Military Review

Armored cars of the Piranyev family. Part III

2
Piranha II


As mentioned in the previous part of our story, the unexpected popularity of the four-axle armored vehicle of the Piranha family, as a result, affected not only the financial well-being of its developers and manufacturers. Modifications of the original Piranha 8x8 machine were conditionally separated into a family with its own nomenclature and a separate notation system, remotely similar to the original one. In the new system of designations, the first “Piranha 8х8” was named Piranha I. The first “Piranha”, LAV and other machines based on them belong to this line. Increased demand for armored vehicles led to the creation of new cars.

Armored cars of the Piranyev family. Part III


When executing the contract for the supply of armored cars to Saudi Arabia, some difficulties arose, forcing MOWAG to insist on the beginning of licensed production of Pirani in the UK. Most of the armored cars that went to the Middle East were eventually collected there. In preparation for the production of these machines, as already mentioned, the Swiss designers agreed to some extent to refine the proposed machine. Since deliveries for Arabia were not carried out immediately, but in batches, this country regularly put forward updated requirements and wishes, which led to differences among the machines of different batches. Ultimately, such adjustments led to the appearance of a line of armored vehicles, which received the symbol Piranha II.

The design of the four-axle chassis "Piranha II" almost did not differ from the corresponding unit of the original Piranha 8x8. The armament of the updated armored car was taken almost unchanged from the American LAV-25 with the 25-mm automatic cannon. In addition, on the turntable on each side mounted one launcher for anti-tank missiles BGM-71 TOW. At this difference from the original and ended. Most of the amendments to the design concerned only the technological part. Arabians wanted to get a good modern armored personnel carrier and at the same time save on the purchase. In general, one cannot say that such a desire was wrong.

In addition to the armored personnel carriers, Saudi Arabia wished to receive a “wheeled tank” with a 90-millimeter gun. Two guns were considered as applicants for armament of an armored car. The French company GIAT offered its TS-90 turret with an F4 cannon, and the Belgian Cockerill introduced the LCTS combat module with an Mk.9 cannon. As a result of comparing combat characteristics, recoil force and ease of use, a Belgian gun was chosen. One of the main reasons for the loss of the GIAT F4 gun was its excessive power. The high velocity of the projectile became the cause of unacceptably large returns, which did not allow the use of this gun on a relatively light armored vehicle. Supply of wheeled tanks"Started in 1997.

A little later, the customer began to receive Piranha AMS combat vehicles, developed from the beginning of the nineties. Such a long time to create new cars was due, in the first place, to the boldness of the decisions and the originality of the design, which ultimately required spending much more time. The letter index in the name Piranha AMS stands for Armored Mortar System - “Armored mortar system”. For whatever reason, the Arabians did not order these machines from MOWAG, but held a competition to create new weapons for the mortar. Two "unions" of arms manufacturers participated in this competition: MOWAG and Thomson competed with GMC and Royal Ordnance. European firms decided to go in a simple and proven way. Almost all the seats were removed from the troop compartment of the base piranha armored car and installed a turntable with an 120-mm 2R2M mortar, as well as ammunition boxes. It turned out cheap and convenient. American-English cooperation, in turn, went the other way. GMC and Royal Ordnance found the traditional approach to creating a self-propelled mortar unpromising and inconvenient for modernization. They considered the concept applied in the Soviet self-propelled guns Nona-S much more promising. A specially designed tower with a millimeter 120 caliber gun was installed at the site of the Piranha troop compartment. Swiveling combat module allowed directing it around. Since the initial specification required the creation of a self-propelled mortar, the new gun could go up to 80 ° and descend 5 ° from the horizontal. Thus, the Piranha AMS in the version from GMC and Royal Ordnance could fire both on the hinged trajectory and on the flat. For the convenience of loading breech-loading mortar tower equipped with appropriate automation. Thanks to this unit, the maximum rate of fire of the system reached twelve shots per minute. The target equipment of the self-propelled mortar included a set of sensors, a ballistic computer, a laser range finder, etc. The final fighting qualities of the Piranha AMS with the tower turned out to be excellent. Depending on the type of ammunition used, a mortar could hit targets at a distance of up to ten kilometers. Direct shot range - 800 meters. The sighting system provided self-propelled guns very decent accuracy characteristics. So, on probation when shooting at the maximum distance of direct fire "Piranha" with a mortar in the turret, seven shots from eight struck a training target - a tank. Shipments of the order of hundreds of such machines began in the 1998 year.

