивизий СС, объединенный немецко-венгерский корпус и тд.). Кавалерия была как-бы мотопехотой, тактика применения была схожа, а в стратегическом плане даже имела преимущества перед мотопехотой. По этому испытывать удивление по поводу кавалерии - беспочвенно.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
16+
Картина дня