Piranha III

The next "generation" of Piranha 8x8 armored cars was created for the Swiss armed forces and, unlike previous projects, with their participation. The main customer wanted to get a car with the best characteristics of terrain. To do this, first of all, they replaced the type of tires and finalized the design of wheel hubs. Tires of a slightly smaller diameter at the same time had a relatively large width. New wheels slightly increased the overall width of the car, now this figure was 260 centimeters. It is worth noting, at first this fact caused the claims of the Swiss army - the car came out of the standard dimensions of wheeled vehicles. However, after a trial operation, the military ceased to be indignant and recognized the extra 10-12 centimeters of width as an insufficient reason for refusing to put into service. Later practice showed that such a slight increase in the width of the combat vehicle is almost negligible. New requirements for internal volumes forced MOWAG engineers to increase the length of the machine. From six and a half meters, it grew to 6,9 m. Due to this, the internal net volume increased to nine and a half cubic meters.



For the first time in the Piranha family, the armored car received reinforced armor. Own sheets of the armored case began to withstand the hit of large-caliber armor-piercing bullets, including the KPV machine gun from a distance of up to 300 meters. In the course of further work, it was possible to give the Piranha III an opportunity to use additional reservations. As a result, the frontal projection of the armored car with mounted panels began to protect the crew and units of the vehicle from shells of caliber up to 30 millimeters. The complex of armament of new cars was originally created in a modular scheme.

Initially, the Swiss armed forces planned to order from MOWAG more than six hundred Piranha III combat vehicles in various versions. However, later, for reasons of economic and technical nature, most of the required quantity had to be “covered” with machines of the Piranha II line. The remaining 60 "Pirani III" were made in three versions. This is an armored personnel carrier with a German-made turret KUKA 606А1 armed with an 12,7-mm Browning M2HB machine gun, command-based vehicles based on the BTR and anti-tank armored vehicles armed with M47 Dragon missiles with eight missiles. The crew of all the cars of the third generation consists of only two people. Therefore, for example, in the case of an armored personnel carrier, the commander of the vehicle simultaneously performs the duties of a gunner. In the troop compartment of an armored personnel carrier can accommodate up to ten people. After using the ammunition or unloading the same amount of soldiers can be transported and anti-tank machine.



The power plant of the updated "Pirani" was made on the basis of diesel engines with a capacity from 350 to 400 horsepower. Depending on the wishes of the customer, the armored cars can be equipped with engines made by MTU, Scania, Caterpillar, Cummins or Detroit. The engines of the first two companies have the greatest power (400 hp) - these are 6V183TE22 and DSJ9-48A, respectively. A significant increase in engine power installed on the Piranha III, had little impact on speed performance. The previous maximum speed in 100 km / h was more than sufficient, therefore the engine power “went away” to compensate for the increased combat mass and to ensure modernization prospects. The available engine is sufficient to ensure acceptable performance when installing an additional booking and / or other combat module. One of the reasons for the increase in combat mass was the external additional fuel tanks. At regular refueling, the Piranha III can drive 750 kilometers along the highway.

Armored car Piranha III was successful not only in technical terms. In 1998, just three years after the start of supplies for the Swiss army, MOWAG received a profitable order from Denmark. This country wanted to purchase at least 100-110 armored personnel carriers and 18 command and control vehicles. By the middle of the next decade, the order was fully completed. It is noteworthy that in the Danish competition, the Swiss car overtook several European competitors, including the German BTR TPz1 Fuchs. Shortly thereafter, Australia showed its interest in the “third generation”, eventually buying several dozens of such machines.

Simultaneously with the promotion of the new armored car on the international market, MOWAG continued to develop new modifications. For example, attempts were made to install a Piranha AMS mortar tower on the Piranha III, but this combat vehicle did not receive much success. Another interesting project based on the third Piranha, ASV-105, was developed by Canadian GMC in a corporation with General Dynamics Land Systems. An 105-mm rifled gun mounted on an automatic remote-controlled system was mounted on a standard armored hull. With up to forty rounds of ammunition, such a “wheeled tank” had a fairly low combat mass and could be transported by C-130 transport aircraft. Due to the complexity of the creation and operation of an automatic installation for a gun, the ASV-105 combat vehicle also remained a prototype.

Piranha IV

In 2001, it became aware of the existence of a new project of the Piranha family. Another armored vehicle received an even more powerful engine: MTU's 540-powerful diesel. In addition, the fourth "Piranha" received an updated armored corps with the bottom of a characteristic profile, protecting the crew and landing forces from the explosion of mines. The exact characteristics of the Piranha IV are not yet clear - design work is still ongoing. At the same time, several reports have already been received about the desire of some countries to start assembling such armored vehicles under license. His interest in the new car showed the UK and Japan.




It is known that the Piranha IV combat mass is approximately equal to 24 tons, ten of which fall on the payload or on the combat module. Increased the size of the car. Now the width of the armored car is equal to the 2,8 meter, and the length has increased to 7,25 m. With regard to the number of soldiers transported, the Piranha IV remained at the level of the previous model - a crew of up to three people (depending on the type of weapon) and up to seven people of the assault. The proposed weaponry of the armored vehicle is quite diverse and can have a caliber from 7,62 mm in the case of machine guns to 105-mm guns. In this case, the main focus is on systems equipped with large-caliber machine guns and small-caliber artillery. Turrets and turrets with the M2HB machine gun or 25 and 30 mm cannons are currently offered.

For a number of reasons, the total number of armored vehicles produced by the Piranha IV line does not yet exceed one and a half to two dozen. Basically, these are prototypes of combat vehicles with various weapons. Negotiations on the supply are not the first year, but so far there have been no firm orders.

Piranha v

The latest at the moment version of the four-axis "Piranha" has a serial number "V". This project began in the mid-2000s, shortly after MOWAG became a division of General Dynamics. It is noteworthy that almost simultaneously with the acquisition of the Swiss company, the concern General Dynamics took over General Motors Canada. Thus, at present, all work on the development of the Piranha family, de jure, is carried out by the same large company.




Unfortunately, there is even less information on the Piranha V project than on the previous car. To date, it is known that the new "Piranha" has approximately the same appearance as the fourth armored car of the family, but much larger in size. Now the maximum length of the armored hull is eight meters, and the width slightly shortens up to three. The Piranha V armament complex is generally similar to previous designs. The same can be said about the power plant and characteristics. According to the stated data, it is clear that the main emphasis in developing the fifth Piranha is on the level of protection. The armored hull meets the requirements of the fourth level of the STANAG 4569 standard: it withstands hit of 14,5 caliber bullets from all angles and protects the crew from undermining 10-kilogram land mines under the wheel or under the bottom.

It is known that several countries have already shown their interest in a promising multi-purpose vehicle. In this case, full negotiations on the sale so far were conducted only by Canada. It is possible that armored cars for this country will be assembled at factories previously owned by GMC, where LAV had previously been assembled.

Piranha 10x10

As if following a certain tradition, in 1992, the company MOWAG continued to increase the number of wheels of its armored vehicles and began the project Piranha 10x10, which involved the creation of a five-axle (!) Fighting vehicle. Twenty years have passed since then, but no other armored vehicles with the same or similar undercarriage have yet appeared. As a matter of fact, the Swiss engineers eventually also came to the conclusion that the fifth axis is redundant and useless. Just two years after the start of the design work, the first prototype came out for testing. Eighteen-ton machine had a body length of about 7,2 meter and was equipped with a gun turret. The design of the armored vehicle was based on the developments of the Piranha II project, which affected the level of protection. At the same time, the frontal part was slightly strengthened and began to withstand 14,5-mm bullets. Interesting chassis ten cars. The first four wheels have a spring suspension and are manageable. The remaining six are equipped with torsion bar suspension. The “default” drive is only three rear axles, but if necessary, the driver can turn on the power transmission to the front wheels.




On the first prototype, the French tower GIAT TML-105 was installed with a G2 cannon of 105 caliber of millimeters. This gun had a good firing performance: the initial speed of the sabot projectile is approximately equal to 1500 m / s. Next to the gun installed coaxial machine gun rifle caliber. The gun ammunition included 38 shells, 12 of which were placed in the tower. In addition to the powerful weapon, the Piranha 10x10 armored car could carry a wide range of weapons, generally similar to the previous Piranhas.

The first new "wheeled tank" interested in the military of Saudi Arabia. They responded well to the characteristics of the car, but in the future they preferred the eight-wheeled armored car of the previous model. The fact is that the five-axle Piranha turned out to be significantly more expensive than the four-axle. In this case, any serious advantages in driving performance or maneuverability "Piranha 10x10" did not have. The project was under threat of closure. From the sad fate of the new armored car rescued the Swedish military. The army of the Scandinavian country in the mid-nineties ordered 33 such machines. Most of the armored vehicles ordered carry heavy weapons, while the rest are equipped with communications and control equipment. The entire Swedish order was completed at the beginning of the two thousandth years and more than ten-wheeled “Piranhas” were not produced. Moreover, the entire direction of such a monstrous technique was curtailed. After completing the Swedish order, MOWAG considered the possibility of continuing the work, but the Piranha 10x10 project remained a technical curiosity, which managed to go into a small series.


On the materials of the sites:
http://mowag.ch/
http://army-technology.com/
http://warwheels.net/
http://vadimvswar.narod.ru/
Nikolsky M.V., Ilyin V.E. Wheel armored vehicles. - M .: Astrel / AST, 2001
Author:
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. kov
    kov 24 October 2012 12: 17 New
    0
    review of military secrets about Piranha 3C

  2. bask
    bask 24 October 2012 14: 27 New
    +1
    Article super. Ryabov Kiril +. A trend in the production of modern armored vehicles. Buying,, by giants of TNCs, independent, manufacturers of BAE Systems General Dynamics. Competition is growing. That's why the Germans proposed the Boxer of Russia.

Броневики семейства «Пираньевых». Часть III

Piranha II

Как уже говорилось в предыдущей части нашего рассказа, неожиданная популярность четырехосного броневика семейства «Пиранья» в результате сказалась не только на финансовом благосостоянии его разработчиков и производителей. Модификации исходной машины Piranha 8x8 были условно выделены в семейство с собственной номенклатурой и отдельной системой обозначений, отдаленно похожей на изначальную. В новой системе обозначений первая «Пиранья 8х8» получила название Piranha I. К этой линейке относятся собственно первая «Пиранья», LAV и другие машины на их базе. Увеличение спроса на броневики семейства привело к созданию новых машин.

Броневики семейства «Пираньевых». Часть III



При выполнении контракта на поставку броневиков в Саудовскую Аравию возникли некоторые сложности, вынудившие фирму MOWAG настоять на начале лицензионного производство «Пираний» в Великобритании. Большая часть отправившихся на Ближний Восток броневиков в итоге была собрана именно там. В ходе подготовки к производству этих машин, как уже упоминалось, швейцарские конструкторы согласились в некоторой мере доработать предлагаемую машину. Поскольку поставки для Аравии осуществлялись не сразу, а партиями, эта страна регулярно выдвигала обновленные требования и пожелания, что приводило к отличиям среди машин разных партий. В конечном итоге, такие корректировки привели к появлению линейки бронемашин, получивших условное обозначение Piranha II.

Конструкция четырехосного шасси «Пираньи II» почти не отличалась от соответствующего агрегата исходной Piranha 8x8. Вооружение обновленного броневика почти без изменений взяли у американского LAV-25 с 25-мм автоматической пушкой. Кроме того, на поворотной башне по бокам смонтировали по одной пусковой установке для противотанковых ракет BGM-71 TOW. На этом отличия от оригинала и закончились. Большинство внесенных в конструкцию поправок касались исключительно технологической части. Аравийцы желали получить хороший современный бронетранспортер и одновременно с этим сэкономить на покупке. В целом, нельзя сказать, что такое желание было неправильным.

Помимо бронетранспортеров Саудовская Аравия возжелала получить «колесный танк» с орудием калибра 90 миллиметров. В качестве претендентов для вооружения бронемашины рассматривалось две пушки. Французская фирма GIAT предложила свою башню TS-90 с пушкой F4, а бельгийская Cockerill представила боевой модуль LCTS с пушкой Mk.9. В результате сравнения боевых характеристик, силы отдачи и удобства использований было выбрано бельгийское орудие. Одной из главных причин проигрыша пушки GIAT F4 стала ее излишняя мощность. Высокая скорость снаряда стала причиной неприемлемо большой отдачи, которая не позволила использовать это орудие на сравнительно легкой бронемашине. Поставка «колесных танков» началась в 1997 году.

Немного позже заказчик начал получать боевые машины Piranha AMS, разрабатывавшиеся с начала девяностых. Столь большие сроки создания новых машин были обусловлены, в первую очередь, смелостью решений и оригинальностью конструкции, которые в итоге потребовали затратить гораздо больше времени. Буквенный индекс в названии Piranha AMS расшифровывается как Armored Mortar System – «Бронированная минометная система». Из каких-то своих соображений аравийцы не стали заказывать эти машины у MOWAG, но провели конкурс на создание нового вооружения для миномета. В этом соревновании участвовало два «союза» производителей вооружений: MOWAG и Thomson конкурировали с GMC и Royal Ordnance. Европейские фирмы решили пойти простым и проверенным путем. Из десантного отделения базового броневика «Пираньи» убрали почти все сиденья и установили поворотную платформу со 120-мм минометом 2R2M, а также ящики для боезапаса. Вышло дешево и удобно. Американо-английское сотрудничество, в свою очередь, пошло по другому пути. GMC и Royal Ordnance сочли традиционный подход к созданию самоходного миномета бесперспективным и неудобным для модернизации. Куда более перспективной они посчитали концепцию, примененную в советской САУ «Нона-С». На месте десантного отделения «Пираньи» была установлена специально разработанная башня с орудием калибра 120 миллиметров. Поворотный боевой модуль позволял наводить его вкруговую. Поскольку первоначальное техническое задание требовало создания самоходного миномета, новое орудие могло подниматься на угол до 80° и спускаться на 5° от горизонтали. Таким образом, Piranha AMS в варианте от GMC и Royal Ordnance мог вести огонь как по навесной траектории, так и по настильной. Для удобства заряжания казнозарядного миномета башню оснастили соответствующей автоматикой. Благодаря этому агрегату максимальная скорострельность системы достигла двенадцати выстрелов в минуту. Целевое оборудование самоходного миномета включало в себя набор датчиков, баллистический вычислитель, лазерный дальномер и т.д. Итоговые боевые качества Piranha AMS с башней оказались отличными. В зависимости от типа применяемого боеприпаса миномет мог поражать цели на дальности до десяти километров. Дальность прямого выстрела – 800 метров. Прицельный комплекс обеспечил самоходке весьма приличные характеристики точности. Так, на испытаниях при стрельбе на максимальную дистанцию прямой наводкой «Пиранья» с минометом в башне семью выстрелами из восьми поразила учебную цель – танк. Поставки порядка сотни таких машин начались в 1998 году.

Piranha III

Следующее «поколение» броневиков Piranha 8x8 создавалось для швейцарских вооруженных сил и, в отличие от предыдущих проектов, при их участии. Основной заказчик желал получить машину с лучшими характеристиками проходимости. Для этого, в первую очередь, заменили тип покрышек и доработали конструкцию колесных ступиц. Шины немного меньшего диаметра одновременно имели сравнительно большую ширину. Новые колеса незначительно увеличили общую ширину машины, теперь этот показатель равнялся 260 сантиметрам. Стоит отметить, поначалу этот факт вызвал претензии швейцарской армии – машина выходила из стандартных габаритов колесной техники. Однако после пробной эксплуатации военные перестали возмущаться и признали лишние 10-12 сантиметров ширины недостаточным поводом для отказа в принятии на вооружение. Позже практика показала, что подобное незначительное увеличение ширины боевой машины почти не заметно. Новые требования по внутренним объемам вынудили инженеров MOWAG увеличить еще и длину машины. С шести с половиной метров она выросла до 6,9 м. Благодаря этому внутренний полезный объем увеличился до девяти с половиной кубометров.

Броневики семейства «Пираньевых». Часть III


Впервые в семействе «Пиранья» броневик получил усиленную броню. Собственные листы бронекорпуса стали выдерживать попадание крупнокалиберных бронебойных пуль, в том числе и пулемета КПВ с расстояния до 300 метров. В ходе дальнейших работ удалось дать машине Piranha III возможность использования дополнительного бронирования. В результате этого лобовая проекция броневика с навесными панелями стала защищать экипаж и агрегаты машины от снарядов калибра до 30 миллиметров. Комплекс вооружения новых машин изначально создавался по модульной схеме.

Первоначально швейцарские вооруженные силы планировали заказать у MOWAG более шести сотен боевых машин Piranha III в различных версиях. Однако позже, по причинам экономического и технического характера, большую часть необходимого количества пришлось «закрывать» машинами линейки Piranha II. Оставшиеся 60 «Пираний III» были изготовлены в трех вариантах. Это бронетранспортер с башней немецкого производства KUKA 606А1, вооруженной 12,7-мм пулеметом Браунинг M2HB, командно-штабные машины на базе БТР и противотанковые броневики, вооруженные ракетами M47 Dragon с боезапасом в восемь ракет. Экипаж всех машин «третьего поколения» состоит всего из двух человек. Поэтому, например, в случае с бронетранспортером командир машины одновременно выполняет обязанности стрелка. В десантном отделении бронетранспортера может разместиться до десяти человек. После использования боекомплекта или его выгрузки столько же солдат может перевозить и противотанковая машина.

Броневики семейства «Пираньевых». Часть III


Силовую установку обновленных «Пираний» сделали на базе дизельных двигателей мощностью от 350 до 400 лошадиных сил. В зависимости от пожеланий заказчика броневики могут комплектоваться моторами производства компаний MTU, Scania, Caterpillar, Cummins или Detroit. Наибольшей мощностью (400 л.с.) обладают двигатели первых двух фирм – это 6V183TE22 и DSJ9-48A соответственно. Значительное повышение мощности двигателя, устанавливаемого на Piranha III, мало сказалось на скоростных показателях. Прежняя максимальная скорость в 100 км/ч была более чем достаточна, поэтому мощность двигателя «ушла» на компенсацию увеличившейся боевой массы и на обеспечение модернизационных перспектив. Имеющегося двигателя достаточно для обеспечения приемлемых характеристик при установке дополнительного бронирования и/или другого боевого модуля. Одной из причин увеличения боевой массы стали внешние дополнительные топливные баки. При штатной заправке Piranha III может проехать по шоссе до 750 километров.

Бронированная машина Piranha III оказалась удачной не только в техническом плане. В 1998-м, всего через три года после начала поставок для швейцарской армии, компания MOWAG получила выгодный заказ от Дании. Эта страна желала приобрести не менее 100-110 бронетранспортеров и 18 командно-штабных машин. К середине следующего десятилетия заказ был полностью выполнен. Примечательно, что в датском конкурсе швейцарская машина обошла несколько европейских конкурентов, в том числе и немецкий БТР TPz1 Fuchs. Вскоре после этого свой интерес к «третьему поколению» проявила Австралия, в итоге купившая несколько десятков таких машин.

Одновременно с продвижением нового броневика на международном рынке фирма MOWAG продолжала разработку новых модификаций. К примеру, предпринимались попытки установить на «Пиранью III» башню с минометом от Piranha AMS, однако особого успеха эта боевая машина не получила. Еще один интересный проект на базе третьей «Пираньи» – ASV-105 – разрабатывался канадской фирмой GMC в корпорации с General Dynamics Land Systems. На стандартный бронекорпус было установлено 105-мм нарезное орудие, смонтированное на автоматической дистанционно управляемой системе. При боезапасе до сорока снарядов такой «колесный танк» имел достаточно низкую боевую массу и мог перевозиться транспортными самолетами C-130. Ввиду сложности создания и эксплуатации автоматической установки для пушки боевая машина ASV-105 так же осталась прототипом.

Piranha IV

В 2001 году стало известно о существовании нового проекта семейства «Пиранья». Очередной броневик получил еще более мощный двигатель: 540-сильный дизель фирмы MTU. Кроме того, четвертая «Пиранья» получила обновленный бронекорпус с днищем характерного профиля, защищающим экипаж и десант от взрыва мин. Точные характеристики Piranha IV пока не ясны – еще продолжаются конструкторские работы. В то же время, уже поступило несколько сообщений о желании некоторых стран начать сборку таких броневиков по лицензии. Свой интерес к новой машине проявили Великобритания и Япония.

Броневики семейства «Пираньевых». Часть III

Броневики семейства «Пираньевых». Часть III


Известно, что боевая масса Piranha IV примерно равняется 24 тоннам, десять из которых приходятся на полезную нагрузку или на боевой модуль. Увеличились и размеры машины. Теперь ширина броневика равняется 2,8 метра, а длина увеличилась до 7,25 м. В отношении количества перевозимых солдат «Пиранья IV» осталась на уровне предыдущей модели – экипаж до трех человек (в зависимости от типа вооружения) и до семи человек десанта. Предлагаемое вооружение броневика достаточно разнообразно и может иметь калибр от 7,62 мм в случае с пулеметами и до 105-мм пушек. При этом основной упор делается на системы, оборудованные крупнокалиберными пулеметами и малокалиберной артиллерией. В настоящее время предлагаются турели и башни с пулеметом M2HB или пушками калибра 25 и 30 мм.

По ряду причин, общее количество произведенных броневиков линейки Piranha IV пока не превышает полутора-двух десятков. В основном это прототипы боевых машин с различным вооружением. Переговоры относительно поставок идут уже не первый год, однако пока твердых заказов не было.

Piranha V

Последняя на данный момент версия четырехосной «Пираньи» имеет порядковый номер «V». Этот проект был начат в середине двухтысячных годов, вскоре после того, как фирма MOWAG стала подразделением концерна General Dynamics. Примечательно, что почти одновременно с приобретением швейцарской компании концерн General Dynamics присоединил к себе еще и General Motors Canada. Таким образом, в настоящее время все работы по развитию семейства Piranha де-юре осуществляются одной и той же крупной компанией.

Броневики семейства «Пираньевых». Часть III

Броневики семейства «Пираньевых». Часть III


К сожалению, информации по проекту Piranha V еще меньше, чем по предыдущей машине. К настоящему времени известно, что новая «Пиранья» имеет примерно такой же внешний вид, как и четвертый броневик семейства, но заметно крупнее по размерам. Теперь максимальная длина бронекорпуса равняется восьми метрам, а ширина немного недобирает до трех. Комплекс вооружения Piranha V в целом аналогичен предыдущим разработкам. То же самое можно сказать про силовую установку и характеристики. По заявленным данным видно, что основной упор при разработке пятой «Пираньи» делается на уровень защиты. Бронекорпус новой конструкции отвечает требованиям четвертого уровня стандарта STANAG 4569: выдерживает попадание пуль калибра 14,5 мм со всех ракурсов и защищает экипаж от подрыва 10-килограммовых фугасов под колесом или под днищем.

Известно, что свой интерес к перспективной многоцелевой машине уже проявило несколько стран. При этом полноценные переговоры о продаже до настоящего времени велись только Канадой. Вполне возможно, что броневики для этой страны будут собираться на заводах, ранее принадлежавших GMC, где ранее собирались LAV.

Piranha 10x10

Словно следуя некой традиции, в 1992 году компания MOWAG продолжила увеличение количества колес своих броневиков и начала проект Piranha 10x10, подразумевавший создание пятиосной (!) боевой машины. С тех пор прошло двадцать лет, но до сих пор не появилось другой бронетехники с такой же или подобной ходовой частью. Собственно говоря, швейцарские инженеры в конце концов тоже пришли к выводу об избыточности и ненужности пятой оси. Всего через два года после начала конструкторских работ на испытания вышел первый прототип. Восемнадцатитонная машина имела корпус длиной около 7,2 метра и оснащалась орудийной башней. Конструкция броневика основывалась на наработках проекта Piranha II, что сказалось на уровне защиты. При этом лобовая часть была немного усилена и стала выдерживать 14,5-мм пули. Интересна ходовая часть десятиколеской машины. Первые четыре колеса имеют пружинную подвеску и являются управляемыми. Остальные шесть оснащены торсионной подвеской. «По умолчанию» ведущими являются только три задние оси, но при необходимости механик-водитель может включить передачу мощности и на передние колеса.

Броневики семейства «Пираньевых». Часть III

Броневики семейства «Пираньевых». Часть III


На первом прототипе была установлена французская башня GIAT TML-105 с пушкой G2 калибра 105 миллиметров. Это орудие имело хорошие огневые показатели: начальная скорость подкалиберного снаряда примерно равна 1500 м/с. Рядом с пушкой установили спаренный пулемет винтовочного калибра. Боекомплект орудия включал в себя 38 снарядов, 12 из которых размещались в башне. Помимо мощного орудия броневик Piranha 10x10 мог нести широкий спектр вооружения, в целом аналогичный предыдущим «Пираньям».

Первыми новым «колесным танком» заинтересовались военные Саудовской Аравии. Они хорошо отозвались о характеристиках машины, но в дальнейшем предпочли восьмиколесный броневик предыдущей модели. Дело в том, что пятиосная «Пиранья» оказалась значительно дороже четырехосной. При этом каких-либо серьезных преимуществ в ходовых качествах или проходимости «Пиранья 10x10» не имела. Проект оказался под угрозой закрытия. От печальной участи новый броневик спасли шведские военные. Армия скандинавской страны в середине девяностых годов заказала 33 такие машины. Большая часть заказанных броневиков несет тяжелое вооружение, а остальные оборудованы оборудованием связи и управления. Весь шведский заказ был выполнен к началу двухтысячных годов и более десятиколесные «Пираньи» не производились. Более того, все направление такой монструозной техники было свернуто. Уже после выполнения шведского заказа в MOWAG рассматривалась возможность продолжения работ, однако проект Piranha 10x10 так и остался техническим курьезом, которому удалось пойти в небольшую серию.


По материалам сайтов:
http://mowag.ch/
http://army-technology.com/
http://warwheels.net/
http://vadimvswar.narod.ru/
Никольский М.В., Ильин В.Е. Колесная бронетехника. – М.: Астрель/АСТ, 2001
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 2
  1. kov 24 октября 2012 12:17
    обзор с военной тайны про Пиранью 3С

    kov
  2. bask 24 октября 2012 14:27
    Статья супер.Рябов Кирил+.Тенденция в производстве современной бронентехники.Скупка,,, гигантами ТНК ,,независимых,, призводителей BAE Systems General Dynamics.Конкуренция возростает .Вот поэтому и предложили немцы Боксёр России.
    bask

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня